We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing week”
Review of Avlida Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Avlida Hotel
Ranked #41 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxing week”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Our first time in Cyprus and we had a lovely relaxing week.

Our room was on the small side and needed an update however it was very clean and had a lovely sea view and balcony.

The public areas of the hotel were good: reception, bar, pool area and outside drinking area.

We enjoyed all inclusive food - fresh, simple and not processed.

Staff were helpful and knowledgeable.

Very few British staying here - mostly Russians.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    626
    248
    165
    71
    61
See reviews for
507
394
45
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Positives- great entertainment team, and serving staff really friendly, rooms clean, hotel very clean, pool great, enjoyed food which was very fresh given cooked en masse. 15 min walk from beach. Great outdoor drinking area and bar for night time drinking. WiFi in hotel bar and pool bar.

Negatives- rooms slightly outdated, beds a bit hard. Entertainment was at times a bit difficult to get involved with due to language barrier. Menu on all inclusive not always appropriate for fussy children. No in room WiFi.

It's worth noting that there is a large Russian contingent. my partner and I did make friends, and we were lucky enough to meet an English-speaking chap to act as translator. This made things much easier. There are cultural differences, but we found it easy to get past these and got involved.

Room Tip: Pick an ocean view- it's very nice :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed in the Avlida Hotel for 8 nights, I would highly recomend this hotel to my friends, The staff & Cosmin & his entertainment team were excellent, Food choices were excellent. There was always something to eat. Rooms were a little outdated but still comfortable. There were always activity to do around the pool in the day time and the entertainment at night was also good. Met some lovely people there too. We will defently be returning to this hotel in the near future.
We stayed there first week in July 2014

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room, which also looks down on to pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Had a great week at the Avlida Hotel. The hotel was very clean but some of the rooms needed an update. The staff were all very friendly and nothing was a problem, they would do everything they could to help. Spoke to the manager in the bar at night and he was interested as to what we thought about the hotel and any suggestions we had. Cosmin and the entertainment team also were very friendly. We really enjoyed the food, there was a good variety,always hot & replenished regularly. There were a lot of Russians in the hotel who are a very different culture to us regarding their eating habits but it did not bother us as there was plenty to go round. Thankyou to all at the Avlida!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel AI and have to say were very disappointed with the standard of food. Firstly we could not believe the other guests were stockpiling their plate or should I not say plates most guests had in excess of three plates each. We were so disappointed with the standard of food we were left with no other alternative but had to eat out every night. We could not believe the attitude and rudeness of the other guests who pushed into the queue for good so much for a relaxing dinner it felt more like a canteen or school dinners.

We feel the decor in the rooms is in need of an update.

Sorry to say we will not be back at this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank onelazyworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avlida, Manager at Avlida Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2015
Dear guest,
Thank you for finding time to write a review about our hotel.
We have read your review and keep wondering: How is is possible when you yourself state that most other guests had in excess of three plates each, you do not find the standard of food good enough? How is it possible that when most other guests enjoyed the food so much, they stockpiled in excess of three plates each, you found the food to be dissapointed? Readers surely agree that it is at least strange that whilst other guests found the food to be of such a high quality rich in taste and choice (as per your own statement), you considered it so bad that you "had to eat out every night".

Im afraid that the quality of your judgement is reflected onto your opinion of other guests, and our room decor. Rest assured that they are also holidaymakers, normal people that enjoyed their holiday and the food. With regards to the room decor, please be aware that as most guests "stockpilled food", they also enjoyed our decor, that does not require an update, and this is shown in reviews for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed for two weeks in June 2014. Positives - staff are fabulous, Cosmin and his entertainment team do a great job. All bar staff, waitresses and reception staff were great. The public areas of the hotel are immaculate and food was plentiful with lots of choice.
Bit disappointed with the room, good size but a bit dated and tired. Maid service every day but not always up to the standards I would expect, bath certainly wasn't cleaned each day and one day the pillow cases were changed and I suddenly had pillow cases with lipstick stains on

One other thing, the majority of the guests are Russian and there are certainly a lot of cultural differences that can take some getting used too (I guess Russians probably say the same about the English!!)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyE1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avlida, Manager at Avlida Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2015
Dear guest,
Thank you for finding the time to write a review about our hotel. Here at the Avlida Hotel, we consider all reviews, good or bad, in order to improve ourselves.
We are happy to see that you enjoyed the hospitality of our staff, our entertainment team and Cosmin especially, our bar staff our waitresses and the reception staff. We have also already pass on your congratulations to our chef for the food choices and quality of preparation.

We are sorry to see that you were not satisfied with your room. An exact photo of the room is available via our website, your travel agent and your tour operator, therefore we cannot comment on a non-specific complaint about a room that you were able to access and evaluate the appearence of beforehand. Dated and tired is not specific but in any case, if you had any complaints with regards to your room, you could of approached the reception desk about it in order to resolve the problem.

However we do not have any records of this. In fact, you did not approach the reception desk to mention any problems with the quality of cleaning of your room either, as we have no record at all during June 2014 about any cleaning issues. We certainly do not have any records of any guest mentioning lipstick stains at all. You write here about more than one (as you say) pillowcases (plural) with lipstick stains. We are certain that even one pillowcase would of put you off quite badly, enough to make a complaint to staff regarding this, nevermind both. For reasons that we are not familiar with, you choose not to complain during your stay, and slept on pillow cases with foreign lipstick on, for some part of your two week holiday.

Please have in mind that all hotels wish to resolve any issues before any guests departs, but you do need to inform the hotel reception of such occurances so they can be investigated and recrified.

Kind regards,
Avlida Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed here June 14th for a week, enjoyed the stay.. clean rooms ,Lovely clean throughout hotel pleasant staff. Ongoing work on the roads outside which will benefit the area, new paths etc.
Entertainment team worked hard through the day, Cosmin, Maria and Anna were a joy to meet..Food was very good could always find something to eat and did roast joints on two nights of the week whilst we were there. There is also a Lidl about 10 mins to the right as you come out of the hotel.
There is a bus stop outside hotel to take you to the harbour for 1 euro 50, suggest you go at night found it too hot in the day.. drops you off at terminus and there are various buses to take you to different parts of the island. Coral beach is in the opposite direction.
Had a meal out at Fat Mamas which was gorgeous.
Plenty of bars n restaurants close by. But there is also a Bar strip further in if you want to travel further.
All in all a very good relaxing holiday meeting some lovely people.

Room Tip: our room was facing the pool which didn't get the sun in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curvylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avlida, Manager at Avlida Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2014
Dear guest,
It is with pleasure that we see that you have enjoyed your holiday with us. It is true that there are works outside the hotel and soon they will be over, making an upgrade for the whole area surrounding us. We have passed your congratulations to our animation team, we always feel that our staff is our greatest asset and its lovely to see that this opinion is shared amongst our guests.
Hopeing to see you soon
Avlida Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Venus Beach Hotel
Venus Beach Hotel
#76 of 85 in Paphos
854 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aloe Hotel
Aloe Hotel
#61 of 85 in Paphos
55 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Corallia Beach Hotel Apartments
0.7 mi away
Axiothea Hotel
Axiothea Hotel
#21 of 85 in Paphos
246 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eleni Holiday Village
Eleni Holiday Village
#14 of 86 in Paphos
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avlida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avlida Hotel

Property: Avlida Hotel
Address: Tombs of Kings Road, Paphos, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Paphos
#26 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#42 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#42 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Avlida Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avlida Hotel in Pafos, Cyprus is a four star hotel where you will have a very pleasant holiday. This spacious 200 room hotel has been renovated in 2013. It combines excellent service, comfort, hospitality and luxury providing the perfect setting for an enjoyable holiday. There are many facilities and amenities offered so you need not ever venture far, also a sandy beach is just two minutes walk away (two hundred fifty meters). The archeological site of "Tombs of the Kings" is just opposite the hotel (between the hotel and the sea). Many shops, pubs, bars, restaurants are just next to the hotel. Pafos harbour area with its exciting nightlife featuring many restaurants, pubs, bars, and clubs and the local market are approximately ten minutes walk from the hotel (1.5 km). The friendly staff will ensure you a warm welcome. The Avlida Hotel Paphos has 200 well-appointed rooms. Located on the Pafos seafront just across the road from the famous Tomb of the Kings, the hotel provides quality resort accommodation at the most competitive prices among 4* hotels in Paphos. Accommodation: Twin & double bedded rooms with bath, shower, WC, individually controlled air conditioning & heating, direct dial telephone, four channel radio, satellite TV, mini bar , hairdryer, balcony with inland, pool view, side sea & sea view. Family rooms with sea view, interconnected rooms and Family studios up to six persons available. Guest Room Amenities: Private balcony with either inland, pool, side sea view or full sea view, private shower, bath & WC, satellite TV, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, individually controlled air-conditioning/heating, Cribs (baby cots) available. Whether you're looking for a relaxing family vacation or you are a business traveler, we are sure our hotel will provide you with everything you need. We offer a wide range of in-hotel facilities: from family dining to checking your email and using the Internet.Our services and facilities are what makes the Avlida Hotel the only choice for the wise traveler. Besides general facilities like reception, souvenir shop, 16 hours room service, safe deposit boxes, laundry service and ironing room, Avlida Hotel offers extensive Leisure & Sports, Conference and Children's facilities.*Reception* Two restaurants* Four Bars - George lounge bar (with daily entertainment including live fire show, karaoke, bingo, live music, fun kazino night and various other types of entertainment), the Terrace bar, our Wooden Cosy bar and the Pool Snack bar* Three Conference rooms with Banqueting facilities. Avlida Hotel we aim to provide entertainment for all our guests, young and old, whatever their preferences may be. For this, we offer the following pleasant facilities, activities and shows:* Extensive lounge area* TV lounge with the latest home cinema showing most of the premiership matches* Safe deposit boxes. Large free shaped outdoor Swimming Pool (330sq.M.) With six waterfalls and Jacuzzi ● Sun terrace (1000 sq.M.) With 100m long water channel (lazy river) and ten waterfalls around it● Large heated * indoor pool (70 sq.M.) Floodlit tennis court ● The Avlida health club with Gym, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam bath, Massage room ● Table tennis ● Games area ● Water sports (available on the beach) ● Diving facilities, booking arrangements for horse riding, golf and mountain bike rentals at hotel.* Sixteen hours Room Service* Air-conditioning* Laundry Service* Ironing room* Satellite TV in rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookcyprus.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avlida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avlida Hotel Paphos
Avlida Hotel Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing