We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel
Ranked #23 of 86 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Just returned from 1 week All Inclusive (AI) stay. Arrived around 10.00pm along with several other couples. Check in was very quick and we were allocated Room 12 on the ground floor. Lovely salad waiting in our room along with fully stocked fridge so didn’t bother going to restaurant for a snack. Moved rooms after first night due to noise from boiler/generator (not sure which). Reception were very good but emphasised that rooms on the 1st floor were an upgrade, however in this instance they would not charge me. Hard to believe since the rooms were on the same side of the hotel. Rooms benefited from a 6ft bed and very good shower, although the balcony is very small and that side doesn’t get the sun in the afternoon.

On the whole staff are very friendly and food is excellent. Only complaint is the system operated for lunch, whereby if choosing the buffet over the a la carte you must queue at the till with your choice of meal to have it added to your bill. I understand why they do it, to ensure that half board guests pay for what they have, but there must be a better way so as not to inconvenience those on AI. If on AI, do take up the option to have the 2 a la carte dinners in the other restaurants, we had fillet steak in the Christiana Restaurant and it was superb.

The beach is small but perfectly adequate, is private, and there is a nice easy walk to Paphos which takes about 40 mins. Didn’t think much of Paphos, seems to be full of tacky souvenir shops. Did not have any trouble finding sun beds around the hotel as stated by other guests.

Public transport is good, used it once on a visit to the Tomb of the Kings and then onto Coral Bay, You can get an all day return ticket for 5 Euros.

We had a late checkout and had to vacate the room by 6pm, but your AI card is valid 24 hours from the time you checked in, so had a nice glass of wine whilst waiting for the transfer coach.

All things considered, it was a very relaxing holiday and we would go back.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor, sea view not absolute necessity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,190
    519
    174
    38
    16
See reviews for
80
1,624
25
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (699)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Just back from our third visit to this hotel. Already booked the fourth. Enough said. It is THE hotel in Paphos for adults. The service and food is great. Never been to a hotel that is kept so clean. Plenty of very helpful staff. Go on, what are you waiting for.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Go all inclusive as drinks are dear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnedPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Mid 40's couple. Just returned after a weeks all inclusive stay.

Summary - An OAP haven

Arrival - We arrived about 11pm, not offered a drink but had thoughtfully been left a meat/cheese/fruit platter along with the complimentary drink/mini bar in our standard double room. Room looked exactly as the brochure. Fabulous. All was good until we tried to sleep. Realised what we first thought was the rooms noisy air con, once turned off was actually what we now know to be the generator/power system to the spa/indoor pool/boiler house the room was actually on top of, so noisy it vibrated through the pillows! After having no sleep on the first night of our arrival we asked to be relocated which was very swift (to room 130), staff were great but commented this had been raised before by other guests- in that case why use these rooms?

We were given a card each as opposed to the all inclusive wrist bands which you had to carry around with you - reason being if you bought something (which we didn’t need to) it acted as a discount/loyalty card for 'next time' - the hotel has more info, but whilst irrelevant to us, the OAPs return regularly throughout the year and swear by it.

Food - Drenched/cooked in oil/butter seen butter before presented, even labelled as 'steamed veg/rice' which it probably was until it was saturated, so if you wanted anything grease-free for medical/healthy reasons, salad was your only option! Meal times were a fiasco, breakfast and evening meals shown to a table and weren’t allowed to choose where to sit, just sit where you’re told! Lunch once on your tray- waiting at a counter to order a drink, show your card (by then your lunch is cold) then had to be handed to staff to walk you to a table. This might be good for some people, especially those immobile, I got told off (2 staff ran after me!) for taking my own tray to a table, there didn’t seem to be a happy medium or consideration that some guests are perfectly happy/able to do it themselves despite being a 5 star etc etc. There was also table service which cut out this fiasco. Regardless, you won’t go hungry. The a la carte (allocated 2 sessions per week on all incl deal) was very good, steak was beautiful.

Staff - couldn’t do enough for you.

Towels/Sunbeds - abundance. Sunbeds extremely comfortable and with mattresses. Towels as well as being left in your room by the maid are also available and returned near the toilets/outside restaurant towards the pool.

Pool - immaculate and a good size to cool off or a decent swim.
Beach - Sand covers the rocky/stone beach - regular OAPs wore needed wet shoes. There is a pontoon further along the beach with steps into the sea, used regularly.

Shop - well stocked. Daily papers etc.

ATM - not here nor at the Athena Beach Hotel owned by the same crew. The closest is near the pharmacy on the triangle, towards the town.

Wi-Fi is not a given, probably should keep up with modern pace and allow all guests access, than endorse an additional charge.

Entertainment - held in the basement and on reception floor. We didn’t realise this until our final night which was a real shame as Andy Foster who has great reviews (worth a google) and resident musician played mainly in the basement, unsure why as the guests raved about him, so we thought he deserved a more classy spot. The regular singers were all very good especially this time of year, (Tuesday particulary good- lovely girl, very professional), out of season and guests not exactly in abundance, their enthusiasm was great. All apart from Fridays dire slot (peoples expressions were more entertaining). There was a 'black and white' show on Saturday night which was basically a Frank Sinatra tribute - again the OAPs loved this.

We ventured into Paphos along the coastal path, returned by bus. This is our second visit to the hotels along Poseiden Avenue. The bus service is excellent. €1.50 pp each way (was €1 pp each way earlier this year) with regular bus stops.

The rest of the week was as previous reviews - mostly OAPs who loved the place, totally understand as its perfect for their every need and would recommend to any older relative or a solo traveller. Towards the end of the week I was looking forward to coming home as it seemed more like an institution than a holiday.

Room Tip: See header.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunflower98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We arrived at the hotel around 11pm separate to our fellow holiday makers, weary and hungry because we couldn't face the disgusting plane food. The reception took care of us instantly giving us a glass of orange and champaign, quickly checked us in and arranged for our luggage to be taken up behind us. When I saw the room I instantly loved it! Cosy, modern and had everything we could have needed! We had the supreme room with a sea view and it was worth every penny. Every night before going to dinner my partner and I sat at the balcony and watched the sun setting in all of its beautiful colours with a glass of the Cypriot red wine that went down too easily. Now my favourite part of our holiday has to be the all inclusive card. The food was divine and there was plenty! I started my day with crepes and finished with waffles and ice cream, indulging in strawberries and cream, milkshakes and cocktails between meals so I would advice you to be prepared to diet when the holiday is over. I could not fault the staff! There was so many staff that I sometimes thought there was more of them then people on holiday. Overall it is a lovely place to go but I would recommend it to an older couple and people who don't particularly like to mingle or do anything that involves much moving.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaycee117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Never having visited Cyprus before and not wanting a long haul flight, we decided to book a week at the Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel on the outskirts of Paphos the first week in October.
We were not disappointed! We are an elderly couple and had booked a Premium package week - superior room, all inclusive. We were met at Reception, quickly booked in and shown to our room which had a good sea view and balcony.
We found everything was as described in the brochure - stocked mini bar including red & white wine, water and fruit. Room safe(no charge) dressing gowns & slippers, towels(changed twice daily) and bathroom toiletries.
Complimentary tea and coffee supplies were topped up each day as also was the bottled water. Everywhere was very clean and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and looked after us very well. It was nice to see the Hotel manager around talking to guests and greeting you at the dining room entrance.
Food was very good in all the restaurants and we particularly liked breakfast in the Christiana.
During the day the weather was very good with high temperatures, but evenings did get a little cool (it was October) so we ate inside at night.
We took the local bus into Paphos ,which stopped a few yards from the hotel gates, to have a stroll round the harbour area.
We also walked quite a way along the beach side path towards Paphos which was very pleasant.
As other reviews have mentioned, sun beds were plentiful and we had no problem finding one whatever time of the day we wanted one.
The complimentary bottle of champagne in our room the night before leaving was a nice touch.
All in all, we were very pleased with this particular Hotel and will certainly be making a return visit.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Superior room with sea view well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marythechimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This was our second trip to Pafos and we were keen to find a quiet, adults-only, four star hotel on the beach. We left booking until fairly late on and the Pioneer Beach appeared to tick all the boxes and had positive reviews on Tripadvisor.
About a fortnight before our trip, I began to read some pretty awful reviews and indeed a week before we flew out, I stopped looking at Tripadvisor and felt very anxious about what we might find. To be honest, it thoroughly spoiled the lead up to the holiday. So what was it really like?
We found the hotel to be excellent on all counts. Everywhere clean and bright; staff happy and keen to ensure that you have everything you need; standard room with sea view exactly as described; good choice of well prepared food.
So what were these previous reviewers saying?
Rooms - some complained that rooms were small and in need of refurbishment; one didn't like the carpet and wicker chairs. Our standard room was bright and fresh and carpet was clean so can't see the problem here. Clearly there are different types of room and only the superior sea view rooms have large balconies and full-facing sea-view. That is made clear on the hotel's website;
Sun beds - there were sun beds by the pool, on the grass and on the beach. More than enough for everyone and plenty to choose from after breakfast;
Beach - is man-made and adjacent to a fairly sheltered bay. It was cleaned at night. Someone said that it was well nigh impossible to get into the sea. Don't get it. There is a choice of wading in from the shore or entering by ladder from the jetty. Sometimes there was seaweed but this is a beach!;
Pool - the pool has been described as tiny and overcrowded. Was this reviewer actually at the Pioneer Beach? Utter nonsense! As for the "romantic trysts" and "hanky panky" - certainly not when we were there! It is true that the pool was cold but if this is a problem, the sea is much warmer;
Food - well, we found it good. Lots of fresh fruit and vegetables. Particularly liked the omelettes made to order and the Chinese station in the evening, where the Chinese chef stir fried a range of tasty dishes.
One key, no plastic AI wrist band, drinks prices - I could go on....Also why use this arena to complain about Thomson's prices, the rep, check-in times at Pafos Airport, the flight over from the UK, etc? Hardly reasonable.
So what I am saying is that if you want a relaxing break in a well-run hotel in quiet surroundings with good plentiful food, try the Pioneer Beach Hotel. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Make sure that you understand the range of rooms available. Previous reviews show that people have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Invernesstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wannabe Londoner
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

21 Sept to 5 Oct and stayed in room 142 which was a partial Seaview
We booked the hotel because Thomson listed it as a Couples Hotel, half board, partial sea view – only to find that other couples paid £500+ less and had all inclusive package and large full sea rooms, made the start of the start of our holiday very miserable to think that we had let Thomson take advantage of us like that, shame on us and them, we looked into upgrading at the hotel but it would have cost us a further €900, we were still smarting at paying £500 more for a lot less so didn’t go for it!
Room; very clean, very small couldn’t fit two people on the balcony as it was an awkward tiny size, shower was lovely noisy aircon – this room wasn’t the picture they put in the brochures to lure you in!
Pool scene; was exactly what we needed after a very hectic year at work, but it was the first time ever I’ve needed to get up early to bag a decently located lounger.
Food; We were half board, I thought the breakfast was good lots of choice, but dinner was atrocious if I want to eat mashed potato mixed with cauliflower I will book myself into an old peoples home, so we ended up eating out most nights, but being a couple in our 30s/40s we were surrounded by 70/80 year olds and they seemed to like it
Staff/Reception; were lovely and helpful
Entertainment; they did a nice Cyprus/Greek evening, but otherwise please don’t bother
Pub/Bars; Stefan ‘Kenny White’ barman in the sports bar kept us entertained on the nights we stayed in, when they say sports bar it’s still 20 years out of date has two TVs that the vision has seen better days, a pool table and darts board and the drinks were hotel prices which meant you paid double then at a bar in town
Cleanliness; couldn’t fault it
Hotel Position; it says 20 minutes, but its 20 minutes to the nearest couple of pubs/small restaurants – for town add another 20 mins on top for the bigger bars and other restaurants – bus was only €1.50 and regular and a great way of sight seeing
Big up to the Night Watchman that used to send us to bed like naughty school children, we looked forward to our nightly banter, keep up the good work.
Hotel was clean, quiet and staff friendly, the only real gripe we had was the cost and the fact we thought the food was awful but the senior citizens loved it

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desk_Diva_Dynamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.7 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
1.9 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.6 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#12 of 86 in Paphos
2,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel

Property: Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel
Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | PO Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#13 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#16 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel is an adult -focused, four star, beachfront hotel in Kato Paphos situated conveniently close to the places of tourist and archaeological interest as well as to restaurants, bars and shops. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests.This hotel is located 15km away from Paphos International Airport and 140 km from Larnaca International Airport. All the rooms have large balconies with views of the Mediterranean or the surrounding serene landscape, luxury bathrooms featuring bath tub, rain shower and flexible hose shower and floor to ceiling windows, fruit & wine and a bottle of mineral water upon arrival. The Executive One Bedroom Suites and the Superior Deluxe rooms include the use of private cabanas on the beach with seating area and sun beds. Room facilities include among others air conditioning and heating, flat screen LCD satellite TV (26 inch in land view rooms and 32 inch in all other rooms) and radio, fridge, mini bar, hairdryer, scales, make-up/shaving mirror, bathrobes and slippers, safety deposit box, ironing facilities, espresso machine as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Sports and leisure facilities include 1 freshwater swimming pool with Jacuzzi, 1 indoor heated pool with Jacuzzi, indoor and outdoor short mat bowling facilities and outdoor Green Bowls facilities, a floodlit tennis court. In the hotel's Elixir Spa there is a heated pool, sauna, steam bath, a fully equipped gym and a hairdressing salon. You can also choose from a good choice of professional massages as well as body treatments. Enjoy some fine dining at the hotel's Restaurants or even a romantic candlelit dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Beach Paphos
Hotel Pioneer Beach
Pioneer Hotel Cyprus
Pioneer Beach Hotel Paphos
Pioneer Beach Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing