We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as good as last year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aliathon Holiday Village
Ranked #25 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“not as good as last year”
Reviewed 14 November 2010

having stayed here in april 2009 we had no hesitation in booking again,however we did not expect to find things had gone down hill.furnishings arond the pool areas were in poor condition and very dirty. staff lacklustre (not everyone but most)and it appears the most popular staff marina , diane and the freindly bar manager have all left or been forced to leave.only frozen or tinned vegetables in the restaurant and limited fresh fruit apple, satsuma and pear.overall it is not what i would expect from a 4 star hotel maybe it should be regraded as a 3 star facility.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamlordlucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,474
    742
    233
    74
    29
See reviews for
1,813
321
5
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (765)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2010

What can i say. This has been the best wedding i have ever had. Starting with the staff and reception.. The staff are all very polite, helpful and seem to really enjoy their job. The reception is open 24hrs and are always very fast at answering the phone (yuou have a phone in your room). The facilities are brilliant. We stayed in the older Aegena part but tbh we actually preferred that to the newer fishing village, which was very very busy. The food is absolutely perfect too, lots of choice, always hot and coked well. My 3 kids loved the food too and there was lots of choice and changed on a daily basis. The only gripe is when you venture out of the holiday village as the supermarket in particular just outside is pathetically expensive (cheap plastic snorkel £17)

All in all we had a brilliant time and will be going again next year (which is a first for me)

The weather was also 26-28 degrees everyday and thats november!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthewprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

I agree with other reviewers that is probably not a couples' resort as it is primarily geared towards those with children. We stayed self-catering in the Aegean Village

Good points:
The apartment, although dated, was clean and spacious.
Friendly staff (except in the Aegean restaurant).
Nice pools (although too cold to swim in!).
Close to lots of good restaurants (recommend the Meating Place for friendly service and lovely Greek food).

Bad points:
The bed was hard as a rock! Sleeping on the floor would have been more comfortable.
The maid kept coming at 10am, even though it was clear we were only just getting up. Consequently our room didn't get cleaned for a few days.
We had a lot of noise come from both the entertainment (which we didn't attend) and the restaurants that were close to us.
We mostly ate at restaurants away from the Village, but decided to try the Aegean one night. Although the food was nice, the service was awful. Very rude staff who seemed to ignore us in favour of all-inclusive guests.

Not a bad point as such, but the centre of Paphos is about a 30 minute walk away. This is not a problem for two fit people, but it could talk a lot longer if you were dragging kids as well.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawgirl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Principality
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2010

I wouldn't like you to get the impression that this was a bad place to stay. Cyprus is a beautiful country, the people are friendly and the weather was perfect.
If you are a cat lover Aliathon is the place for you. If you enjoy walking back to your breakfast table bearing a plate of eggs and bacon only to find a cat occupying your seat look no further. If the sight of a small bird being c arried off struggling in the mouth of a feline predator book now. The ironic thing is that the site rules and regs say that pets are not permitted " for hygiene reasons". Daft innit!!
The other let down was the fact that beer was dispensed in what could only be described as tumblers. Now I know this was only Greek beer and perhaps given the quality of the brew one could interpret this as a kindness. I don't know about you but I like a pint in my hand, not a little cissy glass half full of... well the word gnat's springs to mind.
Other than this - no complaints - Oh, one other thing take no notice of the times given for getting around. It would taake a good middle distance runner to get into Pathos in the 15 minutes quoted and Lewis Hamilton couldn't get you to the Tombs of the Kings in less than twenty minutes

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backtofront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2010

The holiday village was ( New Fishing Village Part) apartments clean, well fitted out and the pool view and balcony, lovely. The older part of the village needs updating urgently. We stayed in the new part in the fishing village, we travelled with my sister and her husband. First Choice Travel Agents need to visit this place to see that it is NOT!!! for adults without children. Everything is geared up for children from morning to night 11pm.
Night time shows crap, Nothing going on in the adult only bar, in the entertainment area, if you can call it that, the sound system needs replacing as do the performers they were more than useless I would say absolutley hopeless. (Kids seemed to like them, in between screaming and running a muck). You could not hear what was being said, sung or trying to be sung. Food in the village was good, and selection not bad but it was never hot, only luke warm, by the time you reached your table it was cold. Service in the restaurant was good, tables cleared very, very quickly, don't leave anything!!!! for a second or its gone. Rep, didn't even tell us much at the welcome meeting, to much of a hurry to have her breakfast, think she had had one too many!! of those, any trips she told you about, there was no motivation or interest, we hired a car and did our own thing. We even went as far as to go to the Thompson Gold Hotel, near Coral Bay for our evening entertainment, perhaps you should visit there to see how it SHOULD !!!! BE DONE!!!.
Last thing, if you have kids (It Is good for them play area's great), stay in the new part, don't mind cold food, and don't mind not being able to hear the entertainment staff, then it's a great holiday. I would only recommend this holiday village to people who have children from 9 years downwards, no teenagers catered for either.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DERBY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

i booked this trip in july 2009 as part of a wedding package when we booked this i explained to the travel agents my requests.... as noted below.

1. as we were getting married we wanted all our family located close by... we were told no problem what so ever and that it was all sorted... when arriving all wedding party was together on the premises apart from the bride and groom and they wernt able to change us rooms etc. 1st downside

2. we were told we could get married in the evening at the town hall but when meeting our wedding co ordinater in cyprus we were told under no circumstances do the town hall marry in the afternoons it was only in the resorts that do this but after we kicked off a little they apparently pulled some strings but i personaly think they want all the town hall weddings in the mornings so the reps can get the afternoon off.

3. there was a list as long as my arm what we was promised will be sorted when arriving in cyrpus but after arriving most things wasnt possible ...but as being someone that didnt want all this to ruin the 1year waiting

overall the hotel was lovely the staff was nice and helpful

THE BIG LET DOWN TO THIS WAS THE NIGHT TIME ENTERTAINMENT BIG TIME AND FOR THAT REASON I WOULDNT RETURN TO THIS COMPLEXUNLESS THEY CHANGED IT.

we have a two and a half year old who loved the pools etc and joined in but at night there wasnt a mini disco or anything worth watching

food was nice lots of choice nott the bext all inc i have been to but ok if your prepeared to venture out at night or be in bed for 7 LOL... HOPE THIS HELPS

ALSO THE WEATHER WAS HOT THE FIRST WEEK 29TH SEPT TO 13TH OCT BUT THE 2ND WEEK WAS RAINTY CLOUDTY ETC BIT OF A NOTHER LET DOWN

ENJOY XX

THE REASON ID RECOMMEND TO A FRIEND IS BECAUSE LOVELY APART FROM ENTERTAINMENT SORT IT 1ST CHOICE

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller1987Derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2010

We have just come back from a fortnight in the aliathon myself and husband got married there...... Everything was perfect... The staff couldn't do enough for you. The hotel itself was spotless with people cleaning constantly. Whoever says the food was English must have spent all the mealtimes at the snack bar. In the main restaurant there was a wide choice of different things everyday.
The reps were amazing.....especially Lynsey Dave and Rich. My son learnt to swim there as well big thanks to Kirsty...... So all in all a fantastic time had all round.... Some people just like to whinge about anything see you next year Aliathon :-)

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire_Bridgend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.4 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.4 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#9 of 88 in Paphos
2,657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#28 of 88 in Paphos
849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Paphinia Sea View Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aliathon Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aliathon Holiday Village

Property: Aliathon Holiday Village
Address: Theas Afroditis Avenue, Paphos 8063, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#15 Family Hotel in Paphos
#19 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#23 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aliathon Holiday Village 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aliathon Holiday Village in Paphos, Cyprus is an oasis of beauty and tranquillity oriented towards families and couples interested in high quality holidays. The Aliathon Holiday Village comprises of two themed villages, the Aegean and the Fishing Village, set in an estate of 14 hectares, as well as the Aliathon Plaza collection of restaurants and bars. We are very proud of taking care of our guests in an exceptional way and we are the winners of the Gold Choice Award by TUI/First Choice UK for the best Holiday Village in the world in our category. The Aliathon Holiday Village is ideally situated in the resort of Kato Paphos, Cyprus, just 15 minutes from the Paphos International Airport and only 150 meters from the beach. The picturesque fishing harbour and the historical fort of Paphos are within a short stroll from the Aliathon Holiday Village. During your stay at the Aliathon you will be hosted in one of the 287 elegant apartments consisting of studios, one-bedroom and two-bedroom independent apartments designed using traditional Greek island architecture offering a total capacity of about 1000 guests. The rooms include amenities such as air conditioning, fully-equipped kitchens, private terraces and balconies, Wi-Fi internet connection and secure parking. The rooms are set among gardens planted with orange, lemon, olive and palm trees, as well as roses, bougainvilleas, lilies and other Cyprus plantings. The Aliathon Holiday Village distinguishes itself in terms of the quality of its recreational and leisure facilities. Guests can swim in four outdoor pools, including the largest pool in Cyprus sized at 3,000 m2, and a mini waterpark (splash pool) featuring a variety of water slides which is always a great hit with the younger visitors. They also have available kids club, creche and Teenagers Club with different activities and animations. The athletic facilities at the Aliathon include two Bowling Green courts, floodlit tennis court, mini-football court, archery range, on site scuba diving, table tennis and game rooms. A unique feature of the hotel is the High Rope Park, the only one in Cyprus--where guests can try their hand at rope climbing and acrobatics, under trained supervision. The Faros Spa offers intense relaxation with a fully-equipped fitness centre that includes a steam bath, sauna, hair salon, three spa treatment rooms and an indoor swimming pool with Jacuzzi (whirlpool). The Aliathon Holiday Village provides a full range of dining options. The Holiday Village include two restaurants-a main Pantheon Buffet Restaurant and The Karnayio Snack Bar - as well as four pool bars offering a variety of snacks, drinks and cocktails. Three night bars are also available. The Aliathon Plaza located at the front of the Holiday Village and operates four of the best restaurants in Paphos, including the Aegeon Greek Restaurant, the Mezedogonia Cypriot Taverna, the Poco Loco Mexican Cantina and the "Mare e Monti" Italian Restaurant. It also offers two pubs and two bar-clubs where the Aliathon Holiday Village guests and local residents are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Aliathon Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aliathon Holiday Village Hotel Paphos
Aliathon Village Paphos
Holiday Village Aliathon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing