We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay
Ranked #12 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Thalassa Hotel is very comfortable and our suite was great! The staff and service was very good indeed and even though the weather was mixed we had a good week! We were a bit disappointed with the town nearby and Paphos finding it too commercialised!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pastie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
There are newer reviews for SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 828 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

There is so much to say about the Thalassa, both good and bad but overall this is a stunning hotel.

Lets start with the bad.

Its is an old hotel, things are not perfect, the rooms are towards the end of their sell buy date. There are chips to the sinks, tiles and all appliances in the bathroom, the walls were decorated in a different century, the pool has tiles missing as does the facilities in the spa. The steam room, has peeling paint and stained grouting. The staff in the restaurant and over attentive, they seem to want to refill your glass after every sip which seem to be the way in most luxury restaurants these days, but I hate being interrupted every 30 seconds. I believe the staff must be on commission to sell champagne as every meal, my fiancee or I was told to buy a bottle -that's correct told to, I was also told I could afford it which was a highlight too. The mini bar did not work, which I am not bothered about, neither did the Jacuzzi in the bath. €2 for a small bottle of local water is ridiculous when there is no alternative.

However, if you don't mind that, you have a fantastic hotel. I believe they have the best location in Cyprus with stunning 360 views of the sea.

I took the advice of other reviewers and asked for a sunrise room and was upgraded to a suite without asking. We were greeted like royalty and the check in process was very quick. The staff are fantastic and will go out of their way to help, advise and get you anything you want.

I had planned to not eat at the hotel as after reading reviews of it being to expensive and not that good, however, after lunch on the first day I was very impressed and decided to eat at the restaurant every day. Yes it is expensive but you will fail to get a better meal at the price offered here. For lunch they have amazing pasta and the Caesar salad with tempura is lovely, all priced between €12 - €16.

Breakfast has a wide range of choices depending on your taste.

On the first evening, I ordered the fillet steak which was superb, €26 is not bad for a meal of this quality and you would pay much, much more in London. The steak melted in the mouth and there was the correct amount of sauce, and well cooked vegetables. Speaking to the staff, I was told that they have a new chef this year which may explain some of the reviews from last year.

The room and most of the hotel overlook the pool and the beautiful clear sea of Coral Bay, I recommend getting up early to see the sunrise. The outside sunbathing and general outside area is exquisite.

I booked a couples retreat at the spa through the Thalassa website which includes a full body massage (1 hour and a glass of champagne). The ladies at the spa are fantastic as was the Swedish massage that we both had.

On the final morning we had to check out at 4am and asked for an alarm call, we were asked if we would like some breakfast and a coffee at this time. It's the little touches like this that make the difference and a truly excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Stu88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is a five star hotel held back by a three star maintenance department! We arrived on 2 April, the hotel having reopened on the 1st after a two month shut down. Unfortunately, rather than getting tasks done whilst there were no customers around, they seem to have given the 'man that does' two months off as well. In consequence, whilst we were there, various noisy (drilling) and smelly (re-varnishing) jobs were done, but, by the time we left on the 9 April no-one had got around to replacing any of the broken light bulbs, weeding around the pool or generally smartening the place up. We hope that the maintenance department wakes up and goes into overdrive before too much longer!
Annoyingly, we were not told that the second (fish) restaurant wouldn't be opening until later in the season. We're not too sure as yet who's to blame for the misinformation - travel agent, holiday company or hotel.
All that said, the setting is amazing, most of the staff are really terrific, and there are fantastic views from all rooms. The restaurant food (new menu for the 2014 season) is mostly superb although reasonably expensive and somewhat inconsistent (e.g. same dish on two different nights was presented in two totally different ways with very different quantities of the individual components - but again that could be that as the 1st visitors we were being used as guinea pigs!).
I'm very critical. I don't think a 5* hotel should run out of their best local wine twice in a week and I do think that every 5* hotel should stock slim-line tonic. My husband on the other hand loved everything about our spring break and can't wait to revisit!

Room Tip: Rooms on the sunset side have a much prettier view but have the disadvantage of being above the deli...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HoppitHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My wife & I have just returned from 5 nights at the thalassa. On our arrival we were upgraded to a suite & the whole check in process lasted no more than 5 minutes.
Breakfast was fantastic with the waitresses being very attentive & helpfull,try the bucks fizz a great way to start a your day.
If you want a top quality hotel for a relaxing break then this is the place for you,,the hotel is just so quiet
A massive thanks to ewan,George & mario for making our holiday so memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for a sunset room the views are absolutely incredible
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dallis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

No tattoos, no common accents, no common people staying. Breakfast perfect, with excellent choice. Dining in the evening ( Smart Casual a minimum ) excellent with impeccable service. Wine selection truly great, if a little pricey...but hey ho, you only live once! And children under 12 only allowed at Christmas, New Year and Easter Sunday....fair enough.Perfect, and polite staff ( including Scotsman in reception area ).

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing as on a promontary, so you either want sunrise or sunset view.Simple.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChristopherStyliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

but the service at breakfast was not the best, and not what one would expect from a 5 star hotel. We had the impression that our presence there was a nuisance, because we arrived 15 minutes before breakfast closing time, and the staff seemed very eager to pick everything up. Our requests were met with either a rude tone of voice, a stony face, at best with a sardonic smile, "thank you's" remained unanswered (is 'welcome' not customary in eastern europe?) and we even received a threat regarding coffee (if you order past the 'deadline' again, you will have to pay for it!) Basil Fawlty would have been proud…
The staff at the reception were very nice though. But when we mentioned the breakfast incident, we received the following incredible reply: 'We're very sorry. Next time you can have all the coffee you like. But we're surprised that Svetlana did that. Tatiana is usually the worse of the two, and most complains concern her'. Lovely… (names altered)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cat_h_712014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My partner and I after having been together for 25 years decided to have a Xmas break to celebrate the occasion. We booked all inclusive at their sister hotel and were transferred to the Thalassa Boutique at the last moment. With anticipation we carried on with the arrangements. What a great decision. On arrival we were greeted with a friendly and informative young lady on reception. We entered the restaurant and again the staff could not be more helpful. Having worked on luxury cruise liners and 5* hotels I was impressed, to say the least, at the quality of the food by an exteremely talented kitchen brigade and being delivered by a very professional friendly and efficient restaurant staff. There was no difference between the all inclusive menu and the regular restaurant menu. The festive buffet had gourmet produce from all over the world. Even at breakfast every day there was smoked salmon of the highest quality and champagne and fresh orange juice for anyone to consume. The grounds of the hotel were maintained to a very high standard, as were the rooms. Unusually the owner joined in with all the Xmas festivities and was most approachable and friendly. Without a doubt the biggest asset at this hotel was the efficient and friendly staff from the young lady and Ewan behind reception and the rest of the team to the restaurant manager, head waiter etc. and not forgetting the two immaculately dressed barman. Our many thanks for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geordie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paphos
7.2 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
7.5 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#11 of 85 in Paphos
2,738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Beach Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#16 of 85 in Paphos
2,135 reviews
9.0 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
8.4 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay

Address: Coral Bay | P.O. Box 62422, Paphos 8099, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#8 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#11 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#20 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#41 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £117 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay . Location: Quietly nestled on the Maa Peninsula, an ancient Greek archeological site and surrounded by the crystal waters of the Mediterranean, Thalassa overlooks the beautiful golden beach of the Coral Bay where the radiance of the setting sun has mesmerized guests with majestic beauty and tranquility. The property borders the Akamas National Park, an area of outstanding natural beauty, and ecological significance, which is protected by UNESCO and also encompasses the endangered turtle breeding site of Lara Bay. Lobby: The moment one enters the gracefully designed Lobby with breathtaking views, the mood set for a never to be forgotten experience. Accommodation: All rooms and suites are beautifully designed, all with sea view. Every room is as chic as it appears and includes; full marble bathroom, certain suites even include Whirlpools and personal saunas, lavish bathroom amenities, balcony, IDD cordless telephone set, internet access, satellite TV, Hi FI- DVD system, mini bar, and electronic safe to name a few. Anagenisis Spa at Thalassa is the first holistic spa in Cyprus. The spa features an array of signature treatments inspired by the four corners of the earth and from the past of ancient Greece. The spa reflects our philosophy of complete serenity and relaxation while highly qualified therapists offer personalized service focusing on the guests' individual wants and needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalassa Boutique Hotel And Spa
Thalassa Boutique Hotel Paphos
Thalassa Hotel Paphos
Thalassa Resort Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing