We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty place with full facilities for adults and children”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aliathon Holiday Village
Ranked #24 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We stopped in a one beded deluxe apartment in the Fishing Village overlooking the "adults only pool". Magic! I dont have kids nor do I want any but if I did I would send them here to board! It was all I could do to stay out of the kids areas. There is a play area that orangutans would die for. Very clean very pretty very good holiday. 4th time to this area. Take plenty of money, it is Cyprus after all. You can get all inclusive at this site though. Expect to see a couple of weddings every week. They are not obtrusive.
Have a good time!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seeyouallsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,387 - 2,393 of 2,751 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2010

Just returned from a week All Inclusive at the Aliathon and have to say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.We really found it difficult to criticise anything about the place

Have just read some of the reviews which drew comparisons with Butlins, I commented to my partner whilst we were there that it was a bit like "Hi-Di-Hi in the sun" (we even had the lovely Welsh Amy , one ot the entertainment team,doing her best Gladys Pugh impersonation !! Sorry Amy - to be fair,the only simlilarity was that you're Welsh - you were brilliant !!).

All of these activities were centred around the main pool,and I can see why people might find them intrusive but if you wanted to avoid them you simply moved to the 2 quieter pools on the complex.

The childrens play pool was brilliant with slides and a Pirate Ship

The food was varied and tasty and luckily because of the time of year it was relatively quiet so there werent any queues at the restaurant or the bars.

Our room was spacious and comfortable,though the A/C was a bit noisy.

The Entertainment team were energetic and hard working and the kids loved them

The only negative aspect was the standard of the beaches in the resort itself - they were pants.Coral Beach was recommended to us so we took the bus there one day.Cost us a Euro each for a 20 min bus ride which was cheap.However, when we got there it just seemed a bit shabby and the sun bed and umbrella hire and was ridiculously expensive. The bar was expensive too- nearly 10 Euros for 4 soft drinks. We returned to the hotel after only 2 hours There was a municipal beach across the road from the hotel but that was even worse

We re from Swansea so maybe we are spoilt around here for beautiful beaches but they really were poor.

The main town is a air old walk but the buses ran frequently and the fare was only a Euro.I think they stopped around 11pm so you had to get a taxi back.Didn't take one so not sure of the costs.

Absolutely no complaints at all - a great time was had by all.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baters59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Having read the some of the previous reviews I wonder what some people expect from a First Choice Holiday Village. Too many football shirts and like Butlins abroad indeed! This is almost a British exclusive hotel so there are plenty who miss their football and want to watch it on the telly and accept that the entertainment is largely designed for kids. If you want peace and quiet rent a villa.

As for the number of Sun readers this was probably due to the fact that the Sun and the News of the World were available from early morning in the shop but the Daily Mail did not arrive until after lunch. However you could stay indoors all day and watch BBC2 and even BBC4 on the telly to avoid joining in the fun if you really wanted to (first time I have ever know ALL the major UK channels available that far from home by the way).

The Aliathon Holiday Village definitely supplies entertainment for children and the entertainment staff work very hard to provide it. Personally I love a lunchtime quiz although I was disappointed with the erratic timing of adult polo - all the previous hotels we have been to recently had this as a daily event.

We were initially disappointed with the location of our room in the Aegean Village but soon learnt hat this was not such a bad place to be. OK the room lacked the finish of the one we were shown in the Fishing Village but the added advantage of two LCD TVs was not worth the price of the 30 euros per day upgrade. The Aegean Village has the advantage of being near the shops and the bus stop, near the excellent pub, has a nice cooler (although more ideal for confident swimmers) swimming pool and is nearer Reception. We found it too hot in the Fishing Village with a very warm swimming pool. The Fishing Village pool was better for small children but possibly more problematic with the number of ear infections that occurred.

We enjoyed our holiday because our daughter and we made friends with some children and their parents in the room next door and she had a ball at the Razzmatazz school, took the five day swimming lessons and had a great time on the High Ropes. A holiday like this is what you make of it - it more or less delivers what it promises (maybe slightly overpriced) but ultimately we had a very good time.

As for Paphos itself. We loved the boat trips and threrfore like the harbour area. The town centre is not up to much but you can find plenty of souvenirs in the market.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank PedroandSkippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2010

Single parent with 10yr old son - 1 week in Aliathon = great holiday.
1st drop off from the airport was welcome. Check in was smooth, arrived from reception to our room in the Fishing Village with our luggage via golf buggy which was fun.

I believe i was the only single parent staying at the hotel at the time, so did feel a little self conscious, especially at meal times. Although on the whole most other guests were friendly and the staff were very courteous. Generally the hotel was really nice, clean, well maintained and looked very impressive lit up at night. The food was really good considering the variety of people to cater for, it was fresh and plentiful and fruit was always available However the air conditioning wasnt always activated at lunch which was not comfortable in 47degree heat. In the hotel bars, the red wine from Limassol was often served at >40 degrees (warmer than blood !!) so i always asked for ice. The mexican restaurant was lovely and the waiter refilled my glass without prompting. Dont bother with the Greek restaurant , the staff (bloke with ponytail) was irritatingly aloof and the menu choice very limited, the constant presence of wild cats were an annoyance to which the staff were oblivious.

We stayed allinclusive in a Deluxe Studio Apartment not up to 4 star standard. The bath had large grazes in, which was most off putting. The shower was ok and the bathroom and kitchen in all were ok. Small point but the tv remote had no back and therefore the batteries kept falling out. Overall the room was very clean, unless you looked under the sofa (dont do it) The maid came daily (Kicked us out to clean she did) one day she left a crisp outside our front door and when we returned we were inundated with ants !! Another day she failed to shut our patio doors, luckily nothing was taken and the cats didnt seem to trespass. Air conditioning was a must and it was activated constantly.

We were promised music in our room by First Choice, but there was no cd player, in the hotel manual it stated that the music was a station on the tv !! My son was disappointed with the limited tv channels, but i did remind him we were not in Cyprus to watch tv.

We had 2 single beds and the sofa had a bedsheet on it as the hotel mistakenly thought there were 2 adults and 1 child staying in our room. The beds kept sliding around the floor so we shuffled them back constantly throughout our stay.

The pools were really good, so warm, the daytime and evening entertainment was much better than Butlins, but not really my cup of tea. The First Choice staff worked tirelessly to entertain everyone, they really were brilliant and very friendly.

The beach with watersports was across the road and it was a welcome relief from the heat of the sun to feel the sea breeze. I would really recommend this holiday village for family holidays, it cannot be beaten for occupying the kids in different ways.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honeybutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We have just returned from a week at the Aliathon as it was our daughters wedding and quite agree with the review from the member from St Albans as it is very much a Butlins in the sun but at 5* prices. To be fair it was not our choice as our daughter and finace got married whilst there and was after a holiday village as they have 2 kids.
the holiday for us cost just under £2,000 for the week all inclusive and was very much overpriced for what it was. When we arrived we had a one bedroom apartment on the first floor which was dark and the view from the bedroom window was the roof of the shop we backed onto so blinds were kept drawn all day. To be fair the room was large and, despite being all inclusive, we had kitchen facilities (our daughter had a dishwasher in hers) and am sure this was part of an older hotel which was self catering. Yes, the fishing village is the place to be in so far as kids are concerned as this is where the pool activities take place and where the pirate pool is not to mention the snack bar and the main restaurant. The brochure photo's are very misleading as they show accomodation in the fishing village. When asked about upgrading they are asking for bertween 15 and 45 euro's on avrage.
On the plus side the food is excellant in the main restaurant as well as the themed mexican and greek restaurants. In the main staff are very friendly and the pools in the Ageon village are very much quieter. We were there 1-8th September and the pools in the Ageon village were quiet and NO problems getting a sun bed.
Entertainment for kids was failry good but not a lot else and, of course, bingo and quiz / karoeke to finish it off after 9pm.
For the money paid it was overpriced.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oakleyhunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Oh dear, just reading the most recent reviews on here that have been posted during our two weeks at the Aliathon……..I’m clearly going to come across as a bit of a snob, but here goes.
A previous reviewer refers to it being a hotel of two halves and it is, but in my opinion the other way round to most other reviewers. We had a huge but fairly basic room (nothing very deluxe about in to me) right at the back of the fishing village……..which is exactly where we had asked to be, so top marks to the Aliathon staff.
However, pretty early on we realised that on a day to day basis this was not really where we wanted to be. The pools in the Fishing Village have been well reviewed so far with the main point being the lack of enough loungers & parasols, no other shade and the constant music (I’m sure I heard Agadoo one day!!) along with the quizzes and bingo etc…….I was expecting a knobbly knees completion at one point. Oh and I must not forget the need to regularly close the pools to scoop out the poo (come on mums and dads get a grip)……..yes this seems to be behind all the ear infections and heavy chlorine you keep hearing about. We chose therefore to frequent the quieter pools over in the Ageon Village……..still have to be up early though. We steered well clear of the ‘entertainment’ too as this was clearly awful.
The main problem for us though stems from the virtual sole occupancy by First Choice and therefore 98% British holidaymakers. Couple this with ‘all inclusive’ drinks, wall-to-wall football coverage, popular attire of football shirts and/or England shorts, huge piles of ‘The Sun’ and ‘The News of The World’ in the local shop and I think you get the picture. I’m British through and through, I’m a northerner and a football supporter……..but I don’t want all this jammed down my neck on holiday I like to mix a bit not have Butlins in the sun.
We had a great holiday, the Aliathion Staff do very well despite their obvious horror at some of the goings on. But I would not recommend this tired and trite hotel to anyone…….there’s far too much choice at this sort of price elsewhere.

PS - oh and all the lovely cats.......why's that you ask ? Take a look in all the bushes and flower beds at all the traps and poison.......yes Rats !! They had to close the splash pool one day as a rat had been running about and was killed in the pool by one of the staff.....lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

well what can i say......this holiday was superb i travelled with my husband and 13 yr old daughter and my 7yr old son and a great time was had by all.....The kids made lots of great friends....We stayed in a delux 1 bed s/c apartment in the fishing village and it was lovely......I found it very expensive to eat out so up graded to all inclusive whilst there which worked out cheaper to do than if we had previously booked as they had a special offer on the week we got there.....but if you didnt want to upgrade for 18 euros per adult and 9 per child you could eat in the main restraunt in the evening.....which included soft drinks wine and lager with yr meal......beware if are s/c it is 2 euros for a small plastic cup of coke which is about 4 mouthfulls......thats one of my small moans but in the end didnt affect us as upgraded.......another small moan was the 10 oclock adult entertainment....the shows were very amatuer and had no sets....but must say this is not the reps thought as they all were great. its the person who wrote the scripts and thought that this was exceptable to put on.....and with this not being a cheap holiday this needs to improve to make this a 5 star holiday.....come on first choice you can do better....Back on a good note kids entertainment and staff were all superb and friendly loved them all...food was brilliant lots of choice with a carvery each night i had gammon/beef/lamb/pork/ and chicken and they were all lovely....must admit did miss a proper roast spud to go with it though.......we had no stomach bugs or ear infections from any of us which was great as usualy one of us gets something....paphos itself was a bit of a walk so do get the bus as very cheap and run every 15 mins...... All in all a quality holiday and am seriously thinking of goin back next year......as the good, far out ways the not so good.....p.s shh on the beach there is a private hotel with its own sun loungers on the beach.....we used these and no one ever questioned us.....

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amber2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.4 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.4 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#9 of 85 in Paphos
2,969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Kefalos Beach Tourist Village
1.1 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#29 of 85 in Paphos
925 reviews
0.5 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aliathon Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aliathon Holiday Village

Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue, Paphos 8063, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Paphos
#15 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#18 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#23 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £53 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aliathon Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aliathon Holiday Village in Paphos, Cyprus is an oasis of beauty and tranquillity oriented towards families and couples interested in high quality holidays. The Aliathon Holiday Village comprises of two themed villages, the Aegean and the Fishing Village, set in an estate of 14 hectares, as well as the Aliathon Plaza collection of restaurants and bars. We are very proud of taking care of our guests in an exceptional way and we are the winners of the Gold Choice Award by TUI/First Choice UK for the best Holiday Village in the world in our category. The Aliathon Holiday Village is ideally situated in the resort of Kato Paphos, Cyprus, just 15 minutes from the Paphos International Airport and only 150 meters from the beach. The picturesque fishing harbour and the historical fort of Paphos are within a short stroll from the Aliathon Holiday Village. During your stay at the Aliathon you will be hosted in one of the 287 elegant apartments consisting of studios, one-bedroom and two-bedroom independent apartments designed using traditional Greek island architecture offering a total capacity of about 1000 guests. The rooms include amenities such as air conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, private terraces and balconies, Wi-Fi internet connection and secure parking. The rooms are set among gardens planted with orange, lemon, olive and palm trees, as well as roses, bougainvilleas, lilies and other Cyprus plantings. The Aliathon Holiday Village distinguishes itself in terms of the quality of its recreational and leisure facilities. Guests can swim in four outdoor pools, including the largest pool in Cyprus sized at 3,000 m2, and a mini waterpark (splash pool) featuring a variety of water slides which is always a great hit with the younger visitors. They also have available kids club, creche and Teenagers Club with different activities and animations. The athletic facilities at the Aliathon include two Bowling Green courts, floodlit tennis court, mini-football court, archery range, on site scuba diving, table tennis and game rooms. A unique feature of the hotel is the High Rope Park, the only one in Cyprus--where guests can try their hand at rope climbing and acrobatics, under trained supervision. The Faros Spa offers intense relaxation with a fully-equipped fitness centre that includes a steam bath, sauna, hair salon, three spa treatment rooms and an indoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi (whirlpool). The Aliathon Holiday Village provides a full range of dining options. The Holiday Village include two restaurants-a main Pantheon Buffet Restaurant and The Karnayio Snack Bar - as well as four pool bars offering a variety of snacks, drinks and cocktails. Three night bars are also available. The Aliathon Plaza located at the front of the Holiday Village and operates four of the best restaurants in Paphos, including the Aegeon Greek Restaurant, the Mezedogonia Cypriot Taverna, the Poco Loco Mexican Cantina and the "Mare e Monti" Italian Restaurant. It also offers two pubs and two bar-clubs where the Aliathon Holiday Village guests and local residents are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aliathon Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aliathon Holiday Village Hotel Paphos
Aliathon Village Paphos
Holiday Village Aliathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing