We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time round”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Venus Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Venus Beach Hotel
Ranked #78 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Second time round”
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My wife and I have just returned from two weeks at the Venus Beach Hotel in Paphos, Cyprus. This is the second time we've stayed there, so that says something already.
We were on the 5th floor in a good spacious room and the cleanliness was reasonable, but should have been better, bearing in mind it is a holiday hotel and supposedly 5 star as well! They don't seem to use vacuum cleaners to get into nooks and crannies, though they should.
The restaurant was good, as far as both the choice of food and the service were concerned. Staff were attentive, as they were in the bars.
The only major "grouse" is that the hotel seemed to think that all the guests were interested in the football and, instead of setting up a separate area for fans, we all had to endure the matches. I did complain and they belatedly opened up an unused bar, but this was like having a drink in the broom cupboard, albeit bigger than normal!! Not 5 star, but trying, very trying.
The second time and the last.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room on the 5th floor to get a sensible balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brian_sellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    207
    209
    124
    105
See reviews for
228
347
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The hotel is not bad, but its not amazing either. Nothing made me feel particularly disappointed, but it didn't wow me either. It has that certain 80's kitch feel still around. Elements of trying to revive the place are obvious, like the Jade cushions on the beds and the laminate floor, but then they forgot to overhaul the bathrooms too.

Although we arrived late at the hotel and there was a mix up with the booking, the staff were courteous enough to suggest going to dinner and dealing with the checking in process afterwards.The staff are courteous and helpful, even when things fall apart.

The bedrooms are dated still. There are elements of an attempt to revive them, but I was very disappointed with the bathroom and grouting etc all needing attention. Grey tiles still everywhere... makes it feel dated and 80's. Mini-bar and safe were available, but at a cost! Beds are terribly hard.. but this is a holiday hotel, so after a few drinks, who cared!

Pool area is perfectly adequate and good amount of sunbeds available. The pool was always warm which was nice too. There is a pool bar which is handy and also a cafe which served lovely food (much better than the restaurant fodder) but is not all inclusive if you have this board basis. Beach is right in front of the hotel too and was well used.

Sadly, the food here was the biggest disappointment and the topic of conversation with several guests. Why a holiday hotel deems Chicken Nuggets acceptable as part of an international buffet night (and no, this wasn't the kids tea party, it was the adults venue) is really beyond me. Similarly, they also offered other random low quality items each night such as Hamburgers etc in with the buffet. The core basis was Chicken, Beef, Pork each night with random incidental items to go with it. The food has no taste whatsoever and not at all pallatable. Breakfast was equally poor. I find it hard to imagine how they sourced fruit without any taste?

The hotel is frequented by many nationalities including many Russians which can take it toll on your experience in the buffet.

Bar service is good, although the all inclusive Vodka seemed a little harsh!

Nearby, there are shops, restaurants and bars and indeed many guests opted out of all inclusive or their Dinner and went across the road for something with a little more taste.

Overall, not an desperately disappointing experience, but not somewhere I'd rush back to either.

Room Tip: Sea View or Side Sea View well worth it unless you don't mind looking at shops and bars
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 330jet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The hotel is near a few restaurants but the places near the harbour are better. The bus stops are right next to the hotel, the hotel is a short ride from the harbour (1 euro per ride or 3 euros for a day travelcard) and is only one bus ride away from coral bay beach (takes about 5-10mins). It's opposite a lidl which is very useful (buying water bottles, snacks etc). The entrance of the hotel is very nice with a giant chandelier and a generally clean look. There is always water and juice on ice for all. The 'triple' rooms are basically twins with an extra bed put in, but there's plenty of space. They have a nice terraced area where you can watch the sunset, there's a bar too. There's a fairly decent pool and a good buffet breakfast which has a range of food. The staff will recommend places to visit and to eat at. All in all a good stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayer1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We have stayed at the Venus Beach Hotel on numerous occasions, before finding this beautiful hotel we stayed at various apartments and hotels around the Paphos area and then we found the Venus Beach Hotel. Since then, in 1995 we have stayed there practically every year. What makes this hotel wonderful is the staff who are so friendly and polite and help whenever they can, quite a lot of the people have been there from the beginning which is lovely when we return as they remember us, which is a really nice personal touch. The hotel, rooms and pools are kept spotlessly clean. In the restaurant there are plenty of different dishes to try each night and special themed nights, breakfast buffet has an endless supply of almost everything. There are various activities held near and in the pool, my daughters love the water polo, table tennis tournaments and darts. The swimming pool is kept lovely and clean all the time and the pool area is always kept tidy. The location of the hotel is ideal because there are buses directly outside the entrance which take you to the harbour and market or if you don’t want to go to either you can take another bus that leads to Coral bay. It is also in walking distance to the market. The beach at the hotel is a red flag beach which is really not appropriate to swim in but there is paperwork in the room to warn you of this but overall we absolutely love the Venus Beach and would recommend it to everyone for a wonderful relaxing holiday. We all look forward to arriving at the hotel and beginning another beautiful holiday at The Venus Beach. x

Room Tip: 'Sea view' watching the sunsets from the balcony are out of this world :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank karenfielding167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Stayed at the hotel June12 not 5* more 3* advertised as 7 miles from airport it is double that distance we arrived Paphos airport at 10pm resulting in a 35 Euro taxi ride. The rooms are quite good but the balcony was tiny. The food was advertised as buffet style breakfast lunch and evening meal. The lunch time meal was a set menu the same choice everyday which was not very good and at night the choice for main meals were only usually chicken beef or pork with 1 vegetarian choice with additional vegetables, if you didnt like gateau, jelly,creme caramel or fruit then you didnt have a sweet. The location was good near Paphos old town and a bus every 15 mins to the harbour could be caught right outside the hotel only cost 1 euro.
We stayed at the Hotel Elba Sara in Fuerterventura in Oct 11 advertised as a 4* hotel everything about it was superb at least it was as descibed in the brochure unlike the description of the Venus Beach by Easyjet, would go back to Paphos again but probably would not stay at the Venus Beach again unless it was improved

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Good hotel i have visited over the years since it opened way back. Look locaction, not too far from Paphos town. Good to have a car but there is also a bus that passes right outside. Good size rooms and even with a side sea view room you get to see the tombs of the kings ancient ruins. Breakfast has a nice big selection and for fitness lovers, it has a big fully equipped gym also with classes. The pool area outside is nice, with grass areas and has its own small bay a few steps below. Overall not a five star but you can get good deals. Will always have it in my list of hotels in Paphos.

Room Tip: Opt for a sea view but even a side sea view is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JorjaCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel June2012. Very clean good food, staff slightly ignorant & slow taking any drinks orders . Was all inclusive. On our arrival I asked if there was a hairdresser nearby there turned out to be one situated within the hotel they promptly made an appointment for me to see Michelle. on meeting her, she was very helpful very proffesional and prices were very reasonable. I also observed whatever language people were, made to feel at ease. My hair is very long thick and course but she soon had it looking great. Michelle also does wedding hair and on various occasions she put my hair up. I'm getting married next year in Cyprus so will be booking her to do bride & bridesmaids hair. Thanks Michelle your a fab hairdresser and also now a good friend. Anyone staying at the venus beach Michelle is well worth a visit thanks

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggysue1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paphos
0.2 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#36 of 90 in Paphos
1,001 reviews
2.1 mi away
Azia Resort & Spa
Azia Resort & Spa
#50 of 90 in Paphos
358 reviews
3.2 mi away
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Theo Sunset Bay Holiday Village
2.2 mi away
Aloe Hotel
Aloe Hotel
#68 of 90 in Paphos
936 reviews
1.7 mi away
St. George Gardens Hotel Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Beach Hotel

Property: Venus Beach Hotel
Address: PO Box 62309, Paphos 08063, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#28 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#36 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Venus Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Onthebeach, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Venus Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Venus Beach
Venus Beach Hotel Paphos
Venus Beach Hotel Cyprus
Venus Beach Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing