We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff are 5*, hotel is not”
Review of Venus Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Venus Beach Hotel
Ranked #76 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The staff are very friendly and welcoming, views from the hotel terrace are wonderful.
Hotel itself was tired and definitely not 5*. Do not pay 5* prices for this hotel, you will be disappointed.
We stayed bed and breakfast, from what we saw of the food this was a good move. I must say that snacks from the pool bar were delicious. Their iced coffee loooovely.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lee_and_Ana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
There are newer reviews for Venus Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 870 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

My family recently stayed at the VB Hotel for two weeks B & B. We have two children aged 7 & 5. We booked having identified the hotel, which for a 5 star seemed to fulfill all of our requirements.
Unfortunately when we arrived late on a Sunday evening the staff had situated our room directly next to the bar where there was live music and chatter etc. Not the best of starts ! Having been moved the following day to the other side the hotel we found the rooms dirty and the balcony was so small that there was no room for more than 2 people. So we could not sit o/s as a family and eat.
In respect of the beach and the sea, we found the beach was tiny and not suitable for children and we were met with large signs and red flags indicating the rip currents that smash into the rocks, unsuitable for adults let alone children and totally dangerous. None of this information was reflected anywhere upon booking !!!
Fortunately the pool was a good size and there were plenty of loungers however, an occasional clean would not have gone a miss.
Lifts often broke down and the air conditioning was noisy and probably outdated.
Breakfast was quite good.
Staff were friendly and mainly helpful.
Spoke to other clients who were similarly disappointed and who booked on the information provided about the hotel as we did.
I think the star rating is in need of a review as the hotel is not of a 5 star standard in our view.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

2009 when I visited CYPRUS for the FIRST time ,the booking was made by an agent in Anthens for 3 hotels this one is a dream for every one . When we approched the reception a porter came alone and took our luggages,whent away to the room ,he allready new where to go ,our room was on the 7th floor we had the best view ,speciallly in the morning with the sunrising it is something can't be discriped .The hotel is situated on the sea shore 13km from Pafos and 145km from Larnaca ,the rooms are too comfortable with extra double bed including 2 chairs & a round table A/C, T.V.,Telephone,a personal safe, a laptop connected with INTERNET ,a fridge ,elctric Jug +coffee-sugar-tee-honey-milk ,the bathroom has a bathtub +shampoos,boby lotions,bath towels,face towels that get change every day , even the bed sheets are changed also.the corridors are covered with a beautifull carpet and they are quite even at night time,going down ,we arrive to the lounge very big space nicely decorated ,sitting there you enjoi the nice view of the swimming pool and further out the blue sea , taking the lift and going 2 floors down we arrived to the dinner room, a huge one with tables for 4 persons, at the far end a 6 meter long x 45 cm wide table was the OPEN-BUFFET,the where also outside in the veranda .The Open -Buffet is for Breakfast-Lunch & Dinner,outdoor there is a big swimming pool ,on the side are chaires and tables with ombrellas ,walking further down you reach the sea shore there you find ombrellas and many kind of sea sports you would like to exercise.The hotel has an underground car park and outdoor car park and it is FREE.All the employees are very kind and try to make you feel at ease at all time ,from the receptionists ,the porters, the barmens,the waiters and the cleaning ladies were all very kind and helpfully ,had no problem at all .I have been very satis fied about the service and the way they treat you ,specially when you need informations they are (A1) in this field .I was there on holyday in APRIL 2009 ......

Room Tip: To be onest we where on the 7th floor and we didn't notice any noise fromthe A/C unit.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PETROSCAIRO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

To say we were disappointed was an understatement. Most of the reception staff (with the exception of the older guy at night) and bar staff were arrogant to the point of being rude. The reception looks quite grand and the rooms were clean, we had a superior pool view twin so had a nice view and balcony, but the whole place needs refurbishing. The food was terrible and overall level of service poor. A group of us (adults, children and babies) decided to stay on an all inclusive basis, having had two good all inclusive breaks previously at 4 star hotels - what a mistake. The breakfast was okay but the lunch menu was the same limited choice rolled out each day, in fact after day 3 we didn't need to read the menu, there wasn't a children's menu which meant that those with children had to buy their food from the supermarket to feed them healthily or go to an outside restaurant, and the evening buffet was pretty much the same each night. They were reluctant to give you a drink unless they could see your empty glass and everyone had to go individually for their drink. The snacks consisted of a polystyrene box with a few dried up cheese sandwiches and a couple of pieces of cake. After paying for 7 days all inclusive we were told the all inc started at 10am on the Monday and finished at 12noon on the Sunday - I think they juped us out of a day though by the Sunday we were no longer eating in the hotel anyway.
There was no hint of luxury that you expect when you book 5 star.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbsh1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Just a short stay but enough to get a flavour of the hotel.

We arrived at about 10am, we knew our room wouldn't be available until 2pm but wanted to leave our cases somewhere. Reception was very helpful, tracked down housekeeping and arranged for our room to be their priority so we were checked in by 11.

Our room was lovely (we must have been lucky and got one of the redecorated ones?) - the balcony was on the small side but the view out over the pool and the sea was amazing. The room was a good size - it easily accommodated the huge Super King size bed and a childs bed. Our bathroom was modern and had all the toiletries you'd expect.

The aircon stopped working very shortly after our arrival though.

We didn't eat at the hotel other than lunch at the pool bar, which we enjoyed and the service was good.

The pool was by far the winning feature for this hotel, which was our main requirement so it suited us and the kids loved it.

The beach area was very poor - so I wouldn't recommend this hotel to beach lovers.

The majority of guests seemed to be Eastern European with a smattering of English.

This is advertised as a 5 star - it's not. However, we booked this last minute and while we there after checking out several of the other 5 stars nearby. This was the only hotel that had any rooms available but the other hotels were also about three times more expensive than this one so it is very much a case of getting what you pay for.

We didn't experience anything negative, I think I would have been disappointed if I had booked this on face value as a 5 star hotel. But the great pool, lovely room, friendly service and central location was enough for us.

Hope this helps

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpamboEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We spent a long time looking for a hotel on the beach just over a week ago as a last minute break as my wife loves beaches. At 1.45 in the morning we found this and, as it was 5*, we booked it without looking at Trip Advisor. Book in haste, regret at leisure!

The place doesn't even have a beach! 6 feet of beach at low tide, nothing at high tide, public notices advising that swimming was dangerous because of rip currents - one guy was pulled from the water while we were there and whisked off to hospital in an ambulance.

For the rest, I can only repeat was most other reviewers have said. Dirty loungers with stained mattresses, an average 3* room even though we paid for a superior room, air con that does not work, we were AI and the drinks were appalling - they all tasted the same with a G&T that tasted nothing like one, no drinks in the in room fridge, bottled water had to be bought even on AI, a promised a la carte menu that never appeared, food at every meal that was very poor on selection and almost as bad in quality, one tiny pool that the locals seemed to be able to walk into the hotel and use with no security and a very low number of guests - not surprisingly.

A depressing place that seems to have had nothing spent on it for years. No flowers or shrubs around the pool, just acres of concrete and a few tired old small olive trees surrounded by weeds.

5* never - 3* would be generous and the only thing that would give it this is that the staff were generally very friendly and helpful otherwise this would have got a 1* review!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else until they get the air con working!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grahamwLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

No good aircondition
No service
No double bed as we book
The pool was not cleaned
No service at bar and restaurant
terrible
no enough parking space to use...
no special room service. Room service take place after 16:00 of each day!!!




Room Tip: OLD STYLE.... Terrible Big box T.V No cleaned
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
2  Thank Marios N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#44 of 85 in Paphos
1,209 reviews
2.1 mi away
Azia Resort & Spa
Azia Resort & Spa
#33 of 85 in Paphos
659 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aloe Hotel
Aloe Hotel
#59 of 85 in Paphos
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
1.8 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,739 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eleni Holiday Village
Eleni Holiday Village
#14 of 87 in Paphos
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Beach Hotel

Address: Paphos 08063, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#30 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#34 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £78 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Venus Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Bookcyprus.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Venus Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Venus Beach
Venus Beach Hotel Paphos
Venus Beach Hotel Cyprus
Venus Beach Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing