We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The King Jason Paphos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The King Jason Paphos
Ranked #1 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at the King Jason for a week commencing Oct 24th. On arrival we were shown to our room, and what a nice surpise that was. It was A201 in the block next to the hotel and is probably the biggest room we've ever had. A balcony, Queen-sized bed, full cooking facilities, three seperate hand basins and the deepest bath I've ever been in. A seriously good room.
The hotel is clean and spacious and the staff very cheerful and helpful. The King Jason is set in a residential district a fifteen minute walk from the harbour. Which is good for not being kept awake by banging music every night but you are step away from the resort proper. A taxi from the harbour back to the hotel cost us 8 euro. The food is standard hotel fare served buffet style but the salads and greek yoghurts are top notch. The hotel has no entertainment (at least at this point in the season) which can be good or bad. some people don't like pub quizzes or poolside aerobics or reps bellowing "Are you enjoying yourself" through mics, for instance. I would have liked to be able to sit around the pool at a table, in a chair, rather than it being 100% sunbeds. But if you have a poolside apartment that wouldn't be an issue. The hotel is cat friendly, which we loved. It's nice to see them being cared for; it isn't always the case abroad. Lastly, it's a clean establishment. Overall it is a place with few downsides and many ups.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear guest,

We want to express our gratitude at your recent visit to the King Jason.

Thank you also for sharing your wonderful comments online, which make us very proud. It is delightful to read your appreciation of our deluxe studios, our food and beverage offer, our cleanliness and even our cats! Your understanding about our no-entertainment policy is also a blessing and to have your support on the matter means a lot.

We hope that you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you to the King Jason soon again.

Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,345
    321
    66
    21
    11
See reviews for
794
1,508
32
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (756)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the King Jason. Have to say on arrival we were rather disappointed with our room. It was rather tired and compact. The room was clean but the stairs leading to the room could be doing with a good clean. The bathroom has been updated but the shower screen doesn't stop the water leaking out onto the bathroom floor which became very wet at times. The one major problem is the air conditioning unit in the bedroom.. It was like a 747 jet. So noisy and yet when you switched it off it was too hot to sleep. I am aware that they are being upgraded over the winter period

I have stayed at a number of AI hotels in Egypt and Turkey and have to say this is the best food and drink I have ever had. I think it is because this is not a large hotel and as a result of this the food is not mass produced. Andreas and Maria look after the guests very well. Perhaps a bit too attentive at meal times, but Andreas is very helpful and approachable as is Maria. I have never met a Hotel Manager who works so hard. As for the other staff, they are so friendly without being too friendly and couldn't do enough to help you.

There was never a problem getting a sun bed, whatever time of the day it was. The hydra pool is lovely, but the water is very very cold. It can be a little noisy as it is near to the main road, but it doesn't cause any problems.

Yes there is no entertainment at this hotel but they don't claim to have any so it didn't come as a surprise to us. Yes it is a 10 minute walk to the Harbour but it is a pleasant walk there.

The WiFi is slow but again didn't cause too many problems.

I saw the deluxe rooms and have to say that was what I would have been expecting for the whole hotel.

All in all a good holiday but if returning would definitely have a deluxe room.

Room Tip: Get a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graemsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear guest,

Please accept our thanks for sharing your views with the online community following a recent stay at the King Jason.

We are delighted that you found our food and beverage offer to be better than any other and our service attentive. As you know we are changing our air conditioning units in the next few weeks so hopefully this will not be a problem anymore. In addition we are constructing a sample room in the old building, which will act as a guiding tool for the renovation of our existing apartments in the next couple of years. Here at the King Jason we take into careful consideration the comments of our guests and this is further proof that whatever we do, we do it with you in mind.

We really hope to have you back with us in the near future.

Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed with my husband all-inclusive at beginning of October for 10 nights. Was very wary of all-inclusive as we'd never done that before and heard stories about having to wear wrist bands and being treated like cattle. How wrong was I? The food was excellent and the service was first class. The hotel itself was great with very good facilities and the management and staff were very attentive and friendly. Andreas, Maria and all the staff made us feel like one of the family. I agree that there is no entertainment and it is quiet, but that was what we wanted. When we arrived, very tired after the flight, we were offered juice and biscuits which was a nice touch. We were being taken to our room and realised that it was on the 2nd floor. As I had recently had surgery to a fracured ankle, I wasnt able to climb two flights of stairs. When I explained this, within five minutes our room was changed to a first floor one, with no fuss.
If you want a hotel right on the beach with all the entertainment then dont stay here, but if you want good food, excellent service and a quiet, comfortable hotel, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandiepsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for staying at the King Jason during your recent holiday.

We couldn't be happier to read your confirmation of the tranquil and high quality ambience you found within our prperty. This is exactly what we are aiming for, coupled with exceptional service and a superb all inclusive that is different from any other.

Your support of the King Jason means the world to us and we cannot wait to have you back.

Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We booked this for a autumn chill - and to be fair it met all of our expectations.

We are used to staying in 4/5 star hotels and the service here is outstanding primarily because the General Manager "leads from the front" with all the staff fantastic.

Consistent high quality food presented on the buffet with acceptable quality wine served by the staff

Although our room was not one of the new ones, it was right by the pool, presented to 4* standards with a kitchen lounge, a massive double bed in a separate room and fully tiled contemporary bathroom.

No problems with sunbeds, probably a bit quiet for lively families and clients wanting a boozy all inclusive experience - so I recommend they stay away and leave it to the respectable respectful customers.

Being 5 minutes off the beaten track was not a problem for us.

Very, very, very minor comments:
WiFi slow - but you can upgrade
Bar a bit soulless
Welcome meeting with orange juice and biscuits could be a bit more embracing

Room Tip: Check out the various operators TUI/Jet2 etc. or even check out the hotel direct and sort your own t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting the King Jason and for sharing your feedback with the online community.

We appreciate your view that our customer service is outstanding, and that our food and beverage offer is of very high quality. You mentioned some elements for improvement as well and rest asured that we will be looking into them immediately.

Hopefully this was not your last time at the King Jason.

Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Just returned with my wife and two daughters 10 & 17 and to say it was a nice but very very quiet break, with the hotel rooms very clean and the freshly cooked food every day which was excellent. However it's a hotel you go to if you want to do nothing, as nothing is the main attraction. No entertainment during the day or at night also this hotel is situated in a residential area and a hike away from the main bars or restaurants. The major complaint I have about this hotel is the amount of stray cats around inside and out! Although We are not cat lovers! I feel even if we were there are too many around which doesn't look good, and extremely off putting. We were on a half board basis which suited us as we needed to get out at night time, also the drinks in the hotel were pricey too. The "free" wifi they offer is a joke and they try to temp you to purchase the faster wifi at a premium price. If we were to summarise this hotel, it's okay if you want to literally do nothing and look at stray cats, unfortunately it wasn't for us as a family.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeessideDb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for commenting on the King Jason following a recent holiday.

We are disappointed that such a big part of your negative experience was due to the location and lack of animation; frankly we do not understand how this can be an issue when the internet is full of accurate descriptions both about the location and the lack of entertainment. We have never claimed to be a beach side hotel nor have we claimed to offer entertainment; additionally, this website is full of testimonials that confirm this so we cannot understand why someone would book our hotel if these two points are so important to their holiday enjoyment. There are tens of beachside hotels in Paphos whose main product is entertainment, and we are sorry but we are not interested in offering this. As we have said numerous times, we want our guests to come here for relaxation and this is not a secret at all.

As for our cats, we do understand that not everybody likes them but they generally mind their own business; moreover they are not stray as you claim and they are seen by the vet twice a year. Nevertheless we do understand your dislike for them. Finally, we do not try to tempt guests into buying faster wifi as you claim. Wifi is free in the lobby but if guests want in-room wifi then this is payable, as is the norm in thousands of hotels worldwide. To claim that we purposely have slow wifi so that we can sell in-room wifi couldn't be further from the truth; lobby wifi is simply slow at times depending on the usage from guests. Mostly, the evenings are slow when people are downloading movies whereas the mornings are much better.

It is a shame that your stay at the King Jason was not a pleasant one and we are saddened that we were unable to meet your expectations. Thank you once again for your review.

Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Yes the staff are all very friendly and yes the hydro pool is great (although VERY cold), but the King Jason failed to live up to expectations.

We had a one room apartment in the reception block and I guess this is one of the rooms that is still to be refurbished. The fittings and fixtures looked quite dated and basic, there were two single beds in the living area (actual beds rather than sofa-beds). It simply wasn't possible to sit on these comfortably.

The kitchen area was adequate but the cooker wasn't much use since no grill pan, roasting tray etc. were available.

It was hotter than we expected for October and it was unfortunate that we couldn't use the air conditioning at night. The a/c unit in the bedroom rattled like an old tractor engine.

Many of the people we spoke to have been coming to the KJ for years, largely on the basis of the friendly staff and the food (which is served buffet style). I will not be joining them in the future.

There were simply too many aspects of our stay that were below what we would expect for a hotel of this rating. I was surprised I had to carry my case to our top floor apartment, the furnishings, as mentioned, have seen better days, the hotel is the middle of an unexceptional housing estate a good 15 minutes walk to restaurants and bars, guests are expected to pay for the use of the room safe (WHY??) and the stairs to our room were positively dirty.

It appeared that most of the guests were British so it seemed odd the hotel wasn't able to provide even one British TV channel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Aberbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting the King Jason during a recent holiday.

It is obvious from your review that you did not enjoy your stay at all and for this we would like to apologize. Your apartment was one of the older ones, whose bathroom was totally renovated 2 years ago; this winter more work will take place on the flooring as well as the sofa beds and A/C units, and hopefully by summer 2015 we can complete the process of the upgrades for these rooms.

We are very surprised that your luggage was not carried to your room as our hotel boasts very friendly porters; please accept our apologies for this and rest assured we will be investigating to find out why this was the case. Your other comments regarding the furnishings and TV channels have also been noted for our improvement.

All in all we are disappointed that you will not be returning to the King Jason in the future. We are always confident in our abilities to offer positive experiences to our guests but sadly it was not the case for you.

Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We have just returned from an 8 night holiday in Cyprus, on arrival we were greeted by Dimidtry who was very polite and extremely helpful, he took all our bags inside for us. He handed us a letter which explained there had been a problem with the electrics in the hotel which had caused a number of rooms to be rewired, our room was one of them. He explained we had a sea view room at anoer Louis hotel and a taxi would take us, as we had rented a car we asked for instructions and said we should be ok to make our own way as it seemed an unnecessary expense for them to call a taxi for us. He insisted and said the taxi would take our bags and we could follow in the car. We were upgraded from room only to bed and breakfast for the first 3 nights in the replacement hotel. When we returned to the king Jason we were greeted by Andreas the hotel manager who was extremely apologetic and gave us pool towels to use the pool until our room was cleaned. When we got in the room it was stunning we had a delux suite and it was more than we could have expected. There was a bottle of wine in our room as an apology for the inconvenience of moving hotels. During the rest of our stay both Dimidtry and Andreas went out of their way to ensure we had an enjoyable holiday. I would most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and will be returning without a doubt! The hotel is in a good location a 10 minute walk from the town and harbour, a car would be advised to see more or paphos

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend the delux suite the rooms are AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, General Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for holidaying at the King Jason and for posting a comment online.

We are relieved that the inconvenience we placed upon you at the beginning did not affect your stay in a negative way and we are thankful for your understanding. We apologize for the disturbance once again and are delighted that after getting back to our hotel you felt the wait was worth it.

We are hopeful that we will have the honour of welcoming you again to the King Jason in the near future.

Regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.8 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
0.5 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#20 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#17 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
1.3 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
2.2 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King Jason Paphos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King Jason Paphos

Property: The King Jason Paphos
Address: Pentadaktylou St | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8103, Cyprus (Formerly Louis King Jason)
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#1 Family Hotel in Paphos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The King Jason Paphos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderfully welcoming, 4-star luxury hotel in Paphos, Cyprus, boasting an environment which is devoid of the anxiety associated with everyday life. Our facilities are the perfect setting to reconnect with loved ones, enhance personal relationships and give yourself some much-deserved peace of mind. What truly sets us apart however, is our strong commitment to personal service. Here, we all make the time to notice you, to hear you, to respect you, to understand you and to comfort you. If you are looking for a hotel with a heart, then you belong with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The King Jason Paphos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis King Jason Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing