We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but worth it with toddlers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aliathon Holiday Village
Ranked #27 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2009

The facilities in this hotel were excellent for children. Lorraine (English, from Reception team) provided a first class, friendly babysitting session one night, and the Creche team were absolutely faultless, and bonded very quickly with our 2 toddlers (1 and 2 years old) enabling us to have each morning to ourselves. Our children throroughly enjoyed themselves, both with Lorraine and the Creche staff. Food was 'average' but plentiful. There were plenty of organised activities and the general cleanliness of the hotel was very good.
Minor grumbles were:
1) There were not enough parasols around the 'quieter' pools (Agean pools) - however, Reception staff were happy to steal one from a 'bagged-probably-since-7am-but-still-empty' sunbed for us and move it to our chosen spot.
2) The food started off nice (we were all inclusive) however it then took a nose-dive. For example, one morning there were brussel sprouts alongside the fried eggs, and diners were given what was quite clearly leftover wedding canapes one evening, which although was a nice thought, was also a little offensive too.
3) A large Cypriot wedding took over the entire entertainment area on Friday night and the only entertainment was a Bouncy castle round the pool area, which is firstly, not safe for kids to run around and secondly, not a very big area. On the Saturday night there was a Cypriot Cocktail party, again, in the main entertainment area, and yet again, the holiday-makers were moved to the pool area, and a cheesy kids disco was played instead of the usual entertainment. This also had a knock-on effect at breakfast time with the Cypriot wedding invititees also dining, in large groups, making it difficult to get to food and also find a highchair. We witnessed several people having problems with this too, one lady had twin toddlers and couldn't find a highchair at all.
Considering the all-inclusive price that we paid for this holiday, we were quite unhappy to 'make way' for 'other' business, in what is supposed to be a First Choice exclusive hotel during the summer, when it was clearly fully booked.
4) The Pirate pool, with all the water activity toys in it, only came on at around 11am and then went off around 4pm. It would have been better if they came on at around 9:30, when kids are usually desparate to get out and play, and the sun is still low enough for them to do so.
Aside from these points, the hotel grounds are going to be very impressive, the staff were EXTREMELY accomodating and polite, and we had a good stay - more importantly, the facilities for childcare were fantastic and could not in any way be faulted. We would like to return but perhaps on B&B next time.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnall99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,688)
There are newer reviews for Aliathon Holiday Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,497 - 2,503 of 2,688 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2009

Far exceeded our expectations. First time travelling abroad with 2 young kids under 5. Loads to do for them-especially Kids Club (reps were great), kids pool and lots of cartoons on TV!! Were offered a discount on the all-inclusive rate on arrival!! Didn't use it (not as expensive as dublin!) and got 10% discount in bars and 15% in restaurants. would highly recommend the Aegon restaurant. All the staff friendly and helpful. Worth upgrading to the Fishing Village-our room was amazing and cleaned daily. extra towels whenever you want. huge balcony with our own sun loungers and patio set. really relalxing holiday. will be booking for next year....heard they have a lot of repeat custom!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

I've just returned from a lovely relaxing break with friends and would certainly recommend the Aliathon Holiday Village.

We had a one bedroomed deluxe apartment in the fishing village (the new bit). The apartment worked out at an extra £60 for the week and was worth every penny. It was spotless, well furnished (a proper bed in the living room, microwave, toaster, kettle, hob, fridge, plenty of crockery, cooking utensils, two flat screen TVs, air con, a DVD player, powerful hairdryer, massive balcony with two sun loungers and a table and chairs!) and it was huge! We arrived on a late flight and the maid had left crackers, butter, cheese, jam and tea and coffee for us (at no extra cost). This was most welcome!!

The village itself is brilliant. Many people on here have commented that the Aegean village is poor in relation to the Fishing Village. I only saw the exterior of these apartments and they look fine, just overshadowed by being so close to such new, beautiful apartments. Regardless of what part you stay in, you can still use all the facilities. There's plenty of entertainment for adults and children alike - archery, football, free scuba diving lessons, quizzes, bingo, cabaret.. Everyone talked very highly of the activities and the staff work really hard to ensure everyone's enjoying their holiday. They also don't pester you if you don't want to join in.

We were self catering and found that there were plenty of places to eat nearby. Take advantage of the restaurants in the plaza outside the village and the discount! I'd definitely recommend the Beer Garden for a laid back cocktail, the Aegean and the Cypriot Taverna. The restaurants near the harbour are also nice but they seem to inflate the price based purely on the location.

Avoid Bar Street unless you're under 21. We took a wrong turn and thought we were in Southend! The area was summed up by the illuminated Lambrini bottle!!

Cyprus is lovely. I think it's the exchange rate that makes it seem more expensive than it is and we've been spoilt by dirt cheap holidays in the past. It's no more expensive than the UK.

I'd definitely recommend the Aliathon Holiday Village to all ages. There's plenty to do, it's in a lovely area and the staff are amazing. First class service all the way!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLonelyWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Just spent a week at Aliathon Holiday Village wth two friends and must say it was quite superb.

We were located in the Fishing Village which was very well designed and very new. The Aegeon part is certainly older and not as flash as the new part but still looks very nice.

The staff at both the apartments and First Choice were amazing and couldn't do enough for us. When we got on the coach we were given our key card and stickers with our room number which we were told to attach to our cases. We left our cases at reception and were taken on a golf buggy to our room. The porter even waited outside to make sure we got in the room ok. Twenty minutes later he turned up with all our luggage (certainly saved us having to lug it up the steps ourselves!)

We had a deluxe one bedroom apartment which was clean, spacious and light. There were two twin beds, an extra bed in the lounge and a sofa. You could easily have slept 4 adults very comfortably. We also had a big balcony with chairs, a table and two sun loungers. We were self catering so had a fridge, grill/microwave combi, hob, ketlle and toaster.

The main pool area is gorgeous and the pool is amazing. It's split into two with one side being shallow for the kids and the other being about 1.4 metres all the way.

There are plenty of activities to keep even the most active people occupied. There was stuff going on all day every day but if you just wanted to chill out by the pool there was absolutely no pressure to join in. You were free to do as much or as little as you wanted. This really is an amazing place for kids. So much to do and lots of reps to keep them amused.

We didn't actually eat at the restaurants at Aliathon mainly due to being advised that we would have to book 2 days in advance but on the main road outside the complex there are several restaurants and bars. We were given a Aliathon privilege card which gave us 10% off in the restaurants and 15% in the bars. I'd recommend the Aegeon resturant (for the souvlaki), The Wild Horse and Beer Garden (for the cocktails) and the Greek Taverna (for the Meze - except for the sausage which was nasty!)

We also went to the Harbour which is a little way away but is within walking distance if you don't mind a longish stroll. Alternatively there are buses and plenty of taxis to get you down there. There are plenty of shops and resturants and it makes for a very pleasant evening.

If you're looking to party all night then I'd go somewhere else but if you just want to chill out with great food and great cocktails or want a family holiday with plenty of fun for the kids then this place is for you!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sxcanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

First time stay at a First Choice Holiday Village. We were dreading it to be similar to Butlins abroad but were pleasantly surprised as was nothing like it. Accomodation and facilities were very good as was the choice and quality of food. The First Choice reps were excellent and our 12 year old son thoroughly enjoyed the wavelength club. We saw him for breakfast and dinner and it was almost like a holiday for us. Plenty of sunbeds, there were 4 pools including the splash pool and the main pool was huge, none of the pools were ever crowded. Rooms were clean and comfortable and staff were pleasant. Excellent service from Tunde in the main bar and the adult only bar almost empty most nights, Marina makes lovely cocktails there. Walking distance to the town centre and the harbour or €1.30 on the bus w hich is across the road from the hotel. We had excellent service in the mexican restuarant but the greek restuarant were not interested in people on the all inclusive package. This was the only poor experience of the holiday. We celebrated our wedding anniversary and the hotel kindly put a bottle of champagne, basket of fruit and a card in the room, a very nice touch. We didnt do any of the organised tours, instead we hired a jeep and done our own exploring. Overall very enjoyable and would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ustwo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2009

We stayed in the Aliathon may 7th to the 21st for our first wedding anniversary. It is the second time we have been, e stayed here last year when we got married in Paphos. we stayed in the fishing village area both times.
It's an absolutely brilliant place that I could go every single year and not get fed up. It's clean, friendly and has everything you could ask for for everybody.
My 2 kids absolutely loved kids club and and all the in2action team(Matty, Scott, Chris, Hollie, Holly, Adam, Joff, Linzi, Bouncer and just so many more). Their jobs were to keep everyone entertained who wanted to be and they were so friendly. There is always something happening whether its a quiz round the pool while relaxing(by Matty or Scott usually) or kids running round on the pool in a giant blow up ball while Matty is walking round 'arrrrring' like a pirate at the top of his voice while trying to convince people they need to join him in a game of bowls haha!
Kids club had something going off for the kids all the time, chocolate parties, mini beast spotting, high ropes, mini Olympics and for most of the two weeks we were there special visits from Barney and Bob the Builder.
Night entertainment included a kids disco where the kids would play games and learn the dances, then there wold be chuckle time where a few kids would be chosen to tell a joke or sing or dance. My son went up twice and did a joke and then the running man dance and Bob the Builder got up and joined him which he thought was brilliant!
The rooms are cleaned everyday, clean towels and pool towels. The rooms were comfortable and really spacious. We had a kids suite where the kids had their own room with a tv and ps2.
We went all inclusive and the food is great, something different with loads of choice which is great cos my kids are fussy..
I would Definitely go back every year, we said at the end of our 2 weeks that we could have easily stayed another fortnight and not get fed up. My kids were so upset on the last day and insisted on going round everywhere saying good bye and hugging the in2action folk. My daughter especially took to Chris and he got about 5 hugs(she was really gutted that she missed Scott as he was her other favourite but he wasn't around by the time we left).
I would recommend the Aliathion till blue on the face.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mellye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Never done this sort of holiday b4..dont normally do people or kids...lol..I However gotta say I just couldnt fault it in anyway..fab food, fab service,fab room,fab staff,sooo friendly, felt safe with the kids, felt comfy, felt welcome, booking for next year a.s.a.p

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank djdivaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.4 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.4 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#9 of 85 in Paphos
2,835 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#29 of 85 in Paphos
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aliathon Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aliathon Holiday Village

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue, Paphos 8063, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#15 Family Hotel in Paphos
#19 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#23 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £56 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aliathon Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aliathon Holiday Village in Paphos, Cyprus is an oasis of beauty and tranquillity oriented towards families and couples interested in high quality holidays. The Aliathon Holiday Village comprises of two themed villages, the Aegean and the Fishing Village, set in an estate of 14 hectares, as well as the Aliathon Plaza collection of restaurants and bars. We are very proud of taking care of our guests in an exceptional way and we are the winners of the Gold Choice Award by TUI/First Choice UK for the best Holiday Village in the world in our category. The Aliathon Holiday Village is ideally situated in the resort of Kato Paphos, Cyprus, just 15 minutes from the Paphos International Airport and only 150 meters from the beach. The picturesque fishing harbour and the historical fort of Paphos are within a short stroll from the Aliathon Holiday Village. During your stay at the Aliathon you will be hosted in one of the 287 elegant apartments consisting of studios, one-bedroom and two-bedroom independent apartments designed using traditional Greek island architecture offering a total capacity of about 1000 guests. The rooms include amenities such as air conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, private terraces and balconies, Wi-Fi internet connection and secure parking. The rooms are set among gardens planted with orange, lemon, olive and palm trees, as well as roses, bougainvilleas, lilies and other Cyprus plantings. The Aliathon Holiday Village distinguishes itself in terms of the quality of its recreational and leisure facilities. Guests can swim in four outdoor pools, including the largest pool in Cyprus sized at 3,000 m2, and a mini waterpark (splash pool) featuring a variety of water slides which is always a great hit with the younger visitors. They also have available kids club, creche and Teenagers Club with different activities and animations. The athletic facilities at the Aliathon include two Bowling Green courts, floodlit tennis court, mini-football court, archery range, on site scuba diving, table tennis and game rooms. A unique feature of the hotel is the High Rope Park, the only one in Cyprus--where guests can try their hand at rope climbing and acrobatics, under trained supervision. The Faros Spa offers intense relaxation with a fully-equipped fitness centre that includes a steam bath, sauna, hair salon, three spa treatment rooms and an indoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi (whirlpool). The Aliathon Holiday Village provides a full range of dining options. The Holiday Village include two restaurants-a main Pantheon Buffet Restaurant and The Karnayio Snack Bar - as well as four pool bars offering a variety of snacks, drinks and cocktails. Three night bars are also available. The Aliathon Plaza located at the front of the Holiday Village and operates four of the best restaurants in Paphos, including the Aegeon Greek Restaurant, the Mezedogonia Cypriot Taverna, the Poco Loco Mexican Cantina and the "Mare e Monti" Italian Restaurant. It also offers two pubs and two bar-clubs where the Aliathon Holiday Village guests and local residents are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aliathon Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aliathon Holiday Village Hotel Paphos
Aliathon Village Paphos
Holiday Village Aliathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing