We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Resorts Horizon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown Resorts Horizon
Ranked #64 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice but average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2009

My partner and I stayed at this hotel at the beginning of July for a week. I can say that we found this hotel to be more convenient then comfortable.

Th hotel itself Is in a brilliant location and couldn't be closer to the Coral bay strip then if you tried. For those that have not been to Coral Bay it is just a small collection of restaurants and shops on one road. Its not the best place for nightlife or choice of shops but there is a bus that goes th paphos frequently for €1.50 one way. There is a beach which is suposed to be the best in the area and is pleasant and small but is no caribbean beach.

The Layout of the hotel is bigger then what we had thought. There are two separate buildings to this hotel with 3 floors. The lobby area is nice and moden and the hotel is air conditioned throughout. One thing i did notice is how clean this hotel and gardens were but unfortunately did not continue in our room.

Our room was very basic with nothing special about it. I can say that if you can afford a sea view room then its well worth going for as many of the balconies face another balcony which make it easy to see into each others rooms.
I must say that our room did not exactly meet the standard of a 4* hotel. Our shower fixtures were broken so we couldn't use it unless we held it. The shower curtain looked like it had not been cleaned in a while and had yellow stains at the bottom of it.
The minibar was locked and can only get it unlocked from reception with proof that its for medicine or baby food and nothing else. But the thing we found worst of all was the beds. I noticed stains and dried on food on the covers, which to me obviously shows these are not cleaned each time new guests stay. The beds were also really hard and uncomfortable. It gave my partner pins and neddles. Reviews on here have also commented on this problem so i hope people like hard beds when booking this hotel.

We only stayed as bed and breakfast and ventured out during the day and evenings to try other restaurants but there is a choice to change to all inclusive while your there.
However the breakfast was average and once again a few things that you would expect from a 4* hotel that they lacked. For example, orange Juice was actually orange squash and hash browns were potato croquettes. The tables have something called a table tidy to put rubbish in which is a good idea i suposse but not with all the previous peoples rubbish there from before. I think that the decor and tables in the restaurant could do with improving a great deal as some 3* have been better then this hotel. I must admit it was a let down to pictures i have previously seen before.
There was one person running the breakfast room who seemed to be there most days. We had to wait to be seated and from way across the room you can here "MORNING, this little man with a tone of voice that sounded as if we were wrong to be there and how dare we come down to eat. He never smiled and was so serious it was quite scary.
Saying that the staff at the hotel were all quite misserable apart from the odd few. Hardly anyone smilled and it seemed to be such a chore if you asked for anything. If you ever get the pleasure of meeting the manager then i feel sorry for you.
We went to this hotel for a day the previous year and was shocked by how rude he was to guests and once again this year we saw him shouting at a staff member for something right in front of a queue of checking in guests. Come to think about it no wonder his staff are always looking miserable with a manger like that. Just hope you Don't meet him.

The hotel had a outdoor pool that was maintained and always clean. It had a childrens pool and another bigger pool with a swim up pool bar with stools. This seemed to be really popular and i can see why as the weather was soooo hot. Expect to pay hotel prices though. The pool is suited for children as there is no deep end and it did lack a little imagination but it was still great. I especially liked the Jacuzzi area :).

There are sunbeds around the pool and in the garden a few meters away but i advise to get there early and get one as they go very quickly.
The hotel also has a games room, indoor pool and a gym but we did not use these facilities while we were there. We did not spend much time in the evenings at the hotel so we didn't see much of the entatainment but for the few occasions we did i actually thought it was quite good. There have been reviews saying this was the hotels let down but i would disagree. We saw african dancers doing tricks and interacting with the audience and it was spectacular to see. Yes something less interesting like bingo was on one of the evenings but enough people were playing so i guess its just peoples different tastes.
Over all we can say that this hotel was average and nothing special. I would consider coming back as the location was perfect and the pool was great. I also think we made the right choice for ourselves to go bed and breakfast as the food was not what we expected. The hotel has been put as a 4* hotel but It's more like a 3*. Hopefully they can recterfy the few problems mentioned and it would be a delight to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank curlyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    560
    377
    159
    118
See reviews for
448
720
81
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (499)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

Just back from a week at the hotel and have to say that the food and drinks could have been better. We were all inclusie and have to say the lunchtime food has a lot to be desired. Again the drinks at night were poor as the diet coke was totally flat and they continually ran out of ice.
Staff at hotel were first class and the pool area was lovely although could be cleaned more often.
I wish I had gone to the Mayfair Hotel in Paphos reading the reviews as this was a toss up between the Crowne and the Mayfair before we decided on this hotel, I would go with the Mayfair if going back to Cyprus.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markbStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

GOOD
Hotel - very nice entrance area, reception staff helpful , bar staff friendly , restaurant staff efficient, rooms were a decent size for 2 people.
Location - Superb... 2 minutes from main area of Coral Bay with bars & restaurants if you are half board. 2.50 euros for a pint of Keo ( local beer ) . 10.99 euros for 3 course meals in a nice restaurant. 8.95 euros for most meals of decent quality.
... 10 mins stroll to a lovely sandy beach. 7.50 euros for 2 beds and umbrella. Water sports seemed to me expensive banana boat 10 euros per person, most other rides were more expensive
---1.5 euro bus ride to Pahos Harbour
Pool - Superb pool , clean and cooling as the weather gets rather hot. Plenty of comfortable loungers still available at 10.00am. If you need a quieter area sun loungers are in the garden 20 paces from the pool. Swim up bar open till 6.00pm.
Food - 9/10 , themed night every night...oriental , mediterranean , Greek etc. I am a fussy eater but always found something very nice and hardly touched a chip all holiday as the variation of potatoes and rice were excellent.
All inclusive- You do get the cheaper beers and spirits but they were fine , I just made sure that there was more spirit than mixer.
BAD
Entertainment - as you expect with All Inclusive there is no need to tempt you to stay in as the more you drink the more it costs the hotel. Bingo , Karaoke , Music Quiz, Parrots, Duo , Dancers...you get the idea. So went into centre and watched Robbie Williams who was very good.
Rooms - 3 different rooms during 7 day break.....room 345 above the rear of the kitchens not a pleasant smell from the waste food skip. Couldn't sit on the balcony. I assume any room around there would have same problem......Room 377 top floor Garden annexe right under the main air con unit for the hotel. Impossible to sleep at night.....eventually room 214 sea view over looking pool at no extra charge...superb... if you can afford the extra, upgrade to the sea view rooms.
OVERALL
We had an excellent stay, met some very nice people, would recommend this hotel and would go back armed with the info outlined above

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D/DEE SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

We have been going to the Crown for the last 3 years and each time it has been brilliant!!!.
This year we were out in Cyprus to get married at Zucchini's which was amazing!!!!, but we stayed at the Crown with 13 of our family, and everyone loved it!!!!.
Location wise its ideal for the couple or family who just want to relax and watch life drift by, the entertainment was not great all the time but it is what YOU make of it as well!!!!!.
The strip runs right out side the grounds of the hotel where you can find a varied choice of dining and an amicable selection of tavernas!!!!!.
Food at the hotel is fine but it is buffet food after all, and once you are into your second week you will find that the menu will be a repeat of the previous week!!!!.
there is a good selection though.
Activities, there were 2 great girls Rennie and Nicki, we had a blast with them, always looking for people to join in with Archery which i wasnt very good at, Darts, which i wasnt very good at,Table Tennis which i wasnt very good at!!!!!French bowls which i was not bad at but Shuffle Board thats my Bag!!!!!! oh and dont forget Waterpolo which the girls love been pushed into the pool at the end!!!!!!!(only joking).
Now for the staff, which hasnt really changed in 3 years, you have Olga who gets alot of bad comments and we have found her to be quite fun!!!, she works very hard for long hours like the rest of the staff, then you have Chris who is a star really funny bloke, loves singing!!! Evo he is the serious one behind the bar,you have Carol who was typically friendly, and at pool bar you have got Alexandra who was brilliant and put up with us ordering cocktails every 10 mins lol, bottom line be friendly and polite you will recieve the same back.
Hotel is really nice rooms are good too balcony is a bit on the small side, but you cant have everything!!!!!.
would recommend AI as Cyprus is very expensive just now, and hotel prices reflect this, so please do consider it when budgeting for holiday.
Looking forward to going back next year.
Gary and Lorraine Flynn

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorgar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

Brilliant hotel. First impression of reception staff was really good, very friendly. We decided to upgrade to all-inclusive as drinks and snacks were very expensive. Room wasn't too big, but was ok. Pool area was very spectacular. There's plenty of sun loungers which are the comfortable ones and not the cheap plastic ones. There was a kids pool, a jacuzzi and the main pool which had a swim up pool bar. Evening entertainment was good, there was karaoke, magic show, african dancers, a parrot show and live singers. They had bingo every evening with prizes of up to150 euros. Food was excellent, there' s something for everyone including kids. The only problem in the hotel restaurant is that men have to wear full length trousers and a sleeved top, which was a problem as it was really hot and they didn't have air conditioning in the restaurant area.

Taxi's are very expensive, they charged us 50 euros from the airport to the hotel, but on our way back, we only paid 35 euros. We took a tour bus around Paphos, which is a hop on-hop off bus. Its 10 euros each and goes through all the major attractions in Paphos. This hotel is good for a relaxing hotel by the pool. Kids will love it. 95% of the guests of the hotel guests were British, which was really good. The staff all speak English, didn't even learn a word of Cypriot. Staff always looked tired and moody-working for 12 hour shifts. Everything is really expensive-didn't buy many gifts. There is a supermarket 2mins from the hotel which sells all English food. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sal7886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammanford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2009

I stayed in this hotel 2nd week of June and arrived with great trepidation after reading some of the reviews! Fortunately, everything went smoothly. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with small balcony. I wouldn't pay for a sea view as it is too far away. However, the views from the balcony into the hills were lovely. The restaurant was also clean and spacious, with a terraced eating area too. We were offered to upgrade to fully inclusive, but declined as we were happy with half board. There was a large selection of food at both breakfast and evening meal, which were perfectly adequate. The drinks in the hotel were very expensive, we were charged 3 euros 50 for a litre bottle of water. We didn't buy any further drinks in the hotel!! We found that if you were eating early then there was never a queue to get seated or for the self service food. We found the staff to be pleasant, although one senior staff member could have improved his customer service skills. The drinks outside the hotel on what is called "the strip" were reasonable and we visited Kykkos Cocktail bar every evening and there were some really good shows put on. I would not rate this as a 4* hotel, and have stayed in lesser stars which were better.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmmanfordDesertrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

The Structure of the hotel is really quite nice and the amenities are nice if a little limited. the pool is nice but shallow throughout with no imagination. The rooms are bog standard. Despite upgrading to an executive room we could see no difference.

The main problem with the hotel seemed to come from the management (not that they were at all visible) in that they seemed to have no connection with their staff. Unless this was just a very bad week the staff seemed like a law unto themselves. Of course there were exceptions but on the whole the staff seemed tired and irritable. Any request was seen as a huge inconvienience and not just from me. I heard many simple requests from decent paying customers dismissed by staff as if it were a petulant request from a spoiled child. I saw a middle aged man ask for a cone ice-cream. The barmaid (a horrible little woman named OLGA) said to him "it's finished". The man was clearly thinking the same as me, i.e. "go and get some more then" but simply asked "what do you mean?" she repeated the same thing again. no apology or attempted explanation. And that attitude ran deep with a lot of the staff. I found myself almost apologising before ordering anything.

On entering the disgusting pig sty that they called laughably called the restaurant you are quite reasonably asked to wait at the entrance to be seated. On one occasion we had been waiting for a little while watching the little waiter doing nothing in particular. when the fancy to seat us struck him he, from a distance of ten metres beckoned us with his forefinger in a hurried and irritated manner. how dare we require food!!

I'm not a snob I promise, but when you PAY to be somewhere you expect that the people who are PAID to be there are courteous friendly but above all polite. If you ignore this review and end up staying here then please note this. Put OLGA in her place immediately or avoid her completely. I could list several incidents that involve her running the length of the bar area to scold a costumer of her crying at the bar then manically smiling at costumers moments later.... but I won't.

We had to eat out the last three nights because the quality of the meats was awful. the selection was passable but overall after four evening meals we had had enough.

There has to be a better hotel in Coral bay

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angelhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paphos hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paphos
0.7 mi away
Coral Beach Hotel & Resort
0.1 mi away
Neptune Hotel Apts.
Neptune Hotel Apts.
#45 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
5.5 mi away
Venus Beach Hotel
Venus Beach Hotel
#73 of 90 in Paphos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Queen's Bay Hotel
Queen's Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kissonerga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
5.6 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#36 of 90 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.9 mi away
Corallia Beach Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Resorts Horizon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Resorts Horizon

Property: Crown Resorts Horizon
Address: Coral Bay Avenue | PO Box 62727, Paphos 8068, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Crown Resorts Horizon 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Crown Resorts Horizon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Resorts Horizon Hotel Paphos
Crown Hotel Paphos
Crown Horizon
Crown Hotel Horizon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing