We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT A 5-STAR HOTEL BUT QUITE GOOD!!!”
Review of Venus Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Venus Beach Hotel
Ranked #74 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Limassol, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“NOT A 5-STAR HOTEL BUT QUITE GOOD!!!”
Reviewed 6 September 2010

We have stayed for 5 nights!! The hotel was 5 star but the value for money was for 3 stars. The trueth is that the hotel is 4 STARS hotel. Very nice swimming pool, clean rooms but old furnitures and small TV, friendly staff -especially to the bar next to the swimming pool. The beach is O.K. but please read the sign and take it seriously, the sea is dangerous there!!! There are underground streams.
Nothing to do during the day actually, especially for the kids... but for the money we have paid we are very satisfied!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    218
    224
    130
    113
See reviews for
242
373
36
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

This Hotel is very tired, needs modenising, the rooms are only fit for 2 people, we upgraded to a superior room as we were taking our 2 children age 9 & 11, superior means you get 2 camp beds (that were broken) a kettle, dressing gowns and slippers, we looked at a standard room and it was the same. but without the kettle. The pool turned everything yellow and nothing round the pool was maintained, there was 1 path that got rinsed down with water but other than that the pool side never got cleaned, the sunbeds were ripped and the grass was not cut. There is a beach but the sea is very dangerous, red flag out all the time, at least 1 person a year have lost there lifes in the sea. The staff have absolutly no personality at all especially in the dining room, and our drinks normally arrived after we had finished our meal. We went all inclusive but you can also go half board, all inclusive does not mean all inclusive, there is a seperate menu which is quite limited on drinks and there is no snack bar. The entertainment team is a 1 man band, he does Aqua arobics, water polo during the day (not every day though) Bingo oh my god I am doing bingo in my sleep, but it did give us a break from playing cards the children got put in a room to watch a film 3 nights a week and that was it for them. we had 3 shows in 1 week and exactly the same the following week, everything was so repetative. On a positive note the food was good nobody and nobody was poorly, just got boaring no change or special evenings just the 1 buffett.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAK31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
venusbeachhotel, Secretary at Venus Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2010
I would like to thank you on taking this time to write this review.
I would also like to inform that the hotel will be closing this winter to modernize and upgrade the rooms.
As for the size of the rooms, I would like to inform you that these rooms are all approved by the Cyprus Tourist Organization and by International regulations. They are all suitable for 4 people (1 double or two single beds and 2 camp beds) as stated.
Superior rooms are advertised with extra facilities (not just a kettle and a bath robe) and are not decribed as larger rooms.
Regarding the pool matter, this was investigated by pool maitenance and the water was tested and we did not have any any similar cases so maybe this was caused by another factor.
We are sorry you did not find the pool area clean. Our goal as a hotel is for our guests to feel relaxed and enjoy their holiday in a clean and welcoming enviroment. Once again if you didnt feel this way, this should have been reported to the hotel Mangement and this matter would have been looked into immediately.
As for the grass, I would like to inform you that as we have a water problem in Cyprus, we try to restrict the water usage and this is why we do not cut the grass daily. The more it is cut, the more water it requires.
As you mentioned the sea can get rough, but this is not all the time. We have many days especially in the summer when the sea is perfectly calm. Swimmers should be warned that the days the sea is rough they should be cautious. The sign has been put up by the municipality and not by the hotel so people are aware. I would like to inform you that we do not have a drowning every year.
The All Inclusive description is offered by all Tour Operators, Agents and by the Hotel, so all guests are well informed prior to arrival what they are entitled to.
Please be informed that the Entertainments is advertised as light entertainment .
Our buffet selection changes every night. We have different theme nights every evening of the week and also there is an alternative a'la carte menu free of charge offered every night and informed about at the reception.
We would like to offer you a discount on your next stay so please contact us before your next visit to receive this.

Best regards,

Christina Diamandis - On behalf of Mr. Apostolis Mitrolios (Sales & Marketing Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paphos hotels

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We have never been to such a bad hotel in our lives. The only good part of this hotel is the foyer. Five star...yeah right...in the uk this hotel would get nearer a two star if that and I am being kind!! We moved out after two days to another hotel. I am in the process of trying to get our money back from Thomas Cook...otherwise, watch this space..you could just see me on Watchdog!! Just awful place..oh and watch for the kids 'gob spit' in the so called mini waterfalls...it might just still be there as it was not cleaned out the two days we were there. Oh and air con...does not exist at this hotel..does not work, they claim it does, but it does not! The indoor pool and gym was not even open during its high seasom whilst we were there either. I have the photos of the room and standards if anyone wants to view them.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Walking into the hotel I was very impressed as it looks amazing with it's expensive chandelier and expensive decor. When we went into our room however it was clear that they had not been renovated (as stated on their website) apart from the flooring which was laminate instead of old carpet. The rooms are definitely not 5 star, and more like 3. The view from the room was amazing as we could see the sunset. In the foyer there was a piano which as a professional pianist I was very much looking forward to playing. I was allowed to play the piano just once and unfortunately it turned out to be just for show as the piano was in a very poor state. Such a shame!
On a much more positive note, I had my wedding reception there. I cannot fault the food or the way we were looked after by our wonderful wedding coordinator Christina Diamandis. I heartily recommend holding a reception there, and Christina and her staff couldn't have been more helpful.
So to sum up, apart from the disappointing rooms it is a great place to stay, but at the moment more like a 3 star than a 5.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I found this hotel to be substandard for a 5 star, We had a leak in our room the ceiling was bowing and had black mould on it, although we complained at least 5 times nothing was done, the aircon was blowing out warm air not good in August temps.

I found only one or two staff who appeared to want to be helpful, the rest were unfriendly and overworked. The staff looked very stressed and unhappy.

four members of our family are vegetarian no provision is made for this at the hotel the hot meals are very meaty great if you like meat but not if you are vegetarian. If you are vege ask at reception and they may or may not help depending on who is there. There are two staff that were helpful.

On a positive the out side areas were great. a lovley pool and direct acess to a beach. but beware of a rip tide there which is very dangerous. The food in the outside cafe is nice and drinks good. The drinks in the hotel are fairly priced. There is a handy shop in the hotel as well.

The bus service is very good and at only one euro is brilliant, they come every 15 mins. Coral bay is lovley.

If you want catering for a special event this place is good as well.

But if you are looking for a 5 star hotel avoid this hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytraveler196943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busto Arsizio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

The location is sea front and bordering the Kin's Tombs". 2 km far from downtown.
Room and bathroom large and with a good availablity of wardrobe and drawers
The service is accurate and friendly. Help and suggestions by the front desk people.
We were on B&B accommodation. The flexibility of the opening time of the self service restaurant and the good availablity of a very good food let us have a very pleasent holiday
The bus stop to downtown (service up to 02 AM) is in front to the hotel
Definitively a very good experience

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gianni46g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2010

The biggest most irritating part of this so called 5* Hotel was the lack of a fridge, big or small. Instead they have a minibar with a warning on the front that each item other than what is on their inventory will be charged at 1 Euro each day. So basically you can not keep any of your own water etc. cool. The prices are very expensive for the stuff in the minibar and it is checked every day. Total money grabbing rip-off.
Almost as bad is the lack of Tea or Coffee making facilities. I have never been in a hotel room which does not have this most basic feature. I am told however that all rooms allocated to German guests do have these. Another rip-off.
Clean but small old fashioned rooms, very poor TV reception with irrelevant Channels. Air Con was just adequate, a bit noisy and took a while too cool the room down.
Bathroom looked clean on surface but had mildew under soap dishes and behind taps. No Shower mat and a very slippy bath so take care!
Why is there a telephone behind the toilet ? "room service I'm out of toilet paper"
Balcony was very small with only 2 chairs for 3 people.
Pool was smaller than it looked in the brochures and all the beds were taken by around 9.00 am nearly all by Cypriots. The small beach was great for teens but not for young children. There have been numerous drownings there over the years including this year so be very careful.
Breakfasts were good but get there before 9.30 or its a pain to get a table near to the food.
All in all I cannot believe how anyone can give this hotel anything over 2* no matter how laid back or easy going they are. We have stayed in 2 other hotels before in Paphos and they are light years ahead of this place. Much better value can be found elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#38 of 88 in Paphos
1,130 reviews
2.1 mi away
Azia Resort & Spa
Azia Resort & Spa
#41 of 88 in Paphos
471 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aloe Hotel
Aloe Hotel
#66 of 88 in Paphos
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Crown Resorts Horizon
Crown Resorts Horizon
#65 of 88 in Paphos
1,641 reviews
3.5 mi away
Theo Sunset Bay Holiday Village
3.2 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Beach Hotel

Property: Venus Beach Hotel
Address: PO Box 62309, Paphos 08063, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#29 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#36 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Venus Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 182
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Venus Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Venus Beach
Venus Beach Hotel Paphos
Venus Beach Hotel Cyprus
Venus Beach Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing