We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Roman Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
King's Hotel(Paphos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nereus Hotel(Paphos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveller rating
177
198
114
39
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
198
114
39
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poollighthouse beacheastern europerussian guestslarge bedkings roadbuffet breakfastideal locationbars and restaurantsgarden viewmin walkfresh fruitbus stationbed and breakfast basisreception staff areharbour areacleaned every day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 551 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last ten years, choosing it for its proximity to the harbour (we come every year for the annual Pafos Aphrodite Festival of opera at the harbour, and it is very handy to be able walk there and back).

I also like its unusual and atmospheric decor, the size of the rooms, and the fact that it is less than half the price of the Annabel (the other hotel within easy walking distance of the harbour), but a bit more comfortable than some of the other extreme budget hotels in the heart of the 'bar district'.

However, for the second year in a row, I booked for the Roman II, but was put into the Roman I, with no explanation and no alternative. The Reception staff say that there is no difference between the two hotels - in that case, why are they defined as Roman I and Roman II, and why let me make the choice when I make my booking, then take it away when I check in?

Personally I think that Roman II is a bit nicer than Roman I - the views are generally better, the rooms are newer and not as shabby, and I prefer the rooftop pool.

I really think that the Roman I has gone quite a lot downhill over the last few years - the rooms are starting to look pretty shabby, especially the bedding (bloodstain on the bedspread, flimsy, uncomfortable old pillows) and the light fittings (no lampshades over the bedside lamps, talk about dazzling!!) and the bathrooms are very old fashioned.

Breakfast is a noisy affair, with tinny pop music blaring (who wants this at that time of the morning?), and always a queue at the serve-yourself coffee/tea machines. There seem to be plenty of staff about - what happened to bringing guests a pot of tea or coffee?

The hotel has served me pretty well for quite a few years, but I have to say that I will be looking at alternatives for the opera for next year.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

If you want to rest, far away from home, to feel at home - Roman hotel, it is just what you need.
We lived in a hotel for a week and this time I did not have any problems. Everything, literally everything we needed, whether it be a car rental, tickets to events, the question of the location of objects we are interested, it was decided by staff very quickly.
Surprisingly, almost all the hotel staff said in Russian. Since it shocked, but then I started to even like it. You feel like an Englishman.
Very interesting design of the hotel resembles the home of the Roman patricians. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and large. The room is air-conditioned. Very interesting design to using mirrors.
Varied menu hotel will not let you get bored in breakfast. Live music in the evening will be an addition to your dinner.
The hotel has a pool, which helps cool off on a hot summer afternoon Cyprus.
I want to thank the hotel staff for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with views to the garden, they are quiet and in the shadows.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com
2  Thank oleg k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

this hotel is quirky very unique. the owner is also quirky. the hotel has far too many mirrors in the rooms which makes you wonder if there is an ulterior motive for all of them. i must say the hotel is very well put together but very cosmopolitan but odd.

Room Tip: look at all the review and decide for yourself
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happywandererUpNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stayed with my wife here for a few days and overall the hotel is clean, tidy + the staff were all pleasant and helpful. Hotel is run by Russians/polish/Estonians.
The decor is not to everyone's taste so be warned, it's bright, a bit tacky and there are sections of the corridors which have (i imagine fake) leopard fur walls.
The pool area is clean, tidy and the pool itself was nicely maintained.
Breakfast was perfectly fine, few different things including cold meat, salad bits, cereal and a hot breakfast option, fresh juices were not very nice, so I guess not pure juice.
The hotel does need updating but for the time we were there and the price it was totally adequate.
Seen a few reviews on tripadvisor recommending Fat Mamas restaurant down the road from the hotel, I DON'T recommend this restaurant, the food was below average quality and overpriced, cheesy entertainment and right on the main road so not the most relaxing experience, I would recommend heading to the harbor in the opposite direction + having a fish meze for a lot less money + the freshest food available.
Overall a good time at the hotel and no major complaints at all, for a cheap stay and you like this kind of quirky hotel then it's worth a try, or if you have the budget then the Elysium about ten min walk away is stunning.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DazandLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

This hotel is not 3*.. The staff are friendly enough, The food is geared mainly towards the Russian guests, of which there is many.The foods is certainly plentiful but you have to be quick if you want water melon as the russians seems to to like it. The rooms all seem to be big (there is mirrors on most of the walls) and all seem to have king size beds, even the single rooms. The beds are fairley hard (even with mattress toppers) and low down. There is no kettle in the room but there is a fridge. The pool area is nice with lots of shaded areas . The entertainment at night,consists of a keyboard player (good) then the next night a voilin player (also good).That is all the entertainment, which finishes approx 10pm.,then the place dies down. It could be better, There is chessboards.cards,darts,and table tennis to hire at reception.

Room Tip: try to get a room over looking the pool, as the other ones you can hear the main road and the traffic when the lights change at the junction. Which is very loud, as there seems to be a lot of "boy racers".
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews