We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel but great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TUI SENSIMAR Pioneer Beach Hotel by Constantinou Bros
Ranked #23 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed at the hotel last week, I'm giving you a number of bulletin points good and bad. This was average in comparisons to the hotels I have stayed in before and I was glad I just went for bed and breakfast.

Negatives
- lots of older retired people
- not much going on the evening at the hotel for younger couples
- rush for sun beds in key areas every morning
- 1 ok pool
- not really a beach
- sea view room wasn't worth it with a very small balcony, given a side sea view
- food average


Positives
- complimentary wine and fruit in room
- nice staff
- good bus services all day and night to the harbour
- clean nice rooms
- iron/hair dryer/ dressing gown and slippers provided & toiletries changed everyday
- beach towels provided daily

Didn't book any trips with the reps as they usually take up to 30% and it's the same old same old. Cheaper to book at the harbour....

If you want a really nice fusion dinner- must do the Guru up the road with amazing cocktails.

Best trip and absolute must do - Paphos Segway experience it's the number 1 on trip advisor . Book Thursday late afternoon and see some spectacular things. Do not book with rep as they were trying to sell me the big group tour with some other company and these guys where happy to take just me & the mrs , we were not rushed and spoilt rotten.

Upgrade to VIP lounge at airport, well worth it as it was like a sauna and crammed.

Would I stay at that hotel again ... No but it's all down to your budget and I can see why lots of people would go back because of the staff but I have stayed in so much better. So it's totally Average!

Stayed: June 2014
4  Thank MrChelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,173 - 1,179 of 2,098 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have just returned from a week at the Pioneer Beach hotel, what a wonderful holiday, hotel and staff excellent. We did the all inclusive package and well worth it. A lovely stroll into Paphos Harbour, a bus service outside the hotel with frequent 10mins service easy to find your way around. We did the fantastic trip to Jerusalem that was a day we will never forget, its a must do. We did the Akamas jeep safari trip oh what a fun day that was. A visit to the mosaics amazing. there is so much to do or just laze in the garden, by the pool or on the beach. A holiday made in heaven everything we could wish for, with a very relaxing atmosphere.
Only negative comment booking trips woeful i.e. tablet connection very slow, card machine problems with connection, advisor difficult to see and meeting for check out details a waste of time the card we were given could have been put in bedroom or a note on the notice board for pick up departure time.
Would defiantly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: we had 3rd floor side sea view over looking pool, very quiet at night we slept with balcony door ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Geraldine563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have just come home after spending 2 weeks here on a Bed and Breakfast basis.We loved the hotel - the location is quiet and surroundings beautiful. We could walk to bars and restaurants with ease (the bus service is good if you want to go further afield). We also took the seashore walk to Paphos harbour a couple of times - very scenic, took around 45 minutes.

The food at the buffet restaurant is plentiful, varied and of a high standard. We had dinner in the hotel 3 times and were pleased with our meals and the service is impeccable. Breakfast was great - everything you could possibly want, and more. Try Savvas's Flambe Night for a treat.

The staff at the hotel were friendly, courteous and helpful - with very few exceptions. Our only issues with our holiday are as follows: The pool bar - we found it difficult to get served quickly and people were jumping in front of us shamelessly and being served by seemingly oblivious staff - we did wonder if we were invisible to the staff at times! They usually have at least 4 staff serving but they did seem to be disorganised and the area was messy and badly run. Also, the prices of soft drinks, particularly teas and coffees, were extortionate. More positively, the pool and beach areas are blessedly quiet and scenic. Loved the old, deaf hotel cat who hung around.

We did not spend many evenings in the hotel, preferring to visit other bars and restaurants instead. We did have a few drinks in the hotel at night however. We liked the music quiz in the Sports bar - although the rep did seem disappointed at our lack of enthusiasm for her 'let's get everyone to shout out' attempts at '18-30 holiday' type of audience participation. It was a bit cringe worthy in a hotel with mainly older guests. Also, sadly we were served watered-down drinks one evening (brandy).

Also, if you want a sunbed around the pool or on the much coveted grassy areas? Make sure you get up at about 7 am to put your towel down to 'book' one! By the time we got there at about 9 -9.30 am virtually all of the sunbeds had been 'booked' in this way. This is very annoying as some people did not even use the beds until late afternoon! The hotel needs to adress this problem.

Overall we loved the hotel and Paphos. We will return to this hotel as the positives by far outweigh the negatives.

Room Tip: Pay for either a sea view or a partial sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed at Pioneer Beach Hotel this June 2014.
Good points:- Paphos is very nice a good mixture of bars, eating holes and shops, all at good prices unlike the hotel.
The bus service into paphos is very good, with buses running every ten minutes, 1 and a half euroes up too 11oclock, then 2 and a half euroes up too 1.30 am.
we recommend the two trips on the Wave Dancer, Blue lagoon day trip and the Fireworks evening trip. Both excellent value for money and fantastic crew, dancers and band.
The pool is very clean and warm, sunbeds comfortable, good showers and bathroom amenities, plenty of towels for the pool/beach.
The sea has no undercurrent and is quite calm, the only problem is the rocks and masses of seaweed. The hotel is very quite and clean.
Breakfast and dinners on a buffet system are ok but never hot, lunches are exspensive and always the same.
Bad points:- The drinks are exspensive and the cocktails have very little alcohol in them.
There was entertainment every night but apart from Adrian the rest were very poor and boring.
The sheets were not changed enough, they were very mean with the tea and coffee, two tea bags a day.
Some of the staff were rude and miserable, the left hand did know what the right hand was doing most of the time.
These issues need to be addressed and the overall price of the hotel needs to be a lot cheaper.
We have stayed in lots of better hotels and paid less.
We will go back to Cyprus but we would never stay at the Pioneer Beach Hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank justinmo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

me and my wife just come back from spending a week there, it's a brilliant hotel the staff and food (we stayed on half board basis) are out of this world, it was so nice to see a member of staff we haven't seen for six years. I would recommend this place but there so much they can improve on. It was suppose to be a couples only hotel, but sometimes it felt like butlin's ( e.g some one keep coming around asking if you want Aqua fit, shuttle board etc) I am on holiday I want to relax, I do feel this needs to be stopped, also the rooms the basic room is well just basic which was a bit disappointing. did not like the fact that when your bags were brought up the room they waited till you tipped them. any extras like a Kabana was a massive 40.00 euro per day which was a stupid price. I really thought this was going be a great holiday how ever can't help feeling we were let down, I did email the hotel to say it was our 10th Anniversary asking if they would set up a table for us to celebrate but the hotel did not reply very upset about this. Have to say would not return

Room Tip: go for the superior room not basic well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vale147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have just spent a fortnight at this fantastic hotel. We booked a Superior/Deluxe room that came with an incredible seaview and pur own cabana on the beach.
The room was quiet and very comfortable with a fabulous bathroom that had a jacuzzi bath and rainfall shower. We were supplied with 4 beach towels every day and bath towels were changed twice per day.
The food at this hotel is fantastic. The main buffet restaurant has pleny of choices and the food is hot and replenished regularly. The highlight of our stay were the 3 al la carte restaurants that provided an excellent dining experience with superb service.
Breakfast was served until 11.00am which meant that there was no rush in the morning, particularly as we had our cabana and didn't need to do the usual rush for sunbeds at some unearthly hour. Our waitress Katrina was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble.
Finally the Thopmson rep Mark was the best that we have had. He is knowledgable and attentive and would spend time with guests to ensure that all was well. Thanks Mark !
We cannot fault this hotel and will be returning again soon

Room Tip: A superior/deluxe room is definitely the best option. Standard seaview rooms have very small balconi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hants_holiday_makers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is quite a difficult report to write, we had a nice room overlooking the beach in a superior double(paid extra for though), the check in was great and breakfast was good with lots of selection. However, like a lot of people, we really enjoyed the hotel but there were a number of small problems......
The beach, yes, small rocky and for most days unable to enter due to waist deep see weed, you can go round to the end of the bay and walk in but it's very rocky...make sure you where beach shoes!
The bar, very slow, staff not being able to determine who they were serving or who was next in the queue.
One time, one of the bar staff broke 6 cups right in front of me which shattered everywhere, all over the pool area where people were in bare feet. Apart from some choice expletives (yes, I speak Greek) there was a half hearted effort to clear it up but there were still shards of china left about, no apology either.
As we only stayed on b&b I can't say about the food in the restaurants other than we ate lunch in the Italian on the beach on the last day and it was very poor, cold and expensive.
They really shouldn't call a sports bar that name just because it has two televisions, we went go in there on the first night, looked in and never went back.
Can't really tell you about the entertainment as each time we looked into the Marco Polo lounge it looked a bit quiet.
Just one spark of light, the girl working on the entertainment at the hotel was lovely, she was trying lots of different ideas to get the hotel to be a bit more lively.
The only problem, most people (like ourselves) that go on a adults only hotel just want to have a nice quiet time, read some books,rest and have a nice meal in the evenings and that's just what we got!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank travellingali2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
0.7 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
1.9 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.6 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 85 in Paphos
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Pioneer Beach Hotel by Constantinou Bros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Pioneer Beach Hotel by Constantinou Bros

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | PO Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#13 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#16 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £145 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel is an adult -focused, four star, beachfront hotel in Kato Paphos situated conveniently close to the places of tourist and archaeological interest as well as to restaurants, bars and shops. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests.This hotel is located 15km away from Paphos International Airport and 140 km from Larnaca International Airport. All the rooms have large balconies with views of the Mediterranean or the surrounding serene landscape, luxury bathrooms featuring bath tub, rain shower and flexible hose shower and floor to ceiling windows, fruit & wine and a bottle of mineral water upon arrival. The Executive One Bedroom Suites and the Superior Deluxe rooms include the use of private cabanas on the beach with seating area and sun beds. Room facilities include among others air conditioning and heating, flat screen LCD satellite TV (26 inch in land view rooms and 32 inch in all other rooms) and radio, fridge, mini bar, hairdryer, scales, make-up/shaving mirror, bathrobes and slippers, safety deposit box, ironing facilities, espresso machine as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Sports and leisure facilities include 1 freshwater swimming pool with Jacuzzi, 1 indoor heated pool with Jacuzzi, indoor and outdoor short mat bowling facilities and outdoor Green Bowls facilities, a floodlit tennis court. In the hotel's Elixir Spa there is a heated pool, sauna, steam bath, a fully equipped gym and a hairdressing salon. You can also choose from a good choice of professional massages as well as body treatments. Enjoy some fine dining at the hotel's Restaurants or even a romantic candlelit dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Pioneer Beach Hotel by Constantinou Bros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Beach Paphos
Hotel Pioneer Beach
Pioneer Hotel Cyprus
Pioneer Beach Hotel Paphos
Pioneer Beach Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing