We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream wedding, amazing hotel, perfect for kids, we'll be back!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aliathon Holiday Village
Ranked #27 of 86 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dream wedding, amazing hotel, perfect for kids, we'll be back!!!”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We got married at the holiday village in may 2011, and it was amazing, the wedding planner and hotel staff couldnt be more helpful, if you are looking to get married with a great hotel in the sun and perfect for the kids this is the hotel!!
The hotel was in a great location, clean and the food was really good, loads of choice every night and really tasty. We traveled with our 2 year old and 4 year old and they loved the food.
The rooms where really nice, we stayed in the fishing village which was more modern than the other part of the hotel, they where very clean and the beds where comfy which was a bonus!!
The discos and kids shows at night where great for the kids but they do repeat it every week but the kids loved it and the staff where ace.
We got married in the gardens and it was perfect, very simple and quite just as we wanted it, it was so easy to organise and the wedding planners where amazing, very helpful. The wedding advisors at the hotel where there every day so always ready to help and they organised everything for us!
The pools where good a little cold when we where there, the kids pool was perfect and it had loads of sunbeds so we didnt need to rush for them which was good.
There is an adults bar which is really relaxing and it was amazing sitting outside in the quite with the pool lights on at night.
The staff where ace allways very helpful and there to help.
A great hotel didnt want to come home, defo be returning!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jan20123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,517
    769
    238
    77
    29
See reviews for
1,884
322
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (778)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Me & my partner & our 2 children aged 5 & 3 stayed here for 2 weeks all inclusive. Our room was Superior at the Aegean side. Nice room, cleaned everyday except Sundays.
The only downside to this hol was there were only 2 beds, which we gave the children.
If you are considering booking here its definately, definately 100% worth having a delux room or appartment which are in the Fishing Village. This is where all the activity is & it really is amazing. We had a look in our friends 2 bed appt & it was outstanding.
All of the pools in the resort are very nice & kept very clean. The Splash Pool & the Lagoon are particularly good for children. Theres plenty of loungers to go around.
The Kids Clubs are great, 90 minute sessions throught the day. Our children loved it, the entertainers are fab. Lots of different activities & games.
You can pay 5euros for Chocolate parties & Sweetie Bingo which the entertainers do 21.30-23.00. Perfect if you want a quiet evening.
The food is nice in the Main Hall, lots of variety & they have a kids corner with pasta, pizza, chips, nuggets, things like that. The food is always fresh & hot. Lots of salad, fresh veg & desserts.
The Mexican restaurant is ok, I wouldn't bother going to the Greek restaurant. Very bad service, waiting ages & the food there was shocking.
The Plaza is great, particularly the Haagan Daaz Cafe- OH MY GOD, YUM YUM!!!
Lots of regular buses stop outside to all the tourist attractions. The fare is only 1 euro.
Would definately go back there, but I would pay extra & stay in the Fishing Village.

Room Tip: Appartments in the Fishing Village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelandViney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

My family of 4 kids and 4 adults stayed for 10 days in June, all inclusive. One half of our party were placed in the Aegean village while we stayed in the Fishing village. There is no doubt that the accommodation in the Fishing village is much better than the older Aegean village, which is shabby and outdated. The grounds of both villages were well kept and pretty, bars and eating areas were kept clean and tidy, especially considering the constant mess left by kids trying to serve themselves from vats of greasy mince. However the main kids pool was dirty, full of bits of trash and a greasy yellow scum line along the edge of the shallow end. Staff were friendly and attentive in the face of much piggery and stupidity from guests, and cleaners did a good job but cleanliness of the rooms could be improved - a change of bedding in 10 days would have been appreciated - large tea stain was left on the sheets for the duration of the holiday. I am by no means a fussy eater but the food was a slight issue for me personally, although the rest of our party thought it was ok. To me it was all a bit cheap and stodgy. Choice for kids consisted mainly of chips and nuggets but plenty of the parents here seemed quite happy to feed their offspring with this muck day after day. Being in the med I was expecting lots of lovely fresh veg but was faced with frozen peas and carrots mix boiled to the point of mush. Mince was cheap and greasy, choice of Greek/Cypriot dishes was minimal, and the Mexican and Greek restaurants were dire. However, I saw plenty of guests shoveling food enthusiastically into their charred red faces so I guess taste is a matter of opinion. The entertainment hall was lacking, a bare unappealing space with tacky arcade machines around one side. However the First Choice entertainment team were fantastic, and although the shows are a bit cheesy you can't help but admire the effort and hard work the team put in. Kids team were also great and there were lots of activities for both adults and kids throughout the day, creche is great for babies - please do give it a try. Beware of early morning sunbed poachers and umbrella thieves. These skanks go to the trouble of stealing the pins from umbrellas in order to claim them for themselves alone, and if you dare to leave your patch to grab a quick bite to eat or take your child to the toilet do not be surprised to find your umbrella snatched. Many guests are not content with a single umbrella and require another in order to effectively shade their beer and chips while they happily watch your children roast under the midday sun. However on the plus side the poolside is a great opportunity to admire the vast collection of crap tattoos on display. Location wise the village is in a good spot, close to the airport, waterpark within walking distance, small beach across the road, harbour and bar street a 5 min cab journey. On the whole we enjoyed our stay, the kids loved it and we would consider another holiday here.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in Fishing Village!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marley00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Myself, husband and 9 year old son stayed at the Aliathon from 4th-18th June. We also had 12 guests staying at the hotel for the wedding.
We chose the deluxe room with kids den-rooms were lovely, very clean and nice decor. Our son loved his room although was surprised to find that the ps2 in the room wouldnt play dvds unless you paid which i think was about 3 euros a day-our son only wanted to watch it on the night when he went to bed but i wasnt going to pay that. Rooms got cleaned most days. Clean towels left regularly.
The food was lovely and couldn't fault it. We are not fussy people and was happy with all the options available every day (i never went hungry and we all went back for seconds most days). Our son tried different food and enjoyed everything there. The snack bar by the pool also served food at lunch time as well as the main restaurant and that was also nice food always hot and fresh. W e went to the Greek and mexican restaurants as you get a voucher to go to both-both were lovely, we enjoyed the mexican more as we normally eat it at home and Stavros was very good and made sure we always had a drink. They held a greek night near the recpetion one saturday then the next saturday before we left was meant to be a cypriot night which was cancelled-we wasnt informed this until we aksed when we saw a weddin set up and then was informed that the owners daughter was getting married there and boy did the staff work hard to accomodate this. There were hundreds of people coming in to the village to attend mingled with all of the guests staying there. We realised why they had fixed the fountain and the lights in the gardens etc (for their wedding). Would have been nice if the fountain was fixed for our wedding but it didnt change our day being so perfect.
The entertainment was good mainly aimed at the kids although there were gameshows and bingo every night (we all won at least once)-slightly loud and sometimes you couldnt understand what some of the reps were saying. We do miss the nightly dances especially the i 5 live dance!! Also saw a great dance group who did irish dancing one week then hip hop/bur;esue the next and thought they were great.
The kids clubs were also great, our son enjoyed all of the activities he joined in with inlcluding archery, high ropes, pedal karts and the chocolate party which cost 5 euros but by the looks of the kids when they came out-it looked very good. All of the reps including the entertainement team were fantastic and worked so hard to make the kids happy.
The pools were great-so many to choose from-the kids pool with the pirate ship etc was brilliant. The spa was also lovely and myself and husband both had a massage and was worth the money. We didnt find the spa until about 4 days into the holiday-should be better signposted so people know where it is as we literally looked everywhere for it. (Its under the lighthouse).

Our wedding was amazing-our wedding co ordinator was Sandra. I was really worried about everything coming together before we got there but once we arrived there was a letter off Sandra inviting us to a meeting to talk through everything. This was where we discussed flowers, reception, wedding day details etc. There are extras that they try and get you to buy but i expected and knew that and we did upgrade our flowers to roses etc but most things i already knew i was going to do. We had our photos done by Aphrodite moments who were also fantastic and met us before the wedding and spent so much time with us-the photos are lovely and price was average and worth it. The wedding day went perfect. Our ceremony time was changed when we got the town hall but didnt matter to us was only half an hour. We got married at 5pm. We booked my hair and makeup through Sandra at first choice and was expensive compared to what other brides had told me they had paid so shop around. They also came at 12 which we thought was too early but the time i contacted her to ask her to change she couldnt change so had to stick with it but hair stayed in well. Golf buggy picked me, my dad and bridesmaid up and took us to Aphrodite gardens in the Aliathon, we chose our music and took a cd there. We held our reception at Colosseum which i have done another review on.
All in all fabulous holiday & wedding-hotel more aimed at familes-kids loved it.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrswainwright1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Lothian
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We extensively reviewed our holiday this year after a very disappointing holiday last year, so we went with the Aliathon. And aren't we glad we did!
I'll try and be as honest about everything as as I seen it - some of the gripes is just me getting old!!!
My wife and I travelled with our 2 kids aged 4 and 3 and we were allocated a room in the Aagean village.
Room - We ended up in a 1 bedroom appartment which was very spacious and comfortable. The appartment had 2 TVs which had CBeebies on both which was greatly appreciated when we were getting ready to go out. For some bizarre reason we also had BBC Scotland for a few days which allowed us to watch the Scottish Cup final! Only complaint about the room was the cups - why give you facilities to make tea/coffee then give you cups that hold barely a mouthful!
The location was good also, less than a 5 minute walk to the restaurants and a bit further from the main pool. This meant we had very little or no noise from folk returning at night or from kids during the day.

Food - The food in the main restaurant was brilliant, especially at the evening sitting. I couldn't fault the quality at all! I love my meat and would often have several different meats each night, each done in different delicious sauces. Lots of different choices including many salad options which isn't really my scene but my wife vouches that they were delicious.
Now for the wee niggles about the food. At lunchtime the choice was limited, which I can understand as there was less people using the restaurant. Sometimes at lunch alI I wanted was a roll or baguette on tuna orsome cold meat with a bit tomato. Didn't get this once whilst we were there. This is an easy option for them to do instead of having another hot dish that after coming out of the sun we could do without.
Another complaint about the main restaurant was that it appeared to not have or inadequate air conditioning. We came to the conclusion (probably wrongly) this was to clear the restaurant quicker as by our second week it was noticeably busier.
We went to the 2 A La carte restaurnants - Greek and Mexican and found them very disappointing. Service was poor at the Mexican along with the food, and at the Greek we felt the food had been lifted and transported from the main buffet. We didn't go back on our second week.
There is a snack bar next to the lighthouse. Only used this twice and limited choice but was ok.

Pools - We spent our time between various pools, initially at the kids splash pool, then at the smaller lagoon pool close to our appartments. The kids splash pool or the pirateship pool as our 2 called it, was fantastic! Our kids loved this and probably would move into the pirateship if given the opportunity. The small lagoon pool was less busy but allowed our kids some swimming time which they enjoyed. Later in the holiday we moved onto the large main pool which is massive. Towards the end of our 2 weeks there was a shortage of sunbeds arounfd this pool.

Kids Club - Fantastic!!! This is what made our holiday (along with the new friends we met Roger, Allison and Evie!). Our kids loved this, especially the 9pm til 11pm session where the entertainment took a dive (more on this later). Really cannot fault anything on this subject as we both feel if the kids are happy then it allows us parents to relax and enjoy the holiday also.

Entertainment - The kids entertainment started at 8pm and continued until 9pm. Both our kids enjoyed this. After 9pm it was bingo then a family gameshow until the main event at 10pm. This was when our kids started getting bored (until we found the kidsclub!). The 10pm show was on the whole poor, and consisted of the 4 main entertainment staff dressing up and singing. Fair enough, but the same 4 staff for 2 weeks with a different theme each night? Surely they could have brought in some variety - hypnotist, a band etc. Fair play to the entertainment team they tried and gave it their all. Anothe problem was the poor quality sound coming from the stage - don't know if it was too loud, too much echo or a combination but ourelves and other struggled with this.

Bars - Good service, alcohol was ok. Special mention to Marina in the Adult bar. Thank you!
Also special mention to the swimming lessons guys. Our kids weren't the most confident in the pool so we purchased swimming lessons. By the end of the first lesson what a change in them, so more confident! This really allowed them to enjoy the other pools.
Phew!! That was a lot!

Overall, we had a brilliant time and I wouldn't let my wee moans put anyone off.
The day we came back, we looked into going back next year but were getting quoted prices over £4k, so don't know.......
Thank-you First Choice for a great family holiday!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 16kevc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Returned home on the 20/06/11 having visited Aliathon Village for the first time. Weather was good,accomadation very clean.As an "older" couple,me and my wife like to settle down at night once fed and watered,and watch UK tv,(2100hrs onwards)sadly,no BBC 1,or Channel 5,ITV was not that good either,despite asking reception to try and fix it,they tried but couldn't do it.Maybe a need to invest in a decent satelite system for us "old folks",and others aswell i'm sure.
Food,as stated by someone else,is nice initially,but after a couple of days the toast tastes the same as the Lasagne,all the same !! Why on earth don't they send a Chef(or 2)to the UK to see what we eat and how to cook it correctly,not how the Cypriots "think" how it should be cooked.???Again its probably penny pinching.?Could do with a FREE Wi-fi area though,instead they charge,sign of the times i suppose,nothing for nothing.
The majority of the staff are very pleasant and polite,but sadly others are just very rude and ignorant,especially in the Supermarket where they treat you and talk to you like dirt,very rude people,that's my personal opinion,i treat people how i would expect to be treated by them !!
We normally go to the other side of the Island(Protaras) and we 've found it much friendlier,more choice with eating out and better beaches,BUT,despite my moans,i would go back to Aliathon but prefer Protaras.
Alan and Linda from Wolverhampton.

Room Tip: Quieter in the Aegean part of the site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanedwards842016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Just returned from a week at the aliathon and already planning to go back again!

We stayed in a standard room in the Aegean part of the hotel and I was a bit worried with some of the reviews on here but it succeeded my expectations, extremely spacious and spotlessly clean. While we preferred to use the main pools the Aegean pools are very peaceful and also have a pool bar.

The main pools were fantastic. Great pools for the kids and a massive adults only pool which really made a difference as we love to swim and it was great to have a proper pool to swim in as well as a place to relax away from the noise of the kids! If you are an adults only party you will still love this hotel as it caters really well to all age groups unlike previous hotels stayed in!

The food and drink were superb. The all inclusive variety was the best I have had. Being a vegetarian I often struggle with regards to food but thoroughly enjoyed every meal and never got bored. A visit to the Mexican and Greek restaurant is included in your stay. We visited the mexican and it was lovely with great service, it was a nice change being served as opposed to the buffet!

We travelled with Thomson and the service throughout was fantastic. The reps are fantastic and really look after you. We went to our welcome meeting and it was the best one we've been to, Gary and sam really bounce off each other and make it fun and interesting. Good service carried on right till the airport on the way home where there were loads of Thomson staff if you had any problems.

Overall this was undoubtedly the best hotel we've stayed in and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma1813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.4 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.4 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#9 of 86 in Paphos
2,773 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#29 of 86 in Paphos
879 reviews
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aliathon Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aliathon Holiday Village

Property: Aliathon Holiday Village
Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue, Paphos 8063, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Paphos
#15 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#19 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#23 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aliathon Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aliathon Holiday Village in Paphos, Cyprus is an oasis of beauty and tranquillity oriented towards families and couples interested in high quality holidays. The Aliathon Holiday Village comprises of two themed villages, the Aegean and the Fishing Village, set in an estate of 14 hectares, as well as the Aliathon Plaza collection of restaurants and bars. We are very proud of taking care of our guests in an exceptional way and we are the winners of the Gold Choice Award by TUI/First Choice UK for the best Holiday Village in the world in our category. The Aliathon Holiday Village is ideally situated in the resort of Kato Paphos, Cyprus, just 15 minutes from the Paphos International Airport and only 150 meters from the beach. The picturesque fishing harbour and the historical fort of Paphos are within a short stroll from the Aliathon Holiday Village. During your stay at the Aliathon you will be hosted in one of the 287 elegant apartments consisting of studios, one-bedroom and two-bedroom independent apartments designed using traditional Greek island architecture offering a total capacity of about 1000 guests. The rooms include amenities such as air conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, private terraces and balconies, Wi-Fi internet connection and secure parking. The rooms are set among gardens planted with orange, lemon, olive and palm trees, as well as roses, bougainvilleas, lilies and other Cyprus plantings. The Aliathon Holiday Village distinguishes itself in terms of the quality of its recreational and leisure facilities. Guests can swim in four outdoor pools, including the largest pool in Cyprus sized at 3,000 m2, and a mini waterpark (splash pool) featuring a variety of water slides which is always a great hit with the younger visitors. They also have available kids club, creche and Teenagers Club with different activities and animations. The athletic facilities at the Aliathon include two Bowling Green courts, floodlit tennis court, mini-football court, archery range, on site scuba diving, table tennis and game rooms. A unique feature of the hotel is the High Rope Park, the only one in Cyprus--where guests can try their hand at rope climbing and acrobatics, under trained supervision. The Faros Spa offers intense relaxation with a fully-equipped fitness centre that includes a steam bath, sauna, hair salon, three spa treatment rooms and an indoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi (whirlpool). The Aliathon Holiday Village provides a full range of dining options. The Holiday Village include two restaurants-a main Pantheon Buffet Restaurant and The Karnayio Snack Bar - as well as four pool bars offering a variety of snacks, drinks and cocktails. Three night bars are also available. The Aliathon Plaza located at the front of the Holiday Village and operates four of the best restaurants in Paphos, including the Aegeon Greek Restaurant, the Mezedogonia Cypriot Taverna, the Poco Loco Mexican Cantina and the "Mare e Monti" Italian Restaurant. It also offers two pubs and two bar-clubs where the Aliathon Holiday Village guests and local residents are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aliathon Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aliathon Holiday Village Hotel Paphos
Aliathon Village Paphos
Holiday Village Aliathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing