We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our anniversary at Kefalos Beach Tourist village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kefalos Beach Tourist Village
Ranked #19 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We have just returned from two weeks holiday half board at the Kefalos.From the moment we arrived till we left we could not find a single thing to complain about.The apartment was very large and spotless.We had clean towels every day and the beds were changed every other day.The food was very good with a good variety of dishes.They put on a good selection of entertainment every night.The location of the hotel was very good right on the beach.A thirty minute walk takes you into Paphos harbour with a good selection of cafes and shops.Last but not least the staff of the hotel could not do enough for us they bent over backwards to please us.We are going back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,296 - 1,302 of 3,027 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

We booked a package with Thomson. We arrived and the check in was extremely efficient with friendly staff- our keys were ready for us and we were given a voucher for a free meal as our flight arrived after the evening meal had finished. We were driven to our room on a golf buggy which was novel! We paid around €12 for a safety deposit box for the week and a deposit of €10 euros for the remote control which we got back. We stayed in room 236, it wasn't a sea view room i.e. wasn't on the front but you could still see the sea to the right of our balcony which was nice.

The apartment was great. We were on an upper floor and it was very quiet. I emailed in advance asking for an upper floor and this was arranged with no problem. The apartment was much bigger than we anticipated and really really clean. The maid cleaned it thoroughly every day. It was good to have a big fridge to store drinks and snacks. We didn't use any of the cooking appliances. Our only feedback for improvement was that the shower curtain was very flimsy so it stuck to you when you had a shower and the bed sheets were strange as the ones that covered the mattress didn't seem big enough for the mattress so you would wake up and the under sheet had come off exposing the mattress very strange!

There was a little supermarket on site which was great. Reasonable prices 75cents for a large bottle of water and quite a lot of choice including fresh fruit, alcohol, toiletries, sun cream etc.

We were really lucky with the weather for March - 22 degrees and sunny every day. We were able to get fresh beach towels every day from the lifeguard by the pool which was great as saved packing any. We swam in both the indoor and outdoor pools. Both were spotless and clean. The outdoor pool was a bit cool at first but fine once you had swum a few lengths.

We found the food was very good. A lot of variety and it was good to have a different theme each night - eg Italian, oriental, local, BBQ, carvery. I'm not sure vegetarians would have coped that well as there wasn't a huge choice for them and even the salads had a lot of meat or fish in. However this suited us as we like meat! Drinks in the restaurant were very reasonably priced - about 10 euros for a bottle of wine, 7 euros for a carafe and 3.50 euros for a pint of beer. We ran a tab for the week which was easier than paying each evening. My only feedback would be that despite the restaurant not being full we were always made to sit next to other people and with the tables being very close together it wasn't very private as you could hear their conversations. Not sure why they couldn't space people out a bit when it wasn't that busy.

In terms of entertainment we didn't take part apart from on one day when we played French boules and went to the quiz in the evening. The entertainer was very good and kept people in good spirits.

We walked to Paphos both along the main road and along the coastal path. I recommend the coastal path as it was a much nicer walk and lovely to see the sea. We went around a few of the historic sights in Paphos and up the castle all of which in easy walking distance of the hotel.

One day we went to the capital of Cyprus. We got a taxi to the bus station which the hotel organised and it came straight away, this cost €9 euros. We caught the local bus which cost €13 euros return each which was a bargain as two hours each way. It wasn't the most luxurious way to travel but we really enjoyed it and enjoyed going around the world's only divided capital city ourselves! Given the organised trip with Thomson would have cost £50 per person this saved us a lot of money!!

Overall we had a lovely stay. The grounds were lovely it was nice having little blocks of rooms rather than staying in a big hotel block. The staff were really friendly. If we ever went back to Cyprus we would definitely come back to here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 236 which wasn't a sea view room, but you could still see the sea. It was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenDavis84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Just returned from a week, half board, at this really rather nice apartment hotel (19.03.2014 – 26.03.2014).
The Tourist Village site has a wonderful sea frontage with a large lawned area (Plenty of sun loungers if you’re that way inclined.) down to the sandy beach and is laid out on a well signposted grid comprising some forty odd two storey apartment blocks varying in size from two to eight apartments. The walkways are wide and lined with trees, shrubs and flowers which gives a nice open feel to the place. The large swimming pool overlooks the beach and has a poolside bar / restaurant (A bit pricey we felt.). Reception is in the main services block and the lobby was bright and airy, well furnished with comfortable seating and has free WiFi. Check in was efficient and the staff very helpful and friendly. Hire of the room safe was reasonable and a remote for the TV in the apartment can be secured with a refundable ten euro deposit (37 channels of sweet f.a. so not really worth the bother.). You are then whisked to your apartment in a stretch golf buggy by Geoff a cheerful chap who runs you through the facilities available. Our apartment was on the ground floor of a ‘four’ located on the second row in from the sea. Described as a one bedroom apartment this consisted of a large high ceilinged lounge dinner with fully equipped galley kitchen which opened onto a terrace. The bedroom was equally spacious with good storage. There were two sofa beds in the lounge to accommodate children if you have any in tow. The good sized bathroom had the most powerful shower I have ever experienced. The “bucket” beside the loo for the disposal of “objects not to be thrown into the toilet” was a novelty we had never encountered before but had been forewarned about. As the temperature was around the mid twenties and we are not big meat eaters it was not too obtrusive but I can imagine it would be a real test of any relationship at warmer times of the year. The apartment was kept spotlessly clean throughout our stay and towels were changed daily. The dining room was very well organised and the staff friendly with good English. The food is very good, four courses, all meals were buffet style with many themed evenings. The full English breakfast every day was a joy (I do like a good full English breakfast!). Drinks were reasonably priced with a pint of the local beer costing 3.50
There are onsite shops just outside reception, well stocked and reasonably priced. A very pleasant costal path runs into Paphos harbour which takes around 20-30 minutes to walk and there are regular busses from there up into the old town which is a tad run down but is worth a visit for the views and the old market (You can walk up in around 40 minutes but on a hot day this could prove a challenge!).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DellandSunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

After reading reviews we were looking forward to our holiday and we were not disappointed. We paid extra for a sea view studio room. The room was a good size and beds were very comfortable, the view was lovely. Receptionists were very friendly and helpful. It would have been good to have more choice of fresh fruit at breakfast rather than tinned.

Room Tip: choose room at the front of the hotel with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryM857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just returned from a weeks half board through Thomson Holidays. Kefalos beach village is just that, designed to give a 'village' feel with well kept grounds full of trees and plants. It is well placed on the beach which isn't sandy and not the easiest place to swim. At this time of the year that isn't a problem as the pool isn't busy so plenty of opportunity to swim. The walk into Paphos harbour is 30 minutes at a steady pace with plenty of cafés to enjoy once there.
The rooms are well equipped with kettle, toaster, microwave and small oven. The bathroom was large with a powerful shower over the bath and there was a magnifying mirror beside the shaver point. The Is a flat screen TV and you have to leave a €10 deposit for the remote control which is refunded once you return it. The English channels are Sky News, Pick TV, MTV and two channels from Saudi Arabia which show films.

The staff work everyday cleaning the outside areas throughout the village and everywhere is clean. However the rooms are showing signs of age but we did see mattresses being replaced and the reception area appears to be newly renovated. The cleaning of the room appeared hit and miss depending who the maids were. Some days the floor hadn't been swept as you could feel grit on your feet. One day I was in the room when the maids came in and made a show of cleaning the table which was actually full of items like iPods, sunglasses etc but they did not clean the balcony furniture.

The one area which I feel really let's the hotel down is the dining room. The tables are so close together you could easily have a conversation with the people at the next tables. You are shown to your table(different every time) and despite it being a large room people are sat next to each other even though there are plenty of empty tables. This just gives no privacy to your conversations. There is plenty of choice of food but it's not always of the best flavour. Breakfast has a choice of English or continental which is the same. There are yogurts and fruit but everyday it was tinned pineapples or peaches. I would have liked the choice of more fresh fruit but there was only grapefruit or orange, yet a better choice at evening meal. The food was rarely hot and there were no labels on the salad choices making it difficult to distinguish each dish. I had Waldorf salad one evening but did not release until I found walnuts and this concerned me for those who have nut allergies. The cakes were quiet repetitive and fairly tasteless.

Overall the Kefalos is in a nice position for those wanting accommodation away from the main area of Paphos but within easy reach. The way it is layed out is pleasant and there are plenty of areas to sit, both inside and outside, with sun loungers around the pool and on the grassed area towards the sea. It appears that the staff for the most part work hard to maintain the hotel to a high standard. There are two reasons why I have not given this review a five. One is the dining area and the second is that I completed a questionnaire about the facilities while at the hotel and highlighted my disappointment with the dining room. They contacted me to inform me that they will discuss my concerns with the restaurant manager which is fine especially if they can come up with a solution. However, they asked me to consider writing a review on trip advisor and giving them a five. I consider this totally wrong as reviews should be an honest account not one swayed by the hotel.

Having said that I would return to the Kefalos because it really did exceed my expectations but I would go self catering.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank elhana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We have just returned from a great holiday at the Kefalos Beach Village. It was one of the best holidays we have had .Everything was perfect. The accommodation,the food,all the staff and the location was 5 star. We met and enjoyed the company of lots of people around our age group.It is certainly on our list to visit again early season. Thank you to all for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: all rooms appear to be very well equipped,very clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Just got back from a week in kefalos beach village again for our wedding anniversary wish we did`nt have to come home, it is the friendliest hotel with good food, wonderfull staff that make you feel so welcome, in the best location, rooms are comfortable and spacious & well equiped there is a porter jeff he`s so good & very helpfull the entertainment is good too its even better in summer months there`s allways some thing going on for every age group would highly recommend you will not be dissapointed, would also like to say thank you for our lovely bottle of wine and fruit basket to welcome us back for this visit

Room Tip: all rooms are good but the front sea view rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmb0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.0 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.2 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#12 of 85 in Paphos
2,777 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Damon Hotel Apartments
1.3 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,206 reviews
1.4 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kefalos Beach Tourist Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kefalos Beach Tourist Village

Address: Tombs of the Kings Road, Paphos 8061, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Paphos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#16 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £43 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kefalos Beach Tourist Village 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kefalos Beach Tourist Village, part of the Kefalos group of Hotels in Paphos, Cyprus. "Kefalos Beach Tourist Village" was conceived from a deep rooted desire to demonstrate the ancient tradition of genuine Cyprus hospitality. The Kefalos Group offers two Hotels in Paphos that are the jewels in the crown of Cyprus Hotels. Beautifully located in a scenic setting overlooking the azure Mediterranean and in total harmony with its surroundings; it blends together everything you would expect from a purpose built resort - with the ambiance and charm of a village. Located on the beach next to the renowned archaeological areas of Paphos - the UNESCO Park with its mosaics, the Venetian Pathos Lighthouse and the Tombs of the Kings.It is by far the ideal location for a holiday in Cyprus. With its close proximity to the sea, Kefalos Beach is probably the only Cyprus Holiday Village whose layout enables its guests to enjoy beach holidays in Cyprus whilst still enjoying the freedom of self-catering. Our Paphos beach hotel has an excellent range of facilities for all of the family and stands out against other Cyprus Hotels because of its purpose built accommodation and services for disabled people and its locations for wedding ceremonies and receptions. The Mosaics, Lighthouse, Odeon, Byzantine Ruins, Paphos Medieval Castle, harbour area, local bars and restaurants, are easily accessible via the newly constructed beach front promenade. Its ideal location combines peaceful seclusion with easy access to the centre of Kato Paphos along with all its attractions. Spacious accommodation, a palm tree lined beach front, large lawns, numerous sun beds to relax on, daily entertainment, dining facilities by the beach and a playground area with kids’ facilities are waiting for you at the Kefalos Beach Tourist Village. Your Cyprus holidays will never be the same again once you have experienced the hospitality at the Kefalos Beach Tourist Village. A new and refreshing way to experience beach holidays in Cyprus. A warm welcome awaits you at the Kefalos Beach Tourist Village, your getaway to tranquility, relaxation and Cyprus hospitality..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Bookcyprus.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kefalos Beach Tourist Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kefalos Beach Tourist Village Hotel Paphos
Kefalos Beach Tourist Village Paphos
Kefalos Beach Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing