We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Relaxing Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aliathon Holiday Village
Ranked #27 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2009

we arived on 22nd July and stayed 2 weeks, we went as Self Catering but on our first day found cyprus really expensive so decided to upgrade to All Inclusive which was definatly value for money, we went with our 16yr old son although he had a good time there was not much for him today and there didnt seem to be many teenagers there either, but it was fantastic for families with so much going on both day and night, weather was very very hot, food was great with a good variety everyday our only gripe would be that i think both my husband and i have put on at least a stone and found by the end of the holiday some clothes no longer fitted....lol, so my advice would be to take bigger clothes if you go AI !!!!!!. the entertainment team worked very hard and every single one of the reps were so friendly, nothing was too much trouble.
we stayed in the Agean side which was very good we had 2 balconies plenty of room for the 3 of us, this hotel i would definatly reccomend especially if you are going with young children. 'would we go back?' prob not but only because we found it very quiet for us & our son. but we did have a very good holiday no doubt about it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinaweena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,730)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,511 - 2,517 of 2,730 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2009

This place is excellent. Get the one gripe out of the way - it's a long walk to the harbour etc (20mins plus) but to be honest the hotel has everything you need.
* Pools are great - and fixed.
* Food is fine - plenty of variation and choice
* Rooms are great (we stayed in Fishing Village
* Entertainment team work really hard and are better than most pop idol / britain's got (no) talent rubbish - even if they aren't quite Elton John (Crazy Paul is camp enough!). Thanks Joff, Holly etc.
* Service is excellent
* Kids club is varied and optional
* Pool activities etc are plentiful but laid back so no pressure to take part
* High ropes is great (but scary - ask my wife who had to be 'rescued'!
* Weather was gorgeous
One other gripe - people reserving sunbeds - no need - not the hotels fault. Provided you pop down before breakfast you'll be fine.
Will definitely think about going back. Kids loved it and it was totally relaxing.
All inclusive is great (1st timers on that). No-one was going mad and comments re AI finishing at noon may be correct but as they don't take your wristbands you can carry on (we had dinner at 6:30pm before departure to airport.
Ignore the whingers - go for it!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chllin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We stayed at the Aliathon Holiday Village between 12 - 26 July and found the place to be much as we expected. We had a superior apartment in the Aegeon Village which I was quite apprehensive to see. I needn't have been as it was perfectly adequate for our needs, plenty of space and spotlessly clean - the only ants we saw were outside on our balcony.

The food was ok but did get very boring in the second week. We had intended to eat out a few nights in the second week but our son got taken in and was admitted to the Royal Medical Centre for 4 days which put paid to that (but that's another story). The all inclusive drinks were great - although so small you had to keep going back to the bar frequently! The two drinks per person was a pretty good idea as we never had to queue more than a couple of minutes.

The pools were brilliant. Although they did close the beach pool in the fishing village on quite a few occasions while we were there due to different reasons. The splash park was fantastic and sunbeds were easily available without having to get up at any rediculous times. We stayed by the pool in the Aegean Village for most of the second week due to convenience for our apartment and this was great as it was peaceful. The only downside to this was the trek to get food at lunchtime - a snack bar at this end of the complex would have made it perfect.

The kids club & Wavelength were really great. Both of my children did loads of activities with them. The Soccer School coaches and Chris the Swim Kids instructor worked tirelessly and were absolutely brilliant and our children loved these activities.

This is our 4th visit to First Choice Holiday Villages and they all offer something different and I would definitely recommend any of them for someone looking for an action-packed holiday with plenty to keep kids occupied.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaisieGsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We travelled with two very young children (14 month old girls) on our first 'family holiday'. As such we were nervous whether the room/food/entertainment etc would be up to scratch.
We had nothing to worry about.
The food was excellent throughout the whole stay with a great variety of different meals which suited us and the girls.
Our apartment was ideal and very clean, tidy & spacious. We had two travel cots waiting for us which were modern and most importantly clean.
We stayed in the Agean side of the complex & found the whole complex to be clean and the staff extremely helpfull & friendly. The creche & creche staff were brilliant & we felt safe leaving the girls in their care for the hour & a half each day.
The entertainment was great, yeah a couple of the acts weren't that good, but generally over the whole stay we had no complaints. The entertainment team obviously worked extremely hard.
There were some repairs being carried out on the main pool when we arrived but that appeared to get resolved before we left and didn't spoil anything for us. The kids pool is brilliant but by the end of our stay you had to be getting their before 10am treally to 'reserve' sunbeds. Not ideal but thats just reality at resorts wherever you go I think.
Overall I would have no hesitation in returning to this fantastic family orientated destination & would recommend it to people with kids of all ages. I'd definitely go there again.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
3  Thank AndyBLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

The holiday village is great staff there are great .. Staff with first choice were fab they were a credit to them . We got married in cyprus and we had a very nice excelent co-ordinator who we got to know very well and we miss her very much .. Her name was Zoe she was fab .. The food was good no complaints there rooms were clean and tidy .. we have a 2yrs old and she loved it and i'm expecting in sept we went in may !! best time to go nice and lovely people in the town and buses were great .. If i had to advise people where to go i would say there ... we are looking forward to going back in 2yrs about the same time ..

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minimouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Fantastic resort we travelled with 3 and 5 year old, who loved the place, hotel is situated probably 15min walk , 1.5 euro bus or 8 euro taxi from paphos center. We only ventured to local shops and beach ( which is ok man made small cove with watersports). If you love pool holidays much better choice for beach not the best

We stayed in the new Fishermans Village holds mainly deluxe accom (www.aliathonvillage.com), accomodation very very good the kids suite we had overlooked the main pool with large balcony, large adult bedroom with flat screen tv and dvd player. A kitchen area with fridge , hob and microwave plus storage , nice bathroom and the kidsroom with tv and playsttion , all fully air con

Agean Village older and contains standard rooms and 2 pools, the new village had brilliant kids pool for small children waterslides etc and 3 further pools (1 indoor with gym jacquzzi spa etc) football academy, high ropes, archery, water polo, bowling green, tennis, creches , playground etc etc loads to do probably for 3 to 14 yr olds

Kids clubs, creches and facilities absolutetly brilliant and in2action team especially Matty , staff really good going from 11 am ish to 11pm loads and loads of activities for all the family.

We had a great time and you can upgrade to all inclusive for 36 euros per person per day in resort. Safety deposit box uses a old style headphon jack ( the big one) to activate so save your self 3 to 4 euros a day and get the jack

Enjoy the place before First Choice work out how to market it properly !!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Uknel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

When we arrived at Paphos airport and got on the coach, we were given room numbers and labels for suitcase's. After arriving at The Holiday village we had a speedy transfer to our rooms by a Golf buggy, the porter even brings the case's up to the room. Lovely deluxe room on first impressions, but it was late and very dark. Next morning we found door frames in bedroom and bathroom damanged and bathroom door would not even lock also plug socket in bedroom to plug a baby monitor in was not working, was told by reception this would be fixed but after staying there 2 weeks nothing was done.

Swimming pool by light house was taped off as tiles were coming away, first choice and owner of hotel could not agree who had to fix it and this had been like this since Feb! so not happy when you have little children who can't swim and can't use the shallow end. I must say that last few days of holiday this was being fixed but it was going on all day and to late at night with a kangol going all the time. Also there was Human Excrement in the pool that was reported but took them day to actually remove it but pool was not cleaned.

Another thing alot of the guest were complaining about was the owner of the Holiday Village had deceided to hold his Daughters wedding and reception there so they gave us a days notice that the main restuarant , light house bar, adult bar and areas surrounding this were closed to any guests as there were three and a half thousand people expected to turn up for this. Think this was not right as we had paid to use everything and to top it off they did the same thing the following week for a family friend. They did put a kind of BBQ on for us in the entertainment area but the food was rubbish.

The main resturant was lovely and food ok but after two weeks of the same thing it got boring. Also one morning there were Ant's in the Honey and plates provided in resturant were side plates not big enough for a adult dinner. The Mexican resturant is not worth the vist the fish is slimly and the food is in sml potions and not very warm, I wanted to try the greek but after the Mexican thought better of it. My Daughter had a burger in the Mexican and this was the size of a meat ball (see photo) with a big bun.

Entertainment was rubbish and the poor staff do try hard. Holly and Joff are great very good with the kids but for the money paid for this Holiday i think first choice need to employ proper entertainment staff (butlins entertainment is more professional). Kids wavelenth staff are great my kids had a lovely time, rope climbing in day and night, Archery, Wet and wild etc etc kept them really entertained.

All in all we had a nice holiday but would not class this as a 4star, the Holiday village in Algarve is so much nicer and a standard room there is far better than a deluxe here.

At bar you can only get 2 drinks person as well.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michelle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.4 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.4 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#9 of 85 in Paphos
2,910 reviews
1.1 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#32 of 85 in Paphos
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aliathon Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aliathon Holiday Village

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue, Paphos 8063, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Paphos
#15 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#19 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#23 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £53 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aliathon Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aliathon Holiday Village in Paphos, Cyprus is an oasis of beauty and tranquillity oriented towards families and couples interested in high quality holidays. The Aliathon Holiday Village comprises of two themed villages, the Aegean and the Fishing Village, set in an estate of 14 hectares, as well as the Aliathon Plaza collection of restaurants and bars. We are very proud of taking care of our guests in an exceptional way and we are the winners of the Gold Choice Award by TUI/First Choice UK for the best Holiday Village in the world in our category. The Aliathon Holiday Village is ideally situated in the resort of Kato Paphos, Cyprus, just 15 minutes from the Paphos International Airport and only 150 meters from the beach. The picturesque fishing harbour and the historical fort of Paphos are within a short stroll from the Aliathon Holiday Village. During your stay at the Aliathon you will be hosted in one of the 287 elegant apartments consisting of studios, one-bedroom and two-bedroom independent apartments designed using traditional Greek island architecture offering a total capacity of about 1000 guests. The rooms include amenities such as air conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, private terraces and balconies, Wi-Fi internet connection and secure parking. The rooms are set among gardens planted with orange, lemon, olive and palm trees, as well as roses, bougainvilleas, lilies and other Cyprus plantings. The Aliathon Holiday Village distinguishes itself in terms of the quality of its recreational and leisure facilities. Guests can swim in four outdoor pools, including the largest pool in Cyprus sized at 3,000 m2, and a mini waterpark (splash pool) featuring a variety of water slides which is always a great hit with the younger visitors. They also have available kids club, creche and Teenagers Club with different activities and animations. The athletic facilities at the Aliathon include two Bowling Green courts, floodlit tennis court, mini-football court, archery range, on site scuba diving, table tennis and game rooms. A unique feature of the hotel is the High Rope Park, the only one in Cyprus--where guests can try their hand at rope climbing and acrobatics, under trained supervision. The Faros Spa offers intense relaxation with a fully-equipped fitness centre that includes a steam bath, sauna, hair salon, three spa treatment rooms and an indoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi (whirlpool). The Aliathon Holiday Village provides a full range of dining options. The Holiday Village include two restaurants-a main Pantheon Buffet Restaurant and The Karnayio Snack Bar - as well as four pool bars offering a variety of snacks, drinks and cocktails. Three night bars are also available. The Aliathon Plaza located at the front of the Holiday Village and operates four of the best restaurants in Paphos, including the Aegeon Greek Restaurant, the Mezedogonia Cypriot Taverna, the Poco Loco Mexican Cantina and the "Mare e Monti" Italian Restaurant. It also offers two pubs and two bar-clubs where the Aliathon Holiday Village guests and local residents are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aliathon Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aliathon Holiday Village Hotel Paphos
Aliathon Village Paphos
Holiday Village Aliathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing