We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time been there, not impressed.”
Review of Avanti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avanti Hotel
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Been there a second time after 5 years, hotle seems to be as it was 5 years ago, no improvments, no more money have been spend for improvment. Simple rooms, simple hotel, a 3* hotel, sure not a 4*. Prices were good but don't expect too much. Clean, rich breakfast, but fairly old furniture...staff were ok, recepionist seems annoyed by our visit, one waiteress was so friendly with our child! Free WIFI at the reception for guests.
Place is good, just 10-15 mins walks from Paphos port.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paolodacipro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,680 - 2,686 of 2,910 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2009

Just back from the Avanti Hotel and have to say I was a little concerned when i read one of the previous reviews stating it was not good... Wrong!!! This hotel was clean, comfortable and one of the friendliest I have stayed in. Rooms may be slightly dated but clean, and it appears they are being renovated this winter. Staff could not do enough for you and always with a smile. Lovely pool area and fab gardens with plenty loungers and shade. Ants around pool? Yes, but come on you are outside and it is not as if they are overrunning the area so they are not an issue. Reception/bar area bright and sparkling...lovely cocktails..
Would have no hesitation staying here again.All in all a fantastic holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ben10scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We stayed at the Avanti hotel for a week in August and it was just not long enough!

Fresh clean towels were provided everyday when the room was cleaned. The cleanliness was exceptional and the rooms, main hotel and pool areas were all immaculate.

For relaxing, the pool is huge with plenty of places to rest, read your book and soak up the gorgeous sunshine. In fact we spent the majority of our week doing just that, however the location was a good place to be able to explore in the evenings. Near to the hotel there are some good shops, restaurants and bars.

All the staff were excellent and I would definitely recommend this hotel to my family and friends, its an great hotel that you need to experience for yourself! Can't wait to go back!

Thanks for a great holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunqueen1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

We had been intending to spend our summer holidays at home, but with the dreadful weather we decided instead to book a last minute get away to Cyprus. We weren't really too sure what to expect from Pafos but having been there for a week we are already thinking of returning next year.

The hotel met all our needs - clean, comfortable rooms and friendly helpful staff. Excellent facilities include a lovely pool and gardens. There was even a squash court that we managed to try out (apparently the owner is a keen player). It is located a little way from the harbour area, which we actually quite liked as it was a nice 10 minute stroll in the evenings.

We found some great places to eat at the harbour - particular recommendations are Theo's fish restaurant and Mare Mare which has recently opened and has a great view over looking the harbour.

We found lots to do in our week here - aswell as the obligatory sunbathing around the hotel pool, we also used the beach at Coral Bay and would definitely recommend hiring a car and going over to Polis and Latchi on the other side of the island. The mosiacs by Pafos harbour are also well worth seeing.

All in all an excellent week.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScubaSi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

Just one complaint.. we should have stayed 2 weeks instead of 1. Our 6 year old son loved the pool and the kids club. We stayed half board and the food was lovely. We did eat out one night as I am vegetarian and whilst I enjoyed the various soups, salads, pasta dishes and huge variety of desserts I longed for a vegetable moussaka. Very clean and accommodating staff. Nice level of activities..not constant but enough to keep you occupied. Best bit.. the gorgeous swimming pool and we went at just the right time apparently (last week in August) as it had cooled down and quietened down considerably. Only 15 mins stroll from harbour and lots of local restaurants and snack bars, many of whom would accept English currency at much better rates than we are currently getting here. Bus stop just outside hotel to take you to Harbour, Coral Bay, Market and Tomb of the Kings and price was about £1.20 how every far you went. You can use facilities in Avanti Village if you like but it was definitely more picturesque by the pool at the hotel. Next time we will probably stay at village as the appartments are probably more suited to a family; it was difficult to get our son to sleep whilst sharing a room with him. Nice area of Paphos too; not as 'tacky' looking as some of the places we passed through from the Harbour to the Tomb of the Kings. Check out the pool on the website... it does not do it justice! Just as well though because the beaches are disappointing; small and gravelly.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrangeCatSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

This is not a 4 star hotel at all, 1 .there was ants everywhere around the pool, 2. a dead rat in the children's play park . 3 cockroaches in the cupboard . The decor of the hotel is very tired and needs a face lift . i will say the cleaners do give clean towels every day , and most of the staff are pleasant. would go back too paphos again just not at the avanti hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjones72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

We spent an excellent 11 nights at the Avanti Hotel in Paphos. The location was a good base to explore from and also a great place to relax.

If you want to relax, the pool is huge with plenty of places to lounge. We spent a few days doing just that. Also, if we had been out for the day, there was normally a few spare loungers when we got back allowing us to catch the final few hours of the Cypriot sun.

For getting out and about, there is a bus stop right outside the hotel which take you to the harbour (which you can also walk to in about 20 minutes), Paphos town and Coral Bay (the beach). There are also some small bathing areas near the hotel. Also in the vicinity of the hotel, there are shops, restaurants and bars although the harbour is more lively.

The food in the hotel was good although breakfast was a bit limited. It really could have done with more fresh fruit. The evening meals were themed nights, and the meal on the Cypriot night was accompanied by entertainment.

In summary, for a holiday in Paphos, I do not think you can go wrong with the Avanti Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goose1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.1 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.5 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#12 of 85 in Paphos
2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
0.3 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.7 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avanti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avanti Hotel

Address: Poseidon Avenue | PO Box 61082, Paphos 8130, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#13 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £69 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avanti Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avanti Hotel is an outstanding four star establishment with five star facilities, situated in a prime position in the heart of the popular Cyprus coastal resort of Pafos. The hotel's modern architecture and luxurious interior decoration are designed to attract discerning holidaymakers in search of that something that makes a good holiday great. The hotel is set in over 40.000 square metres of landscaped gardens, and situated just 250 metres away from the beach. A family owned and run hotel which offers you the very heart of Pafos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avanti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avanti Hotel Paphos
Avanti Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing