We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“roman hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roman Boutique Hotel
Ranked #46 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

great atmosphere, clean, quirky decor and very helpful staff, clean pool, quiet and peaceful, easy to relax. i can recommend this hotel, the food was similar most days but adequate, dont rent a kettle though they charge 4 euro a day, go over the road to the kings mall and buy one in jumbo for 10 euro and pass it on when you leave, the beach nearby is not so good, get the bus to coral beach from just round the corner, no. 615 every 20 mns, they run while late even on sundays.
all in all, a good stay

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
There are newer reviews for Roman Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

If you get given a good room from the outset which doesn't smell like an ashtray, does have air con and doesn't have an aircraft-like noise all night from the generator or something nearby, you should have an interesting and even comfortable stay here.
Our group who took up 8 rooms needed two changing and this was a problem for the young receptionist who had to keep ringing her manager. In the end my husband and I had to endure a night in an ashtray and a move to a new room in the morning. Staff on duty, although helpful and sympathetic had no power to make decisions and this obviously affects the comfort of guests and the overall impression of the place. There are also extra charges for everything from kettles to WiFi (if it is working) and they took payment up front for the whole stay! This is something I have not experienced anywhere else - the owners are evidently more interested in the financial transaction than the guests' experience.
The place, as other reviewers have noted, is floor to ceiling painted walls in a strange mix of Roman, Greek and Egyptian styles. Where thare aren't any paintings there are mirrors so it makes for good conversation "guess the story" or "where's the door?"
There is a very attractive pool area and comfortable places to sit inside too. The breakfast buffet is great and the evening buffet good value - the salad bar is excellent and the greek dishes in particular are tasty and fresh as the chef is a lovely Greek lady. So, there are some positives but we won't be returning.

Room Tip: Check out the room before you commit yourself and try the aircon etc
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Not really recommended. Our room was large and comfortable even if the decor was rather garish but there was an annoying hum 24/7 from a pump or something next door and enough vibration to rattle the bottles on the bathroom shelf. One of our party had to change rooms because the first stunk of cigarettes, another because the air-con didn't work. No sockets available to charge a camera or phone.
Difficult for the staff to be helpful as they didn't speak English (or Greek) Most guests seemed to be Russian.
On a more serious note the fire security seemed minimal. No detectors in the bedrooms (guests are allowed to smoke) and badly signposted escape routes confounded by the ever present floor to ceiling mirrors

Room Tip: Check out the room before accepting it. Imagine escaping if the lights fail.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freddyxxMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

One of those places we had often seen but never visited so going back to Paphos for an overnight stay was a lovely surprise. Yes it is quirky with Greek gods and Roman soldier staring at you and the rooms are VERY brightly decorated and mirrors everywhere which can be a bit daunting.....don't run in the corirdors!
Ovreall our half board stay was excellent both for comfort,value and enjoyment. Room was clean and warm(Cyprus can be cold in Feb).Short trip to harbour and of course new shopping mall opposite made us feel like holidaymakers in our own country.
Excellent evening meal with attentive service from Romainian waiter who then turned barman and was a pleasure to chat with. Next morning breakfast was also excellent.

But those mirrors....we even took a double "selfie" picture but dare not publish it as it is so scary!The décor is so different you really must stay there once but we would happily return.

Room Tip: take your own kettle
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobincyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We ve being in this hotel several times and we always loved it. Its unique design and decoration looks beautiful. There s a nice sitting area and the rooms are very good. The breakfast is nice. the staff is helpful and polite. last time we stayed we enjoyed the fact that Pafos mall is just across the road so we spent some time there. generally there s nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARIA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights on the 26th of january, half board.Our room was a pool view.The room was very clean with tv and fridge but no kettle.We got a dvd player from reception which was useful because it rained heavily for 2 days. On the first night we were the only couple having evening meal so there was no buffet dinner,we were given a set meal at the bar.The next 2 nights there were more guests so there was a buffet in the dining room.We caught the bus from the airport number 612 to paphos harbour which cost 1.50 euros each.It took about 25 minutes.The hotel is about 10 minutes walk or you could catch the bus 615 to a stop near the hotel ,I preferred the short walk.Don't expect Paphos to be like Benidorm this time of year has most of the bars and shops have closed down for the winter.there were a couple of bars and restaurants open near by including the Pitstop bar with premiership football on Tomb of the kings road.There is a 24 hour shop 50 metres away from the hotel with alcohol,tobacco etc. There is a large shopping mall nearby but we didn't go in so can't comment on it.The archaeological sites are within walking distance in either direction.The harbour area had quite a few restaurants and shops open.The staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful and I would recommend this hotel because it is something different.Lastly, for you smokers.you can't get Amberleaf tobacco in Paphos but it was for sale at the airport for about £9 for 50 gramms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We have just returned from a long weekend in Paphos Jan 14, the outside looked like a Castle, the decor was beautiful throughout, we were totally made up, it had a lovely lounge sitting area by reception a cosy and lovely decorated bar, the drink we thought were reasonable for a Hotel pint and half of the local beer just under 5 euros. The upstairs had grand mirrors and painted in the themed of the hotel throughout. The b/fast was nice on the first morning as we were the only 2 staying the first night we were made fresh omelettes and then had all the cereals/fruits/yoghurts/juices etc. However, next couple of mornings there were other guests and the hot food was already there to help yourselves, which was very average, but for me the hotel was so beautiful, it was not an issue, we loved it. The bedroom was massive with a queen size bed, seating area and en-suite and balcony. Was very clean and there was nothing we would could complain about. We would recommend this Hotel, but I understand may not be to everyones' taste, however, very unique and different!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SIMON H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.8 mi away
Axiothea Hotel
Axiothea Hotel
#21 of 85 in Paphos
251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#16 of 85 in Paphos
2,139 reviews
4.4 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#29 of 85 in Paphos
894 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princessa Vera Hotel Apartments
1.5 mi away
Pandream Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Boutique Hotel

Address: Tombs of the Kings Road, Kato Paphos | Opposite Kings Avenue Mall, PO Box 60118, Paphos 8041, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range: £33 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roman Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roman Boutique Hotel is located just 1km from the Paphos Harbour in Cyprus. The brand new landmark "King's Avenue Mall" which opened its doors in November 2013 is located just opposite the Roman Boutique Hotels. Once inside the Roman Boutique Hotels you will be stunned as you are immersed in centuries of Greek history and Mythology. Resembling a Greek Palace, the museum-like interior has to be seen to be believed. Built near famous archaeological sites which proclaimed by UNESCO, the Hotel is well placed for sightseeing. Situated just off a main road between Paphos Town and Kato Paphos, just 400metres from a Blue Flag "Lighthouse Beach" and within a short walking distance to the Archaeological sites, the Paphos Fishing Harbour, local shops, restaurants, tavernas, Bars, ten pin bowling centre with a large kids play area, and the brand new "Kings Avenue Mall" opposite is not only a one-stop shopping experience but also offers all sorts of Entertainment - Cinema, Arcade, Kidsland, clothes shops, shoe shops, courts  ... All you could need! Paphos International Airport is only 16km away. Languages spoken at the Roman Boutique Hotels are: English, Russian, German & Greek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Roman Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing