We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good holiday destination for adults with a few minor problems”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paphos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
TUI SENSIMAR Pioneer Beach Hotel by Constantinou Bros
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Pioneer Beach Hotel is well worth its 4 stars. Clean, quiet - apart from arriving and departing aircraft -, child free and with good places to eat although it does depend on the level of your booking as to which ones you are allowed eat in. The Marco Polo and Sports bars have 'happy hour' from 18.00 to 19.00 when drinks are half price.

The grounds of the hotel were beautifully kept with bright flower beds, manicured lawns and tidy beach area and the public areas were spotlessly clean. There is a very well kept walk way, sandwiched between the sea and the various hotels, which provides for a very pleasant 30 – 40 walk right into Paphos Harbour.

Our room was a decent size with two single beds pushed together, a nice bathroom with power shower and a small balcony with a table and two chairs for sitting out in the evening. We had an evening flight home and took advantage of the late check-out offer which we much appreciated. We were surprised however that they still made up the room on our last day. I couldn't help wondering if they changed the towels we didn't use and the bed linen a second time before the next people arrived?

We travelled with Thomson on half board basis and were very happy with that. Mark, their rep, was just as we like, attentive, helpful but definitely not pushy.

There were three minor problems for us especially the aircraft noise already mentioned; we discovered when out walking along the sea front that Paphos Airport is actually quite close by, even though transfer took about 30 minutes and, if the next door Louis Phaeton Hotel hadn't been in the way, we would have been able to see it from our balcony. Some days there were not many arrivals and departures so noise was minimal but others, Wednesday in particular, it was very busy. We were on the first floor corridor containing rooms 132 - 172 but everybody in the hotel must have noticed the noise as planes banked sharply toward the left over the Mediterranean soon after take-off and almost over the hotel.

Another annoyance was the way the fridge in the room was linked to the key circuit and, therefore, went off whenever we left the room meaning that water bottles placed in it never really got very cold and there was no ice in the evening. It did freeze overnight but had defrosted by the time we wanted it with an evening whisky nightcap. I understand and appreciate that the hotel does not want power wasted during the day hence the system they use but there must surely be an easy way to isolate the fridge.

The third unhappiness was that Wi-Fi connection was not free. Common enough in hotels I know but in a 4 Star establishment they could have been a bit more generous; everybody knows the number of people linking onto a system makes no difference to the cost to the hotel! It’s really just a profit generator these days.

These were, as I've already said, minor annoyances but I feel it only fair to bring them to peoples notice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EssexTraveller49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,244 - 1,250 of 2,105 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Excellent hotel, good food, plenty of choice, happy and helpful staff. We went at the beginning of April 2014 only down side was that the air conditioning was not being turned on till 1st May. This it apparently was the nor not governed by the temperature but by the time of year in april. But in saying that all hotels were the same pity.

Room Tip: This time of year pick a mountain view room as it will help keep the temperature down in the room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Being of "mature" years we wanted a restful, quiet holiday with nice surroundings, good food, a bit of pampering and excellent service. The Pioneer Beach fitted the bill brilliantly.
It is a beautiful hotel. Well set out and right on the beach. Superb public areas/bars. The gardens quite small but are beautifully laid out. Staff were very attentive and helpful.
We were really impressed by the food. A wonderful range for all meals and superb quality. It is the only hotel I've been in where they manage to do a perfect English breakfast with bacon cooked to perfection. Service was excellent. All the staff were extremely polite and helpful. Cristos, in the main dining room, made sure everything was just right for us.
The bedroom was fine - not luxurious but the bed itself was extremely comfortable. The balcony is small, but they all are unless you go for a superior suite.
For us, it was a totally relaxing holiday. If you want a holiday with night life and lots of activities then Pioneer Beach is probably not for you. For us it was perfect.

Room Tip: We had room 165 with sea view and overlooking pool/sunbathing area. It was fine and worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geoff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The friendly staff and excellent food makes this a marvellous holiday destination. The a la carte restaurants are well worth a visit and the flambe night is excellent. For the older holidaymaker who wants a relaxing holiday. Its about a 35 minute walk along the promenade to the harbour which was very pleasant in April with temps around 23 degrees. Would definitely return to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We spent a week at the Pioneer Beach Hotel at the start of April. This is an excellent hotel. The staff were very welcoming, and gave great service throughout our stay. We were impressed by the cleanliness of the public areas and the rooms. The outside areas were also kept immaculate. Their are several restaurants all serving a good variety of food with very attentive staff. We particulary enjoyed taking lunch in the outside area of the Italian restaurant and the pre dinner cocktails. All in all a little bit of heaven! We hope to return!

Room Tip: Upper floor and sea view are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We really enjoyed our week away here.
The hotel is clean and we loved the outside area. Inside is a little old fashioned as are the rooms but they are clean and have great views. We booked a superior room which came with a jacuzzi bath. It didn't work but we didn't bother complaining as we were only planning on using it once just to try it out anyway! Our room had a beautiful view of the gardens and beach and the balcony was sunny all day. The bed was very comfortable and the room had everything you needed. The wifi was very slow and sky didn't work very well which were minor annoyances.
We loved having breakfast outside and lying by the pool. There were plenty of sun beds and even hammocks. We didn't really use our cabana as it was so windy there but they were lovely. The pool is lovely but was absolutely freeeeeezing in April. Shame they don't heat it. The indoor pool is nice but a little small.
We really didn't enjoy the food at dinner. There were lots of choices but most were meats in sauces and we found the carved meats dry or fatty. The Italian was nice but as it was quiet, staff tended to stare whilst you were eating and tripped over themselves to serve you as they were bored. Very kind but not very relaxing! Breakfast was fantastic though- lots of choice. The pool bar only offered toasted ham and cheese sandwiches at lunch and we thought they were missing a trick there!
We went out for dinner to the nearby restaurants- there are plenty. The walk the harbour is half a hour but a lovely one along the beach.
The evening entertainment wasn't very good and most of the time we felt like the only younger guests there. They offer ballroom dancing and bowls which are not really for us.
Overall it was a quiet and relaxing place to visit but a little too old fashioned for us to visit again. Staff were lovely and the hotel do try hard to please.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emma_burg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel was selected for the location and for the excellent reviews on trip advisor and it certainly lived up to its reputationThe staff were some of the best I have encountered on my travels, nothing was to much trouble and they would always go that extra mile to ensure that everything was perfect the food was very good with a choice of restaurants.We went for a superior room with a sea view the standard was very high and was maintained by the high quality of the housekeeping staff who were also very friendly and helpful.
I would also like to mention the Thompson Rep Mark who was by far the best rep I have come across, nothing was to much trouble and his personal touch shone through on every task. The welcome meeting was one of the best we have ever attended very precise and just the right length.

Room Tip: Superior rooms on the second floor with sea view are quiet and sunny all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.7 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.5 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Pioneer Beach Hotel by Constantinou Bros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Pioneer Beach Hotel by Constantinou Bros

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | PO Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#14 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#16 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £149 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel is an adult -focused, four star, beachfront hotel in Kato Paphos situated conveniently close to the places of tourist and archaeological interest as well as to restaurants, bars and shops. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests.This hotel is located 15km away from Paphos International Airport and 140 km from Larnaca International Airport. All the rooms have large balconies with views of the Mediterranean or the surrounding serene landscape, luxury bathrooms featuring bath tub, rain shower and flexible hose shower and floor to ceiling windows, fruit & wine and a bottle of mineral water upon arrival. The Executive One Bedroom Suites and the Superior Deluxe rooms include the use of private cabanas on the beach with seating area and sun beds. Room facilities include among others air conditioning and heating, flat screen LCD satellite TV (26 inch in land view rooms and 32 inch in all other rooms) and radio, fridge, mini bar, hairdryer, scales, make-up/shaving mirror, bathrobes and slippers, safety deposit box, ironing facilities, espresso machine as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Sports and leisure facilities include 1 freshwater swimming pool with Jacuzzi, 1 indoor heated pool with Jacuzzi, indoor and outdoor short mat bowling facilities and outdoor Green Bowls facilities, a floodlit tennis court. In the hotel's Elixir Spa there is a heated pool, sauna, steam bath, a fully equipped gym and a hairdressing salon. You can also choose from a good choice of professional massages as well as body treatments. Enjoy some fine dining at the hotel's Restaurants or even a romantic candlelit dinner! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pioneer Beach Paphos
Hotel Pioneer Beach
Pioneer Hotel Cyprus
Pioneer Beach Hotel Paphos
Pioneer Beach Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing