We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated in our opinion”
Review of Avanti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avanti Hotel
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just got back from a week at the Avanti Hotel and I agree with the comments below which mention it not quite reaches 4 star rating. We took our teenagers to the hotel and opted for B & B + evening meal. The food was Ok but did become a little boring after a few days and some dishes lacked taste. My Partner was very disappointed with the themed nights and food choice so we ate out twice to experience Cypriot food. The evening meal is served in a restaurant inside with no atmosphere/windows. This is a shame because they have a large patio area outside where they could put tables & chairs and create a nice eating experience with lighting and music. This is what we experienced in Turkey 2 years ago with entertainment whilst we ate and local ladies preparing flat bread to eat whilst we dined. It really was very nice. On the subject of the evening entertainment it really was sub-standard. We are not fans of quizzes & karaoke. The bands we saw were not very good. I really think they could spend more money and put on some good performances to keep guests at the hotel. There were not many people watching. We were also rather embarrassed when they played a Ralph Harris song during the children's hour. Avanti I think you should change this ASAP, not very appropriate!!! I think the hotel was nice during the 90's but tennis courts are no longer in operation and the bike in the gym did not work. It is pleasant but does not give you the WOW factor. Location is also run down, we decided probably due to the recession. The walk to Paphos harbor is nice and local restaurants are good. We hired a car and went to the North West of the island which is un spoilt and a much better location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank haribo186291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,642 - 1,648 of 2,966 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

We visited this hotel because of the great reviews seen on trip advisor, we were not disappointed. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay (15th - 29th June 2014) we had all the special requests asked for which included a high floor, double bed and pool view. Our room was very comfortable with lovely soft towels and plenty of storage space for our clothes and luggage.
We booked on a bed and breakfast basis and there was always a massive choice no matter if you went down early or late. The free wifi in the lobby area was very useful in order that we could keep in touch with the family back home. Every member of staff that we came into contact with was happy and friendly, the pool was absolutely georgious with plenty of sunbeds. We went to have a look at the Avanti Village while we were there and we may go back there with more of our family next year. We always hire a car when we go to Cyprus and there is also plenty of car parking available at the hotel and at the village. We are looking forward to returning to the Avanti.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little extra for the pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just returned from an 11 day stay at the Avanti Hotel and could not fault it!

Locationwise this hotel was perfect, a short work to the beach (literally five mins) and a 20ish minute, lovely, walk to the harbour.

The rooms were lovely and spacious and the bed was so comfy!! Air conditioning was free (i've stayed in other hotel where you've had to pay) and towels were changed daily. I would recommend requesting a high room with a pool view.

The pool area was fantastic, it was very clean and there were plenty of free sunbeds/umberellas at all times. The day time entertainment was brilliant and catered for young and old (water polo, darts, table tennis, pool etc....). The entertainers (Chantelle, Amy and Mike) were lovely and very friendly. You can use the facilities of the Avanti Village, which is next door, but personally I thought the Hotel was much nicer. There was a nicer atmosphere around the pool and not so many young children.

We stayed half board and can't fault the food. There was a wide variety of food every morning, hot and cold, and a themed dinner every evening (Chinese, Carvery, BBQ, Italian etc...). The restaurants were very clean and the waiters were great.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday and i'm sure we will return to Paphos in the near future. I would definately stay in the Avanti Hotel again and will be recommending it to friends and family!!

Ten out of ten from us :-)

Jo and Dave (London)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Avanti at the end of June 2014 and we had zero complaints to make. The hotel is clean and tidy, as is the pool. The bar staff are friendly and attentive. The room was clean, and fresh towels provided if wanted. The air con is free.

One of the best things about Hotel Avanti is the fact you don't have to fight for a sunbed around the pool. We went down to the pool at all times (as late as 3pm after going out all morning) and still managed to get two beds, with a parasol by the pool. Never had this at any hotel!

We went bed and breakfast and the breakfast is 6.30am to 10am. A wide variety of English, Continental and American. There was always plenty, and it was never cold no matter what time you arrived. Its quite a walk from the harbor, but a nice walk. If you didn't want to walk every day, there is a bus stop just outside and its very cheap and runs every 15 mins. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evenings so couldn't comment, although the themes always looked pretty good (we just like to go out and about).

You can charge drinks to your room at the swim up bar which was great. The hotel does pretty great cocktails too.

We really enjoyed staying at Avanti and the whole area of Paphos is lovely too and we would definitely return.

The only minor negative comment we would make is being charged 17.50 euro for the safe and being told we would get our deposit back and we didn't (we checked out and forgot all about it until later). But that certainly wouldn't stop us going back or recommending it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank KDixie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Avanti Hotel. Our first visit but definitely not our last visit.
We booked in for B&B as we always prefer to eat out in the evenings. The breakfast is excellent with plenty of choices and we found some great restaurants with excellent food quite close by. Several of our friends booked the Avanti too because we had arranged our wedding in Cyprus on 1st July - all enjoyed their stay. The hotel was unaware of our plans until we arrived but once they found out they bent over backwards to assist whenever possible; champagne & fruit to welcome us and a champagne breakfast the day after the wedding. The rooms are nice and spacious with tea & coffee making facilities and a fridge in the room with water chilling on arrival. Pool towels are provided and can be changed daily if required. For us, a group of adults with no children this hotel was perfect.

Room Tip: We had top floor with pool view. It's cooler in ground floor rooms but we were happier on the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Sunshinegirl54Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just returned from a week with my best friend and I cant recommend this hotel highly enough. Staff were fantastic - really friendly, always smiling and willing to have a good chat, any questions we had were answered in a friendly and helpful manner, nothing was too much effort. Facilities were good, free wifi in the lobby and around the pool. Pool a good size and plenty of sun loungers, rooms really clean and made up every day.Hotel is walking distance to the harbour and bar street for a good boogie and there are some fantastic restaurants literally minutes away from the hotel. The bonus is that you can also use the facilities of the Avanti Village apartments (a 2 minute walk away) so nice to be able to change it up a little. We did B&B and the breakfast was really good - plenty of variety. We ate at the hotel for one evening - the Cyprus night and again the food was fantastic - plenty of choice and all cooked really well. Thank you so much for making our holiday a memorable one - wish we could have stayed longer and would absolutely love to come back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank linsdy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Myself and my wife booked the Avanti hotel for a 7 day stay and we were not disappointed. A lovely location next to plenty of bars and just a stroll away from the main harbour area. The hotel is spotless, perfectly clean, helpful staff and the room was perfect for what we needed. We went as a couple but this hotel and general area is perfect for any family break. The only thing I would say is it seemed like the rooms around us were being constantly cleaned and the noise did can get quite annoying during our downtime in the room. Saying that it did not spoil our time and we hold paphos very close to our hearts.

We took advantage of the breakfasts everyday, there was plenty to choose from and it didn't feel like we were rushed, unlike some hotels I have experienced in the past.

Overall we had a lovely time I would hugely recommend this hotel.

Perfect for couples and families wanting a nice break.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.1 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.5 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 85 in Paphos
2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
0.3 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avanti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avanti Hotel

Address: Poseidon Avenue, Paphos 8130, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#13 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £69 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avanti Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avanti Hotel is an outstanding four star establishment with five star facilities, situated in a prime position in the heart of the popular Cyprus coastal resort of Pafos. The hotel's modern architecture and luxurious interior decoration are designed to attract discerning holidaymakers in search of that something that makes a good holiday great. The hotel is set in over 40.000 square metres of landscaped gardens, and situated just 250 metres away from the beach. A family owned and run hotel which offers you the very heart of Pafos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avanti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avanti Hotel Paphos
Avanti Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing