We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great. improvements required....”
Review of Kissos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kissos Hotel
Ranked #48 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Kissos on an all inclusive basis (2 adults & 2 young children....party of 17 in total). The 3* rating for the hotel is a fair rating but the hotel need to improve in quite a few areas. We stayed in a superior room which was very spacious and clean. The access to the lagoon pool from the balcony was great, however the floor surface was extremely slippy when wet and both of my children fell over quite a few times after returning from the pool.
Sun loungers around the lagoon pool were very limited and for the first ever time on holiday we had to get up at 6.30am to lay the towels down to claim them.
We had an ant infestation in the bathroom and after bringing it to the attention of the reception staff, we were quickly given a can of fly spray. We were also unecessarily informed that we were in a hot country and therefore should expect ants!! We realised this but our other family members did not have the same problems in ground floor rooms.
The entertainment definitely needs reviewing. Hayley did her best to capture the crowd but appeared slightly out of her depth. Management also turned the sound down on a few occasions (MID-SONG!!!!!) which frustrated both audience and performer. A childrens entertainer or mini disco would have been appreciated as there were quite a few youngsters there. I mentioned this to management but was told that there were not enough children visiting the hotel to justify this.
The food was good but at lunchtime it became a bit tedious as it was always the same kind of buffet style and in temperatures of 38c +, it would have been nice to have a selection of light bites. There was a snack menu which finished at 1230 then the only option for the all inclusive guests was the lunch buffet.
Some of the staff were very nice but there was one in particular (mostly working at lunchtimes) who nearly had a fit if you were a party of 4 sitting at a table made up for 6 even though only half to two thirds of the tables were occupied at any one time. He also interrogated us over drinks orders and counted up the number of drinks versus number of guests!! (Get a life mate!!)
The bar service in the evening was ridiclously slow and on one evening we waited up to an hour for a coffee!!!! We reminded the waitress a few times and each time were told it's on it's way (from Columbia??!!) They also appeared to change the "rules" many times - sometimes you could order multiple drinks and snacks and other times only for yourself. Also the bar was meant to be open until midnight, but on two occasions it closed at 11.30. With the slow service, we would order drinks at 11.15 and not get them because service had stopped!!
It's mentioned in a few places about only being able to order one drink at a time but this is untrue. Also the ice creams were available for everyone - not just children.
Outside of the hotel, the beaches were easily accessible due to an excellent (and cheap)bus service that ran regularly in both directions 30 seconds from the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GN1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

The hotel is in a good location next to the tomb of the kings, with bus stops outside the hotel going to coral bay or Paphos harbour. The pools are great but you need to get up at dawn to get a sunbed. The food is good with a variety of choice each meal. The rooms & hotel are spotlessly clean. The only downsides are that you order your drinks at lunch and dinner and you have nearly finished your meal by the time they arrive. Also in the evening you order at the bar and then they bring them over to you, which again takes ages (so waited nearly an hour for a drink one night!). A bit of money spent on entertainment would do wonders for this hotel. Reception staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are nice and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluesky77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

my husband and I stayed at the Kissos hotel at the end of June this year all though it was not 5* it was a very good 3* the food was 4* and there was plenty to do in and around the hotel which was very near to valley of the kings, the staff were very helpful rooms cleaned every day, I would recommend the kissos hotel and we would go back there in the future.
mary/tommy liverpool

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor at the front of the hotel have the best views or the rooms by the lagoon whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mkrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

when we first arrived we were allocated a standard room that overlooked the carpark but with a seaview, the room and balcony were very small so we upgrade to a superior room which are double the size and the balcony overlooks the pool.
the hotel was spotless, we didnt see 1 single fly or pest our entire stay. there was ants round the pool but thats expected.
the hotel staff from reception to the cleaners are the most pleasanted ehave ever encounted and couldnt do enough for you.
tina on reception was a laugh. the aircon was sometimes turned off during the morning but that was due to power cuts nothing to do with the hotel. you had to purchase a key for the fridge but at 3 euros a day plus you get the safe key free its worth while doing.
the pool is the entire lenght of the hotel. the food was lovely and fresh and plentiful. we never ate in the hotel at dinner time because we were taking advantage of being so close to all the other eating places. the bus is a euro single or 2 euros for a day ticket. we went to coral bay which was a bit pricier in the shops etc. the harbour is lovely and not much that dearer than the resort. loved charlies bar where the drinks are about 2 euros for a carlsberg and 4.50 for a magners.
the cocktail bar a bit further down from charlies was lovely and cool and cocktails started at 1.90 euro for proper spirits too. you have macdonalds, kfc and pizza hut on the stretch too which is great for the kiddies. the tomb of the kings is just a five minute walk from the hotel and well worth a visit though take plenty of water you will need it.
we walked to the harbour and back on the coastal route which only takes about 30 mins if you dont keep stopping to admire the views, again take water with you. this hotel is rated 3* but its more like a 5*...in fact ive stayed in 5* hotels and would say this is even better and not as snooty. we would definately stay here again for 2 weeks next time. it is so close to everything that you need, supermarkets,bars and restaurants all within a few minutes walking distance. as for the comments about the beds we had no trouble with them at all and theres spare pillows in the wardrobe too. bedding and towels changed every day so no complaints what so ever.

Room Tip: do book a superior room with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minimepj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

the staff at this hotel are great nothing is to much trouble from the reception to the cleaners. we stayed in a superior room which are a great size the beds are a bit hard but the big balcony and so close to the pool make up for that. the food was the best i have had from any 3* hotel. there is no entertainment for young children in the evening and the bar staff are a bit slow you have to wait for them to bring your drinks over to you. but over all it is a great hotel.
getting about in paphos is easy just get the bus for 2 euro and you can get on as many bus as you want that day

Room Tip: superior rooms are the best much quiter and bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Room 232 13th July to 28 July

Stayed at this hotel for 15 nights, from the start we were overly impressed with the service at this hotel. Check in was fast and efficient, requests dealt with promptly . The service is without a doubt 10 out of 10.

The standard rooms although a tad small are clean and spotless. The room being small is not an issue as the only time you are in there is to sleep or shower!

The air con is free

There is a charge for the tea & coffee facilities and the fridge bit we didn't require it as you can get tea from 7am and the pool bar opens at 8am till midnight

We went all inclusive - this was our 1st time as all inclusive and we were a little bit apprehensive before we arrived however the food 13 out of the 15 nights was faultless with the tuesday night BBQ night being the best. Good selection of food always hot and fresh.

Travelling we had myself (29) my husband (33), 2 year old son and the mum in law (60)
The pools were amazing - extremely clean and well maintained. More sunbeds required as we were leaving (especially as the bride to be thought that reserving 12 sunbeds at 7.30am in her nightie and not using them until 3pm that afternoon be perfectly acceptable!)

On the staff - special mention to Georgina at the pool bar and all the restaurant staff.

A couple of things that I would suggest to the hotel:
More Cypriot dishes on the evening buffets (your moussaka is amazing and we would happily eaten it every night)
And allow all inclusive to have soft drinks from pool bar from 9am and then alcohol from 11am, having to wait for water in 43 degrees was not pleasant!

Unfortunately paphos is too British for us as we prefer to experience the traditional holidays and I do feel that we have spoilt it. If the Kissos was somewhere else I would return time and time again

Thanks Kissos for a truly relaxing and memorable holiday

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank titch099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I stayed at Kissos with my friend for a girly holiday . We intended to have a very relaxing break by the pool and we were really pleased when we got to Kissos as it was perfect for us. There are two outdoor pools. The main pool was quite lively and where the families tended to stay, but the shallower pool was really peaceful. Always very clean.
There were activities/pool sports throughout the day which was quite noisy around the main pool. Recommend the other pool for relaxation!! And people tend to have there towels out at 8am promt! So set your alarms!!

The food in the hotel was lovely. No complaints. Some unusual cominations on some evenings, but all of the food was good quality , including the bar food at lunch. Very reasonably priced.

Coctails $5 Euro
Chips $3.24
Meals about £7.00 with chips etc
Bottled water $2 although the kiosk just outside the hotel sold 6 larger bottles for $4.20

Safe was $16.00 for the week and this including the key for the fridge,

The staff were really friendly.

Rooms were clean, fairly modern. Air con was weak, but think this may have been to do with the explosion/power cut in Limmasol.

The nightl life was fairly quiet. Plenty of places to eat and all priced reasonably.

The only negative was the beach. The beach was shingle and had a rusty pier, and there are lots of rocks. But Coral beach is a bus ride away and apparently is very good. We didnt venture out as we were happy by the pool.

We would definately return to Kissos. It was perfect for our needs and value for money.

Room Tip: Overlooking the newer pool is the newest part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LannyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.5 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#45 of 85 in Paphos
1,268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princessa Vera Hotel Apartments
0.5 mi away
Roman Boutique Hotel
Roman Boutique Hotel
#46 of 85 in Paphos
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
1,016 reviews
0.6 mi away
Agapinor Hotel
Agapinor Hotel
#62 of 85 in Paphos
917 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kefalonitis Hotel Apts.
Kefalonitis Hotel Apts.
#35 of 85 in Paphos
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kissos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kissos Hotel

Address: Vasilissis Verenikis 3 | P.O. Box 60355, Paphos 8045, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#43 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £36 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kissos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the heart of Paphos in between the two main tourist areas, Kissos hotel is the ideal property for families, couples and individuals. Located only 200 meters from the beach, the hotel is within walking distance from restaurants, bars and nightlife. Its location just few meters off the main road makes it the perfect place to relax and have everything at the holidaymakers feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Alpha Holidays Limited, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kissos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kissos Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing