We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay
Ranked #12 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2009

This was a second visit to the Thalassa having previously visited the neighbouring Coral Beach prior to its slow, inexorable decline into three star mediocrity.

The hotel is situated on a peninsula in a quiet location with either side of the hotel facing sunrise or sunset – go for the latter as the views over the bay are pleasant and not interrupted by the older Coral Beach Hotel. From the outside, however, especially from a distance, it looks distinctly unimpressive... however, once inside, it reveals its true quality. The hotel itself has a peaceful and relaxing ambience, the fact that children are generally discouraged being a big part of that, is spotlessly clean and the bedrooms are nicely appointed without clutter – they were actually designed as interconnecting rooms and have been made into bedroom and separate living room with two bathrooms which is always a bonus. The pool area is neat, tidy and excellently located for views of the surrounding area and well designed as a sun trap for the sunbed-inclined, with a nice beach bar on a lower level and stairway access to the sea. The Spa is quite expensive but you get what you pay for, which is all one can really expect.

The surrounding area itself is generally okay, about 10 minutes walk up a hill can be found Coral Plaza where there are restaurants and bars.

Back inside the Thalassa, the breakfasts were generally excellent, with a good choice – though surprisingly lacking low-fat yoghurt. We had a superb meal at the Psari fish restaurant, which I’d not been too impressed with on our previous visit, but was eminently so on this occasion. However, the Ambrosia restaurant, which had been decent last year, was disappointing this time ‘round, exacerbated by our misjudgement in visiting it on our last evening [which on vacation always has the effect of making something good feel excellent, and something bad feel dreadful]. The menu seemed more limited than I recalled, though the food was good, but the service was appalling – to describe it as inefficient would be kind. We waited lengthy periods of time between the initial courses (despite the fact that the restaurant wasn't busy) with waiting staff seemingly appearing and disappearing at random, and by the time of another interminable wait for the sweet our patience was exhausted, so we up and left. It must be said that the Management of the Hotel dealt with this issue graciously and efficiently the following day, only reinforcing my generally positive impression despite this hiccup.

To end on a positive note, which is far more representative of our overall vacation experience at the Thalassa, the staff are generally very agreeable and helpful, particularly Ewan on the front desk who’s very efficient and extremely personable – many a late half hour was spent discussing sports or putting the world to rights, Thomas, Alina and Pambos Michael, The Manager.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank The_Doc99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (875)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 875 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2009

Our room was a 1 bedroom suite priced at just over 300 Euros per night. The decoration was very minimal and faded with no real taste. I was shocked at the TV which was a standard (Not LCD) Thomson 21 inch! I would expect for cost of the room to have big flat TV. Room was adequately furnished, nothing special. It had 2 bathrooms which was nice and a nice view. We used the indoor spa and pool which was very nice but the breakfast was very disappointing (much better at Coral bay which is a much older hotel next door owned by the same group) and only 1 lift for 5+ floors! The customers that were staying were mostly British Pensioners. No kids or many people under 40! When we checking in our at 2.00 pm Room Service ladies were talking and giggling amongs themselves. Did not strike as very professional.

P.S. Also found a small cockroach in the bathroom!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paparisvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2009

The hotel staff are extremely helpful and cannot do enough for you. The hotel has a very relaxing atmosphere in a quiet location overlooking Coral Bay. Situated on a peninsula one side of the hotel faces the sunrise and the opposite gets the sunset. About 15 minutes walk to coral bay there are some good restaurants and bars. You can also get a bus from near the hotel into coral bay or Paphos for just 1.50 euro.
The hotel has two restaurants, both are excellent. The Psari restaurant serves great seafood.
The bedrooms are very clean - we had an executive suite which was formerly an interconnecting room and has been made into a bedroom and seperate living room with two bathrooms which was very convenient!
The Spa is quite expensive but facilities are quality - we advise going to the Coral Bay Hotel which is next door as its slightly cheaper.
The beaches are small but clean, the sea is very clear and is good for snorkelling. We would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slywrightuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

The hotel has an unprepossessing exterior, but don't be put off by that. It occupies a spectacular site and the interior is everything you'd expect from a 5* hotel.

We splashed out a bit and booked a suite for 2 nights to celebrate my wife's birthday. We were upgraded to something more like a palatial flat, with a large living room, plus two spacious bedrooms (each en suite and with its own minibar) and two extensive balconies giving 270 degree sea-views. Stunning! Watching the sunset over the bay from the balcony, sipping champagne and sampling the exquisite selection of canapes that came with it, we were completely won over. So much so that we decided on the spot to bust the bank and book a third night.

The breakfasts (particularly the fresh fruit) were great. We had a superb meal at the fish restaurant., and had a brilliant lunch down at the 'beach bar'. We made frequent use of the gym to burn off a small roportion of the calories we were piling on. Staff were universally helpful and friendly, and the atmosphere was luxurious but relaxed.

Many other reviewers have commented on the one weak link - the Ambrosia restaurant. But the hotel still hasn't sorted the problem. Service is friendly, but often inefficient - we waited nearly an hour for one course, which had obviously been forgotten then reheated in the kitchen, ,despite the fact that the restaurant wasn't busy). And the menu is limited and unpredictable. On the night we arrived, we were told proudly that it was their 'Italian evening'! Why on earth do that? If I wanted Italian food, I'd either go to Italy or stay in London. In a 5* hotel in Cyprus, I would expect international cuisine and a good selection of Cypriot dishes.

Given that everything else about the hotel is so good, it is disappointing that the management are not getting the message that the Ambrosia is letting the show down.

I would definitely recommend the hotel. But I'd strongly advise booking on B&B terms!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dickonbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

Several times the staff went beyond the call of duty to help - we will certainly go back when next in Cyprus

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

If you are looking for a relaxing romantic getaway then this hotel is the one for you. Located in Coral bay (the best beach on the island) this hotel is situated on a penninsula with excellent pool beach and spa facilities.

The attention to detail and the staff are superb, the hotel has only 58 rooms so you never feel crowded out.

We didnt arrive until 11pm afer a taxi transfer from the airport and was told on check in that the dining room had closed so they took the liberty of putting a cold meat and cheese platter in our room along with a bottle of bubbly and a lovely selection of fruit.

The location of the hotel is superb and the pictures you see online are true. The location is great as you are only a 10 minute walk into the coral bay resort where you have a large selection of restaurants and bars offering great food as well as the brilliant restaurant in the hotel and the seafood grill which again is faultless.

During our stay it was my girlfriends birthday and when we had returned to our room afetr a day on the beach we were surprised to find rose petals on the bed with a bottle of cava on ice and at dinner that night the chef had made her a birthday cake.

We stayed on a B&B packag and i have to say the breakfast in the morning was of a very high quality, a great selection of fruit and continental selection as well as a help yourself carvery or should you wish omelettes poached eggs etc on request, even bucks fizz to start your morning should you wish.

We spent a lot of our time at the beach part of the hotel which had a lot of sunbeds and super service for food drinks etc whilst laying and relaxing on our sunbeds, they even come round and serve you with cold fruit kebabs whilst watching the world go by!

I would without doubt reccomend this hotel and we will certainly be going again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We just got back from a five say break in Cyprus. Our plane landed in Larnaka, so we had to drive about an hour and 45 minutes to reach the Coral Bay. Coral Bay is located just 15 minutes north west of Paphos town. The area is very touristy, mostly British tourists and caters for them with "Full English Breakfasts" & "Fish & Chips" or Karaoke nights, and the usual British pub atmosphere. The only Difference is the sun burnt Brits :). Car, motorbike and quad rentals are available in the main street as well as a stocked up supermarket.
We arrived at the hotel early and we were welcomed by the beautiful small building of the Hotel. We were over the moon and couldn't wait to check in. Our first impression of the staff was young fellow going by the name Nikolas (I think that’s how he spelt it), over the few days we spent at the Thalassa we referred to him as Antipathrus mainly because he rarely smiled at the guests and we always felt we were interrupting him (usually on the internet). The other staff at the desk Euan especially ran circles around Antipathrus and the staff around the pool were serving complimentary fruit chamomile soothing eye patches were always very forthcoming, cheery and happy to help with towels etc. Antipathrus informed us that our room will be ready in an hour served us with some fresh juice while we waited in the lobby (he also offered that we enjoy the pool – we passed).
The rooms are generally facing both sides of the bay. We checked in to room 716 and were told it’s a sunset room. The room was lovely "all you need", nicely furnished, not over done but adequate with a wonderful view of the north east part of the bay. We cracked open the door and the sound of waves crashing against the shore was amazing. The room was air-conditioned and very comfortable. Our room was cleaned everyday including the day we checked out (maybe due to the fact we paid 40 Euros for a late checkout). Our beds we also turned down for us every evening. We didn't use the well stocked mini bar as the price of the water alone was around 3 Euros (small bottle). We bought a 6 pack of 1.5 liters for 2.95 Euros.
The sunsets were AMAZING.
The hotel has a policy of no children – we were looking for a quiet break and the policy generally held except for one 7-8 y.o. German boy that arrived with his mother the day we were leaving and a teenager that was as good as gold (no other teens to go wild with).
We were able to get the well needed R&R at this beautiful gem. Mainly by the pool or down by the beach that is as good as private. We did go out exploring the Island took an off road trip to the peninsula of Akamas (we did not have a 4 X 4) all gravel route of rural and breathtaking views. We also visited the Waterfalls of Adonis that are a lovely nearby site of two waterfalls that you can refresh your selves in (it was too cold for my wife). Paphos is a 15 minute drive along the coast and the old town and fort are a lovely walk with loads of taverns, restaurants and souvenir shops.
To sum our vacation up – open your schedule and book a holiday to the Thalassa – We are already planning again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paphos
7.2 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.1 mi away
Coral Beach Hotel & Resort
7.8 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#14 of 85 in Paphos
2,291 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 85 in Paphos
2,877 reviews
9 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay

Address: Coral Bay | P.O. Box 62422, Paphos 8099, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#8 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#11 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#20 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £138 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay . Location: Quietly nestled on the Maa Peninsula, an ancient Greek archeological site and surrounded by the crystal waters of the Mediterranean, Thalassa overlooks the beautiful golden beach of the Coral Bay where the radiance of the setting sun has mesmerized guests with majestic beauty and tranquility. The property borders the Akamas National Park, an area of outstanding natural beauty, and ecological significance, which is protected by UNESCO and also encompasses the endangered turtle breeding site of Lara Bay. Lobby: The moment one enters the gracefully designed Lobby with breathtaking views, the mood set for a never to be forgotten experience. Accommodation: All rooms and suites are beautifully designed, all with sea view. Every room is as chic as it appears and includes; full marble bathroom, certain suites even include Whirlpools and personal saunas, lavish bathroom amenities, balcony, IDD cordless telephone set, internet access, satellite TV, Hi FI- DVD system, mini bar, and electronic safe to name a few. Anagenisis Spa at Thalassa is the first holistic spa in Cyprus. The spa features an array of signature treatments inspired by the four corners of the earth and from the past of ancient Greece. The spa reflects our philosophy of complete serenity and relaxation while highly qualified therapists offer personalized service focusing on the guests' individual wants and needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your SENTIDO Thalassa Coral Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalassa Boutique Hotel And Spa
Thalassa Boutique Hotel Paphos
Thalassa Hotel Paphos
Thalassa Resort Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing