We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Last Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roman Boutique Hotel
Ranked #46 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Should now be renamed the Russian Hotel!!
This is the 3rd time we have stayed here, the first time in 2000, when there was a nice mixture of nationality's, but this time I think every other guest and all the staff were Russian, which in itself is not a problem, but everything is geared up to meet their needs.
The bar staff struggled to understand basic English.
The rooms are still ok (in fact big for the price), and location is excellent.
Agree with some of the comments about the breakfast (quite poor), evident by us opting to miss out 7 out of the 10 mornings in favour of some great food from the nearby 24 hour bakery.
Sadly I think it will be our last stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at the Roman hotel for a week in October 2013. I asked for twin beds but got a double. But I'm not one to complain.so I just got on with it. The bed was very hard, hurt my back and I had to sleep on pillows. There was no air on, thankfully there was a breeze at night so left the patio door open. Patio was tiny but had a nice view of the pool. Pool.was tiny, freezing cold, didn't see any Sun and was full of leaves and bugs. Food at breakfast was not to my taste. Food was left uncovered and attacked by flies. Powdered scrambled egg and hot dogs rather than sausages. There is cereal and Greek yoghurt though. Unlimited 'coffee' and juice. The shower was really weak and the decoration in the bathroom.quite garish. Brown with yellow specks everywhere and a creepy owl on the bathroom door. Hotel itself was gorgeous on the outside and well situated. Only a short walk.to the beach, minutes away from the shops and takeaways and bars and not far from the main area of pathos. If I was to visit Cyprus again, I think I'd give this hotel a miss. But it wasn't awful. 3/5 stars

Room Tip: I don't know if there were nicer rooms, possibly not. Maybe go half board because the evening me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel with my boyfriend (9nights) bed&breakfast.
A good location only 10 minutes walk from the beaches,restaurants,ruins.
Decor was beautiful,room was clean and nice. Bathroom need a renovation .Room got TV, fridge, hair dryer.
NO kettle!No safe ! extra charge for iron 2,5 euro per hour!internet wifi 4 euro per hour
The pool area is clean, tidy and the pool itself was nicely maintained.Stuff working hard.
Hotel got 87 rooms. 80% of them are Russian guests.
Stuff not speaking english very well.
We got basic breakfast ( eggs,and eggs ;p ). Fresh juices were not very nice, so I guess not pure juice (too sweet in my opinion ). The bar and restaurant (for breakfast) could need a major update, looks like from 90s
+
- Reasonably priced
- Good location between Harbor area and the Tombs of the Kings, bus station . Beach is just around the corner
- Plenty of Restaurants and pubs near by
Bus number 612 from bus station takes you to airport (1.5euro, 30 min).
IF you take a taxi, they will charge you around 35 euro !!
You can easy catch buses to coral bay, polis. one day ticket 5 euro.
I highly recommend E Cosi Gelateria next to the bus station ! they got really nice ice cream.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank iwona p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I was very pleased with my recent stay at this hotel. The décor inside and out really lives up to it's name. Rooms are a great size, they feature lots of Roman style décor and paintings, and the best part was... my bed - it was massive! This hotel is only a three star so it isn't "luxurious" and for example the bathroom could do with a bit of a spruce up. All in all i loved my stay here and all my friends commented on how quirky it was. It is the most noticeable building on the street. There is a mall opposite with a super market which is handy, and the hotel is situated only 10 mins from Paphos harbour. If I visit Paphos again I would choose to stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shellie_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

As many have discussed the Roman Hotel is unusual. Perhaps when built it wasn't so strange as it is situated on the site of ancient tombs and other archaeology. Much of the building is made from stone limestone blocks similar to what is seen in the nearby visitor sites.
The hotel and rooms are very clean and staffed by friendly helpful people, mainly from Romania. It is all a little tired now but still provides a pleasant base to tour from or a tranquil relaxing setting.
10 minute downhill walk to the harbour and just 5 minutes from the nearest beach. Tombs, ancient buildings and archaeological sites all nearby as well as plenty of bars and taverna style restaurants. Car hire readily available but do ask for best prices, they aren't all the same. Plenty of fuel in town, but do fill up before going into mountains where petrol stations are rare.
Food was of a good buffet standard with plenty of variety and there was some entertainment every evening dinnertime which was variable in quality.
was worried by the reports of nose and this turned out to be the individual air conditioners for every room. Luckily these were switched off most nights by the guests.
Only downside was awful mattress on the superking bed. This needed replacing a long time ago.
The pool area was particularly pleasant being bedecked with flowering shrubs.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little more for room overlooking pool. Ours was on ground floor with terrace behind w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lbp121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

After reading numerous negative reviews on the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised by the hotel when we arrived. We had a nice room overlooking the bougainvillea and pool area - the design is very quirky ( be careful of all the mirrors when walking around) but fun. The rooms may be a little old fashioned, but nothing to complain about - the air con ( although old fashioned switches) was great and loved the HUGE bed aswell. Breakfast was continental, quite basic, but as is expected at most hotels. Our only criticism would be the lack of staff at the outdoor pool bar - there appeared to only be one waiter, who was running back and forth to the indoor bar to get drinks, receipts, change etc - they didn't seem to stock many drinks at the pool bar - it wasn't a major problem, but the poor guy kept running back and forth every time we asked for a drink! The location is great as it is right opposite the brand new kings avenue mall, where we went over for coffee in the morning, and is also within walking distance of paphos harbour where there are numerous restaurants. Overall, enjoyed our stay and would probably go back, as it was a good price for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EJW0050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

great atmosphere, clean, quirky decor and very helpful staff, clean pool, quiet and peaceful, easy to relax. i can recommend this hotel, the food was similar most days but adequate, dont rent a kettle though they charge 4 euro a day, go over the road to the kings mall and buy one in jumbo for 10 euro and pass it on when you leave, the beach nearby is not so good, get the bus to coral beach from just round the corner, no. 615 every 20 mns, they run while late even on sundays.
all in all, a good stay

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
4.4 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
994 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princessa Vera Hotel Apartments
0.7 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#31 of 85 in Paphos
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,214 reviews
0.5 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.5 mi away
Pyramos Hotel
Pyramos Hotel
#41 of 85 in Paphos
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Boutique Hotel

Address: Tombs of the Kings Road, Kato Paphos | Opposite Kings Avenue Mall, PO Box 60118, Paphos 8041, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range: £33 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roman Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roman Boutique Hotel is located just 1km from the Paphos Harbour in Cyprus. The brand new landmark "King's Avenue Mall" which opened its doors in November 2013 is located just opposite the Roman Boutique Hotels. Once inside the Roman Boutique Hotels you will be stunned as you are immersed in centuries of Greek history and Mythology. Resembling a Greek Palace, the museum-like interior has to be seen to be believed. Built near famous archaeological sites which proclaimed by UNESCO, the Hotel is well placed for sightseeing. Situated just off a main road between Paphos Town and Kato Paphos, just 400metres from a Blue Flag "Lighthouse Beach" and within a short walking distance to the Archaeological sites, the Paphos Fishing Harbour, local shops, restaurants, tavernas, Bars, ten pin bowling centre with a large kids play area, and the brand new "Kings Avenue Mall" opposite is not only a one-stop shopping experience but also offers all sorts of Entertainment - Cinema, Arcade, Kidsland, clothes shops, shoe shops, courts ... All you could need! Paphos International Airport is only 16km away. Languages spoken at the Roman Boutique Hotels are: English, Russian, German & Greek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Roman Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing