We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel, Beautiful Views, and an out of this world wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kefalos Beach Tourist Village
Ranked #16 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel, Beautiful Views, and an out of this world wedding!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We stayed at the Kefalos for 2 weeks commencing the 9th of June as we were having our wedding there on the 14th. We had 72 guests at the wedding and around half stayed here with us. Not one person in our group could find anything to complain about, it was fantastic.
The location of the hotel is amazing and the sunsets beautiful, the rooms, although not modern/trendy and large, clean and tidy with plenty of amenities should you wish to cook.
We only ate in the restaurant once as we like eating out too much, however the food that we did have was delicious, especially the salad selection.
All of the staff were so friendly and accommodating and could not do enough for us.
There was plenty of sunbeds around the pool / beach / grassed area and we never had trouble getting one.
On to the wedding...what can I say?? From my first contact with Elena on a visit in May 2011 she was AMAZING, this lady is the ultimate professional, between her and Anna from Paphos Wedding Belles I did not have to lift a finger. The location, service and decoration we had was out of this world. We had the Meze for our reception meal and it just kept on coming, our guests could not believe it!
Since meeting my husband 4 years ago I have always wanted a wedding abroad, and our day totally surpassed any expectations that I had.
The Kefalos is not the most chic or modern hotel in Paphos, as it is set out in the style of a traditional Cypriot Village, however it really is the whole package. Our guests all want to return and the majority have said it was the best wedding they have ever been to. People are already asking us to re new our vows in 5 years so that we can all return...In think that says it all!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a Sea View Room. The sunsets are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachytay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,021
    637
    148
    30
    9
See reviews for
1,161
1,202
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitstable, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We have just returned from our second holiday at the Kefalos Beach Village and our fifth trip to Cyprus. We remain just as impressed as we were in 2012. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Paphos area. Of course, no hotel can ever be perfect and I have included a few small criticisms in my review below.

Overall Site

The Kefalos Beach is a sprawling, low-rise village-style development with numerous small blocks usually containing between 4 and 6 apartments. These blocks surround a central multi-storey building containing communal facilities including the reception, indoor restaurant, indoor bar, TV room, indoor gym, indoor pool and conference rooms. Between this main building and the sea, you find the outdoor swimming pool, pool bar/restaurant, kids centre and “al fresco” fish restaurant.

The overall feeling Is one of spaciousness. This includes the wide court yard entrance to the site and the massive reception lobby. There is no struggling up back streets and dodging between parked vehicles to sign in!!!! It’s an impressive, purpose built complex and it impresses from the moment you start to approach it.

You even get taken to your apartment in an electric golf buggy. The driver helps to carry your luggage into the room and explains some of the key features.

Grounds/Gardens

The grounds cover several acres and are beautifully maintained with a multitude of shrubs, trees and plants between the apartment blocks. This makes the labyrinth of pathways and alleys an absolute delight.

Perhaps, the biggest attraction is the open seafront position with superb views along the coast and across the Med. The Kefalos has made the most of this with a swathe of green lawn fringed by a line of palm trees behind a long stretch of sandy beach. The lawn remains in great condition because a tough, spikey grass has been used (not the soft stuff you will find in a typical English garden). It is watered frequently and cut at least once a week in early morning.

The hotel has a team of gardeners who are working constantly – not just to maintain it all but also to add to it. Thus, it gets better each year.

Beach

This is good to look at, photograph and possibly sunbathe on. However, it will not appeal to many for swimming…. and you won’t see too many people in the water. This is because it is man-made with sand tipped over a naturally rocky waterfront. Under the water, the rocks are hazardous and, in parts, there appear to be slippery areas (possibly of clay).

There are a couple places where sea swimming is easier. These are on small rocky headlands where steel steps have been provided to access small sections of sand. This gets you started safely but you then swim over rocks.

None of this is a criticism of the Kefalos. It is a simple fact that the urban parts of Paphos simply don’t have great natural beaches.

Tourist Beach

The nearest good beach is at Coral Bay - a short bus ride away. In 2012, this was a disaster area with works being undertaken and one of its two beach cafés out of action. However, in 2013, it is back to normal. It is the archetypal tourist beach – with “end to end” sunbeds and a multitude of water sports on offer. However, the water is clear and the sand superb.

Apartments

The apartments are exceptionally clean, well maintained and contain all the equipment necessary (eg TV, phone, hair drier etc). Kitchen equipment looked virtually brand new (fridge, oven, hob, microwave, kettle etc).

Bathrooms are neat and tidy. The “mixer tap” shower works well and there is never a shortage of hot water. However, the bath is a little narrow and you do need to take care to avoid slipping on the sloping sides when showering.

The air con comprises an independent unit mounted on the wall and it can be adjusted by a remote control handset. This is great if you want to turn it on during a hot night!!! It is reasonably efficient and the temperature and direction of the air flow can be adjusted.

Some things may need to be considered in the foreseeable future. The rooms are beginning to look a bit “tired” and showing their age a bit. They remain okay for the moment but they will need to be renovated. From what I have read elsewhere, I understand the management are addressing this at their group of hotels. Any refit should solve the “bath size” issue. The bath needs to be wider with a flatter base.

Apartment Location

As with all large complexes, it is inevitable that some apartments have better locations than others and it can be very disappointing to imagine a perfect setting before you leave the UK , only to find your balcony overlooks a car park, abuts a piece of waste ground or has a public footpath within a few feet.

The Thomson’s holiday catalogue recognises this problem to some degree by charging extra for a sea front location. However, I think that apartments should be graded into three or four categories so that customers are better aware of what they will get.

Site Shop

The site has its own well stocked supermarket. Prices are reasonable and the service is excellent.

Pools and Sunbeds

The outdoor pool (a“figure of 8” shape with bridge) is superb but, if the complex grows any more, it could become a bit crowded. The indoor pool is a bit stark and dull but few people would want to use it in summer anyway!!!!

There is a massive number of sunbeds around the pool and along the waterfront lawns. There was no problem finding a suitable location but, inevitably, poolside options are scarce or non-existent during the middle of the day.

Security

Security seems good. The balcony door is protected by both wooden shutters and a lockable patio door. Numerous security cameras appear to be located around the complex and there always seem to be staff around the place.

As usual with hotels, there is a safe…. but you need to pay for and collect both the lock and key at reception. As the lock isn’t linked to the apartment number, loss of the key isn’t such a big security issue.

Now, for one of my big niggles. It isn’t a criticism of the Kefalos alone but a general complaint against all hotels. Why do guests have to pay for a safe when it is in the interests of the establishment to ensure that customers are not burgled?!!!! Security shouldn’t be an optional extra. It should be a right!!!!

Food In-House

We chose B&B. The breakfast was superb with a massive choice of English and continental options. The timing (ie between 7 am and 10 am) meant that the restaurant was never overcrowded. In 2012, it was a bit over-regimented but, in 2013, it seemed far more relaxed. Going B&B (or upgrading once you have arrived) is highly recommended. You can actually save money because you will probably only need a sarnie at lunchtime.

It is nice to know that you can use the Kefalos restaurants (ie main restaurant, pool restaurant and “al fresco” fish restaurant) as a fall back option in the evening. We didn’t try the main restaurant. However, the fish restaurant was okay and good value for a three course meal compared to local restaurants. The weekly BBQ by the pool is a must.

Food Outside

It’s a 300-400 yard walk to the multitude of restaurants along the Tombs of the Kings Road. A variety of international cuisine is available and it is best to make up your own mind regarding which establishment is best as it is very much a subjective matter. We liked Raffles and, particularly, the ultra-friendly San Marino. A three-course meal for two varied in such places from 30 Euros to 50 Euros. However, cheaper options are available. One good value choice is “Tea for Two” and this might also appeal to anyone wanting English options.

Buses and Car Hire

A frequent bus service (no 615) runs from Coral Bay to Paphos harbour via The Tombs of the Kings Road. There is a standard charge of 1.5 Euros. From the harbour you can get buses out to other parts of the district.

Car hire is advisable if you want to visit other beaches, other towns and the Troodos mountains. The hotel has a large car park. However, it is worth bearing in mind that the Kefalos offers a very full range of facilities and there are days when you may be tempted to stay on site all day. In 2012, we hired a car for our whole holiday … and only used it on half the number of days!!!!. If you are like us, you may consider saving some money by planning your holiday better and limiting the car hire a bit!!!!

Hotel Staff, Maintenance and Service

Superb!!!! This is where the Kefalos really scores over other establishments. They are so proud of their “village” and so committed to maintaining standards. The reception is efficient and ultra helpful. The gardens are constantly being tended. Equipment in public areas (such as sunbeds) are regularly checked. Restaurant staff are friendly and kind.

Of course, small things can go wrong at any hotel. The real issue is how a complaint is dealt with. We have found that the Kefalos handles things quickly, courteously and without argument. We had three problems – a kettle that didn’t switch itself off, a patio door that stuck and a bedside light that popped its clogs. All were remedied in a matter of minutes.

Overall Rating

The Kefalos Village is a super establishment and I would recommend it to anyone.
Awarding an overall rating is difficult. Bearing in mind the few issues identified above, I would place it around the “4 Star” mark for facilities and service However, you must remember that it is probably charging prices similar to “3 Star” rivals. Thus, taking account of sheer value for money, it deserves 5 Stars.

Thanks, once again, to the guys and gals at the Kefalos for another great holiday. Keep up the good work… and we’ll see you next year!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dave t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Great hotel with excellemt facilities. Air conditioning works a treat! They don't supply a welcome pack for self catering but I emailed them with a short shopping list and everything was in the fridge on arrival. The pool does get very busy but going there about 5pm means you can swim in relative peace. Ate once in the main restaurant but it is a huge room and it does seem a little like a large canteen tho the food was very good. If you are self catering, try their small open air beach side restaurant. Good value for money and an extremely caring female restaurant manager.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool /tavern area as that is where the entertaonment is held at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esm38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from paphos :( and although we didn't stay at the kefalos we did stop by for lunch and a look around.

The food brought to us was served very quickly and was very very nice and good value, the grounds of the village are lovely. It truly is like a mediterranean village with lovely gardens, plants and is very well maintained. The pool area is lovely and there are plenty of sunbeds. The hotel is in a very good location on the beach and you could easily walk from the hotel to the harbour along the coastal path, its a lovely walk :)

We also attended the hotels summer festival and it was great, superb location, good priced food with a large selection, really good entertainment and lots to do. I wouldn't heatitate to stay here if in paphos

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank louise3durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

stayed here for 1week had the best time, clean, staff exelant, food lovery, pool fab, animation team very good, poolsports fab, entertainment none stop from morning to midnight will be back asap very impressed, A big hello to jeff too he gets you to your appartment with your luggage on his buggy xx

Room Tip: we had room 551 no noise could see the sea no problems at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmb0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stopped here recently for a family wedding and everything about the place is amazing, the reception staff were very helpful and friendly our room which was just fabulous, we had an amazing sea view and the room was very clean and tidy. You are literally a few steps to the beach, which is very rocky but very interesting to look at all the rock pools and to go crabbing :)
The pool area is nice with plenty of beds people do get up early to put the towels on which can get annoying but we always got a bed by the pool. The life guard everyday gives out free towels which you sign out and back in at the end of the day, which is a very nice touch. The choice at breakfast is very good, repetitive but a lot of choice so you can have something different every day if you wish.
I would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stop in pathos, no complaints what so ever!!

Room Tip: Rooms further away from the pool are best as the entertainment at night can get a little noisy if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Just returned from this hotel very relaxing place.
Very clean, good accommodation,every thing you require In you rooms.
This is the 2nd time we have stayed here , there have been some improvements to the grounds and beach area since we were hear 2yrs ago,which has made a difference.
The grounds are well kept, maids always busy and cleaning your rooms daily.
We stay half board and were very pleased with the food on offer always fresh and well presented and with a different theme each night.
Bars good, entertainment staff and shows really good never pushed into anything you don't want to be involved in, but you are given the option.
Pool area very clean plenty of beds all over the grounds grassed areas, beach areas, seafront and quiet areas.
We had a ground floor sea view room on both occasions so I would recommend getting one for your stay.
Very friendly staff always willing to help in any way.

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.0 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.3 mi away
Damon Hotel Apartments
1.4 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#9 of 88 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,580 reviews
2.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Paphinia Sea View Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kefalos Beach Tourist Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kefalos Beach Tourist Village

Property: Kefalos Beach Tourist Village
Address: Tombs of the Kings Road | PO 62174, Paphos 8061, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#7 Family Hotel in Paphos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kefalos Beach Tourist Village 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kefalos Beach Tourist Village, part of the Kefalos group of Hotels in Paphos, Cyprus. "Kefalos Beach Tourist Village" was conceived from a deep rooted desire to demonstrate the ancient tradition of genuine Cyprus hospitality. The Kefalos Group offers two Hotels in Paphos that are the jewels in the crown of Cyprus Hotels. Beautifully located in a scenic setting overlooking the azure Mediterranean and in total harmony with its surroundings; it blends together everything you would expect from a purpose built resort - with the ambiance and charm of a village. Located on the beach next to the renowned archaeological areas of Paphos - the UNESCO Park with its mosaics, the Venetian Pathos Lighthouse and the Tombs of the Kings.It is by far the ideal location for a holiday in Cyprus. With its close proximity to the sea, Kefalos Beach is probably the only Cyprus Holiday Village whose layout enables its guests to enjoy beach holidays in Cyprus whilst still enjoying the freedom of self-catering. Our Paphos beach hotel has an excellent range of facilities for all of the family and stands out against other Cyprus Hotels because of its purpose built accommodation and services for disabled people and its locations for wedding ceremonies and receptions. The Mosaics, Lighthouse, Odeon, Byzantine Ruins, Paphos Medieval Castle, harbour area, local bars and restaurants, are easily accessible via the newly constructed beach front promenade. Its ideal location combines peaceful seclusion with easy access to the centre of Kato Paphos along with all its attractions. Spacious accommodation, a palm tree lined beach front, large lawns, numerous sun beds to relax on, daily entertainment, dining facilities by the beach and a playground area with kids’ facilities are waiting for you at the Kefalos Beach Tourist Village. Your Cyprus holidays will never be the same again once you have experienced the hospitality at the Kefalos Beach Tourist Village. A new and refreshing way to experience beach holidays in Cyprus. A warm welcome awaits you at the Kefalos Beach Tourist Village, your getaway to tranquility, relaxation and Cyprus hospitality..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Bookcyprus.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kefalos Beach Tourist Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kefalos Beach Tourist Village Hotel Paphos
Kefalos Beach Tourist Village Paphos
Kefalos Beach Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing