We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice for a spring break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Louis Phaethon Beach
Ranked #20 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2013

An excellent choice for an early spring break.
Take pool towels with you.
English plugs go straight in the wall.
If you get a cloudy day you can use the heated inside pool, Jacuzzi, sauna gym and steam room at no extra charge.
The hotel provides bicycles at no extra charge.
The AI drinks includes the normal plus cocktails, tequila, rum and looke likee baileys and Malibu. One night the buffet had king prawns, wow. Food excellent.
I counted 12 staff in the animation team but there were more. The do quizzes, archery, zumba etc and put on a 10pm show. All very talented and wow those boys can dance!
The beds were a little hard for our liking. You do not need aircon in March; this means you can sometimes hear people in the corridors. We used our plastic covered spare blankets as a draught excluder which helped. Light sleepers request a quiet room or consider taking a pair of ear plugs just in case
The sea walk in to Paphos took 45 minutes one day and 55 minute another. We got the bus back (one euro), the bus station is just before you reach the boats in the Harbour. The Hotel bus stops outside.
We used the bus a lot, three euros for an all day ticket, buy on bus. We went to coral bay, tomb of Kings, Ayios Neofytos Monastery, the market. Just go to the bus station and change.
If you go near the Pelican restaurant by the boats in the harbour a real Pelican visits, we saw him two mornings.
There is a nice costal walk behind the harbour; we then got the bus back to the harbour.
The local opticians had beautiful frames that you do not see in the UK particularly if you want top of the range designer ones.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank weasell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Louis Phaethon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear guest,

On behalf of the Louis Phaethon Beach team we would like to thank you for your wonderful review about your stay.

We are very glad that you liked the hotel, and enjoyed our varied and quality selection of food and drinks. We also appreciate your compliments about our animation team and their performance. We regret that the beds were hard, however we wish you have informed us about this issue on the spot, as we have mattress covers at the reception upon request.

We hope that you still had a relaxing time and we will be glad to welcome you again at the Louis Phaethon Beach.

Best regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,221 - 3,227 of 4,780 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

Chose this hotel based on reviews from trip advisor, and can honestly say we were not disappointed. We arrived on the 20th March staying for just one week. I had booked a double room paying for a view over looking the poolside & sea, I emailed them about a week before departure requesting this to be on a high floor, they replied saying this had been noted. The room was centeraly, located on the second floor, (there is only three floors) with a excellent view overlooking the large pool and seaview. The room itself whilst not being over spacious was very clean, modern décor, good balcony, the over bath shower unit was excellent with good water flow & plenty of instant hot water.(tip: you pull the shower pipe downwards at the base of bath taps to operate the shower). Being all inclusive there is food & drink available all day long.
There is a large restrauant area which serves a wide variety of quality well cooked and prepared
food to suit anyones palet.(The increase in waist size is testimony to that). The animation team employed by the hotel is second to none putting highly professional shows on every evening
& entertainment during the day. There is during the months from November to the end of April
a excellent ballroom & sequence dance programme that caters for all abilities. It is a very spacious hotel & grounds and I can imagine it to be a kids paradise during the summer season,
with pools and water flumes to play in. If there is a downside it is that the location is at the end of the strip but then again there is a good bus service or a nice walk up to the harbour.

Room Tip: choose and pay a little extra for the pool and seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Louis Phaethon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Louis Phaethon Beach for your special occasion.

It is a delight that your choice based on the reviews from other guests was worthwhile, as you were satisfied with our service and hospitality. We appreciate your note about the cleanliness and modern decor of the room, and about the wide variety of well prepared food. We are glad that you enjoyed the daily activities, dance classes and professional shows organized by our animation team.

We hope to see you again at the Louis Phaethon Beach during summer, so you could also enjoy our outdoor facilities.

Best regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Having stayed in the Antigoni Protaras for our honeymoon we thought a week in the Phaethon would be better after reading the reviews however we were disappointed that we were allocated a room overlooking the car park and bus stop. The room was adequate and in general kept clean.
As we were all inclusive the drinks were acceptable and the food was reasonable without being really exceptional. The lunch time buffet including the oriental buffet was better than the main dinners. Service was a bit mixed good at lunch time when you went to the bar yourself and slow in the evenings with waiter service. Entertainment in the evenings was mainly downstairs in the underground bar, we had one evening were a duo sang in the upstairs lounge outside but that was it.
All in all not a great experience however we liked the relaxing chairs by the pool and the walk into Paphos along the new walkway but the bus back was better!!

Room Tip: A pool view is essential for early/late sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grandadtommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Louis Phaethon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear guest,

We express our gratitude at your stay with the Louis Phaethon Beach and at your review.

We are glad that our room was suitable for you, and you note its cleanliness; moreover that you were satisfied with the selection of local drinks, offered for All Inclusive guests, and particularly enjoyed our relaxing chairs by the pool. However we are very sorry that we could not meet all your expectations. We are surprised to hear that the food was not exceptional, as we usually get only positive feedback about our buffet, nevertheless we respect your opinion and will inform our chefs about your comment. We also took a note regarding the service during dinner time for our future improvement.

We hope that you still had a nice relaxing holiday, and hope to get a second chance to show you our hospitality and welcome you again at one of our Louis Hotels.

Faithfully yours,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Stayed here for two weeks from 6th march.It was our third visit and we found it just as good as our previous visits.The staff are always welcoming and friendly,the food is varied and of a high standard. Activities are well organised by the animation team who also put on professional shows in the theatre at night.At this time of year the weather changes from day to day but it was always warm enough to wear shorts when out and about.It was lovely to see people that we had met here last year and to meet new friends. We will return.Bill and Fiona I have lost your email address.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Louis Phaethon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear repeated guest,

What a pleasure it was to welcome you again at the Louis Phaethon beach.

We are so pleased that you found your current stay as good as your previous ones. We are also glad to hear that the staff were as always welcoming and friendly, that food was varied and of a high standard; moreover that your time was occupied with the activities organized by our professional animation team.

It fills us with joy that you spent another great holiday at our hotel and moreover met old and made new friends. We will be very happy to welcome you again at the Louis Phaethon Beach.

Sincerely yours,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at this lovely hotel.

It is a very large hotel, but the service was great and personal.

We stayed as all inclusive and the food and drinks available were excellent every day with great choices to suit all adults and children.

Snacks available all throughout the day so you will not go hungry!!

Would definitely recommend. Beach front location is really nice too

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeniseBr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Louis Phaethon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Louis Phaethon Beach as your holiday destination..

We appreciate your note that despite the size of our hotel our staff gave you a great service. We are also happy to hear that our delicious food and drink available throughout the day satisfied your appetite and you were never left hungry.

We will be very glad to welcome you again at the Louis Phaethon Beach.

Truly yours,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This was our first time to Cyprus, and decided on this hotel after trawling through trip adviser web site, we were well pleased with the holiday from start to finish. We arrived in the hotel at around 10.30p.m. and after leaving baggage in reception we were ushered into the dining room where there was a hot buffet meal, sandwiches, cakes etc ready for us. Our room was facing the sea and overlooking the bowling green on the third floor, we found the room very clean and more than adequet for 2 adults. The food and service was fantastic for every meal. We stayed in and around the hotel every night as paphos was a little quiet with it being so early in the season, there was plenty to keep us occupied with a quiz, bingo and then a show every night. Will definately be going back to Paphos and this hotel, but probably a little later in the year.

Room Tip: the room we had overlooking the bowling green was quite, and had the sun all day long
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wideboy500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Louis Phaethon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear guest,

Let us thank you for deciding to spend your holiday at the Louis Phaethon Beach and for leaving your comment to the TripAdvisor readers.

We are thrilled to hear that you chose our hotel based on the reviews, and were well pleased with the holiday from start to finish. We are glad that the Louis Late Bites appeared to be a good end of your long day, but also a good start of your wonderful stay. It is a delight that our room suited your needs and you note its cleanliness, that you were indulged with the variety of food; additionally that you did not have time to get bored with the arranged activities from our animation team.

We cannot wait to welcome you again at the Louis Phaethon Beach.

Best regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This is a large, modern hotel situated on a large site just about as far east as you can get within Paphos, about 2½ miles from the harbour, between the Aphrodite Waterpark and the sea. There’s a sea-front walk (a little rough, much like walking over meadowland) all the way into town, and there are regular bus services from outside the hotel to the harbour bus station. Flat fare on Paphos buses is €1, all-day ticket €3, 7-day ticket €13. If you’re doing more than just the round trip to the harbour, buy the all-day ticket. The economics of the 7-day ticket obviously depend on what you’re doing throughout the week. Bus maps and timetables were available from hotel reception. Despite its styling as a “beach hotel”, it is not located on a beach; the nearest is the municipal beach at Geroskipou, a few hundred yards further east. At the seafront by the hotel is a new sea wall, constructed partly by a tracked excavator which plied throughout the working day throughout our stay, unloading and bashing into place large blocks of stone – so we couldn’t sleep on in the morning, nor could we get much peace in the outdoor areas. “Old clanky” seemed to have moved on around the corner by the time we left, so it may no longer be a problem.

All staff were very pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. The reception area is large and open. The area couples as bar/waiting area, incorporating two indoor bars and the waiting area. It is of smooth concrete-and-marble construction with few softening features, so it gets very noisy when large numbers of guests are present. The indoor bars had a good range of drinks, and the staff worked well and hard to keep the guests supplied with libation. Marianna, Constantin and Toni in particular were very good. However, the bar had only one hot drink machine behind the counter, operated by staff; so staff were frequently tied up waiting for the machine to come up with hot drinks. During the day, when the indoor bars were self-service from the counter, there was usually only one member of staff on duty, who had to gravitate between the cold drinks and hot drinks counters. As guests had to operate the hot drinks machines themselves in the restaurant, why on earth could they not be allowed direct access to a hot drinks machine on the bar during the day? Elf & safety? Strangely, whilst sparkling water was included in the quite reasonable all-inclusive bar menu, still water was not. However, a tip – keep the water bottles you buy at the airport or on the plane, and the bar staff will refill them from you on request; and you can also refill them yourself from the dispenser in the main restaurant.

The grounds include swimming pools and lounging areas, some of which were not yet open for the season at the time of our visit. Similarly, outdoor bar facilities were not available. There was a good supply of sunbeds (but then, it was early season and the hotel was far from full), some of which had seen better days. Towels for use around the outdoor pools were not available from the hotel for hire, nor at a deposit, nor at a charge. Towels could be bought from a shop within the hotel, or from Paphos generally, generally of low quality and high price; so take your own if baggage allowance permits, or even take old ones and jettison them.

Our twin room was a bit on the small side for a 4*, but adequate, though there was a bare 12” gap between one bed and a wall. An estate agent would probably describe the bathroom euphemistically as “compact”. The bath had low sides, and there was a handle if needed for getting oneself up from the bath; but there was nothing much to stop anyone using the shower over the bath from toppling. The hotel provided liquid “soap” in a dispenser by the hand basin, and “shower gel/shampoo” in a dispenser over the bath. They seemed to be what they said, and they were kept topped up throughout our stay. The rooms were kept fairly clean, but dust, talcum powder and small bits of discarded matter seen in the bathroom were sometimes still there days later. Our room had a communicating door to the next room, which we assume was locked during our stay. For the first few nights, the adjoining room was occupied by a couple who habitually bickered noisily in the early hours then snored very loudly. Tip – if offered a room with a communicating door, try to change it. There was also a fair bit noise from the landings and corridors in the early hours – a few notices near lifts and staircases asking guests for a bit of hush near bedrooms could be a useful and cheap improvement.

Meals were provided in the restaurant located at the level below reception. Anti-bacterial handwash was provided at the entrance, but sadly the majority of guests seemed to ignore it. An extensive range of food and drink was provided. Breakfast has the usual 4* options. However, the “hot” food was mostly barely lukewarm. “Bacon” was a mottled pink-and-white substance, without rind. I’m still trying to work out whether it was some sort of meat reconstituted from unmentionable parts of animals, or a chemical concoction sprayed with something to give it a vague semblance of the taste of real bacon. The bread and cake were so dry that I just couldn’t swallow them and so went without. Lunch was much as dinner, without the main carvery. Dinner had the usual options. One sort of soup was provided each day, temperature varying between almost stone cold and almost boiling. Appetising-looking salads were provided, but with no indication of content beyond usually “contains fish” or “contains nuts” – mostly, just no information whatever. I don’t mind trying out new tastes, but I’m conscious that my stomach will take only so much, and I don’t want to risk ruining a relatively expensive holiday by eating injudiciously.

Main course meats were usually of good quality, but in our view often ruined by what the kitchen staff did to them, though to be fair the majority of guests seemed to be gorging themselves silly and waxing lyrical about the food. “Mashed potato” was the usual substance suitable for hanging only lightweight wallpapers, and vegetables were usually mixed, with bits of what one didn’t want all over the bits one did want. We often came across containers of food labelled with a local name, followed by “local dish” but with absolutely no indication of what they contained. Just a bit of labelling would have helped. Desserts were mainly gooey concoctions with lots of catering cream and nothing much else, or gelatinous jellies, or two flavours of ice cream, though on some occasions something hot with a plastic-type custard accompaniment was provided. Strangely, the hotel doesn’t have the wit to set out two scoops rather than one, so guests end up smearing each flavour of ice cream over the other.

There were five hot drink machines in the restaurant, which each took an age to produce a drink. Even in the early season with the hotel under-occupied, these sometimes had long queues. When the hotel was busy, the noise in the restaurant could seem almost deafening, and it could be difficult to find a seat; it was like one would imagine being last in for brekky at Billy Butlins à la Hi-de-Hi. Snacks were provided from time to time throughout the day, often of about the standard of the stale British Rail sandwich of blessèd memory – unless the Greek Cypriots got at them, in which case there was a choice as to which crumb one might prefer.

The main indoor entertainment area was in the basement, with access via a dingy corridor past the toilets then down further steps. There was an alternative, even more dingy route somewhere behind the scenes for wheelchair-bound guests. It was a large, ill-lit and barely decorated room, with a very loud, echoing sound system and with much of the atmosphere conveyed by old films of our gallant folk making the best of things in an underground wartime bomb shelter. Because of the dreary, depressing atmosphere of the main entertainments area, we did not attend any performances in the basement. People who had done so spoke of the entertainment team being good and professional. We often encountered the entertainments staff upstairs, and they were certainly personable and pleasant.

The biggest negative point for us was the noise in the bar/reception area. The weather being not at its best in the early season, we had to spend more time there than we would have done later in the season. Any noise reverberated and echoed throughout the combined reception / waiting / two-bar area. The entertainments team would arrive from time to time, plug in the sound system, turn it up too high, then shout into it, running killer darts competitions and quizzes. Given a combination of excessive noise and echoing, we often just could not make out what was being said. The problem was compounded by numerous groups of overweight, drunken, geriatric British guests from somewhere south or east of Charing Cross, who seemed to spend most of the time pouring drinks down their throats whilst shouting raucously and screaming almost hysterically.

On both weekends of our visit, the hotel held “Greek Weekends”. The hotel’s idea seemed to be, not unreasonably, to let as many vacant rooms as possible to Greek Cypriots, who turned up on the Saturday and stayed for one, two or three days. There were literally hundreds of them at a time, and they tended to be noisier than the British. Some of the British guests complained about the noise the Greek Cypriots made; but in truth, it was preferable to the drunken squealing and shouting of the drunken geriatric guests which it drowned out or dampened down.

On putting our luggage in the baggage room at the end of our visit, I came across a luggage weighing machine. I can’t vouch for its accuracy, but you could check-weigh your luggage in the baggage room free of charge before heading off to the airport.

A final word about organised trips. There are a number of local operators, such as Gorgo Travel (half a mile towards town, on the right), and Ruslan Travel (based at the main harbour bus station), whose prices are usually much lower than the main international tour operators, and it would be sensible to check them out either online before travelling or in person in resort, before booking with main operators. The main operators tend to include admission charges and meals, whereas the local operators do not; but many places visited do not have admission charges, and all-inclusive guests may neither need nor want a full lunchtime meal of unknown merit. If you want to cross the “green line” to the Turkish side of the island in a bus, only Thomsons seem to have permission to do so; but if you take a trip to Nicosia, it is possible to just walk across the line - take your passport, and fill in a chit with your name, nationality and passport number.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with communicating doors (wafer thin) or near lifts/landings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WartsAndAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at Louis Phaethon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Dear guest,

Let us thank you for taking your time and to write valuable feedback about your stay at the Louis Phaethon Beach.

We are delighted to read your detailed description of our hotel, we are very happy that all our staff were very pleasant and helpful throughout your stay, that you enjoyed our selection of drinks and our bar staff took a good care of your glasses. It is nice of you to note our outdoor facilities, which, we regret, you could not use, also the availability of sunbeds and the cleanliness of our property. It is also a delight to hear your positive words about our entertainment team, who were always personable and pleasant. However it saddens us that we could not meet your expectations fully, and for this we want to apologize. We are sorry that your room was not cleaned to a standard you were expected and our housekeepers will be informed of your displeasure accordingly. We are surprised to hear your negative remarks about of our food, as we mostly receive only positive feedback, nevertheless we respect your opinion and we will inform our chefs about your comment. We also took a note of your remark about food labeling, second ice-scooper and about self-service drink-machines for bars in the future.
From your words, it seems that you would have preferred a smaller, quitter hotel for your holiday and perhaps this was a major factor in your dissatisfaction. Should you be willing to grace us with a future visit to Louis Hotels, we would decently recommend you considering one of our smaller properties like the King Jason in Paphos, Royal Apollonia in Limassol and Louis Plagos Beach in Zakynthos.

Again we are very sorry, that your holiday was not as good as you expected, however we hope to receive a second chance to impress you with our hospitality and we hope to welcome you in another one of our Louis Hotels.

Sincerely yours,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
2.0 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.8 mi away
Louis Imperial Beach
Louis Imperial Beach
#8 of 85 in Paphos
3,406 reviews
4.3 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
1.5 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louis Phaethon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louis Phaethon Beach

Address: 22 Theos Aphrodite Avenue, Geroskipou, Paphos 8130, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#12 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#19 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £89 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Louis Phaethon Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Louis Phaethon Beach 4 star hotel in Pafos is located on the Paphos coast near the picturesque harbor and only 10 km from Paphos International Airport. Louis Phaethon Beach is also an all inclusive hotel in Pafos located directly on the beach, with an unlimited Mediterranean Sea view. Relax at the Louis Phaethon Health Club, enjoy a swim in one of our indoor or outdoor pools or forget your stress and go for a steam bath or a jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Louis Phaethon Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Phaethon Beach Paphos
Phaethon Hotel
Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing