We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Practically faultless. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel
Ranked #22 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Practically faultless. ”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile


Me and my husband stayed here for two weeks which included getting married on site in one of the cabanas which overlooks the beach.

First of all can I say that the wedding was well organised by the hotel itself and the photos with the sea in the background was beautiful. The hotel worked closely with the Thomson's representative to make sure everything went as planned.

With regards to the hotel itself, it was beautiful, we were upgraded to a superior room which also included our own cabana which only added to the experience giving is our own space and avoided the inevitable rush for beds and having to get up early especially for a sun bed (although there were always beds free).

We largely ate at the a la carte restaurants, highly recommend the thalassa which overlooks the beach. Also ate at the buffet restaurant which was also a good standard of food.

The staff were all very friendly and only to happy to help(with the exception of one at the pool bar). Rooms are an ok size given that you spend most your time outside although I'd certainly recommend paying the extra for the sea view.

Pool is a good size and is lovely to relax in especially with no children about. The beach is sandy as described however entry into the sea itself if largely rocks which is a bit of a pain.

Having show your card every-time you want some drinks is a bit annoying though least if you go out the hotel you're not branded with a band!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,085
    470
    148
    32
    15
See reviews for
73
1,460
23
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wickham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a superior room with a mountain view, and stayed on an all inclusive basis.

Upon arrival, as we had a superior room, we were given champagne & sat down on a comfy sofa by the superior room lady who was very nice. She then took us to our room and explained everything thoroughly. This was a nice touch.

Room:
This room was supposed to be superior. Yes, the bed (which was advertised as double but was actually twin beds shoved together) was comfy, there was a small LCD tv, tea & coffee (not much!), espresso machine, and a fridge full of drinks, the soft ones being replenished daily. The room however was small, and felt dated. It was an average four star room at best, and was by no means superior. The replenishing of the advertised luxury shower gel etc was poor. We actually asked for extra shower gel & a new towel one day and waited for it and it never arrived. We asked again later in the evening and were greeted by someone at he door who said "is there a problem?", who then returned with two shower gels but refused to give us another towel until the following day. This is appalling at this price. We asked for more shower gel a few days later and this never arrived. We had to resort to buying some. Cyprus is hot and we both needed two showers per day. We did get balloons and a happy anniversary notice in our room on the day, that was nice. There was wine in the room and champagne on the last day.

Restaurants, food & drink:
You get a card, not a band, for all inclusive. You have to give it to the waiter along with your room number at the start of the meal and they give you the card back and get you to sign a receipt at the end. Lunch was somewhat more complicated, which I'll explain later. For drinks you just give the card & room number & sign straight away. You get a black card if you're in a superior room, blue for normal.
We had a superior room on an all inclusive basis, so this included the a la carte restaurants every night. The first night, we used the conventional buffet. We sat outside, but the interior decor of the buffet was dated & the food selection & quality average. We got our wine which was put on the table and left to begin with, and then they came back to open it (?), this occurred in the med restaurant in the hotel as well, strange. Most annoying was the man who came up to us whilst we were eating and prattled on for ages trying to sell us a flambé night, even though we'd already paid for all inclusive and were superior so had a la cartes included.
The following day we decided not to go to the normal buffet restaurant for the remainder of our holiday and just go to the a la cartes. We were told upon arrival that these had to be booked, but on our 2nd day first thing in the morning, a Thursday, we were told we couldn't get in until Saturday into any of them, even though they were included. After going down to reception and seeing someone else complaining about the same issue, knowing that we saw this person get it, they then let us book for every night. We ate in all three a la cartes. The Mediterranean & Italian restaurants are the best and adjoin each other, right on the water front. These restaurants are the hotels strong point, and actually exceeded our expectations. They are modern, luxurious and beautifully appointed. The first night we went in, they let us and another couple wait for about ten minutes and were sitting other people down, but that was the only niggle. The food was superb. The Italian included a buffet or menu for starter, menu for main & buffet for dessert. The med was all menu based. We had both lobster and beautiful thick steak in the Italian, and lovely steak & sea bass in the med, this was all outstanding. It was very impressive to get steak & lobster included. The atmosphere and service otherwise in the med/Italian restaurant was outstanding, the view over the sea terrific. They gave us champagne on our anniversary, which was a nice touch. The international a la carte had excellent food and service as well, but is set further back, so the outlook isn't half as good as the med/Italian restaurant.
Breakfast for superior room guests can be taken in the international a la carte until 11am. You're welcomed by one the superior room staff and they recognise you which is a nice touch. The food quality and selection was very good. Along with some other areas of the hotel, some staff were very miserable in here, some very friendly. It was nice that you never had to wait for a table at breakfast, there was always one laid, quite a rare experience in any hotel.
Lunch was served in the Italian restaurant. The process here was so confusing. You could either order from the menu, or go to the buffet. If you went to the buffet, you had to pick from a limited amount of food, and ask for most of it, as it was behind a counter. You then had to queue up, order your drink, and show what food you picked up, show your card & sign. This certainly puts one off from going up for seconds! The food quality was ok. You could have a toasted ham & cheese sandwich at the pool bar, or there was a barbecue by there, serving kebabs. This was a nice touch, another rather confusing affair though. You have to obtain a ticket from the pool bar, providing your card, and then take the ticket to the barbecue, and they brought the food over. The food was good, though. There were also strawberries and ice cream being served outside, which was lovely, but you had to obtain a ticket from the Italian restaurant, showing your card, sign and then take this to the ice cream man, so regimental.
The pool bar had a wide variety of drinks included, those not in the all in option had a star next to them, but most were included. Some staff here were extremely miserable & lacked basic manners, but this improved somewhat during our stay. We heard on the way home that someone had complained. On some nights there was entertainment at the pool bar, which was good.
The lobby bar had entertainment every night, which was good. The service was quite slow on occasions, but the drinks were nice.
There was a pub style bar for those who wanted it, it had a tv too.

Pool:
Be warned! If you want a decent sun bed, you HAVE to get up and reserve one early here. I went down at 7:30am and quite a few had already gone. I went down at 8 one day and there were hardly any left!!! I have stayed in eight other Thomson hotels and have never known anything like this. Can't blame the hotel, they had a sign persuading people not to do it. The pool is small for a Thomson 5T, certainly warm though.

Entertainment:
Thomson girl was offering various daytime activities for those who wanted them, there was a pool table and a dart board. There was a lady who worked for the hotel who was offering to play darts with people who's partners didn't want to play with them and I heard her talking to people, she offered outstanding service. There was entertainment sometimes in the pool bar in the evening (dancing/singing), this was of a good standard. There was singing in the lobby bar every night which was also good.

Location:
The hotel is located outside the main part of Paphos, which is a long but achievable sea front walk away. There is a very cheap bus, just outside the hotel. The hotel is on a very pretty beach.

Overall:
Go for a superior room on all inclusive and you will love the à la carte restaurants for dinner, especially the Mediterranean/Italian. It's worth doing this, as the normal buffet is average. But don't expect a 'superior' room as this is average, even for a normal room. Some of the service at this hotel was good but there is plenty of room for improvement. This hotel has it's strong points, but compared with the superb Atlantica Imperial in Rhodes, another 5T Thomson couples hotel, and considering the price, Pioneer Beach doesn't offer enough to make us return. Good, but we expected better.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room on all inclusive, as the a la carte restaurants you get included are outstand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Lovely holiday, very peaceful met some really nice people. Have stayed at this hotel several times in the past but not for a number of years. There have been many changes some for the better and others not so. The outside area is stunning with a lovely pool and many improvements have been made to the beach and surrounding area, quite clearly a lot of money has been spent. If your priorities are a large sandy beach then this part of Paphos is not for you, but Pioneer Beach is in a beautiful setting and we enjoyed walking along the sea front to the harbour. We looked at the other hotels along the way and felt that the Constantinou bros hotels had the best locations. Pioneer Beach is immaculate, we were slightly disappointed not to have a pool side view but our room was very peaceful with a side sea room. The beds are very comfortable and the bed linen good quality. It was nice to have a fridge, kettle, coffee maker, hand held hair dryer and English plug together with bathrobes and slippers. Getting into the town centre or harbour area is very easy via bus which stops fairly near to the hotel but it is lovely to walk one way. You need to walk some calories off as there is so much food available. Lovely touch, chilled water in reception area with sliced cucumber, lemon and fruits on your return.

There are now many different packages on offer, we were half board so eat mainly in the Odysseas Restaurant which is now buffet style. The food was still of a high standard and loads of choice however we found it better to eat early in the evening when the food was warm, other guests tended to leave the lids up on the serving dishes which was annoying. The hotels priority now seems to be with the a la carte or premier package guests which is a shame as it is creating a two tier system. This was noted by many of the return visitors. There is no longer a management presence around the hotel/restaurant area. The personal touch is disappearing as are the traditional Cypriot staff particularly in the bar area to be replaced by quite inexperienced staff with language difficulties.

Would definitely return to this hotel and recommend to friends but would like to stress that all guests are important. Oh and please do something about the annoying early risers who insist on saving sun beds from 5.30am, do not want early morning wake up call from room above going out with their towels!!!

Despite the comparison to the old style Pioneer Beach it is still an excellent hotel and you will have a very relaxing holiday if you choose this hotel. If you are a return visitor, remember to get your discount card.

We didn't stay around the hotel every night but enjoyed the Friday and Saturday night entertainment. Loved being able to eat outdoors and particularly enjoyed the theme nights. Mark the Thomson rep was excellent, very friendly and helpful with good local knowledge. Try the evening boat trip with entertainment, excellent. Didn't, think much to the jeep safari.

Final word - ready to go back!!

Room Tip: Obviously a full sea view would be best choice but the side sea view rooms are perfectly adequate. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kimble59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a two week break at the pioneer beach hotel. This was our third year in a row at this hotel and we will definitely be returning again next year. The hotel is spotless and the staff are always busy keeping it that way. We stayed on a bed and breakfast package and the breakfast choice was fantastic. Entertainment was low key but we went out most evenings anyway. The only downside was that the pool bar staff were new and not yet fully experienced compared with previous years. This will not stop us going back again though - it's too good a hotel and we love our holidays there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have just returned from the Pioneer Beach having spent a week there with my husband. We were welcomed on arrival with a drink and a wet cloth. We were seated at a comfortable sofa for the check in process and taken to our rooms by the Guest Relations lady.

We booked a superior room with a sea view, all inclusive. We did feel that all inclusive package was very good value. We had a black card. It is valid from the time you arrive up to the same time on the day you leave. We especially liked being able to dine à la carte every evening (subject to availability). We liked the Thalassa Restaurant best of all. It has a lovely view over the bay. The Thalassa Restaurant is run by Pavlos and Silvi, you are always welcomed when you arrive and they take time to talk with you, it makes you feel as if you are visiting friends.

Entertainment was low key, but sufficient, if you have a sea view room then you will hear the night-time entertainment which is set up by the pool.

The Regina is next to The Thalassa and is just as good (Italian à la Carte) but doesn’t have the same view. We only dined in The Christiana once and it was let down by poor service. Our meal was also ruined by cigarette smoke from other diners. One woman on the table next to us smoked 8 cigarettes in 90 minutes! It drifted all over the small restaurant terrace. We ended up leaving without dessert.

The meals in all the restaurants are all very well prepared and fresh, the portions are huge! The strawberry sundaes in the afternoon by the pool were lovely.

The rooms are clean, but small and a bit dated. The floor is carpeted and the carpet was old and felt unpleasant underfoot. The balcony is not big, but large enough for two people, chairs and table. The balconies for the standard rooms were really small. There are bathrobes, flip flops and slippers in the rooms and if you fancy ironing there is an iron and ironing board. There is a washing line in the bathroom. There was wine and fruit on arrival, the mini bar is stocked and will be replenished daily with the exception of the alcoholic drinks, when they’re gone, they’re gone! they provide a good quality bottle opener. Towels changed twice a day. Four towels for the pool were provided each day, they are a good size, long enough to fit on the sun lounger. The bed linen will be changed every 4 days (energy conservation) unless you sign a form in the room, it is easy to overlook the form, it is cream coloured with green print, you sign it and leave it on the bed and then the linen will be changed every 2 days. There were two pillows on the bed and another two as extra in the room. We had water and a biscuit left by the bed each night. There is an Expresso machine with some coffee cartridges, they are not replenished but can be purchased in the mini market. They only put a couple of teas and coffees in the room each day but you could take some from breakfast if you wanted or buy them in the mini market. Plugs are 3 pin UK style so no need for adaptor plugs. Wi-fi in the room and around the pool was good. You are given a code valid for your stay. There are also two computers in reception, ask for the code from reception and you can use these for free. You can tell the lady in the mini market what newspaper you want and she will keep one aside for you.

The pool is not very big, but there are adequate sun loungers for guests, you just have to be flexible on where you sit, some of the umbrellas do not work. The pool bar does get very busy and queues form at certain times of the day. The beach is advertised as private and shared by the Pioneer Beach and Asimina Suites, both adult only hotels, however there were children on the beach.

We were given a bottle of Rosé wine the day before leaving. We were asked what time we wanted it in the room so that it would be chilled to perfection.

We did complain about the poor service and smoking in the Christiana Restaurant. The management did respond straight away, service improved 100% almost immediately, (this is the restaurant where we had breakfast so we could see this for ourselves). We received a personal apology from the management and sparkling wine. We felt that the management response was excellent.

As for smoking, apparently it is part of Cypriot culture and they don’t view it with same distaste as other parts of Europe. Cyprus has been slow to change it’s no smoking rules. The management don’t want to alienate smokers. However, although there were a lot of smokers at the hotel there were more non-smokers.
What is the point of an à la carte restaurant where the food is to be of superior quality if it is spoilt by the taste and smell of cigarette smoke? Just because there are no walls, it is still a restaurant, they impose a dress code, why not a smoking code? There is not even a no smoking area unless you eat indoors.
I really feel the management need to address the issue as the whole dining experience, be it à la carte or buffet is geared up to be outside.
Elena, Guest Relations, told me she has been trying to get management to deal with the smoking issue but they are resistant, so it is only if guests raise the issue that anything will be done, you can move sun lounger or in the bar if smoke bothers you, but you cannot move around a restaurant once your meal has started to be served. So if it bothers you, or if you are a smoker who doesn’t want to ruin other people meals then raise the issue, then perhaps they can find areas for smokers or at least have a no smoking ban around food.

Overall we did enjoy our stay and are considering visiting the sister hotel Asimina Suites next year. The Constantinou Brothers seems to have a winning formula. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Very few of the staff seemed to be Cypriot, so as has been mentioned before there is not a Cypriot feel to the hotel, most staff seemed to be from Eastern Europe. It was really lovely to be at an adult only hotel, so much quieter and peaceful without children. When we left by taxi, we were shown to our taxi by guest relations and all the reception staff wave goodbye. A nice final touch. Thank you Pioneer Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ccmsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We've just returned from a week at the Pioneer, and I would highly recommend it. We stayed on the premium package, and I think it's worth every penny for the extras you receive - including unlimited a la carte restaurant trips, dedicated restaurant for breakfast until 11am, and a sea view (although the room was a little small for a superior room in my opinion).

Hotel is extremely clean, very relaxing due to lack of kids & music blaring over the speakers. Cocktail menu was extensive, particularly in the Marco Polo bar, and on our last night, we really enjoyed listening to Andy Foster. Really nice touches - strawberry ice cream sundaes available every afternoon, and on our last night we were treated to a bottle of pink champagne.

For those who go to the gym, my husband reports that there were no free weights available, but it was otherwise ok.

Staff very friendly, and in particular we received great service from Diana. If we come back to Cyprus, we'll definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ColchesterClarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned after a week at the Pioneer Beach . My Wife and i had a great relaxing time we booked a superior room which had full sea view the room was spotlessly clean and was attended to several times a day by the hard working maids . No need to bring beach towels as four were provided daily . With the superior rooms you were allowed to eat in any of the restaurants every day which we did and found to be excellant Christiana being our favourite special mention here for Katrina and Ellana . But all of the staff are very pleasant , having said that the Buffet restaurant was also excellant with lots of choice . The all inclusive card system does seem a little confusing at first but you soon get the hang of it . The entertainment was quite good trying to suit differant tastes . The tour rep Mark was very efficient at his job and the entertainment rep Linda was a lovely friendly girl . The Sun beds , this year I said I would not go out early to reserve ours beds but i'm afraid you get sucked in to the system , as was said before you can see people out there at the crack of dawn but there is enough to go round pool beach and grass . Now the beach , well this is not the best of beaches it is very clean but is not very big and getting into the sea is a bit rocky with lots of sea weed but a little tip here is to walk up to next doors hotel walk around the rocks taking care and enter the sea at the corner which we did on a daily basis . So to conlude we would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the Paphos region and "The tomb of the Kings" is a must see for only 2.50 euros each

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank desertman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.7 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
1.9 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.7 mi away
Louis Imperial Beach
Louis Imperial Beach
#4 of 90 in Paphos
2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel

Property: Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel
Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue | PO Box 60182, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#12 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#16 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel is an adult -focused, four star, beachfront hotel in Kato Paphos situated conveniently close to the places of tourist and archaeological interest as well as to restaurants, bars and shops. Parking in the hotel car park is free for guests.This hotel is located 15km away from Paphos International Airport and 140 km from Larnaca International Airport. All the rooms have large balconies with views of the Mediterranean or the surrounding serene landscape, luxury bathrooms featuring bath tub, rain shower and flexible hose shower and floor to ceiling windows, fruit & wine and a bottle of mineral water upon arrival. The Executive One Bedroom Suites and the Superior Deluxe rooms include the use of private cabanas on the beach with seating area and sun beds. Room facilities include among others air conditioning and heating, flat screen LCD satellite TV (26 inch in land view rooms and 32 inch in all other rooms) and radio, fridge, mini bar, hairdryer, scales, make-up/shaving mirror, bathrobes and slippers, safety deposit box, ironing facilities, espresso machine as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Sports and leisure facilities include 1 freshwater swimming pool with Jacuzzi, 1 indoor heated pool with Jacuzzi, indoor and outdoor short mat bowling facilities and outdoor Green Bowls facilities, a floodlit tennis court. In the hotel's Elixir Spa there is a heated pool, sauna, steam bath, a fully equipped gym and a hairdressing salon. You can also choose from a good choice of professional massages as well as body treatments. Enjoy some fine dining at the hotel's Restaurants or even a romantic candlelit dinner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Constantinou Bros Pioneer Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Beach Paphos
Hotel Pioneer Beach
Pioneer Hotel Cyprus
Pioneer Beach Hotel Paphos
Pioneer Beach Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing