We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TUI SENSIMAR Pioneer Beach Hotel by Constantinou Bros
Ranked #21 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

21 Sept to 5 Oct and stayed in room 142 which was a partial Seaview
We booked the hotel because Thomson listed it as a Couples Hotel, half board, partial sea view – only to find that other couples paid £500+ less and had all inclusive package and large full sea rooms, made the start of the start of our holiday very miserable to think that we had let Thomson take advantage of us like that, shame on us and them, we looked into upgrading at the hotel but it would have cost us a further €900, we were still smarting at paying £500 more for a lot less so didn’t go for it!
Room; very clean, very small couldn’t fit two people on the balcony as it was an awkward tiny size, shower was lovely noisy aircon – this room wasn’t the picture they put in the brochures to lure you in!
Pool scene; was exactly what we needed after a very hectic year at work, but it was the first time ever I’ve needed to get up early to bag a decently located lounger.
Food; We were half board, I thought the breakfast was good lots of choice, but dinner was atrocious if I want to eat mashed potato mixed with cauliflower I will book myself into an old peoples home, so we ended up eating out most nights, but being a couple in our 30s/40s we were surrounded by 70/80 year olds and they seemed to like it
Staff/Reception; were lovely and helpful
Entertainment; they did a nice Cyprus/Greek evening, but otherwise please don’t bother
Pub/Bars; Stefan ‘Kenny White’ barman in the sports bar kept us entertained on the nights we stayed in, when they say sports bar it’s still 20 years out of date has two TVs that the vision has seen better days, a pool table and darts board and the drinks were hotel prices which meant you paid double then at a bar in town
Cleanliness; couldn’t fault it
Hotel Position; it says 20 minutes, but its 20 minutes to the nearest couple of pubs/small restaurants – for town add another 20 mins on top for the bigger bars and other restaurants – bus was only €1.50 and regular and a great way of sight seeing
Big up to the Night Watchman that used to send us to bed like naughty school children, we looked forward to our nightly banter, keep up the good work.
Hotel was clean, quiet and staff friendly, the only real gripe we had was the cost and the fact we thought the food was awful but the senior citizens loved it

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Desk_Diva_Dynamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,248 - 1,254 of 2,040 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Normally visit in May, as we did this year, but we also decided to have a week away in October to get ready for winter. Weather was great 27deg , clear sky's, and a light breeze made it very comfortable temperature wise and no rain.The staff and management at this hotel are very friendly, helpful and hard working to ensure you have a good holiday. We arrive late and the man on reception efficiently and without delay got everyone into their rooms, so for us no evening meal, but a voucher to use when we wanted (we had a full evening meal on our departure).Food as before was good, plenty of choice and the choice of three restaurants, although some involve extra payment unless you are in better rooms. Flambe night we loved, but extra cost, well worth it. With regard to the rooms they have mountain view rooms( overlooking the front of the hotel,car park and roadway), side sea view, full sea view, and superior, plus further rooms which include a cabana for sun bathing. We paid for a sea view and it was good value and perfect for us. B&B, half board,full board and all inclusive are available dependent on your eating/drinking requirements.All rooms have everything you need, including slipper,towels for room and beach,toiletries,dressing gowns, safe, water and fruit on arrival. The manager Lambros is ever present, his staff at all levels are polite and do their best to ensure a good experience, all areas are maintained and cleaned to a very high standard. Beach is small but nice although rocky, seaweed is regularly cleared, semi enclosed area for swimming.. Paphos Harbour about 40 minutes walk along sea side path, in front of hotels. Buses from outside the hotel, good service,new vehicles and one and a half euro one way,or even better value a 3 euros ticket and you can use all the buses all day, so Coral Bay etc, can all be visited very cheaply.There is a Debenhams in the street one back from the harbour, plus supermarket and many shops , also many car hire, boat hire posabilities. Plenty of sun beds, no need to towel reserve, but, the Brits appear to have taken over from the Germans and are to be seen from 6-30 onwards trotting out to reserve their favorite spot, not for me but everyone to their own.....
At this time of year mainly older people (adults only,so no children), and entertainment is geared to this, so youngsters may find it a little bit tame, although the bars and clubs of Paphos are not too far away. Majority of people seemed, like us, to welcome the laid back, quiet,friendly easy going atmosphere, many , like us, returning year after year, British are in the majority, with Germans and Russian visitors also . We intend to return soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are to same high standard, if you like to spend time in room, get sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmigoWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have never given a review of a holiday before as we tend to make do even if we don't like the hotel, but we feel we must write comments in this case.
We have just returned from 7 fantastic days at the Pioneer Beach. From the moment we arrived to be welcomed with champagne late on Saturday evening we were treated as special for the whole week.
We wanted a quite relaxing holiday and this is exactly what the Pioneer beach provides, if you want overpowering, lively entertainment 24/7 don't go to this hotel or perhaps I should say PLEASE don,t go to this hotel as we will be going back.
We booked a superior room all inclusive package which I would admit was a lot of money, but we feel we got much more than our money's worth.
I agree totally with all of Smithy 37's review. There was always sun beds available except poolside and that was only because the Brit's got up early to put their towels on them, this was not the hotels fault.

I can't believe people think if they get a "breezy" day or planes occasionally fly over the hotel they think it's the hotels fault.
Staff were so professional and helpful they just couldn't do anymore and they never looked for tips.
We will definitely go back.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jackiezclibbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Spent a week there 5.10.13 - 12.10.13 and can happily recommend the facilities 100% - staff are very good and attentive - food on the half board is fabulous (really do not need lunch as well I assure you) drinks are reasonable price considering the quality of the hotel (pint of lager and a glass of wine around 7-8 euros)

Only complaint would be that there is no fre wi-fi available in your room unless on a superior room basis - the hotel are going to have some free wi-fi some time next year but not in your room - communial area only - this is really unnecessary penny pinching by the hotel as most of the small bars and hotels have free wi-fi so come on Pioneer beach - give your residents the totally free everywhere wi-fi connection we expect these days - its not as if it will cost you any more after all.

Will happily holiday there again

Room Tip: I was on the 2nd floor with a mountain view - not disturbed at all so unless you really want a sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel was great and we really enjoyed our holiday (although we did think it rather expensive compared to other holidays of similar standards we have been on). The food was lovely and both "a la carte" restaurants are definitely worth going to, the Steaks great as were the scallops! The entertainment through the day was very low key which is just what we wanted but the evenings were disappointing. Andy the resident musician was not that good and Simone (Tuesdays) was terrible. The staff were all fantastic and the Management always visible making sure things were to standard. Overall good but for the entertainment.

Room Tip: Mountain view means looking over the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a fortnights stay at the Pioneer Beach and have nothing but praise for the hotel. If you want a hotel that has a really relaxed vibe about it with not too much going on then this is the place for you. If you want nightclubs and animation teams go to a RUI hotel. If you've done your research and actually looked into this hotel you will already know this but from reading some reviews it doesn't appear that this always happens.
Evening entertainment usually consists of a resident singer in the Marco Polo bar, who are easy enought to listen to. There are also theme nights out by the pool bar which provided decent entertainment value. There is also a sports bar where they have quizzes and show Skys Sports channels.
I have read of some complaints about the various board basis complicating things at the hotel but I cannot see why. I recommend going All Inclusive on the Premier package. This entitles you to food throughout the day. For breakfast you attend the buffet restaurant, then at lunch the poolside bar or restaurant overlooking the sea and then in the evening back in the buffet restaurant. Additionally at lunch there is a daily grill where daily specials are produced and in the afternoon you can treat yourself to Strawberries and ice-cream sundaes. You are also entitled to two visits per week to the A La carte restaurants at no extra charge and these are worth the visit. The meals in these restaurants are fantastic, the steak in particular worth a mention as on a par with any London resturarant. I did wonder whether the food would be repetitive over a two week period but it wasn't, there was lot of variety of good quality and always served hot. The drinks here are also of a good quality. There is Keo and Carlsberg on draught, Heineken Export in bottles and good international spirits available, such as Bombay sapphire for example. Although there is not water in the room, you just stop off at the bar on the way back to your room and get a couple of bottles. Yes you do sign for everything but found this no problem at all, if anthing it got you more engaged with the staff.
And talking of staff they really are of a high standard. So friendly yet professional at the same time, they can't do enough for you. Special mention goes to Christina and Madalena who are waitresses, two fantastic girls who really helped to make our holiday. Additionally, Irina on reception was very helpful and the General Manager is very visible and always available for a chat or assistance.
This hotel enjoys a very nice location. When you walk out of the back of the hotel you go past the pool, the grass area and then on to the beach. There is a nice path that leads all the way from the hotel to the harbour, takes about 45 minutes. The grounds are so well kept, there is never any litter and the gardens provide a nice setting. The beach does appear to be man made but this is where my wife and I spent most of our time and I am normally a pool person. I really do not understand comments regarding issues getting into the sea. My Wife is 6 months pregnat and had no trouble at all, plus in addition there is a jetty with steps into the water. The sea was warmer than the swimming pool, very clear and lovely to swim in. Yes planes do fly past the hotel. They fly past all the hotels along the coast towards the harbour so the Pioneer is not alone and you don't notice after a while, not that there is many anyway, this is Cyprus not Heathrow. We had no problems with sunbeds at all, and we were normally down to them around 10am. Yes, if you want the first row around the pool you may miss out but show me a hotel where that doesn't happen!
If you want a full sea view then you need to book the Superior All inclusive rooms. This then also gets you access to the Al la Carte every night.
We were fortunate enough to enjoy brilliant weather for the whole two weeks so this obviously helps, but would not criticise the hotel if it was bad as not their fault, neither are bad reps or airport experiences (not that we had these).
There is generally an older crowd that stays here but my Wife and I are in our Mid 30's and had a great time, chatted with lots of differerent people. My only regret is that we will not be able to go back next year as this is a Couples only hotel, otherwise I'd have rebooked already!

Room Tip: You have to book a Superior All Inclusive room to have a full on pool and Sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Smithy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel is a real gem! Modern, clean, with a fantastic beach-front location, 45 minute beach-side walk to Paphos, 20 minute drive from the airport at Paphos. Quiet area. Staff are particularly friendly and helpful; nothing is too much trouble to ensure you have a brilliant holiday. Fantastic Restaurants (4) and bars, that offer you a first class choice of good quality, well-prepared food and drink for every taste. Evening entertainment was also very good; people who can really sing and dance! There is also a health spa and gym, although we didn't use them. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean when we were there. It's just a real quality, honest hotel run by people who like making your holiday an unforgettable experience. I can't praise it enough!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-view room to get beautiful views 24/7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JethroBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.7 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
1.9 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.1 mi away
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Pioneer Beach Hotel by Constantinou Bros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Pioneer Beach Hotel by Constantinou Bros

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | PO Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#13 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#16 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £136 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel is an adult -focused, four star, beachfront hotel in Kato Paphos situated conveniently close to the places of tourist and archaeological interest as well as to restaurants, bars and shops. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests.This hotel is located 15km away from Paphos International Airport and 140 km from Larnaca International Airport. All the rooms have large balconies with views of the Mediterranean or the surrounding serene landscape, luxury bathrooms featuring bath tub, rain shower and flexible hose shower and floor to ceiling windows, fruit & wine and a bottle of mineral water upon arrival. The Executive One Bedroom Suites and the Superior Deluxe rooms include the use of private cabanas on the beach with seating area and sun beds. Room facilities include among others air conditioning and heating, flat screen LCD satellite TV (26 inch in land view rooms and 32 inch in all other rooms) and radio, fridge, mini bar, hairdryer, scales, make-up/shaving mirror, bathrobes and slippers, safety deposit box, ironing facilities, espresso machine as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Sports and leisure facilities include 1 freshwater swimming pool with Jacuzzi, 1 indoor heated pool with Jacuzzi, indoor and outdoor short mat bowling facilities and outdoor Green Bowls facilities, a floodlit tennis court. In the hotel's Elixir Spa there is a heated pool, sauna, steam bath, a fully equipped gym and a hairdressing salon. You can also choose from a good choice of professional massages as well as body treatments. Enjoy some fine dining at the hotel's Restaurants or even a romantic candlelit dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Pioneer Beach Hotel by Constantinou Bros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Beach Paphos
Hotel Pioneer Beach
Pioneer Hotel Cyprus
Pioneer Beach Hotel Paphos
Pioneer Beach Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing