We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Apartment Hotel & Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Damon Hotel Apartments
Ranked #15 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Damon lived up to the previous reviews on Tripadvisor. The two bed apartment we stayed in was clean and well stocked. Room service was excellent. We ate one lunch and one evening meal at Damon and enjoyed both - though the Greek dancing went on a little on the Thursday! Out of the two pools, we tended to use the smaller of the two which had more shade in the afternoon. Both pools were kept clean. Our only minor gripe was that both the pools closed around 7pm. Air conditioning worked well in all the rooms -- we stayed on the top floor of block C-- and was definitely needed! We found all the staff were helpful. I'd certainly recommend Damon to others wanting a family apartment hotel.
We particularly liked Thomas' Jungle nearby and had three excellent meals at Piasta Greka.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clint W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,275 - 1,281 of 1,646 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

Chose this accommodation on basis of reviews below but failed to take account that most were of course by travellers outside of main season. As with several others first impressions were not encouraging but initially countered by the friendly reception on arrival. From there on things deteriorated with it becoming quickly apparent that German and Dutch residents,and in particular the youngsters,were privy to different rules. Regular disruption in the small hours, their abuse of the facilities and disrespect for other residents went continually unchallenged. To secure a sun bed around the pool required placing towels in situ around 8.00am - on one occasion I observed our European counterparts claim their positions before 8.00am but not arrive to utilise their sun beds until 3.30pm!! and this despite clearly displayed "rules" supposedly forbidding this stealth action. The only option was car hire to take my family elsewhere away from the continual unruly behaviour and to get some relaxation time.
On one occasion we travelled to the "sister" hotel Kefalos Beach described as being 500 metres away - not sure what this was measured with - only to be humiliated by the staff there despite my even producing our Damon hotel room key to identify ourselves as bonafide residents. This is my worst experience of treatment at the hands of any hotel staff in 30 years of world travel and despite my asking to speak to the Manager I am still waiting for the conversation!
Things deteriorated further when we opened the cutlery drawer in our apartment to discover
it was shared by a number of cockroaches. Once I had placated an apoplectic wife and children, and evicted the offending creatures, I removed the other cabinet drawers to discover mice had also left us little presents. In defence of the staff I must say the matter was dealt with promptly and the 6 x 4 inch access hole in the wall filled in very quickly the following day. We still view the photographic evidence with disbelief given that the property is a number of years old and such faults remained not being repaired.
Prior to going on this holiday I considered myself to be a reasonably fit individual but 13 nights of sleep deprivation and back punishment on uncomfortable hotel beds have significantly reversed that status - work must now commence to recover.
In order to make this a fair review the positives need also to be included. Housekeeping could not be faulted by us - bathroom cleanliness was attended to daily and towels regularly provided to replace those used. Nothing seemed too much trouble for the reception team and Miriam requires a particular mention for her helpfulness and attentiveness. The position of the accommodation gives easy access to many local bars and restaurants presenting a variety of options and the regular bus service is very near to the hotel but be prepared to jostle to get on at peak times.
If you require well positioned low cost accommodation away from the main Paphos activities and can deal with the above issues then this hotel may fit the bill but, having first hand surveyed the locality and viewed other options, we consider we could have done better for the price paid. We had all meals out sampling at least fifteen different establishments all of whom provided excellent quality food and service. Price range from 70eu to 40eu including drinks for a family of four.

Room Tip: This dependent on your group but for family of 4 need at least two bedroom apartment. Note: all beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Niel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We chose the Damon based on previous reviews and were not disappointed. Thought the area was very safe. People friendly. Accomodation ok - not too keen on our balcony (308) would have liked a better view. Overall friendly staff, clean, breakfast variety good but no variation throughout your stay. We had a one bedroomed apartment for 3 of us and it was really spacious. Would have liked a bath - only had a wet room but it was okay. Would return as found the place ideally located for restaurants etc. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Drinks at the pool bar not cheap. 2 pools, but they can get full. People with the towels on the loungers can be a nightmare, but we had no trouble really. Wifi in lobby. Their sister hotel on the beach is lovely and worth a visit. The beach again ok, but the water a bit murky. Bus to the harbour cheap, but can get very full at certain times of the day. Would recommend Tea for Two, Fat Mamas, Charlies Bar, Dorono (Italian) and the Irish Bar for food and drinks. Worth a visit.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have less noise. Avoid 308 if you want a nice balcony. Found ground floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GirlsonVacation27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Four of us (me, my wife and our two 15 year old daughters) went on a Thomson late deal for a week in July just to get away from the rain (£1200 total cost). The hotel was extremely clean and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The room were a good size and the bathroom was nice with constant hot water and a powerful shower. If your looking for a hotel with lively evening entertainment this won't be for you, however that suited us fine. We went on a B&B basis, the buffet breakfast was OK, scrabled eggs, mini sausages, bacon etc, a bit monotonous but filled a hole in the mornings. My only criticisms are that the bed wasn't very comfortable, hard and squeaky with only one thin pillow each and there was the usual rush to get towells down to reserve sunbeds (not that that really worried us as we often went out or sat at the bar!). We were only there for a week so I can't profess to know it all but from our limited experience I can give a few tips:
1. The plane was very cold so take a jumper
2. Hire a jeep and go up the mountains (great fun)
3. Don't try a local indian restaurant, not good and very over priced
4. Request a room facing the pool as the outside facing ones can be very noisy from the street
5. Book your own transfer to & from the airport, Thomson wanted £100 for their coach and we paid £40 in total for the outward & return journeys in a private taxi I pre-booked on the net. Other guests on our flight who used the coach arrived a 45 minutes after us and we avoided the check in queus on the return journey.
6. The boat trip was good fun. We went on an all inclusive day on the Sea Star. However be aware that the snorkelling and canoeing they promise is a bit of a joke. Only two canoes and take your own snorkel gear (not that there was much to see uner there). The day was fun though and we all enjoyed a swim off the boat.
7. Book your own travel insurance, Thomson's is very expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We chose the Damon Hotel Apartments based on reviews on this website and were not disappointed. We decided to opt for an apartment with a separate bedroom and this turned out to be a really good choice. There was lots of space for us, and the fridge/freezer plus cooker gave us options to eat in. The hotel has its own linked supermarket which is small, but if you turn right when you exit the hotel car park, you will find a much bigger, better-stocked supermarket about 50 yards up the road.

Maid service was really good and they did a great job whilst we were there, lending a hand when a glass shattered on the floor of the apartment. Front desk staff were also excellent, as were the waiters and waitresses, although the evening barman seems to have had a personality bypass! There is a wide variety of food available for breakfast, although this does not change on a daily or a weekly basis. You may also find the same guitar CD playing every day starting to get on your nerves... Don't panic if you can't find cutlery in the buffet area - knife, fork and napkin are placed on tables outside for you by the waiter and waitresses.

There are two good pools, the main one where activities are organised every day and the smaller, 'quiet' pool behind this. Unfortunately, despite notices to the contrary, people get up early to 'reserve' their loungers with towels and then use them occasionally throughout the day. We saw towels on loungers which were unoccupied for the whole morning. A little bit of enforcement of the rules by staff would help here.

Similarly, there were a few problems with kids being (allegedly) supervised by Dutch 'Estivant' staff, who wear red shirts. At points they were given free swimming time and then mobbed the 'quiet' pool, bombing into it, shouting and screaming, hitting each other and paying no attention to people trying to get them to calm down.

The hotel location is roughly half-way between lower Paphos (the harbour area) and upper Paphos, which is a bit more upmarket. The frequent and well-used 615 bus service runs all the way from the harbour along Tombs Of The Kings Road (TOTKR) to Coral Bay for a single euro per person. This is great value and there are stops for it just outside the hotel. Coral Bay has much better beaches than Paphos (sandy rather than pebbly, gentle waves rather than breakers) and is well worth a visit. The beach at the bus terminus in Coral Bay is great and only charges three euros per day per lounger.

Make sure you visit the local heritage sites, including the Tombs of the Kings and the excellent Archeological Site down beside the harbour with fantastic mosaics and an amphitheatre which stages Greek plays with projected English surtitles (wonderful!). You may also want to look at St Paul's Pillar and nearby catacombs.

There is a super bakery just down TOTKR, which does wonderful baklava. If you are looking for authentic Cypriot food, make sure you visit the Piatsa Greka Tavern, situated around 100 yards down TOTKR beside the Bank of Cyprus. We went there 3 times during our holiday and found it very welcoming with excellent food for great prices. Try the suckling pig, the kleftiko, the stifado and/or the dolmades (stuffed vine leaves).

Finally, make sure you take the coastal path at least once to walk up from the harbour along the coastline past the municipal beach to the sister Kefalos Beach Hotel. This is fantastic and will give you a good blast of sea breeze along with some lovely views.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 3rd floor, overlooking the pool. These are quieter than the ones which face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BiggestMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I have recently returned from a week staying at the Damon hotel with my boyfriend. My first impression of the hotel was not great...there were strip bars on the street the apartments are on (however they weren't too in your face so to speak) and almost every bar was hosting karaoke. However it was about 11pm on a Saturday night so we hoped that this was just a weekly event. We were a little disappointed in our room...the bed sheets had stains on which we told the rep about the next day and they were changed swiftly and the room initially smelt of stale smoke. However this was ok after an airing.

In my own personal opinion the location of the hotel is not that great. It depends what type of bar/restaurant you are looking for, but the places more to our taste were at the harbour. It was easy enough to hop on a bus to get there, but we envisaged being able to easily walk to nice bars/restaurants. It is the same situation with the beach...there is a beach which you can walk to (it is near the sister hotel kefalos hotel) but it is a very small shingle beach and the water is very seaweedy. The bus to coral bay is easy to catch and I think this beach and the others on this route are much better.

On a positive note....the hotel pool area is kept very clean at all times. ALL members of staff are very friendly and go out of their way to accommodate you which is excellent. The communal areas were kept very clean. Our room was also regularly cleaned well. The harbour area of the resort is worth visiting - it is very bustling and has that holiday charm about it (unlike the karaoke bars near the hotel!)

We would not return to the Damon apartments again. This is probably mainly due to the fact that the area was not for us (quite in your face 'English' in many respects) rather than the hotel. However, the rooms do need updating and a little TLC. But excellent friendly staff and great food choices (especially seen as we're vegetarian). The rooms were also very quiet - I am a light sleeper but slept well each night - no children screaming or people walking past your door (we were on floor 3).

Room Tip: Although it is a bit of a trek up the stairs we were on floor 3 (top floor) and it was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cupcake1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Hotel Damon is very clean, the pool is great and the pool barbeque and show was really good. Stayed in a one bedroom suite which is large and well equipped. Staff are helpful and everyone speaks English. Wi-fi in lobby only and needs to be reset often. Time for a new router.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.7 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.3 mi away
Kefalos Beach Tourist Village
1.0 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#12 of 85 in Paphos
2,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#9 of 85 in Paphos
2,910 reviews
3.1 mi away
Helios Bay Hotel
Helios Bay Hotel
#16 of 85 in Paphos
689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princessa Vera Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damon Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damon Hotel Apartments

Address: Tombs of the Kings Road | P.O.Box 62174, Paphos 8061, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Paphos
#2 Best Value Hotel in Paphos
#13 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £33 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Damon Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kefalos Damon, a renowned Hotel Apartments property, part of the Kefalos Hotels Group in Paphos, Cyprus. The hotel is located in the heart of Kato Paphos, situated on the famous Tomb of the Kings Avenue, one of the main tourist areas of Paphos, surrounded by many shops, restaurants, bars, clubs, and only 100 meters from the Kings Avenue Mall. Its ideal location allows guests to explore Paphos with ease, since it is within walking distance from the picturesque harbour, the archeological sites, as well as the city centre and the old town market. The origin of our hotel name the “Damon” has provided the foundations and development of our ideals and ethics in regards to our customer service. We at Kefalos Damon strive to build strong and sincere relationships with our guests providing to them individualized attention and being their local friends and support for a memorable holiday experience. The apartments at the Kefalos Damon are clustered around a complete courtyard area with two swimming pools, two wide sun terraces, a well-equipped playground, tennis court, kids club, gym facility, sauna and massage room, mini market, restaurant, pool bar, and lobby bar. Our rectangular swimming pools come with a generous terrace with plenty of umbrellas and sun beds to enjoy each day lounging in the sun. Around the pool bar is where most of the entertainment takes place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Damon Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damon Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing