We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice rooms sham about the food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eleni Holiday Village
Ranked #16 of 87 Speciality Lodging in Paphos
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Had a holiday all inclusive at beg of October, receptionists were rude and unhelpful. food was poor, had wine at dinner in a beaker!. hotel was quite, nice pool, great views of sea, entertainment variable. animation team not really interested in quests. Rep very helpful. did a trip on Georges fun bus, is what it says it is FUN.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

We came back last week from 2 weeks here. We had a lovely time there. All the staff are lovely, especially: Pool bar...Adam, Ana, Zoe, Tania, Claudio (bar Chef), Maiin bar....Chris and Theo, and of course, the restaurant manager, Stavros, who is so English even though he's Cypriot! The Qanh made a lovely breakfast every day and constantly checked it and topped it up. There weren't many in the pool as it was quite cold, even though the weather was hot. Our room was incredible. We had the normal double bedroom with TV and a couple of armchairs and bathroom but we also had a kitchen and a second bedroom with bunk beds and sofa! Wow. We paid the standard price and were on ground floor with sea view, with a fantastic view of the amazing sunset. We enjoyed some lovely cocktails here. The entertainment was alright some of the nights. On the evenings that it was very windy it got a bit chilly in the entertainments room.

Room Tip: If you stay there after the end of September you have to pay for the Air conditioning in the accommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisM189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is without doubt the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. It is extremely dark and dismal throughout. The rooms are large but very dated (1970's) and again have dark walls and dark wood furniture and poor lighting so they resemble a cave. A number of other guests also described their rooms as "caves" during our stay. The bath was too small to use as a bath and the shower would not stay in its bracket as this was broken so we have had a week of hand held showers. Mould was everywhere and we had ants sharing the sink area in the bathroom.
Don't go here unless you are physically fit because there is no portering service and there are steps everywhere. If you have an upper floor room you will have to carry your case up 12 steps to get to your room. There are only 2 ramp access points in the whole hotel.
The restaurant resembles a dark hovel. The food is the same every day (I suspect this is partly because it was closing down on oct 23rd tho' we werent told this on booking, and any remaining guests will be moved to the sister hotel next door). Lunch and dinner every day consisted of fish (cooked the same way, chicken wings/thighs (cooked the same way) and pork stew (cooked the same way) with 3 trays of salads 1 tray of boiled rice and 1 tray of bland boiled pasta. Many of us had to eat out even though we had paid for all inclusive. Breakfast was awful, food always cold and dried up. The food at the poolside snack bar was of a much better standard than the restaurant. The outdoor sections of the hotel bar/restaurant are frequented by chain smoking, beer swilling Russians, so if you dont like the smell of cigarettes then my advice is, stay inside !
The entertainment was awful, the animation team consisted of 1 English girl who did very little except tell us about her ailments and how she likes to get drunk.
The upside was, the weather was amazing and the hotel is located in a nice quiet area on the beachfront with plenty of places to walk.
Would we go back, never ! Th is not 3 star plus, I would rate it as 2 star at best. My husband and I are not people that moan and are well travelled and dont expect a palace for 3 star plus, but this was truly an awful experience. We will return to Cyprus, but not to this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank lizzie_wren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just returned from a two week stay at the Eleni holiday village with my partner. We had a fantastic time at the hotel, the location was perfect, quiet and peaceful. However, the hotel was quite far away from any real nightlife and shops but we had no real problem getting the bus to coral bay or the harbour as the bus stop was a two minute walk away and the buses ran quite frequent and till late every night.

The hotel itself was a little bit dated, could do with a lick of paint and the rooms were basic, but it wasn't a problem as we didn't spend a lot of time in the room.

The food in the restaurant was suitable, but we found ourselves eating similar things for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food at the snack bar was a lot better, we ate there often and then nibbled in the evening at the restaurant, even though the food was similar there was always something to eat. So you didn't starve!

The hotel staff were brilliant, they all worked so hard to make sure that we were happy and that everything was ok. The bar staff kept us entertained throughout with their dance moves and theo's not so funny, funny jokes!

This brings me on to the entertainment... The hotel was quiet and the people there were relaxing and didn't want to join in with many activities, the staff, Chanise and Attila, respected this and didn't force anyone to join in. I joined in with the aqua gym on numerous occasions and quite enjoyed myself, the pool was freezing and I felt bad for making Chanise get in but she still made the gym fun and had everyone smiling!

The entertainers would come and sit with us during the day and have a chat. We enjoyed their company, apart from Attila and his addiction to telling everyone about the drugs that he has done previously and showing us pictures of him with the substances. We also found that he was quite racist and rude, the guy never changed his clothes and as our holiday went on we noticed that there was a nasty odour coming from him, so we tended to avoid him at all times.
Chanise was very polite and respectful, we could tell she was a little nervous on some occasions doing the evening entertainment, but when she relaxed she was actually quite funny. We enjoyed her jokes and dance moves the most! "Very sexy"

We noticed that Atila wouldn't really help out. We found him sat in reception on his phone most of the time, whilst his colleague was entertaining the guests.

The evening entertainment started a bit late but was always fun and enjoyable. The kids disco really made us laugh, Chanise enjoyed it more than the kids did! She was very good with the kids and they all loved her, it was a shame about some of the parents, as the children would run around the bar area screaming all evening and Chanise had to try to control them, where were the parents?!

We noticed that a lot of the russians would leave their young children to their own devices, one child nearly drown in the pool!
We read the reviews previous to staying, and a lot of people moaned about the russians, apart from this one problem we found them quite reserved and polite. So don't believe everything you read!

We played bingo every night, as the hotel was quiet we could see how many tickets were being sold, baring in mind each ticket cost €5, 14 of them were sold one night and only €40 was given as the prize money, so the next night we decided to watch the guy sell the tickets and he would disappear with the money and obviously pocket some, we mentioned this to Chanise and she was disgusted. I really hope that this is solved as soon as possible!

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and wish to return in the future!

Big thanks to the bar staff; chris, theo and antonia, stavros, chanise and all the fantastic people we met there, we hope to see you all soon, L&S x

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

we have just returned after 7 days at eleni village. villas are a bit dated but didn't spend too much time in them. food was very good and plenty of choice. our only disappointment was entertainment started at 10pm for adults. all staff were very friendly except 1 receptionist. there is a sauna and gym both out of use. there were hidden extras such as air conditioning and safe box massage and foot spa.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Yes it could do with a lick of paint here & there but you can't fault the effort the staff put in to make sure you have a great time !!
The food was very good but get in there before the Russians. Stavros and his team were excellent & would go out of their way to make sure you were treated like royalty.
The entertainment team ............... Out standing !!!!
If you want to chill out, enjoy great service & entertainment try it, you might enjoy it !!

Room Tip: Get a sea view the sunset is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We got back a week ago from Eleni, and would go back without question. Checked in, went and dropped bags at room, which was large for just 2 people. Yes we had the odd ant at night on the floor (this is a warm climate, you are bound to get this) but it was very good for the amount of time you spend in it. Went to bar at past midnight, Chris welcomed us with a welcome beer, and told us all we needed to know. You can always get loungers around the pools what ever time of day you go. They were clean and large. Yes there are a lot more Russians than English, and they did get loud. The animators werent great, but they tried. Some of the shows were good. You walk to the top of the road and there are 2 bus stops to go either way. I.50euro each was a bargin, you could go anywhere. The harbour is lovely with plenty of bars and restaurants. Coral bay just 10 mins away, fab beach and lots to do. The hotel looks a little old, but from what we heard, they are doing some bits over the winter. The bar staff were fantastic, Theo was helpful and funny. We had the best holiday, doing what we wanted to do. Spent many happy hours around the pool with a beer and a book. And more exploring on quads. If you go into the mountains there is a little restaurant on the top, which does the best Pork I have ever had! Overall very good

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inour20s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
3.1 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
1.8 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#45 of 85 in Paphos
1,271 reviews
1.9 mi away
Theo Sunset Bay Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,294 reviews
0.9 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
Akteon Holiday Village
Akteon Holiday Village
#11 of 87 in Paphos
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eleni Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eleni Holiday Village

Address: Ayiou Georgiou 5 | Chloraka, Paphos 8106, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 87 Speciality Lodging in Paphos
Price Range: £39 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eleni Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eleni Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eleni Holiday Village Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing