We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The King Jason Paphos
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a double bedroom and lounge/kitchen, which was air-conditioned, comfortable and spotlessly clean. We couldn't fault this place - there was always a bed by a pool (there being 3 pools, one for adults only) so no slipping out at 7am to reserve a bed, service was always with a smile, good choice of food and drinks, and the hotel is still small enough for the manager, Andreas, and the restaurant manager, Maria, to walk around and chat to everyone during meals. Maria is also the lovely person who ensures all the hotel cats are spayed and well fed - anyone who likes cats will be pleased to see them looking so healthy.
This was our first visit to Cyprus, and although the island isn't somewhere we would go back to (except maybe the mountains, which were lovely), we would heartily recommend this hotel - many we spoke to had stayed there year after year. We hired a car for 3 days via the hotel's reception desk, which we found to be a better deal than any of the others we looked into.

Room Tip: We had a second floor apartment with a balcony overlooking the pool. No complaints at all, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank OxfordSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear guest,

On behalf of the King Jason we would like to thank you for holidaying at our magnificent property and for sharing your feedback with the online community.

It is a great pleasure to hear that you liked our welcoming and impeccable rooms along with the high quality service granted by our cheerful and courteous personnel. Furthermore we are glad you enjoyed our large selection of delicious dishes and great drinks. Your appreciation is overwhelming and brings us great satisfaction.

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the King Jason on your next holiday.

Regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,873 - 1,879 of 3,256 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

On arrival, we were immediately greeted and offered refreshments. In our room, there were also freshly prepared snacks waiting for us. Service was the best we've experienced. All of the staff were attentive and friendly - Andreas' constant attention to detail, and checking that everything was fine with his guests, was outstanding. We had one of the newly renovated apartments - very comfortable and spotlessly clean. All three pools were very clean - appreciated the peaceful, adult pool.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank G457OHJohnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this short and adorable comment about a stay at the King Jason.

We are thrilled to hear that our high quality service has exceeded your expectations and was the best you have ever experienced. We are also delighted to know you enjoyed our flawless and cozy apartments as well as the warmth and attentiveness of our staff. It is lovely to see that our new and peaceful Elegancia pool was to your utmost taste.

We dearly thank you for these beautiful words and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to the King Jason soon.

Best regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have stayed at the King Jason Hotel twice before but some time ago so there has been some changes, the night before our holiday my husband had an injury to his foot and was unable to use the stairs the hotel was able to change our room to ground floor "disabled room" whilst this was very accommodating of them the room was no where as nice as the new deluxe one we had booked, the room was large with cooking facilities but the bathroom was very small as was the shower had my husband been unable to hop around it would have been a very tight squeeze with a wheelchair. There was a step leading to door of apartment for a wheelchair user it should have had a ramp.
On two occasions our room was not cleaned the first time was just after 4pm and we were taking a siesta good thing there was a chain on the door as there are no' Do not disturb signs' and the maids just come in, second time no one appeared by 4pm which I think is late and I spoke with Andreas the manager and it was taken care of straight away.
All the pools are good the only negative comment I have is regarding the treadmill and exercise cycle they have in the hydro pool whilst they are fun I think they can be dangerous they can't always be seen as they sit just below the water level the maintenance man came to secure them twice in the time we were there ( he was very good at underwater repairs)
We were all inclusive the food was good but not remarkable for fussy eaters they are more than helpful, flies can be a problem as some of the food is uncovered and they sit on the food . The restaurant and bar area was never cool which does not make it comfortable to eat or drink at the bar which is very small, not sure if there is air con in these areas if so they were never switched on.
Not really anything to do apart from having a drink in the bar listening to very sedate music in the evenings.
The harbour is about 20 minutes walk with many restaurants and nice atmosphere.
All staff were nice smiling and helpful
I think maybe King Jason has lost a little of it's charm since all the changes

Room Tip: The newer rooms have much better air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linda y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for visiting the King Jason and for sharing your comments with the online community.

We must admit to being devastated after reading your review, especially after going out of our way to be accommodating of your husband's injury. There must be a misunderstanding regarding the second room we arranged for you; it was never a disabled room, but merely a ground floor superior studio to facilitate your husband's movements. As for the cleaning of your room, we apologize for leaving it late on a couple of occasions but as you know it was arranged for the mornings subsequent to your complaint. You mention that we do not have 'do not disturb' signs, but this is not true; the red knots hanging behind the doorknob are meant to represent a classier version of a normal 'do not disturb' sign.

Though we do not agree that the underwater treadmill and bike can be dangerous, we have listened to your feedback and removed them with immediate effect until further notice. As for your mention of our cuisine, we understand that not everything was to your palate but are disappointed that you did not mention the lengths to which our staff went to keep you happy, by preparing special dishes just for you. Finally regarding our A/C in the lobby area, restaurant and library, we assure you that all units are on from 8am and create a very comfortable atmosphere indoors. It is of course self explanatory that the deck area of our bar and restaurant are considered outdoor premises and obviously air conditioning is not provided there.

Overall we must admit to being really surprised and above all heartbroken at your review; we felt we went over and above the call of duty to accommodate your last minute wish to change the room, and sadly it seems this was not appreciated. We have spent millions to renovate and bring our property up to modern standards and it is really unfortunate that you feel our hotel has lost its charm. We respect your opinion, but it does not mean that we necessarily agree.

Regards from the King Jason,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Amazing time at the hotel, comfortable stay but what made this hotel great is its service, especially from the lady at reception Maria, really helped us out and and it sure was service with a smile, I love great customer service, we will be returningm

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanetJonesJacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for this short and lovely review following a stay at the King Jason.

It is wonderful to hear that you have spent an amazing time with us and fully appreciated our high quality of service and helpful, cheerful personnel. Thank you for your kind words and we are thrilled to know you will return.

We honestly look forward to your next visit at the King Jason.

With best regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely relaxing week at the KJ.
On arrival we were greeted with champagne - several glasses actually as our room wasn't ready.

The location is about 10-15 mins walk to the harbour which we really liked. There is a small local shop where you can get the necessities at a good price.

Our room was in the newer block overlooking the Elegance Pool- perfect, gorgeous room that was spotless. The air con does take a bit getting used too and I would say an idiots guide would be helpful to have.
We spent most of our time around the Elegance pool as it was an adult only, the other was nice but consisted mainly of smaller children, which is fine and they were no bother at all really.
The chill out room by the pool is a recent addition I believe and it really is a nice place to read your book or of the hot sunshine.

We were unfortunately on a room only basis, which we were not aware of when we booked even though our paperwork suggested breakfast was included, more about that later.

Drinks were good and the pool service is good, although a little erratic.
Breakfast was served overlooking the bigger pool- food was good with a huge variety.
We only had dinner one night and it was ok, I would suggest walking down to the harbour as there are some brilliant places to eat.

When checking out we were surprised that our bill was so large we were charged £30 for breakfast each morning, for 2 of those mornings we only had a coffee!! Also the bill doesn't specify exactly what the cost was for, anyone could be ordering drinks etc against your room. I would prefer to sign for something and know it was me that ordered it.

Although the misunderstanding of room basis was unclear we still had a lovely time and we would recommend KJ to anyone, just make sure you go all inclusive!

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank rachel_a_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for visiting the King Jason and for posting some thoughts online.

We are happy that most elements of your stay were noteworthy, like the warm welcome, impeccable cleanliness, serene setting and varied food. We want to apologize for the mistake with your bill; there is currently some confusion with the room numbers because guests often forget to cite their block number when ordering drinks. We are aware of this and trying to be extra careful when taking down room numbers from now on. As for your room reservation, the confirmation we received regarding your booking was on accommodation only basis; nevertheless we are sorry that the whole issue caused you some frustration.

Thankfully your overall stay was a good one and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again at the King Jason.

Regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks and left with very mixed feelings. To explain, there are several aspects of the hotel that range from good to excellent. However, other aspects were below average and we were appalled by one particular issue.

Our room was nice, spacious and comfortable ; breakfasts were superb with lots and lots of options ; waiting staff were excellent and very attentive ; swimming pools were very nice especially the spa pools ; the restaurant and all public areas were clean and well presented; So lots of good points.

However,

Hotel information was non existent ; relatively limited opening times for breakfast and evening meals : our pool towels were not changed in 2 weeks ; the little bottles of bath bubble etc in the room were not replaced in two weeks ( even though they were finished within the first couple of days ) ; we've read countless reviews referring to glasses of champagne being given to welcome guests on arrival but we were merely given watered down orange juice ; Why? We were staying for 2 weeks in one of their highest priced rooms! The indoor public areas were often way too hot ( there's no proper bar area) and the small downstairs area where the computer/ IT station was located was like a steamy sauna ; room servicing was sometimes very late in the day.

However, I might still have scored it higher but the reason I've marked this hotel down to 3/5 is the following. Before we booked we read up on the previous comments and noted 2 damning reviews left around 7 months ago relating to allegations of substantial thefts from rooms . It was alleged that entry must have been gained by someone who had a key to the rooms as there was no sign of break in. Tripadvisor responses from management show both allegations we're denied.
Anyway, we were not too perturbed as we assumed that whatever the truth or otherwise of these allegations, the security of guests and their belongings would now be paramount here.

Waiting for hours before going to the airport on our last day, we asked for a key for the ladies locker room so we could leave out valuables securely locked up whilst we paid one last visit downtown. I met another guest coming out of the locker room who stopped to warn me that she'd just found that her key opened half the lockers and, to my astonishment, i found mine did too !!!!! There were no numbers on the locker doors so i just had to unlock each one, looking for an empty one, but kept finding people's belongings inside !!! I was shocked and embarrassed as I felt like I was intruding on their privacy. Obviously, I immediately locked the doors up again ( though pretty pointless !) and took the decision not leave my things in the one empty locker i'd found. The one key I'd been given opened 3 or 4 of the lockers. I was truly gob smacked to find such a breach in guest security. Just as well I'm an honest person or I could have filled my pockets.

Anyway, as mentioned, there are some very good aspects to the hotel but, all in all, for us it didn't quite live up to the rave reviews on here. The vast majority of guests in this hotel are on Thompsons All Inclusive packages.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank JudgeJudy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for holidaying at the King Jason and for giving us some feedback on Tripadvisor.

We can only be disappointed that you left our hotel with mixed feelings despite the fact that our cleanliness, cuisine, service and facilities totally met your expectations. You mentioned the lack of information and champagne welcome upon arrival and for these we would like to apologize. Both are part of our standard procedures and apparently we failed to provide you with the service we wanted. As for the pool towels and room amenities, these are provided upon arrival in our deluxe studios but we thereafter leave it up to our guests to let us know whether they want them replenished or not. Again, we are sorry that we failed to communicate this to you and feel sad that it has affected your stay so much.

You also referred to our restaurant opening times and we would like to assure you that should the need arise, we are very flexible with them. From the moment that the vast majority of our guests are happy with the hours we just follow their lead. As for the indoor public areas, we assure you that all AC units are on from 8am, but subsequent to your comment we will have them checked again for malfunctions. What sometimes occurs, is that on really hot days the temperature close to the decking area is warm due to the outdoor heat; nevertheless there is ample space in our Elegancia Lounge and the back part of our restaurant/lobby where guests can cool down.

Finally regarding the issue of security, rest assured that it is of premium importance to us. After your comment, we investigated the matter and it seems the locks for our new lockers were fitted wrongly by the carpenter, who is an external collaborator. As soon as the mistake was reported the locks were duly changed, each with its individual and separate lock and corresponding key. We can only apologize for the discrepancy and assure you that the problem was rectified as soon as it came to our attention.

As you can see we appreciate your feedback and have already used it for our immediate improvement. Thank you for being honest in your review and hopefully you will visit the King Jason again in the future so you can witness our improvements for yourself. We would be thankful for the opportunity to welcome you again.

Sincerest regards,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The hotel has had a revamp, and the new rooms are lovely, all clean, easy to access. There are 3 pools, the main pool which has a childrens play play area, the Elegance and the Hydro pool. We spent time at all three and all were good. The Elegance is an Adults only, not the best for the sun based on its location and also lacking a bit of atmosphere. The Hyrdo pool has a bike and a sort of treadmill in the pool, that whilst they are fun to go on they can also be a bit dangerous as you forget they are there when swimming. This pool also has jaquzzi type seating/areas which are very nice. We went for all inclusive and whilst you can't complain about the food, like lots of all inclusives it becomes a little samie... There are some flys around which can also be quite off putting. However, the hotel Manager Andreas will also do all that he can to make his guests welcome and happy, so fussy eaters can also be accomodated. The hotel itself for us lacked any atmosphere, especially in the evenings - there is only a little bar area, but then spaced out (and some luxurious) seating but the music played is more for those that like a relaxed quiet evening. Location wise its great, we spent most nights eating in the restuarant and then walked into the harbour for some drinks (all inclusive package doesnt include any branded drinks). We used the bus service to Coral Bay which was cheap, easy and comfortable. Timing wise we went mid July and have just returned yesterday, for the last couple of days we noticed the difference with number of people there, especailly when it came to getting a sunbed. There is a shop on site which you pay a little more for the convience. Overall we had a good holiday best thing for us about this hotel was the service from the staff and the location, if you are childless you might want to look at one of the larger hotels.

Room Tip: Its worth paying a little extra for the deluxe rooms (new ones)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at The King Jason Paphos, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for holidaying at the King Jason and for writing this valuable review.

It is nice to know that you enjoyed our lovely and flawless rooms along with our remarkably hospitable service team and serene location. Still, we are sorry to hear that our Elegancia Lounge did not comply with your tastes; it is designed to offer an escape from the bustle as and when necessary, hence the relaxing ambience. In regards to our cuisine, we are surprised that you found it to be repetitive as we usually receive much praise for its variety; however we duly note your comment for future improvements. As for your observation regarding the lack of entertainment in the evening, please be advised that this is a conscious decision in order to maintain the serenity and peace of our hotel. Besides, the largest entertainment center in Cyprus can be found at a stone's throw from us, at the King's Avenue Mall.

We are glad that despite some negatives you still had a good time with us...as you would have preferred a louder atmosphere, let us suggest the Louis Ledra Beach for future visits.

Yours truly,

The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.7 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 85 in Paphos
2,842 reviews
0.6 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
1.8 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
2.2 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King Jason Paphos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King Jason Paphos

Address: Pentadaktylou St | Kato Paphos, Paphos 8103, Cyprus (Formerly Louis King Jason)
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#1 Family Hotel in Paphos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £84 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The King Jason Paphos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wonderfully welcoming, 4-star luxury hotel in Paphos, Cyprus, boasting an environment which is devoid of the anxiety associated with everyday life. Our facilities are the perfect setting to reconnect with loved ones, enhance personal relationships and give yourself some much-deserved peace of mind. What truly sets us apart however, is our strong commitment to personal service. Here, we all make the time to notice you, to hear you, to respect you, to understand you and to comfort you. If you are looking for a hotel with a heart, then you belong with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The King Jason Paphos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis King Jason Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing