We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Our daughter was married here in October 2013, and we had a most wonderful wedding. When thinking about where I would like to celebrate my 60th birthday this August, there was only one hotel that I wanted to celebrate it! We have just returned with family from a most memorable holiday.We all had a brilliant time, and all loved the swim up bar! Thank you Jakub for the lovely cocktails. Thank you also to Phillipa for arranging the champagne breakfast, she is such an asset to this hotel. Alexander the Great is a 'Great' hotel, and we all wish we were back here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality for your daughter's wedding in October 2013 and again now in August for your 60th birthday.

Your views about the hotel and the swim up bar are most appreciated. I will show your review to both Jakub at the Swim up bar and Philippa the Guest Relations Manager who will be delighted that they have been mentioned.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and hope to be able to welcome you back at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel in the not too distant future.

Mr Andreas Christodoulides General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,460)
There are newer reviews for Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,581 - 1,587 of 2,460 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

This is the best hotel in Paphos. This is due to excellent staff and a wonderful manager who actually gets to talk to all of the guests and who seems to be constantly everywhere checking that everything is perfect.
I'm returning in September. I can't wait. From the minute you walk through the doors you start to smile and you are swathed in contentment for the rest of your stay. Bliss!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Juliaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Let me express my sincere thanks and appreciation for your kind words and to be given the opportunity to extend our hospitality.

Your views about the hotel and the staff are most appreciated by all of us here.

It gives me great pleasure to have met your holiday expectations and look forward to welcoming you back in September at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel.

Mr Andreas Christodoulides General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We have just returned from Cyprus staying at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel and we have to say it was once again a fabulous holiday. The staff and management are so welcoming. The food is outstanding, this year we ate in the Italian Restaurant once again and the Cypriot Restaurant and had a fantastic meal. The rooms were beautifully furnished and having booked a suprior room with seaview we were not disappointed, the view of Paphos harbour when the sun sets is unforgetable. We would like to thank all the staff throughout the hotel, you are a fabulous team and certainly know how to provide an unforgetable stay and make us all feel very specisl guests, it is just fabulous.

We would just like to thank in particular Emma for being so helpful. Also we would like to thank Theo for all his help and the time he spent showing us a cabanna room. This then resulted in him upgrading our suprior room to the cabanna room for the last two days of our holiday and really made our stay and Wedding Annivarsary very special, Thank You.

Once again thanks for an wonderful holiday and we look forward to our return in 2016

Rhian & Dave W

Room Tip: Book a seaview room and if possible a suprior room !
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 215David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am delighted that we exceeded your holiday expectations and that you found the hotel to be " Outstanding". Thank you for mentioning that you found the food in the Garibaldi Italian and the Limanaki Cypriot Tavern to be fantastic and enjoyed your anniversary with us.

It always gives me great pleasure to read about the fantastic team of staff I have here at the hotel. I will be personally showing your review to all of the staff especially Emma from the restaurants and Theo from reception.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for a return visit in the not too distant future.

Mr Andreas Christodoulides General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is absolutely superb and with fantastic staff it has a winning combination, so courteous and absolutely nothing is a problem for them. There are no issues with people reserving sunbeds because the hotel operates a system where you are allocated beds by the pool and they are your beds for the duration of your stay.....if only more hotels did this, takes unnecessary stress out of your hard earned holiday.
Its a very pleasant walk to the old town of Paphos which is lovely.
I would highly recommend this hotel to families abd couples alike, of all ages and I would return in a heartbeat.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank NIna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel, we are delighted that we have lived up to your holiday expectations and that you liked our sun bed allocation system.

Thank you also for mentioning the great team of staff we have here at the hotel, I am very proud of each and every one of them.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.

Mr Andreas Christodoulides General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Just returned from our second visit and there has been no drop in standards at this ideally located hotel.
The room we had was spacious and was kept spotlessly clean with an excellent view over the harbour. In fact, all areas are spotlessly clean.
There is a large variety of food at all meal times and the quality is high. The speciality restaurants, at no extra charge, should not be missed.
What sells this hotel for us is the exceptional staff and we were treated like returning friends. Apart from a couple on reception who are quite surly, the friendliness and efficiency of the staff is better than we have ever experienced. I would like to give special thanks to Philippa, Leoni, Emma and Athena.
We found the entertainment run of the mill but this could be down to personal taste.
Access to British TV in the rooms was also useful to us.
Will definitely go back for a third time.

Room Tip: Higher floors with a view of the harbour are ideal.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank LancashireLeyther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am delighted that we exceeded your holiday expectations and that you found the hotel to be spotlessly clean, with an excellent location, and that our restaurants provided a great variety of high quality food.

It always gives me great pleasure to read about the fantastic team of staff I have here at the hotel. I will be personally showing your review to all of the staff especially Leoni ( reservations), Emma and Athena ( restaurant hostesses) and Philippa our Guest Relations Manager.

Looking forward to welcoming you back for a return third visit in the not too distant future.

Mr Andreas Christodoulides General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We booked the Alexander the Great for a 2-week stay in August 2014, full board, with our 18-year old son who was given the option to come with us. Quite simply, we had an absolutely fantastic holiday and cannot praise the staff and management of the hotel enough. They were truly amazing - and we can't wait to go back next year.

The hotel offers a good mix and blend for families or couples, with enough to cater for all. We stayed from 9th to 23rd August and while there was a reasonable number of young children, it didn't feel like it effected us. On some afternoons, we still managed to have the main pool almost to ourselves - which would be rare if there were loads of kids.

We flew from Exeter and had a taxi transfer to the hotel, which takes no more than 25mins from Paphos International Airport. The flight landed at around 10.30pm and we arrived at the hotel around 11.30pm - by midnight, we were in our room! The check-in process was simple and efficient and bags were taken to your room by a porter.

The room itself was spotlessly clean, the beds were comfortable and we had a wonderful view of Paphos Harbour from our balcony. Fresh fruit was on display, the mini-bar stocked and ben linen crisp and fresh.

Rooms are cleaned daily, sometimes twice, while the towels were changed twice a day, which meant we had fresh towels in the morning when we woke up and again in the evening when we were getting ready for the evening entertainments. Brilliant. They even supplied beach towels for use in the sunbeds - or wherever you wanted to take them really.

This brings me nicely on to sunbeds. On day one, we went to see the Pool Attendant who allocated us 3 sunbeds, overlooking the sea, with a short trip town to the beach (which is a little pebbly as you enter the water) and within reasonable reach of the pool and (more importantly) the pool bar! These sunbeds were then ours for the entire stay. No fighting with Germans for beds at 6am and no need to place your towels down to reserve a spot. There were plenty of beds available. Not all of them are in great positions, but you do have the option to change them as others become available. We were more than happy with ours!!! Brilliant idea by the hotel.

Back to the rooms - the cleaning staff were all friendly and polite. One of them even gave my wife a big kiss and hug when we announced we were leaving that day. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The same goes for the maintenance staff too. We had a minor problem with our aircon and with the TV remote - both were sorted within minutes of making the request. What more could you ask for?

As I mentioned, we stayed full board, so breakfast and evening meals were included in our package and we certainly could not fault the quality or variety of the food available. Something to cater for all tastes so, if you didn't like the look of something - have something else!!

The buffet-style dinners in Roxannes were very well done. There was a different theme every night, from Mexican to Italian to Cypriot to French and to Western BBQ - although other options were still available if none of that floated your boat. The selection of salads were unbelievable and all hot dishes were fresh and regularly replenished, so if you decided to eat later in the evening you did not run the risk of settling for 'leftovers'. Special mention to restaurant staff Emma, Quentin and Dimitri - top notch customer service and very friendly.

The best part for us was the opportunity to eat in the 3 al-a-carte restaurants situated within the hotel - one each, for each week - so we could eat twice in each restaurant during our stay as part of our package which, like the buffet dinners, included a drink and bottle of table water.

Our particular favourite was Garibaldi's Italian restaurant, but were equally impressed by the Kiku Japanese restaurant which overlooks the sea and views across to Paphos Harbour which is quite beautiful when lit up at night. The service in both, like the rest of the hotel, is superb. You are made to feel like royalty.

The Limanaki Greek Taverna was very nice, but if I'm completely honest, did not offer much more than you could get in the buffet on Cypriot night. Still very nice nevertheless.

During the first week, we were invited by Mr Christodoulides the Hotel Manager to a cocktail party at the Pool Bar, where we were introduced to his management team. Once again, we were made to feel very important and it was a nice touch. We spoke to Mr Christodoulides for some time and it is clear that customer service is his passion and he insists that all his staff buy into this philosophy. We also discovered he's an Arsenal fan - which is a shame of course!

When you book into a hotel, we kind of expect the entertainment to be a little amateur and cheesey. For that reason, it was our intention to go out most evenings and visit the local bars and tavernas - however, we actually only did that for 4/5 nights out of the 14 because the evening entertainment was so good!!

The resident entertainments team of Warren, Beth, Aimee, Emily and Steven are a credit to themselves and the hotel. We really don't know how they find the time to arrange activities throughout the day and still manage to put on such professional shows in the evening. In particular the Chicago-Rouge show was top notch... but to be fair it was hard to pick a favourite as they were all so good. In addition to the resident entertainers, there were really good quality acts such a Matt Edmundson (comedy vocalist), Symbiosis (rock band) and Tony Blues (comedy/blues act)... all brilliant.

The bar and waiting staff are equally professional. They all work so hard, for such long hours and in temperatures that we English simply could not manage - yet they manage to do so with a smile on their face and ensure that, once again, nothing is too much trouble. Special mention on this occasions to Jakub at the Pool Bar, Nikos in Alexanders Bar and to the lovely Angelina who was amazing for our whole stay. Our son will miss her for sure!

It's actually very difficult to find anything to criticise. If I had to, I would say that the drinks are a little expensive (in some cases double the price of some bars and tavernas we visited)... and the WiFi is a bit of a pain as you have to keep logging in every 30mins and there are often too many subscribers. However - that really is being ultra picky and neither were a massive issue during our stay.

We found the location of the hotel perfect. It's within walking distance of the harbour, but far enough away that you are not disturbed by the nightlife. Coming out of the hotel, you can turn left or right and find a number of bars, tavernas or restaurants if you want to try something different. We particularly enjoyed a quiet and friendly place called Billy's Bar just a 2min walk from the hotel and were made to feel very welcome by Maria and Billy on the evenings we visited. Well worth checking out and we look forward to seeing them again next year.

In summary, this is quite simply, the best holiday we have ever had. The hotel and the staff were amazing and really did make a difference. We understand that everyone has different tastes and requirements for a holiday but, without doubt, ours were fulfilled fully and our expectations exceeded. We have already agreed that we will be coming back next year and are in the process of convincing some of our family to come with us.

We're still trying to upload some photos off cameras and phones, but will put some of our own images on the review very soon.

Brilliant brilliant holiday!!!

Room Tip: Clearly, you would want a room overlooking the pool and out to sea. We had a room on the corner whic...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Jon and Michell... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Let us thank you for choosing Alexander The Great Beach Hotel for your holidays. We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments about your stay in our hotel.

Thank you for your good comments regarding the location of the hotel, the spacious well furnished rooms with crisp bed linen,the specialty restaurants Kiku the Japanese, Garibaldi the Italian, and Limanaki the Cypriot tavern where guests can eat once a week and the sun bed allocation system.

It is very pleasing to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and felt the need to share this experience with us and other reviewers. We greatly appreciate that you have rated our facilities, service and quality highly and also made a special mention to our team members, Warren, Beth, Steven, Aimee and Emily( kanika Allstars), Jakub in the pool bar, Nikos in Alexanders bar and Angelina at the pool bar. I will share all of your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit, with warm regards from all of us here at the Alexander the Great Beach Hotel.

Mr Andreas Christodoulides General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Just watched Matt for the second time this holiday and yet again he delivered a flawless performance. Great mix of old and oldish songs to sing along too delivered with a unique sense of humour and incidentally an excellent voice.


Heartily recommend for anyone looking for a singalong and a dance with a bit of a twist.

Andy, Katie and family

Room Tip: Don't go in 004 if you don't like bad kareoke.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas C, General Manager at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Greetings from Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in Paphos.

Thank you taking the time to submit a review .

Matt Edmonson will be pleased that he has been mentioned.

Looking forward to the day when we welcome you back to the hotel.

Mr Andreas Christodoulides General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.3 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,739 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#16 of 85 in Paphos
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
1.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander The Great Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Address: Posidonos Ave., Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#3 Business Hotel in Paphos
#4 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#9 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £73 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander The Great Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
• Award-winning hotel• Great ‘EU Blue Flag’ beachfront location • Unique central location overlooking the picturesque harbour and old Castle • Recently Renovated • Accommodation capacity 202 rooms• New Garden Superior Cabanas (suitable for couples) Front Sea view, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• New Superior Cabanas with infinity private pool(suitable for adults) Front Sea View, with Jacuzzi bath luxury bathrobes, towels & slippers, free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; free internet access, VIP check In• Two Bedroom Penthouse Suite, Full Sea View, Ultra luxury with elegant furniture, Private dining and lounge area, sunbathing facilities, spacious veranda, luxury bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; VIP check-in. • Superior Rooms – Front Sea View Rooms offering bathrobes, towels and slippers; Free tea & coffee facilities replenished daily; Free internet access; • Standard Rooms – Front Sea View, Side Sea View & Inland View• New HB & FB plus concept that includes dine around, with the choice of 5 restaurants and free drinks package included with every meal • Roxanne’s Restaurant serves live cooking shows and buffet style theme nights that vary each night; • Garibaldi serves á la carte Italian cuisine (adults-only); • Kiku serves a la carte Japanese cuisine; • Limanaki Greek Tavern overlooking the Mediterranean sea, serves traditional Cyprus meze• Pella pool bar offering snacks, refreshments and cocktails.• Breakfast & lunch served in the Café Royal Restaurant in buffet and show cooking style. A la carte menu is also available at lunch.• Alexander’s main cocktail bar with daily entertainment; • Large lobby & terrace with bamboo style sofas and live piano 3 times a week; • Unique sun bed allocation system to ensure your own sun bed and parasols during your stay; • Free-form swimming pool; (free usage) • Free usage of indoor heated pool (winter) with whirlpool overlooking Paphos old harbor • Aphrodite New Health Club & Spa; Free sauna & steam bath. Massages, facials, manicure and pedicure also available at charge• New spacious fully equipped gym; Tennis court• Hairdressing Saloon • Havana – new outdoor entertainment venue• Professional entertainment & Animation team through out the year• Kids’ Club, professionally run, kids disco and other supervised activities.• Healthy children’s menus• Cots and high chairs available• Kids’ own pool• Family orientated hotel• Wedding venues available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alexander The Great Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander The Great Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Paphos
Alexander The Great Hotel Paphos
Alexander Great Hotel Cyprus
Alexander Great Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing