We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice relaxing break, good peaceful location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay
Ranked #16 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing break, good peaceful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I booked this hotel as I wanted a relaxing few days near Paphos, but wanted to avoid the 'bucket and spade' crowd and find somewhere a little more peaceful.

I arrived quite late on Good Friday (Easter is a big holiday in Cyprus, so many things are shut and public transport isn't running at full capacity) so got a taxi from Pahpos airport to the hotel. It wasn't far, maybe just over 30 minutes.

The hotel sits on a rocky outcrop at the far end of Coral Bay, so far enough away from the central tourist part at the other end of the beach to be peaceful. As previous reviewers have said, the building itself is quite old, but it's been renovated and looks in good order.

Check-in was quick, and I'd booked a room with a seaview which was well worth the money. the balcony looked right along Coral Bay beach and also out into the bay. The swimming pool and garden were below, but as it's a Spa resort there is no noise as there were no young children staying.

The room was a nice size, and has been modernised but not totally renovated. So the room is quite dated, but they've freshened it up as much as they can and it looks fine. If I was in the room I was out on the balcony enjoying the view so it didn't affect my enjoyment at all. The bathroom is also clean and also showing it's age a little, but they've done a nice job in making it look presentable and it wasn't an issue.

Breakfast is good, taken downstairs in the large dining room and verandah by the pool. A good selection was always available so no problems finding somethnig that you like. Staff were very helpful, helped me rush through a late food order a few times, before the kitcehn closed when I'd been out and returned a bit alter than planned in the evening.

The local bus stops right outside the hotel, either to hop into the nearest town (not much there) or continue into Paphos (about 20 minutes). Even at Easter there was a frequent service, so I'm sure on non-public holidays you won't ever need to wait for long.

There are steps in the garden that lead down to the bay and the rocky outcrop, and it's then a few steps to get to the sandy beach. Was very quiet when I went as it was before the season started, so plenty of space to sit.

I'd recommend the hotel, I'd certainly stay here again (but would be perfect if they refurbed it, and brought it up to the latest standards)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackheathbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    143
    45
    15
    14
See reviews for
42
541
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Peaceful and very relaxing. Great location beside a clean sandy beach with clear blue water. There is a bus stop a few minutes walk from the hotel to go to the local restaurants and shops or further along the coast to Paphos.
Hotel room was large with a nice balcony, Very comfortable bed, safe and TV. Bathroom small and not luxury. Toilet seat loose, shabby tiles and small.
Breakfast is average. Hot food was generally lukewarm and grilled tomatoes either burnt black or non existent. Poor standard for a "luxury" hotel.
Service is very slow and waitresses moody and rarely smile. Customer service only exists to a few staff in the hotel which is a real shame as it could be fantastic.
Lunch service is very slow and again the customer service is a big let down. The hotel food is not cheap and again nowhere near 5 star service. Only 2 or 3 tables needed serving at any one time during lunchtime and the waitresses struggled to cope.
Pool area is nice with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. Padding on sunbeds is thin and old.
The only reason I would recommend this hotel is for the relaxation and location. Go not expecting "luxury" or customer service and you won't be let down.
It is a decent, clean hotel with a few nice touches but completely let down by standard of maintenance and the attitude of some of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTraveller150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Thalassa Hotel is very comfortable and our suite was great! The staff and service was very good indeed and even though the weather was mixed we had a good week! We were a bit disappointed with the town nearby and Paphos finding it too commercialised!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pastie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

There is so much to say about the Thalassa, both good and bad but overall this is a stunning hotel.

Lets start with the bad.

Its is an old hotel, things are not perfect, the rooms are towards the end of their sell buy date. There are chips to the sinks, tiles and all appliances in the bathroom, the walls were decorated in a different century, the pool has tiles missing as does the facilities in the spa. The steam room, has peeling paint and stained grouting. The staff in the restaurant and over attentive, they seem to want to refill your glass after every sip which seem to be the way in most luxury restaurants these days, but I hate being interrupted every 30 seconds. I believe the staff must be on commission to sell champagne as every meal, my fiancee or I was told to buy a bottle -that's correct told to, I was also told I could afford it which was a highlight too. The mini bar did not work, which I am not bothered about, neither did the Jacuzzi in the bath. €2 for a small bottle of local water is ridiculous when there is no alternative.

However, if you don't mind that, you have a fantastic hotel. I believe they have the best location in Cyprus with stunning 360 views of the sea.

I took the advice of other reviewers and asked for a sunrise room and was upgraded to a suite without asking. We were greeted like royalty and the check in process was very quick. The staff are fantastic and will go out of their way to help, advise and get you anything you want.

I had planned to not eat at the hotel as after reading reviews of it being to expensive and not that good, however, after lunch on the first day I was very impressed and decided to eat at the restaurant every day. Yes it is expensive but you will fail to get a better meal at the price offered here. For lunch they have amazing pasta and the Caesar salad with tempura is lovely, all priced between €12 - €16.

Breakfast has a wide range of choices depending on your taste.

On the first evening, I ordered the fillet steak which was superb, €26 is not bad for a meal of this quality and you would pay much, much more in London. The steak melted in the mouth and there was the correct amount of sauce, and well cooked vegetables. Speaking to the staff, I was told that they have a new chef this year which may explain some of the reviews from last year.

The room and most of the hotel overlook the pool and the beautiful clear sea of Coral Bay, I recommend getting up early to see the sunrise. The outside sunbathing and general outside area is exquisite.

I booked a couples retreat at the spa through the Thalassa website which includes a full body massage (1 hour and a glass of champagne). The ladies at the spa are fantastic as was the Swedish massage that we both had.

On the final morning we had to check out at 4am and asked for an alarm call, we were asked if we would like some breakfast and a coffee at this time. It's the little touches like this that make the difference and a truly excellent hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stu88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is a five star hotel held back by a three star maintenance department! We arrived on 2 April, the hotel having reopened on the 1st after a two month shut down. Unfortunately, rather than getting tasks done whilst there were no customers around, they seem to have given the 'man that does' two months off as well. In consequence, whilst we were there, various noisy (drilling) and smelly (re-varnishing) jobs were done, but, by the time we left on the 9 April no-one had got around to replacing any of the broken light bulbs, weeding around the pool or generally smartening the place up. We hope that the maintenance department wakes up and goes into overdrive before too much longer!
Annoyingly, we were not told that the second (fish) restaurant wouldn't be opening until later in the season. We're not too sure as yet who's to blame for the misinformation - travel agent, holiday company or hotel.
All that said, the setting is amazing, most of the staff are really terrific, and there are fantastic views from all rooms. The restaurant food (new menu for the 2014 season) is mostly superb although reasonably expensive and somewhat inconsistent (e.g. same dish on two different nights was presented in two totally different ways with very different quantities of the individual components - but again that could be that as the 1st visitors we were being used as guinea pigs!).
I'm very critical. I don't think a 5* hotel should run out of their best local wine twice in a week and I do think that every 5* hotel should stock slim-line tonic. My husband on the other hand loved everything about our spring break and can't wait to revisit!

Room Tip: Rooms on the sunset side have a much prettier view but have the disadvantage of being above the deli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HoppitHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

My wife & I have just returned from 5 nights at the thalassa. On our arrival we were upgraded to a suite & the whole check in process lasted no more than 5 minutes.
Breakfast was fantastic with the waitresses being very attentive & helpfull,try the bucks fizz a great way to start a your day.
If you want a top quality hotel for a relaxing break then this is the place for you,,the hotel is just so quiet
A massive thanks to ewan,George & mario for making our holiday so memorable.

Room Tip: Ask for a sunset room the views are absolutely incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dallis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

No tattoos, no common accents, no common people staying. Breakfast perfect, with excellent choice. Dining in the evening ( Smart Casual a minimum ) excellent with impeccable service. Wine selection truly great, if a little pricey...but hey ho, you only live once! And children under 12 only allowed at Christmas, New Year and Easter Sunday....fair enough.Perfect, and polite staff ( including Scotsman in reception area ).

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing as on a promontary, so you either want sunrise or sunset view.Simple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristopherStyliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paphos
7.3 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.0 mi away
Coral Beach Hotel & Resort
8.0 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#17 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,372 reviews
8.2 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
7.7 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#21 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay

Property: SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay
Address: Coral Bay | P.O. Box 62422, Paphos 8099, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#10 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#13 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#20 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#43 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay . Location: Quietly nestled on the Maa Peninsula, an ancient Greek archeological site and surrounded by the crystal waters of the Mediterranean, Thalassa overlooks the beautiful golden beach of the Coral Bay where the radiance of the setting sun has mesmerized guests with majestic beauty and tranquility. The property borders the Akamas National Park, an area of outstanding natural beauty, and ecological significance, which is protected by UNESCO and also encompasses the endangered turtle breeding site of Lara Bay. Lobby: The moment one enters the gracefully designed Lobby with breathtaking views, the mood set for a never to be forgotten experience. Accommodation: All rooms and suites are beautifully designed, all with sea view. Every room is as chic as it appears and includes; full marble bathroom, certain suites even include Whirlpools and personal saunas, lavish bathroom amenities, balcony, IDD cordless telephone set, internet access, satellite TV, Hi FI- DVD system, mini bar, and electronic safe to name a few. Anagenisis Spa at Thalassa is the first holistic spa in Cyprus. The spa features an array of signature treatments inspired by the four corners of the earth and from the past of ancient Greece. The spa reflects our philosophy of complete serenity and relaxation while highly qualified therapists offer personalized service focusing on the guests' individual wants and needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalassa Boutique Hotel And Spa
Thalassa Boutique Hotel Paphos
Thalassa Hotel Paphos
Thalassa Resort Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing