We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shouldnt be rated as 4 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Louis Phaethon Beach
Ranked #20 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
pafos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shouldnt be rated as 4 Star”
Reviewed 21 May 2010

Just returned from two week break at the Louis Phaethon Hotel in Paphos Cyprus. What a disappointment! This hotel in the brochure is rated as 4 star plus. How a hotel that doesnt provide pool towels or tea and coffee making facilities in your room (mind you the room wasnt big enough to accomodate any such luxury) can be classified as that beggers belief. Our sheets on our bed were not changed for 4 days! The bar staff didnt have a clue. One evening we ordered two drinks, a beer and a gin and tonic after twenty mins got fed up waiting so ordered again, another twenty mins later still nothing so went up to the bar to order, were then told in no uncertain terms that we had to order via waiter, so.........for the third time ordered again......lo and behold three beers and three gin and tonics turned up. I really think that this hotel is over rated and should be degraded to three stars. The restaurant was very boring as in.......meat and two veg every night. It would have been nice to have tried some Cypriot food, or even had theme nights where you try different foods from around the world. We ate out a few times which seems daft as we were all inclusive.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pafospafos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,075
    1,101
    325
    98
    58
See reviews for
2,224
1,630
61
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,451)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2010

We stayed in this hotel from 5th May 2010 for 1 week and had an brilliant holiday! When we arrived we were a bit disappointed in the size of the room that 4 of us were to share (2adults and 2 teenagers) but we forgot about that as we didn't see the kids for most of the week. They were entertained all day by the annimation team who organised daily football, rounders, water polo and other games - I even got involved myself...there were kids as young as 6 playing the games and adults including both men and women. Our kids are too old for the mini club but it was clear that the younger kids had a great time for about 4 hours in the day (10-12 and 3-5) and then after their mini disco they could watch a film whle the parents had a drink! The shows at night were fab, perfomed by the annimation team which consists of mainly trained dancers, we thoroughly enjoyed all of the shows. The food was good and varied and the service was friendly. Overall we had a fantastic holiday, mainly because the kids were so entertained and we didn't hear once that they were bored!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone considering it especially if you have children.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachbumChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

Went to Cyprus for a family wedding with Thomsons.What a fantastic time we had.Booked for a week but ended up staying for 10 days due to the ash cloud.The hotel was first class with the staff being very helpful and cheerful,Special mention to the Animation team who kept everybody entertained day and night.Our party consisted of age 60+ to 4 years old and there was something for everybody to do.All Inclusive a must as it can be dear when buying on site ie 5.50 euros for a cocktail.Food excellent and varied in choice.Would definately return to both this hotel and Paphos as it is a beautiful place. The harbour area is a bit away from the hotel but it is only 1,30euros for the regular bus which stops right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mortonno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

We spent the first week in May here. We too were a little apprehensive after reading negative reviews. Okay the rooms are a little dated and also on the small size for a family with two teenagers but that's where the negatives stop. The food here is outstanding, we have visited many AI inclusive hotels and this is one of the best. So much choice in the main restaurant, food available all day around the pool and chinese food on some days again around the pool area. Yes you do have to be waited on for drinks in the evening and we did find we got quicker service by sitting in the coffee area (even though we were ordering alcoholic drinks). The staff work really hard and it just takes a friendly smile from yourself to them to get one in return. The pool area is large and always plenty of sunbeds. The animation team work really hard. The kids and husband joined in quite a lot of activities like shuffle board, french bowls, swimming races and games but you were never forced into joining in. There is not much of a beach here but as mentioned in previous reviews the seafront is lovely and there is a palmtree lined walk to the harbour which took us about an hour to do but was really lovely. We would definitely recommend this hotel to people who like AI, year-round sunshine, top quality food and friendly staff. Just don't listen to the moaners who write negative reviews.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smigsLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2010

After reading the last two reviews about this hotel I felt compelled to write my views. Firstly, where were these people staying????? Everyone is entitled to an opinion, but they are so so wrong its unreal!!! We spent the first week in May here and had the most fantastic holiday. We arrived after midnight and after filling in a short booking form, went off to our room. We had been left sandwiches and drinks as the all inclusive had finished. We then we went down to the bar and had waiter service for the next hour (drinks were payable after all inclusive times). We had no problem in obtaining the drinks. To be able to have cocktails in the package too was great!!
The food here was outstanding. The breakfast, buffet style, had everything you could want for a full English or continental. Lunch and dinner were again buffet style, with the selection and quality being amazing. I would have happily paid restaurant prices for it. My only quibble would be the lack of vegetarian options on some days, but do have to put some of this down to me being a very fussy eater!!
The pool area is spacious with sufficient sunbeds for everyone. It is no more slippery than ony other pool????? I certainly didn't see anyone trip!!!
The daytime and evening entertainment is second to none. The animation team are great and will try to get you involved but wont hassle you if you dont want it. The hours these guys work and the effort they put in is commendable. Dido, the animations manager is great at his job too!!
The rooms are spacious and clean with maid service everyday. We had our bed and towels changed daily.
The location of the hotel is about a 40 minute walk to the harbour, but it is a lovely stroll along the coastal path. (nb, the hotel ''beach'' does leave alot to be desired!!)
All in all this was a great hotel, especially for the price we paid for an all inclusive week in Cyprus. I would recommend the hotel 100%.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maidmarion123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We stayed in Louis Phaethon In the first week in May. Upon arrival we got a very surly looking Receptionist who barked at us to fill in our registration forms, Once we done that he kindly dragged me over the counter to put the all inclusive band on, During this not a smile or a crack in his face. We got given the keys and told to find our room with him waving hes arm roughly over the right hand side of the hotel.........Once we found our room (a good 20 mins later) the rooms are tiny! it was only myself and my boyfriend and we struggled to unpack without bumping into eachother! The rooms got cleaned everyday but not to a very high standard.You dont get given towels for round the pool so you have to take your own. If you do forget DONT buy them in the hotel shop as they are 8 Euros if you walk into the harbour you can get them for 3 Euros. The pool area is very dangerous when wet the amount of people who slipped over during our stay was quite high. Howvere the pool area is good with very good entertainmentduring the day. The animation team are really good with getting people involved, but also dont bug you too much if you would like to be left in peace. They are all friendly and have different kinds of entertainment during the day. However the evening entertainment is a completely different matter. We only went down to see 1 show they put on as we mainly walked down to the harbour. The one show we did see was Mamma Mia and having never seen the film was quite looking forward to it untill 2 minutes in and it was just the animation team running around the stage and miming to the film! We promptly left! The bar service is terrible! not any of them smile at you or are polite. On the 1st night i attempted to get a drink at the bar and was told that if i havent got myself a table i wouldnt be getting served! So i sat at a table and 15 minutes later i still hadnt been asked what i would like! once i had ordered it took a further 20 minutes for the drinks to be delivered to the table. I would of much preffered to que at the bar to get my own drink but we wasnt allowed! If you go down to the nightclub you are allowed up the bar but you are only allowed 2 drinks per person so if you have a big group its very awkward to all have a drink at the same time! and take my advice avoid the bar maid called christina! The only people who were friendly were the waitresses in the Cafe Vienna and you are allowed to go and get your own drink there! The food is lovely in the hotel and you get a good choice of meals. However if like me you like some fresh fruit for breakfast in the morning you will be dissapointed as all the fruit is tinned and there is no fresh fruit juice is it all squash. My idea of all inclusive is being able to drink as much as like (the most drinks we got in 3 hours was roughly 3! due to the very unfriendly bar staff and waiters/resses) have clean towels for the pool everyday and overall have friendly staff! So if you want a no frills all inclusive you can probably find one for alot cheaper than this hotel. Overall i wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2010

I previously stayed at this hotel with my family at Christmas and never thought i would go back in April to find a completely different set up, since George the duty manager has left along with all the decent bar staff the hotel has really declined, rooms were not serviced, and when they were no towels or rubbish were collected, resturant staff were very very rude snatching plates out of your hands or ushering you to un made up tables while the local diners got preferrencial treatment, entertainment in day was ok, though evening activities/shows are dated though the cheif animator seemed more interested in chasing young girls, in the bar area you could expect to wait uptp 20 mins for a drink, in fact towrads the end of our holiday we checked into the Ledra Beach its a totally different class, gym was poor rusty weights and mould on the ceiling and the spa well my bath blows more bubbles that theres did, indoor pool also cold area dirty

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissSunshine_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
2.0 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.8 mi away
Louis Imperial Beach
Louis Imperial Beach
#8 of 85 in Paphos
3,240 reviews
4.3 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,683 reviews
1.0 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
0.7 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louis Phaethon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louis Phaethon Beach

Property: Louis Phaethon Beach
Address: 22 Theos Aphrodite Avenue, Geroskipou, Paphos 8130, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#12 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#17 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#19 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Louis Phaethon Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 422
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Louis Phaethon Beach 4 star hotel in Pafos is located on the Paphos coast near the picturesque harbor and only 10 km from Paphos International Airport. Louis Phaethon Beach is also an all inclusive hotel in Pafos located directly on the beach, with an unlimited Mediterranean Sea view. Relax at the Louis Phaethon Health Club, enjoy a swim in one of our indoor or outdoor pools or forget your stress and go for a steam bath or a jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Louis Phaethon Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Phaethon Beach Paphos
Phaethon Hotel
Louis Phaethon Beach Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing