We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel for Couples - Friendly Relaxed and Quiet - a Quality Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TUI SENSIMAR Pioneer Beach Hotel by Constantinou Bros
Ranked #23 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2012

The hotel was refurbished in Winter 2011/12 and still looked pristine in Sep 12.

The rooms are all a good size and very similar to one another. What varies with price/grade is the view, the size of balcony and the services provided (Standard Rooms have small, triangular balconies; Superior Rooms have larger, rectangular balconies; Superior DeLuxe Rooms include a private Cabana in the grounds, or on the beach)

The hotel is located about 3km from Paphos Harbour and there is an excellent bus service (No 611) to take you there - EUR 1.00 each way, or EUR 3.00 for all-day

The staff were all very friendly, polite and helpful. If one could not answer your question, they immediately found a colleague who could help (e.g. one of the young men putting up sun umbrellas at the pool bar saw 2 guests struggling to read a notice, so he dropped what he was doing to help them. When he could not answer all their questions, he fetched one of the Managers.)

There were a number of details which made our stay really enjoyable. Each one may be only minor, but they added up to make our whole stay a pleasant and relaxing experience.

The rooms all have well-stocked tea and coffee-making facilities and a fridge, which you can use for water and milk, with no pressure to have the Mini-Bar stocked (although they will stock it if you ask and, if you are on the All-inclusive deal, they will restock it daily).

On the first day, we asked for extra sugar, as we drink a lot ot tea in our room; this was immediately provided and then topped up very generously every day, without us having to ask again - Thank you Christina!

There is a small shop on the lower ground floor, where the prices for water, milk etc. are the same as (or slightly lower than) the nearest shops outside.

My wife and I have only 2 minor criticisms:
1. The WiFi/Internet connection was unreliable and minutes on the card seemed to disappear (we had Free WiFi included in our package, but I would not have been happy, if I had been paying separately for it.)
2. The swimming pool was supposed to be open from 8.00 o'clock, but quite often the staff were still cleaning it then, which interfered with us, when we wanted to do some serious swimming training (e.g. 50 lengths) before breakfast.

Overall, we would thoroughly recommend this hotel to any couple wanting a quiet, relaxing holiday in quality surroundings.

Room Tip: Some of the standard rooms have only a partial sea view and mainly face scrub land that has not yet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterPan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,522 - 1,528 of 2,083 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

Have reviewed hotels in Sharm and Canaries previously but this is the first in Cyprus. Absolutely excellent and, as couples only, no kids!! - only wish we had gone for the superior room which gives you a 'private' cabana with its own sunbeds slightly away from the other guests. Location is superb right on the beach so you have a choice of lazing by the pool, on grass or on the beach all within a few yards. This hotel has just been refurbished so the bedrooms are very good. Was disappointed when first arrived as the view, although towards the sea, was across some waste land. However, this turned out OK as it was on the quiet side of the hotel. Food is excellent with a good changing choice. The open air a la carte restaurant is very good value and well worth paying a bit extra if you are not on an all inclusive deal.

Would agree with other reviewers that the down side is the room balconies are very small. When we were there second week of September there was not a major problem getting a sunbed (although if you wanted 'prime spots' it was alarm setting for 7am!) but if the hotel had been full it would be. Paphos itself is quite fun with a long harbour full of restaurants and some unusual (and usual tat) shops.

This is one of four Constantinou Bros hotels all within a short walk of each other and between 20 and 25 minutes walk into the town centre. They all looked good and, if this one is anything to go by, would certainly return to try another.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrightonPanatella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We booked a superior deluxe room sea view and this is what we got.From the moment we walked into the hotel we were welcomed.
our bags taken and because we had the best room there we were sat down and given a glass of champagne.
one of the lady's then spoke to us and took a few details then showed us to our room. The room was lovely the balcony had a bed to sunbathe on which I used most late afternoons.
if I was to be picky I would recommend a larger bed or at least 2 lol
anyway the staff are so friendly and the cleaners did a great job every day coming back to a nice clean rm was great. There was a bottle of red wine and fruit for us in the room. The view was amazing defo go sea view every morning waking up walking onto the balcony and right in front of you was amazing THE SUN AND SEA WOW.
we went b&b which we like doing as we venture out.
But if you don't go all inclusive it is really expensive I think it was 11 euros for 2 normal bottles of Smirnoff ice. The shock on my husband face was a picture this was the only drink we had there apart from the odd coke in the day. we brought bottles to our room which we got from a local shop alot cheaper as your go further up. Theres a fridge in the room.
If you venture up the road about 20mins there are loads of cheap bars for 2 euros a beer or a little more in places. But not as much as in the pioneer.
About 45 min walk to the harbour and bar street which is for clubbers even thou we are young it wasn't for us to many young girls and boys trying to drag you in bars for free shots etc.. ok if you 18 and want to drink yourself stupid.
But about 20-30 mins all the nicer bars and restaurants.
The Chinese restaurant they just stood there watching you eat which wasn't nice looking at you like you were some greedy people considering we never eaten that day we were starving and ordered a few dishes. And im only a size 12 lol.
They made us feel like we were huge. Would not go back there again. Also there quite a posh pizza restaurant with lads in black trousers working one of them stood by us the whole of our meal talking he wouldn't leave us alone he even tried convincing my hubbi its better to be single and have as many girls as you can lol. After this we walked the other side of the road that is opposite the avanti hotel.
But everywhere else was great Michaels bar was nice and the Irish bars.
Anyway back to the hotel the cabanas were great that came with the deluxe room was nice been as the beds was always full at the pool.
Although on the beach there was a few spare beds. The breakfast was amazing loads to choose from and champagne if wanted.All in all me and my Hubble enjoyed our break together leaving the kids at home is what we needed the hotel is amazing but if you don't want to venture far go all-inclusive as its very very very expensive. there isn't just older couples there like I say im 29 and my hubby is 34 so there was ages ranging from 20-70 a good mixture. well deserved 4star hotel THANKS TO ALL THE STAFF.
We even just recieved a letter of the manager saying thankyou for the nice review which was nice.
if anything was to change I would say and this is picky

(cheaper drinks)
extra sun-bed for my hubby lol on the balcony as we has to take it in turns.
And thats its see great hotel hope to go back there one year

Room Tip: superior deluxe sea-view with beach cabana
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank blondeblue29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We have just returned from a holiday at this hotel. Everything was very good. The food was excellent, the room, staff and housekeeping were very good, however the balcony was so small it was almost impossible for two people to be there at the same time. The biggest problem was the sunbeds, there are not enough so everybody goes out at the crack of dawn to reserve a bed by placing towels on them. This is a practice we hate but had no choice if we wanted a lazy day in the sun. If you waited until after breakfast you would be unlikely to find a bed, especially if you also wanted a parasol.

Room Tip: Pay extra and have a full sea view room, these have bigger balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Two 49 year olds just returned from 10 days at the Pioneer Beach hotel and no complaints really. You would have to be hard pushed or extremely critical to find a lot at fault. We arrived at 10pm at night so excused the inclusive coach transfer and opted to get a taxi outside the airport. No waiting and 30 Euros.
We booked a sea view room through Thomson’s online; we had a room side on the hotel but a good view of the sea and lovely views of sun going down at night. Bed was huge and lots of pillows to choose from.Good sized bathroom. Complimentary wine and fruit were in the room as was a bottle of water.
We opted for the B&B option, from fresh fruit, chesses and cold meats to full English breakfast and omelettes cooked to order. There was even a healthy option table and an impressive gluten free section. Most people were on a mission to fill their plates with as much food as they could! We ate at the snack bar at lunchtime and an average of 20 Euros a time.

Sun beds were an issue from previous reading on here and were correct, this seems more from the ‘mature’ age group of the guests (we still think we are young) and whom seem intent on getting up at an unearthly hour, banging their doors and rushing to get a sun bed nearest the pool/bar/toilets, most didn’t even venture into the pool the whole holiday from what we saw. We got up at a leisurely 9am and went to the beach a short stroll past the pool and had no problems getting a sun bed. There was a small jetty as well to avoid the seaweed just leading off the beach for the faint hearted. I must add there were some guests younger than us but not many.

We ate out every evening except the bar-b-q night which is held weekly at the hotel which was worth staying for. All the other evenings we walked down the road to the Crocodile Bar and had a few drinks. There were numerous restaurants in that arer which we ate in. Gabor – French restaurant, 60 Euros with wine and they give you a complimentary glass of liquor when you pay. Well worth a visit, we went twice; ladies get given a rose when you leave. The Rib Shack next door, steaks, fajita's, chicken etc, this was good and about 50 Euros with wine, Bombay Restaurant, Indian, was good as well. Don Luigi’s pizzeria went for pasta here and the best I have ever tasted. All these restaurants were in the same road and next to each other. We walked the mile or so back to the Hotel after dinner stopping at the Häagen-Dazs for ice cream which is a must. Buses run every hour and at only 1 euro each day is good but we liked to walk.

We hired a car for 3 days, the Thomson rep tried to book one for us through their Europcar dealer but she got exasperated with them as she admitted they were useless and we tried the hotels car hire. Immediate availability. We also hired Quad Buggy for 60 Euros for the day and drove up into the hills that was great fun; we went to the recommended Latchi and ate at Faros in the harbour.

The drinks in the hotel were overpriced, we had bought some spirits at the airport and then mixers at the supermarket and then enjoyed them sitting on our balcony at night. The mini fridge in the room was excellent for these drinks.

All in all I can recommend Pioneer Hotel, though be warned, the lady who we hired the Quad Buggy from told us it was the ‘old peoples’ hotel. Come end of September apparently all the mobility scooters turn up at the hotel, and the majority of guests are over 65. I am not sure how much truth there is in this but it’s always good to have a bit of warning.
We would return to the hotel but not for a few years.

Room Tip: for the views at night chilling out wiht a drink watching the sun go down , choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jo1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Hi just return from a week at the Pioneer, The Hotel is average compaired with other couples hotels in the group.It is situated approximatly 3km from pathos harbour etc. so its a good walk into town,but there is an excellent bus service which costs 1 euro each way upto 11 pm then it costs 2.50 euro,s. I puts our services to same.We were disappointed to find that the things we've been used to in other hotels and advertised as the package were sadly overlooked,or not supplied unless requested.The variation between standard rooms and delux sea view are minimal the rooms are the same size, the only diffrence is the veiw and slightly bigger balcony.Now to the crux of the problem,that being you will definatly need an alarm clock, and need to set it for 6.30 am to be able to get a sun bed where you choose, after that its a monopoly,after 8 am your looking for scraps.This hotel is the only one where this happening to this extent.All the other hotels along the front don't seem to have this problem,So be warned its early to bed if you want to relax in the sun !!!!!!

Room Tip: delux sea veiw rooms have the best veiws, but this side sea rooms over look waste land on one side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunburnt2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Booked the holiday verbaly with thomsons direct,after being told the superior rooms had gone i would get the same deal as those rooms,, Not So.!!! it took me nearly all of the next day to try and sort, all they kept saying was the limited sea view rooms had a different package,,,, i no this because i booked and payed for a superior room(well to have all the same facilities) it took the girls in Cyprus a day to get there heads round it aswell. Completley missed sold, After speaking to the Manager at the Hotel all it would have taken was an email to the hotel to explain. Anyway the hotel is clean, the food is good, staff very efficient, they no there job.
i did one read one review, they had no food on late arrival,,, we did in our room, but really not
advisable, you dont no how long its been there, and could attract ants or what ever they get there.

Room Tip: make sure you get what you pay for, or get an email to confirm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.7 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.3 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Pioneer Beach Hotel by Constantinou Bros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Pioneer Beach Hotel by Constantinou Bros

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | PO Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#13 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#16 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £139 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel is an adult -focused, four star, beachfront hotel in Kato Paphos situated conveniently close to the places of tourist and archaeological interest as well as to restaurants, bars and shops. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests.This hotel is located 15km away from Paphos International Airport and 140 km from Larnaca International Airport. All the rooms have large balconies with views of the Mediterranean or the surrounding serene landscape, luxury bathrooms featuring bath tub, rain shower and flexible hose shower and floor to ceiling windows, fruit & wine and a bottle of mineral water upon arrival. The Executive One Bedroom Suites and the Superior Deluxe rooms include the use of private cabanas on the beach with seating area and sun beds. Room facilities include among others air conditioning and heating, flat screen LCD satellite TV (26 inch in land view rooms and 32 inch in all other rooms) and radio, fridge, mini bar, hairdryer, scales, make-up/shaving mirror, bathrobes and slippers, safety deposit box, ironing facilities, espresso machine as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Sports and leisure facilities include 1 freshwater swimming pool with Jacuzzi, 1 indoor heated pool with Jacuzzi, indoor and outdoor short mat bowling facilities and outdoor Green Bowls facilities, a floodlit tennis court. In the hotel's Elixir Spa there is a heated pool, sauna, steam bath, a fully equipped gym and a hairdressing salon. You can also choose from a good choice of professional massages as well as body treatments. Enjoy some fine dining at the hotel's Restaurants or even a romantic candlelit dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Pioneer Beach Hotel by Constantinou Bros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Beach Paphos
Hotel Pioneer Beach
Pioneer Hotel Cyprus
Pioneer Beach Hotel Paphos
Pioneer Beach Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing