We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun Bed wars have commenced.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel
Ranked #21 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Sun Bed wars have commenced.......”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

First of all, I know this hotel has alot of repeater guests, and as such people must be happy with the hotel, but I'm just reviewing based on our experience, as we found it.....
We booked the hotel independantly, but this is our 8th holiday to a CB hotel and therefore would have thought we would have been treated a little better.......
Upon arrival we were greeted by a member of hotel staff and given champagne and nicey chit chat took place (we later found out why), we paid for our room at Reception which we booked, a Superior Land view, only to then be taken to a standard sea view. Good one, take our money for the Superior room , then tell us, sneaky move. Apparantly the hotel had double booked us due to a 'computer error' *(although we have heard that Thomson holidays have made a big boo boo this year with their bookings and have overbooked some hotels) and they didn't have anything else available they could give us, until the following day. I would also say that the so called standard sea view was more 'a bit of sea in the corner, the rest wasteland view'. We said that we were not happy with this arrangement and asked to speak to the manager, which we eventually did. He apologised and tried as an alternative to get us into the Athena Royal and the Asimina next door, but unfortunately they were both fully booked. He then disappeared for about 15 minutes and when he returned, said that they had managed to move someone else's booking and the room we orginally booked had become available, so sorry to the other people who's room we took...???!!! Anyway, eventually we got the room we booked.
The next day we went to breakfast to be greeted by an apologetic member of staff who had obviously been advised to sweet talk us after the debacle of the previous evening. They offered us a free meal in the hotel as a token of goodwill, which was nice of them, but I'd just rather they didn't make the mistake in the first place. First impressions count for alot............
On returning to our room from breakfast, I noticed some ants had appeared on the dressing table under the coffee machine and on the side table. To cut a long whingey story short, despite telling Reception 3/4 times over as many days, and even bringing samples for them on a tissue, a glazed expression was the best we got (they didn't even ask for our room no.) when we asked them to remove the machine as this appeared to be where they congregated mostly. My husband put the machine outside the door about 3 times and each time we returned to the room it was back again..........It was like musical coffee machines.
Now sun beds.......OMG I have been to many places in the world and have been to Cyprus about 20 times, but not once have we had to fight for sun beds like this. I have never known anything like it. A word of warning to all who travel here, you are up against the professional sun bed brigade and these guys are good. We went down to the pool/beach/lawn area about 9.15am our first morning and there were no free beds. We then got chatting to a couple who said they put theirs down about 4am and there are other people doing the same......we seriously thought they were winding us up, but no. My husband woke early at 6.30am the following morning and went down just to see really, and he came back up and said that there honestly were not that many beds left!!!!!!!! UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!!! the other thing is if you do get a bed there isn't much space anyway and you will end up in quite close proximity to the next couple. After a couple of days we gave up reserving beds and did consider wandering down to sit outside the Athena beach as there was more room, but we just found spare beds and moved them down to the front of the beach.
Another thing to note is despite this hotel and the one next door being for adults only, the beaches are public, so you do get families with children come down from other nearby hotels. the staff can only ask them to move on if they try and use the sunbeds.
All in all, sorry but less than impressed despite an apparant refurbishment which I can't comment on as i don't know what it was like before. For the money we paid I am extremely confident we could have found something alot better for our euro...
Would we return? No, I would rather pay a bit more and go next door to the Asimina Suites, it's quiter, less stressful, more room around the beds and I would actually feel like I've had a rested holiday, which I did not get from this hotel.

Room Tip: The only difference between standard and superior rooms are apparantly the size of the balconies, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FussySam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,140
    491
    160
    35
    16
See reviews for
75
1,540
25
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Pioneer Beach hotel in Paphos. It was an excellent holiday from start to finish. The hotel was fabulous, all of the staff so friendly and helpful, food was fantastic, lovely pool with the beach just down the path and a lovely stroll along the beach to the harbour. ( We took it easy and it took us fifty minutes to hit the first cafe where we stopped for refreshments). Take a hat and bottle of water as there is no shade along the way.

This is a couples hotel and adults only, very tranquill and the perfect place to chill out.

Only one down side which was the towels on all of the sunbeds as previously mentioned, impossible to get one if you are a late riser. However my husband spoke to the manager about this (a very friendly man, always around and available to speak to) and he said that they were about to address this problem. that would make this place perfect.

We did the undersea walking, I was so nervous but the guys were brilliant and looked after me
so well and what an experience!

I would definitely visit this hotel again if they change their sunbed policy.
We were close to the airport and had no problems with the transfers, flights or rep, our usual excellent service from Thomson.

Room Tip: We had a superior sea view, lovely room with some perks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Just returned from a week at this hotel, traveling with Thomsons. Flight out from Bournemouth was good, the plane had more leg room than previous flights, although the return flight was the usual cramped seating!

The hotel was beautiful, even better that it is child free! We had a superior room facing the sea, we had booked a sea view and were given the upgraded room. We had to use the main restaurant rather than the private one usually available to superior rooms, but this wasn't a problem. We stayed B&B and the food was lovely, no chance of going hungry! The staff were very friendly, the manager was around all the time, extremely welcoming and personally greeted and said goodbye to all guests, nice touch.

On arrival we found that our fridge wasn't working, this was rectified straight away and we returned to find fruit and wine left for us, thank you.

I agree with the comments regarding the sun loungers, and noticed people out prior to 7am reserving beds, why you have to ask would you want to drag yourself out of bed that early! Perhaps a system (used at other hotels) would be to be able to reserve a particular bed and spot for the whole of your stay?

We travelled with Thomson but didn't use their services as my boyfriend had been to Cyprus on several occasions and previous experience with Thomson had been below standard. Well worth hiring a car and sightseeing independently, rather than the usually overpriced tour operator trips.

Loads of lovely restaurants to visit in Paphos, hard to know which to choose! Not as expensive to eat and drink out as we thought it might be. Some restaurants a little over enthusiastic to get you in to their particular establishment!

Overall a thoroughly lovely holiday, excellent hotel, no complaints.

Room Tip: Choose pool/beach side, as what is described as "mountain view" are actually overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

The Thomson flight from Luton to Paphos on September 19th was chaotic, check in was a nightmare, the flight delayed by 35min as the check in desks / security could not process everybody in time, the legroom was 'painfully tight' and the seats very uncomfortable, the 757 is configured with 41 rows, giving a measly 28” pitch, anyone over 5'6" is in trouble. The hot food quality was poor and expensive, a cup of tea is £2.40, and whatever you do don’t pay with Euros their exchange rate was a crippling €1.70 to £1.00

This is our second visit to the Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel in Paphos, the last time was 2009, since then the hotel has had a makeover and gone from 'Adults Only' to 'Thomson Couples' consequently we 'retired' now only make up about fifty percent of the clientele, a great improvement, and still child free!

Standards as expected are very high, staff exceptionally friendly and helpful, this time we had upgraded to a Superior room, with loads of extras including access to a ‘Superior room only’ breakfast restaurant, very quiet compared to the main buffet. Our room was serviced twice per day, once in the morning then again in the evening, a bit of an overkill really with towels being changed so often. With a choice of 3 restaurants, food quality was very good. The extensive pool area and gardens leading down to the hotels own private beach complete the near perfect setting for this hotel. Once you have managed to find a sun lounger (more later) Peace and tranquillity is the norm, all you will hear, and the hotel was full during our stay, is the occasional clinking of glasses and small waves lapping on the private beach.

So far so good, now for the bad bit, we were totally shocked on our first full morning to find EVERY sun lounger in the pool area, garden and beach, and there are hundreds, had all been claimed, with towels slung across them, the next morning I ventured down at 8am, the same, I just managed to get a pair of loungers in a not so good location. Further investigation discovered that you needed to go out at 6am to get a decent position, the only answer to this was "if you can't beat then join them!" COME ON PIONEER THERE HAS TO BE A SOLUTION TO THIS. This is not what I expect from this standard of hotel.

Our pick up by Thomson for the return to the airport was 30min late, with a coach which I estimated was at least 20 years old, no air con, virtually no acceleration, it just about managed to crawl to the airport, not a fitting end to an enjoyable holiday.

The Pioneer Beach is a first class hotel, if you can get there without going through Thomson, it would be even better.

I would have given 5 stars if the sun lounger problem had not arisen

Room Tip: Superior rooms have a view over the car park (or as Thomson says 'The Mountains') Superior D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My husband and I have just returned from celebrating our Ruby Wedding Anniversary at this hotel and have to say we were absolutely delighted with our choice of holiday.

We arrived at approx 10.30pm and, to our surprise, a meal had been prepared and awaited our arrival - very welcome and thoughtful! Also awaiting us was fruit and a bottle of wine!

The bed (which is huge) was magnificent, I don't normally sleep well away from home and this was most definitely not the case this time.

The food was incredible and was only surpassed by the staff themselves, they just couldn't do enough for us, we felt truly pampered.

They put balloons and a banner up on the actual day of our Anniversary and presented us with a further bottle of wine and more fruit!

The quality and cleanliness of the hotel was extremely high too!

This was our very first visit to Cyprus and, all in all, we were delighted that we chose correctly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60BirthdayT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We had not stayed at the Pioneer Beach before we have always stayed at the Royal Athena Beach but we had two weeks of rest and relaxation.The Hotel was very clean,the staff were
very helpful and the food good.The only fault we could find was the entertainment of an evening.It was a bit Butlinesque(singers who think they sing but actually can't) apart from one female singer who was excellent.The Hotel is a bit further away from the bars than it says in the brochure.Would definitely go back on an all inclusive option.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms overlook a piece of derelict waste land.We had a mountain view room which was quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hammers52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

This was the second adult/couples hotel we have been to and we were not disappointed. The hotel was clean, bright and kept to a high standard of cleanliness. The room was one with a sea view which I recommend otherwise you could be looking at a derelict site. The room was big with a great bathroom. We stayed bed and breakfast - the breakfast choice was fantastic catering for all tastes and the staff couldn't do enough for you. The pool was always cleaned and the area round the pool washed down every morning.
It was one of the best holidays especially as the hotel is almost on the beach with your own private area. Paphos itself is about 1hr walk or the buses run every 10 mins. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bev J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.7 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.5 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
1.9 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.6 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 88 in Paphos
2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel

Property: Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel
Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | PO Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#12 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#16 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel is an adult -focused, four star, beachfront hotel in Kato Paphos situated conveniently close to the places of tourist and archaeological interest as well as to restaurants, bars and shops. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests.This hotel is located 15km away from Paphos International Airport and 140 km from Larnaca International Airport. All the rooms have large balconies with views of the Mediterranean or the surrounding serene landscape, luxury bathrooms featuring bath tub, rain shower and flexible hose shower and floor to ceiling windows, fruit & wine and a bottle of mineral water upon arrival. The Executive One Bedroom Suites and the Superior Deluxe rooms include the use of private cabanas on the beach with seating area and sun beds. Room facilities include among others air conditioning and heating, flat screen LCD satellite TV (26 inch in land view rooms and 32 inch in all other rooms) and radio, fridge, mini bar, hairdryer, scales, make-up/shaving mirror, bathrobes and slippers, safety deposit box, ironing facilities, espresso machine as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Sports and leisure facilities include 1 freshwater swimming pool with Jacuzzi, 1 indoor heated pool with Jacuzzi, indoor and outdoor short mat bowling facilities and outdoor Green Bowls facilities, a floodlit tennis court. In the hotel's Elixir Spa there is a heated pool, sauna, steam bath, a fully equipped gym and a hairdressing salon. You can also choose from a good choice of professional massages as well as body treatments. Enjoy some fine dining at the hotel's Restaurants or even a romantic candlelit dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Beach Paphos
Hotel Pioneer Beach
Pioneer Hotel Cyprus
Pioneer Beach Hotel Paphos
Pioneer Beach Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing