We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super staff, sunsets & sea views”
Review of Venus Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Venus Beach Hotel
Ranked #76 of 86 Hotels in Paphos
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Super staff, sunsets & sea views”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at the Venus Beach for one week on a B&B basis. The hotel was fairly quiet as it was only the second week of the season and not all the facilities were open such as the indoor pool. There was entertainment on one evening, but I think this increases further into the season. We were given a friendly, fast and efficient welcome at reception and were especially impressed by the helpfulness of the reception staff during our stay. We had a spacious sea view room. It had laminate flooring and was neutrally decorated. There was plenty of hanging space and drawers plus a mini fridge. The bed was very comfortable and we had no problems with noise. The best feature of the room was definitely the balcony with had two chairs and a table and amazing sunsets. Perfect for an early evening glass of wine. The only downside of the room was that the furniture looked tired and was chipped in places.The room was spotlessly clean and when we had a small problem with water it was fixed within ten minutes. We found the safety deposit box big enough and easy to use. there was a £12 charge for it for the week.
The public areas of the hotel are very attractive with lots of marble and lovely lighting. I also liked the fact there were plenty of lifts and toilets. I loved the pool area as there was plenty of space and no rush for the sunbeds. We enjoyed morning walks along the coastal path and I paddled on the beach. Due to the warnings about dangerous currents, I chose to swim at Coral bay using the cheap and frequent bus service. We also used the bus service to the harbour area. There are quite a lot of roadworks outside the front of the hotel at present. The noise did not impact on our stay at all. We found the Lidl and restaurants opposite very handy and went across for a drink and to use the wi -fi. The lack of free wi-fi is a shame. It lets down an otherwise lovely hotel and I do think they are missing a trick here as we bought drinks over the road rather than the hotel bar when we wanted to use the wi-fi. The breakfast in the hotel was great. A super range of hot and cold options with everything in plentiful supply. The tables were cleared quickly and again the staff were lovely.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room on the fourth floor and I would book the same room again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Micah68Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    223
    228
    134
    117
See reviews for
246
381
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We got married in Cyprus last week
When we got there at midnight they had put champagne in our room,slippers and dressing gowns upgraded the room and gave us a congrats card all with no extra charge
We was hungry so they sorted some food out
We went all inclusive
On the wedding day we went back to hotel after because we are having a reception in the uk so we thought we will just have something to eat in the hotel
They had set up a big table had put a table cloth on with balloons confetti with no extra charge
Thomas,(super),mario,Pete,Diana,aperstarious and all the others are great hotel staff

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosieromeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

From the minute I arrived I could not have felt more welcome, the friendliness of everyone who works in this hotel is what makes it a great place to stay, they could not have been more attentive.
The hotel was clean, bright and modern, benefitting from a recent refurb and my room was overlooking the sea. The pool is small, but warm enough to swim in and the lawns and gardens are well manicured, again with beautiful sea views.
All meals were tasty and well cooked and the omelettes at breakfast were delicious although I did find the choice of food limited. On most days food was cooked freshly from a choice on the menu, this I was informed was because it was early in the season and the hotel was quiet, although at the weekend when the hotel was busier I did get to sample the all inclusive buffet which provided more choice.
Some of the facilities were closed eg. Pool bar and kids club, again because it was early in the season and the hotel was quiet and there was no evening entertainment.
Outside the hotel is a bus stop where you can catch a bus to the harbour with plenty of shops and cafe bars etc. or you can catch a bus to Coral Bay with a lovely sandy beach and shallow water which is good for a swim.
If you like to walk it's only 30 mins to walk to the harbour or to Paphos town and the is Kings Avenue shopping mall only 20 mins away.
Tomb of Kings is next door to the hotel and worth a visit, it's only €2.50 and you can stay as long as you like.
Going back to Hotel Venus Beach, the hotel has a gift shop and also a well equiped gym and indoor pool. Classes are held in the fitness room daily. There is a haidressers, although I didnt see it open and there is a pool table and table tennis etc. downstairs too.
The only downside is not having free wifi, I didnt pay to use it as it wasnt that important to me, but another guest told me it was €35 for a weeks usage and she was having problems with the connection.
Lastly a very big THANKYOU to all the lovely staff for making my holiday so enjoyable.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
6 Thank Christinewil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Clare, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

staff at venus beach very nice and helpful but, definitely should not be advertised as a 5 star hotel- more a 3-bordering 4 star. Have been lucky to stay in 5 star hotels around the world and was disappointed. Who is rating this hotel?. Bedrooms/breakfast room/dining room needs updating.We agree although this hotel has its own beach the sea current is dangerous.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank val53jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week and were very disappointed.
No body told us that the hotel was shutting for the season and that the facilities would be stopping eg the use of the pool bar and no entertainment other than a game of bingo for a bottle of cheap fizzy or a 10 minute quiz.
There were other guests who felt the same, we talked about nothing else .
The food wasn't great, breakfast was ok but lunch and dinner wasn't appealing at all.
We tried to get an early flight home but was too expensive so we decided to spend the extra money on eating out.
The air con didn't work in our room and most of the staff were miserable, it was like they couldn't wait for us to leave, we felt uncomfortable!!
Our trip to cyprus that we had always wanted was a big disappointment we were gutted.
The weather was beautiful though so that was one good thing.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Juliaf68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paphos hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We have been using the Venus Beach Hotel for holidays in Cyprus for many years but this will be our last visit. The reception area is beautiful but the rooms (even those which have been renovated) are not of 5 star quality. Examples: repair work to ceiling still visible with rough cementing across the whole room, mould in bathroom, door to balcony difficult to lock and an enormous screw sticking out to catch the hip as you walked through. Staff attitudes are variable. Entertainment lady bright and cheerful, bar staff sadly lacking in knowledge (offering ice cubes with red wine), small dictator running luncheon room, cleaning staff hard working but unable to communicate in English.
This time we chose half board and were glad we had because dinner meals were boring and barely warm. This did mean that we could visit local restaurants for evening meals which meant we enjoyed several exciting meals across the road from the hotel. The choice of courses at lunch time was better than at dinner time but became boring after more than one week.
The beach location of the hotel is excellent and the staff looking after guests in this area are very good. What a pity the hotel has not been maintained properly to match its location. Example: stone steps leading to pool area cracked and broke during our stay and repairs were carried out to the actual area which had broken only, ignoring other areas to the immediate left and right which were clearly going to break any day soon. It seems as if the management have spent all their money on the public areas (for weddings etc) and guests who are staying at the hotel have the minimum spent on their comfort.

Room Tip: Always choose a room which has a sea view as the alternative (inland) is towards a busy dusty main r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ReginaldFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

definitely not a five star hotel, totally not worth its money, there are cheaper options in the area that are more value for money and also new!very old and needs renovating.The only good part is the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nataly k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#40 of 86 in Paphos
1,170 reviews
2.1 mi away
Azia Resort & Spa
Azia Resort & Spa
#38 of 86 in Paphos
566 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aloe Hotel
Aloe Hotel
#60 of 86 in Paphos
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Crown Resorts Horizon
Crown Resorts Horizon
#64 of 86 in Paphos
1,663 reviews
0.8 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
1.6 mi away
Eleni Holiday Village
Eleni Holiday Village
#14 of 86 in Paphos
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Beach Hotel

Property: Venus Beach Hotel
Address: PO Box 62309, Paphos 08063, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#30 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#34 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Venus Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Bookcyprus.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Venus Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Venus Beach
Venus Beach Hotel Paphos
Venus Beach Hotel Cyprus
Venus Beach Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing