We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Heart of Paphos”
Review of Avanti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avanti Hotel
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The above title is the hotels own slogan, and appears very apt. The location is excellent, being close to the beach, and is within a 20 minute walk to the popular harbour. The hotel is surrounded by good restaurants and pubs, and is also next to a bus stop, handy for those who wish to do their own local sightseeing on a budget.
The local beach area is somewhat rocky, so in my view it is not worth paying more to stay in a beach hotel. There is a good beach at Coral Bay, which can be accessed by bus from the harbour. Tickets are 1 Euro per journey, of 3 Euros for a day ticket (Oct 2012 prices) which can be used on any of the Paphos buses on a jump on jump off basis.

Also, the staff are not only very good at what they do, they bend over backwards to be helpful and are extremely friendly. I doubt if there is a better team on the island. On arrival at reception, complementary orange juice is provided, and check in was painless. The hotel has a large staff, and it shows in the bedrooms and public areas which were always clean.

The restaurant offers great value for money, and we upgraded from b&b after trying it out using the discount ticket provided on arrival. It is buffet style, and you can eat as much or as little as you like. There is a huge choice of breakfast dishes from cereal, fruit, cheeses and ham, full English, bread,rolls, porridge and even crepes. Similarly, in the evening, there is always soup, loads of salads and at least half a dozen mains on a themed basis, plus a carvery.

We stayed at the rear of the hotel (with a pool view) and our 4th floor balcony was sunny all afternoon. It is over the evening entertainment area, but during our stay, we only had 1 night of late noise, and that was for a wedding party. If you like shade and quiet, you can ask for an inland facing room, but do so before you travel, as even in October the hotel can be full.

This hotel ticked all our boxes. There is even an indoor pool adjacent to the main pool, and I also noticed a well equipped fitness room. (Not tested by us!!) we hardly ever go back to the same place for a holiday, but would happily come back here. We travelled as a couple, leaving our kids studying hard at uni, but there were families and group of all ages from new born to pensioners, and all seemed to enjoy their time there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,091 - 2,097 of 2,969 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

We have just returned from our first ever trip to paphos staying at the Avanti hotel.with other family members(who have stayed at this hotel for the last 4years),the hotel is excellent,all staff are exceptional so friendly,our room had a mountain view the room was cleaned every day by our lovely maid we had fresh towels every day air con was a godsend,Food was excellent with different theme nights,lovely pool and gardens, no fighting for sunbeds.Good location 5 mins from the beach and a 20 mins from the lovely harbour.Definitely looking forward to our next visit to the Avanti.

Room Tip: Mountain views are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Just had to compliment the staff of this resort hotel, everything was perfect, food was superbly good, and such a great choice. Our room was spotless and cleaned each day, the position of the hotel is great, only 20 min`s into the harbour along a fab beach side walkway, or nip on the bus for €1,every 10 mins or so :-).Nearby there are several bars/eating establishments, all offering good value and great food if not on a full board status.Would recomend this hotel to anyone, go and enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolskuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We have just returned from Paphos staying at the Avanti hotel. The hotel was excellent, great welcome, lovely spacious clean room with sea/pool view ( well worth upgrading). Great variety & quality of food. The location is perfect with lots of bars & restaurants close by, bus stop outside and walk to harbour 20mins. The daily half price cocktail hour 6/7pm was brilliant as it created a friendly atmosphere for the whole evening. We look forward to our next visit to the Avanti.

Room Tip: Upgrade to sea/pool view 4th/5th floor, well worth premium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

There is alot of reviews about this hotel, so I will just make some points that may be helpful. First of all if you haven't got very good balance the bottom of the swimming pool is very slippery, so you need to be very careful getting in and out. The room tiles can be very slippery if wet, I slipped on the tiles and was quite shaken up by it, so if you spill some water clean it up straight away. Dinner times were a bit hectic at times and at those times some of the staff forgot their manners and their smile. One night we rushed over to a table and then asked our drink order before we had even sat down. Then the waitress came round and virtually threw a napkin down in front of us. We were told the dress code was long trousers and not vests in the evening, so we were a bit put out when we made the effort to bring the right clothes with us only to find people that looked like they were straight off the beach, shorts and vests were fairly common, these may have come over from the Avanti Village and as they were self catering didnt have the correct dress for the hotel, but I felt it made the hotel feel more 3* than 4.
This all sounds a bit negative so here are the positives to balance things out.
Lovely pool area, plenty of room and sunbeds. Although the room wasn't ultra modern it was completely fine. It's more important to me that everything works. It was kept clean with piping hot water even at busy times.
A good choice of food both at dinner time and breakfast.
All in all we were quite happy with the hotel for the price we paid.
The hotel tried to give us all the special requests we asked for.

Room Tip: Email the hotel with your requests beforehand. If you want a double bed rather than two singles push...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1butterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

After been recommended a holiday break in Paphos we thoroughly enjoyed every experience although 10 days was not enough. We didnt experience all that this lovely place had to offer so we will definately be returning. The Avanti Hotel was beautifull and George the Hotel Manager made our trip extra special after booking a boat trip which turned out to be his friend and informed us that the owner was soon to be married, not a lover of boats myself I was a bit aprehensive but cant wait to be able to go again. As it was a special birthday for me I was sent a lovely bottle of champagne on the day with a card wishing me all the best from the hotel, sipping champagne on the balcony at night with a spectacular view was one I will never forgot for a long time. Whatever you may request the staff at the Avanti will endeavour to deliver and always with a smile , hopefully it wont be long before we can visit again and we will definately be staying at the Avanti look forward to seeing you all again and Thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I cannot say enough how much we enjoyed our stay at the Avanti Hotel for our wedding and holiday

We were given a free upgrade to half board and a bottle of champagne on arrival,

For the wedding day there was a complementary wedding cake and champagne,and the wedding meal for our guests was wonderful

Our bedroom was decorated with rose petals and a wedding bedspread for the big day,

A superb wedding breakfast was brought up to our room and was a choice of every thing on the menu sufficient for several people never mind the two of us,

An evening meal was set out with candles and chair covers to end our perfect day,

Liza, the hotel manageress was a real friend who solved all the problems and ensured everything went on superbly well. Her support both before we went and during our stay was tremendous.
Also Tasoula the Restaurant Manageress supervised meals and helped us feel happy and relaxed.

As for the hotel itself, it was very clean; the service was excellent along with all its facilities both inside and out. Our room was lovely and the hotel food was excellent.

As you might have guessed, we will be going back

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.1 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.5 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 85 in Paphos
2,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Helios Bay Hotel
Helios Bay Hotel
#18 of 85 in Paphos
705 reviews
0.3 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avanti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avanti Hotel

Address: Poseidon Avenue, Paphos 8130, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#11 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £66 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avanti Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avanti Hotel is an outstanding four star establishment with five star facilities, situated in a prime position in the heart of the popular Cyprus coastal resort of Pafos. The hotel's modern architecture and luxurious interior decoration are designed to attract discerning holidaymakers in search of that something that makes a good holiday great. The hotel is set in over 40.000 square metres of landscaped gardens, and situated just 250 metres away from the beach. A family owned and run hotel which offers you the very heart of Pafos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avanti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avanti Hotel Paphos
Avanti Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing