We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fabulous hotel”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I visited this hotel with my husband in June, and from the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. The reception staff were very attentive making sure our room was to our satisfaction. There was no problem on that front, it was amazing, huge, bright and spotless, with a brilliant sea view. The food was faultless, and we especially liked the different restaurant themes. All of the waiters and waitress' were friendly and went out of their way to please. Especially loved Angelina, who was always the first to welcome us with a smile.
The entertainment team worked so hard day and evening, keeping us amused and entertained. The evening shows were the best I have seen in an hotel, and Warren and his team, Beth, Emily, Aimee and Steven were a bunch of really talented people, loved every show. Thank you for a great holiday, already re-booked to return in September - Keep up the good work,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Warm greetings from Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in Paphos, Cyprus.

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments about our staff, customer service, food, cleanliness of the hotel and that you enjoyed the three A La Carte restaurants, Kiku the Japanese, Garibaldi the Italian and Limanaki the Cypriot tavern.

Thank you also for mentioning the great team of staff I have here and in particular Angelina from the bar, the waiters and waitresses in the restaurants and bars and also our Allstar Kanika Entertainments team, Warren, Beth, Aimee, Emily and Steven.

The whole team and I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in September for your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,786
    366
    62
    26
    4
See reviews for
576
1,231
67
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,025)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Couldn't fault the service from everyone at the hotel.
Entertainments team were fantastic, always full of energy and extremely friendly. The shows which they put on in the evening were also brilliant.
One of the best holidays I have ever had!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Archibald123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations.

All of our staff and in particular our entertainments team the Kanika All Stars will be pleased that they have been mentioned and that you found them to be full of energy, extremely friendly and their evening shows brilliant.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We went back to the Alexander the Great this year after such a lovely holiday last year. We were not disappointed. Hotel and rooms were immaculate. Staff friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Food is good. I could not fault this lovely hotel at all. Situated about 8 mins walk from Pathos and there are plenty of bars and restaurants close by if you fancy a change. We love the sunbed allocation, which eliminates all the 'scramble for sunbeds every morning'. Our holiday was problem free and we both came back feeling totally relaxed. There is a nice ambience throughout the hotel, and the Manager is often seen walking round and chatting to the holidaymakers. We have been on approximately 30 holidays with Thomsons over the years (most of them platignum) and this is by far the best hotel we have stayed in.

Room Tip: We have always had a sea view and found the rooms very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiluDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel again for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

I would like to express my sincere thanks for your good comments, that you found the hotel and rooms to be immaculate, the food good, the staff friendly and helpful, the sun bed allocation system was to your liking and that you felt this was the best hotel you have stayed in.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for a return visit in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend for a week... Upgraded our room to a sea view. Had an amazing week laying around the pool... The main pool is great and you can swim up to the bar... Lots of entertainments going on for everyone.... Room was cleaned twice a day with clean towels in the morning and evening. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff... Breakfast was amazing with everything on offer... Will definitely be coming back here. :-)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hob12E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations. Also that you enjoyed the Main Infinity pool with swim up bar, the day and evening entertainment, the buffet breakfast in Cafe Royale and that nothing was too much trouble for our staff and that they looked after you.


Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just returned from a 2 week holiday from paphos first week st George(wish I had stayed a second week)second week Alexander the Great,after hearing a lot if good things about this hotel wanted 2 try 4 ourselves wish we hadn't bothered staff mainly unfriendly especially reception staff who look everywhere but at you incase they have 2 say hello,room cleaned mid afternoon,turn down service turned out 2 be a maid chap ping your door and handing you 3 chocolates most days(started 2 be funny though),food first day at lunch chicken was pink and a hair in the bland rice never helped the cause lol set the tone nicely 4 the rest of the weeks food,pool sun loungers around pool way overcrowded don't expect any privacy with beds beening about 6 inches apart,I could go on and on but all in all not a pleasant stay best thing about atg was the taxi ride away from it wish I had stayed in st George hotel far superior

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucymax2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

Your constructive comments will certainly help us in our efforts to continuously improve our standards. We are very sadden to read that the service provided by our team in certain areas did not meet with your expectations of our hotel. We thank you for raising these issues and providing us with this valuable feedback. Most certainly we will be looking into these issues within our operations and seeking ways to further improve our service quality.

Our policy at the hotel is that we like to handle matters whilst guests are still with us here at the hotel. We are disappointed that none of the above points were brought to our attention whilst you were with us as we could have addressed and discussed everything together.

However the whole team and I sincerely hope that we may have the opportunity of reversing your opinion and the pleasure of welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Ok let me say first off all , I am hard to please,so here is my report, my wife and I arrived at hotel at 11.30pm we checked in ,we then had a complimentary cocktail very nice touch.We then proceeded to our room ,the room itself was nice but only had shower my wife was expecting shower and bath that was described in brochure so next day we asked to move room which was no problem,room was lovely nice bathroom great tv with lots of channels it was great for watching the world cup, so we unpacked ,after that went to book our sun-loungers what a great idea ,although there is a problem with non patrons of the hotel using swimming pool this needs to be addressed.The food in the main restaurant is nice,but the Italian and Japanese restaurants are excellent as is the pool side bar.The staff from the Manager who is so nice to the friendly other staff are brilliant,There is a nice get together with managers and other new guests with nice snacks and drinks.Entertainment at night is good,although I have to say I was a bit let down by Paphos not really much to do except restaurants and sovenier shops,the standard of cleanliness in this hotel is fantastic towels changed twice daily everywhere is spotless ,this hotel is very good they go out of their way to make you feel welcome a very well done all.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room so nice to see and hear the waves
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations.

Also for mentioning the welcome drink on arrival, that once you had changed rooms you enjoyed the lovely nice bathroom, the great Smart TV, the sunbed allocation system, that you found the Kiku Japanese and the Garibaldi restaurant to be Excellent and that you appreciated the Management Cocktail Party.

Most importantly that you found the staff to be our greatest asset and that they go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My pregnant partner and I stayed here and overall had an enjoyable stay. It is in a perfect location, right by the sea front and the pool is lovely. It is very much an 'all inclusive' hotel with a few restaurants. We ate at the hotel a couple of times and the food was ok....not exceptional, not terrible but ok. One disappointing aspect is that you have to wear trousers in the main restaurant. That's not the end of the world, but when you're in shorts all day and it's still warm in the evening it would be nicer to wear shorts.

The entertainment at the hotel was fun....not the highest quality but it was enjoyable to watch and there is something different every night.

The rooms have an incredible view looking out over the sea and every room has a balcony. The rooms are clean and lovely and the house keeping staff are really friendly.

In terms of negatives, I found the staff could be slightly rude. On one occasion we had checked out of our room and they let us leave our luggage in another empty room as we had quite a wait for our flights. When we ordered something at the bar and tried to assign the cost to our room we had problems. The receptionist marched out and seemed to tell us very loudly that we were in the wrong. It was a shame as overall our stay was positive.

In conclusion, I would recommend this hotel. It's definitely good for families as there is a lot going on for kids. It was a relaxing stay in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to submit your review and for choosing the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel for your recent stay.


Thank you for mentioning that the location perfect, the pool was lovely, the rooms are clean and and lovely and that the housekeeping staff are friendly.

You have also mentioned that you were disappointed that you have to wear long trousers in the main buffet evening restaurant, during the summer months of June, July and August we change to our Summer dress code which is for the men long Bermuda shorts, shirt and shoes for all of the restaurants except Garibaldi where the dress code still remains of long trousers, shirt and shoes.Thank you also for your constructive comments which we shall take on board.

The whole team and I sincerely hope that we may have the opportunity of reversing your opinion and the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 88 in Paphos
2,563 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#20 of 88 in Paphos
1,922 reviews
0.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Property: Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#3 Business Hotel in Paphos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#4 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#9 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Bookcyprus.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing