We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The entertainment was the best!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aqua Sol Holiday Village
Ranked #56 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The entertainment was the best!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

I got back from the aqua sol hotel last night and i already want to go back. Everything was very good but the entertainment and the team was by far the best!! Alex, Kiki and Kathy, Kathy was an amazing dancer and all the kids loved her. happytraveller201 said that Alex was miserable and he was far from it he was unbelievably funny and even gave me a nickname (Hannah Montana):) i know everyone is in titled to their own opinion but i felt strongly against that particular review. Alex along with Kiki made the day time and night time entertainment for me so fun!! They all work such long hours and if Kiki was just in it for the tan i doubt she would have been as committed as the night entertainment as she was during the day!! She was an amazing dancer as well as Pilates and Aerobics trainer. I am gonna miss the team so much:)

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    290
    154
    71
    47
See reviews for
565
150
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I have been as honest as possible with this review and wish I had taken notice of some of the negative reviews from last year ,( which were added after I had booked)
We arrived home on 14th August and have been contemplating whether to write this review.Usually when you get home you forgot all those annoying things and think 'well maybe it wasn't that bad' but unfortunately in this case it is.We arrived to be put in rooms that needed updating,curtains hanging off rail and generally old.Our son's bed was a put u up which was on the floor.The smell of sewage outside the door was terrible.We asked to be moved and were told to come back next day to see what was available.Next day offered new rooms which were in a slightly better location but still needed updating.Views were blocked by a tree.We were also given a camp bed for my son,old and rusty, but at least on legs and off the floor.A positive on arrival was a bowl of fruit and a bottle of water in the fridge.Rooms are a good size with plenty of storage for clothes and the air con is very good,Bonus that its in bedroom and living room.
We arrived on the first night just in time for dinner.We went to the restaurant where it seemed very disorganised,no-one to guide you and tell you how things worked.A lovely waitress,called Christina,could see we were a bit puzzled so came over to help us.We had found a table outside the restaurant, for 8 of us but this was also where the evening entertainment is held.She told us that it was fine to eat here but we would have to get our own cutlery,drinks etc!!.Childrens meals also had to be ordered once you were seated.Very limited choice of two meals.Outside the restaurant the 14 day rotation of meals was displayed,with each days menu shown in more detail on the day.Unfortunately towards the end of our first week this was changed to a 7 day rotation,meaning we had exactly the same meals to look forward on our second week!!The Thomas Cook Rep explained that this was because the hotel was struggling with the amount of people staying in the hotel so were having to reduce the variety of food.She also tried to tell us that this is standard procedure in all hotels in Cyprus during August.We have visited many hotels In Cyprus for the last 10 years and this has never been the case anywhere else.Food in general very average with little variety.Food at snack bar better if you didn't mind waiting for over an hour for your order.
Special mention to Christina and Daniela,in the restaurant,always cheerful and happy to stop for a chat.
Drink -,Good variety of cocktails for an all inclusive and 4 beers to choose from.They seemed to run out of basic mixers on a regular basis.Bar staff worked hard but most nights only two serving,leading to queues of 20-25 mins.
Entertainment-Not enough different activities during the day.Didn't really cater for children age 10-12.Maybe adding some games around the pool would liven things up a bit,Kathy,who ran the kids club was lovely and worked hard to keep the younger ones entertained.
Evening entertainment if you can call it that,was terrible.Same stuff repeated on 2nd week.A few
good outside entertainers coming in would make a lot of difference.
Manager does his best to put any problems right but Thomas Cook should take more responsibility in making sure that hotels that they are saying are 4 star in their brochure can actually provide the standard expected of the rating.(for next year they are showing the hotel as a 3 star,which says it all really).
Its a shame that there were problems because the setting of the hotel is great.Lovely pool areas,great views of the sea and a lovely waterpark.They have lifeguards in the waterpark but it would be more beneficial if they actually did their job rather than chatting to each other or texting on their phones.
To get to Coral Bay,where there are a mix of bars,shops and restaurants,you do have to go up a steep hill.I have a bad back and managed it but think it would be difficult if you have mobility problems.Paphos Harbour is lovely but recommend getting the bus before 8pm as they get very busy.
Recommend the Captains BBQ,half day trip on the WaveDancer but book at the harbour as you get a better deal there.
Another great day out is Georges Funbus (check out reviews on here),we have been twice and enjoyed it just as much the second time.Book direct with George via his website before you travel.
I am currently awaiting a reply from Thomas cook on the issues raised here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyfamily5London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford Haven Pembrokeshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Came back a few weeks ago, what an amazing hotel, okay the rooms where a bit dated but you are not in your rooms much! Went with my husband and my daughter who is 12. Food was good, but there could be more selection. The Chinese night was the best! The staff were very friendly. Especially Michael, who one night did break and it was amazing, but the best of all were the entertainment team. There were only three of them, Chloe (kiki) who came in everyday and every night, she was brilliant and Alex was the best and he was so good with kids and he made everyone laugh. Casey who was in the kids club was very good as well. People who say the entertainment team were horrible, they are just looking for something to moan about, don't listen to them! There is a good chance we will be returning to this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waterpolosophie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Just come back from two weeks at the aqua sol, what a major disappointment, there is no way this is a 4 star resort. Food in main restaurant was of a very poor standard, has to endure themed nights which were an insult to the country they we're trying to represent. Kids buffet was cold most nights and usually consisted of nuggets, chips and a nasty pasta dish, one night even the waitress apologised for suggesting dishes previously as she then tried them and said they were disgusting. The poolside bar had a limited choice of food but at least it was freshly cooked. Room was basic and shabby and my partner has to sleep on a bed on the floor with a very thin mattress, only good thing was the air conditioning which one one day decided to flood the room! Main pool has a scum line around it which someone has written 'clean me' on it. Toilets smelt of urine and were disgusting so I wouldn't use them. The only plus side was the waterpark, which my son enjoyed, had to queue to get in at 10am for sun beds, had many queue jumpers which weren't English, and towards the end of the holiday towels were appearing on sunbeds before the gate had been unlocked. Also i will praise the staff who were worked very hard and were very friendly, sadly this doesn't make up for everything else that is wrong with the place. Basically is you have paid a lot of money to go here as we did and you expect a 4 star luxury resort you will be sadly disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jjot2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We came back from the Aqua Sol Village in Cyprus at the end of July. My husband and I went with our 2 children aged 5 and 7. We had a fantastic and relaxing time. The hotel setting is lovely, the restaurant/bar overlooks the pool with beautiful views out to sea. There are 4 pools (2 small) including an indoor pool which was empty most of the time (if you want to get a few lengths in). The water park was brilliant and my kids loved it there, never any queues for the slides which was nice. As usual on hols had to get towels out by 10am for a sun-bed. Food was okay, typical pile it high all inclusive buffet food but plenty of choice and we all enjoyed what we ate, nice touch to be able to help yourself to a glass of wine with lunch and dinner and kids could help themselves to coke or fanta. I was a little disappointed with our room when we first arrived if I'm honest. I was expecting something more for 4 star but it was a large apartment with 2 rooms and a large balcony which we ended up quite liking. I wasn't very impressed with the wooden sofa-bed/pull out mattress bed that the kids had to sleep on but it didn't seem to bother them too much. The air-con worked quite well thank goodness as temperatures were reaching 40 degrees!! Everywhere was spotless, very clean and the staff were all really lovely and friendly. It was close to a small strip of shops and restaurants (up a very steep hill). I am considering going back next year but my husband wants to try somewhere different.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Just returned fron the Aqua Sol had a great time . Food was good ,hot and plentyful .For all those that moan about the food we must remember when dining abroad not everyone cooks food the same way that we do if you want English food then stay at home . Over all this Complex was clean just the filters and gulley around the main pool could of done with a jet wash .The water park is brilliant . We had our 14yr old grandson with us and he loved the slides and lazy river Remember to pack your beach towels as the Aqua Sol do not provide towels for round the pool. All the staff were friendly and helpful ensuring that we had a relaxed and enjoyable Holiday .
The entertainment staff worked very hard organising games for adults and children during the day and entertained us in the evening .Kiki Jeff still hasn,t washed his cheek where you Kissed him .We met some lovely people and had a great time and supprise supprise we landed at mid night and home by one and Jeff still up Monday morning at 05.30 am for work just wish it was to put the towels on our sun beds .
The hill outside the Aqua Sol is very steep so not good for people with mobility problems.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

Our holiday at the Aqua Sol Holiday Village was a good one!
The overall cleanliness of the hotel was good, from the pools to the rooms... the food was the one thing that let the holiday down, there could have been a better variety - especially for children (chips every night!) The aqua park was 10/10. It was an amazing facility, kept the kids occupied throughout the holiday, with 4 fun water slides and a water park and pool too - there were also sunbeds in the area. Also, the Aqua Park was a 30 second walk from the main pool. There are always lifeguards around watching everyone of all ages! A lazy river too!
As usual, you do have to get up very early if you would like a choice in sunbeds.. i got up at 7 and just about got a choice! All staff are friendly and up for a chat when one is being seeked.. one bad thing is that the queues for the bar at day and at night are almost always long.
The food at the snack bar is very good, however during lunch the wait for food can be up to 45 minutes at times.. but waiters like to keep ontop of things.. and are friendly!
Kids club is great for the kids and keeps them occupied throughout the day, Cathy is a great rep and is hard-working and great with the kids! The entertainment team is amazing, especially Alex and Kiki - they are great and run activities for everyone of all ages; all day. Water Polo and water Volleyball being the best in my opinion! With Cathy as well working with the kids and always being happy, all reps: kiki, alex and cathy always have a smile on their faces!
The evening entertainment is also good with kiki doing the kids mini disco which is popular. and Alex's bingo which is always a right laugh (6-0000000/ 33 Fish and Chips/ On its own number 12). Waiting staff from breakfast to dinner are all friendly! A special mention to Christina who always smiled and was happy as well as polite! Definitely the best! Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: sea view are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.4 mi away
Neptune Hotel Apts.
Neptune Hotel Apts.
#48 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.5 mi away
Theo Sunset Bay Holiday Village
1.4 mi away
Corallia Beach Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Laura Beach Hotel
Laura Beach Hotel
#34 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ascos Coral Beach Hotel
1.4 mi away
Vrachia Beach Resort
Vrachia Beach Resort
#39 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Sol Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Sol Holiday Village

Property: Aqua Sol Holiday Village
Address: 15 Ascos Street | Coral Bay, Paphos 8106, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#41 Family Hotel in Paphos
#42 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Sol Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bobbing along the lazy river, hurtling down one of the multi-slides or splashing around with the kids, the brand new on-site and complimentary water park is sure to make this already popular all-inclusive hotel a massive hit with families and couples alike. Set on its own stretch of sand-and-shingle beach with studios and apartments to cater for all family sizes, you’re sure to have a fantastic stay. Location: In the Coral Bay area, on an incline; directly on a rock/ shingle beach; 1.5km from Coral Beach; 500m from Coral Bay’s resort centre; 12km from the resort centre of Paphos. Features: Two outdoor swimming pools; on-site water park (six waterslides and a lazy river) sun terraces with sun loungers and parasols; indoor swimming pool; buffet restaurant serving local and international cuisine; pool snack bar offering pizza and pasta in the evening; reception. Activities: Tennis; sauna; disco club; entertainment program usually including theme nights and Cypriot night. All Inclusive guests: see All Inclusive option for free activities and entertainment. For Children: Own pool. Accomodation: Studios and one bedroom apartments (sleeping up to 4 adults) have air conditioning, TV, kitchenette with fridge, oven, cooking rings, kettle and toaster, bathroom and balcony or terrace. Studios with side sea view, Superior studios, 1 bedroom apartments with side sea view and Superior 1 bedroom apartments are all available at a supplement. Official Rating: A class, 149 rooms. Please note: due to the number of steps around the complex and the steep location, these apartments are not recommended for those with walking difficulties. FEATURES•Free Access to on site water park, Own section of beach• Water slides• Lazy River• Mini Slide• Aqua Bow• Squirting Frog and Whale• Water Shooter• Jungle Aqua Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqua Sol Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Sol Holiday Village Hotel Paphos
Aqua Sol Tourist Village Paphos
Aqua Sol Village Cyprus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing