We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again. Horrible introduction to Cyprus..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paphiessa Hotel Apartments
Ranked #67 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Never again. Horrible introduction to Cyprus..”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Where to start about this hotel? My husband and I stayed for a week in September, and were very disappointed in the place. On arrival we were dismayed by the dark dated reception area, and on entering the room we were ready to ask immediately for a room change. It was shabby, extremely dark, with heavy dark wood furniture, thick dark curtains covering the whole window area, two huge armchairs (dark again), and worst of all a dingy carpet with stains. Why have a carpet in a Meditterranean climate anyway? The bathroom was equally dingy and none too clean, with a brown stained shower curtain, yuk. Breakfast was a sorry affair, we didnt bother after the first day, choosing instead to take breakfast out each morning. Dinner the first two nights was okay, though by no means good. The third night we were told it was a buffet as it was changeover day. We didnt bother, it was bland and boring., and to be honest, horrible, The next night we went down, exactly the same thing, and so it went on, so that after 3 nights we gave up completely and ate out. After paying for half board then paying to eat out I was pretty mad. I know from reading these reviews that a lot of people have returned here year after year, and enjoy the food, but I really don't get it. We have stayed in plenty of 3 star hotels and been perfectly happy, but how this hotel gets 3 stars amazes me. There were silk flower arrangements randomly placed that were covered in dust. Why bother? Thick dust on an unused ashtray standing by the lift on the 1st floor, for god's sake give the place a good clean and get rid of all the old tat all over the place. Brighten the rooms up and make them look like a nice sunny and bright holiday home for a week. This hotel is depressing. Never again.
Looking forward to reading the curt reply from management that they seem to give to negative reviews, I really don't think they give a damn at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fritz K, Guest Relations Manager at Paphiessa Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
If you get an answer let me also know
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    206
    143
    66
    82
See reviews for
122
309
97
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Arrived 8th September 2012 for 14 nights and although the rooms and furniture were a bit dated it was adequate for our needs clean and comfortable. We had two rooms next to each other 75 & 76, wife and i in one and two sons in the other and both were clean and cleaned every other day with towel and bin change. We did not eat at the hotel but the food did look good and always a lot of people eating.
Nice big pool with plenty of beds, meals and drinks reasonably priced, as a 3* base its ok for the price. The staff in the hotel were ok the motto is if you dont ask you dont get, but if you wanted help they were always there. Did not involve ourselves in the entertainment as it was aimed at typical british (quiz night, british singer etc) and we like local culture, cant see the point in going to a greek, cypriot country and sit through a pub quiz!. It's about 15-20mins walk to the harbour area and about the same to the small beaches which is a bit of a walk. Plenty of nice places to eat and only had one poor meal (at the Windmill) had to wait aprox 50 minutes for our meal and 3 meals were ok but the lamb kleftico was poor. Nice places to eat down the harbour and prices all compare to each other. Plenty of bars within 15min walking. Coral Bay is the best beach by far and is reachable in 25 mins on the bus though a car is a must if you want to get about, though the busses are only 1 euro and you can get to Coral Bay 15 miles away for 2 euro return, best value is to pay on the bus for a day or weekly pass. Paphos is nice and would go back but would stay closer to the harbour. A nice bar was the George & Dragon and a nice restaurants, Captains View, The Harbour and the moorings on the harbour front all good food and reasonable price, if you like a burger try Tea for Two - excellent and huge!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisJR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I have stayed all over the world, mud huts in Africa, beach huts on lonely Asian beaches, yet this hotel is an embarrassment to the hotel industry. This is not for families. My partner and I used this as a hub to keep our clothes in as we motorcycled around the island. To a family or couple staying for 2 weeks this would not be for them. Generally the hotel caters for individuals above 40yrs. The websites suggest the beach is 150m away, THIS IS A LIE, the harbour is the nearest sea front at around 1-2 mile walk, the nearest beach is generally the tourist ‘Coral Bay' 10 miles away. Without transport you cannot enjoy Cyprus. The staff apart form Nicolas 'The Owner' and Jamie (the very light entertainment) are very rude. The Olympus rep has no contact with customers and will go out of his way to avoid helping people that don’t understand why the brochure doesn’t reflect the actual. One old couple asked the reception where the beach was and they got sent 15 miles away on foot and didn’t get to see the beach and had to rest up for 2 days.

I will sleep anywhere yet this place is just depressing due to the location. some people that come from the UK to sit around a pool and not move will be the only ones who enjoy this.

Paphos is such a nice area/region, the hotel should not be the face for Cyprus. We went north to Turkey, over to Israel and Egypt to make the most of our time here, Polis north of Kato Paphos is only described as lush. Do not book a package deal as you will be squashed into a van and driven for miles, DO IT YOURSELF!

The food - Breakfast of bread, butter, tomato, ham / evening meal is actually okay, but any food bought from the bar i.e. crisps etc is bought from Lidle and a can of coke will cost 2 euros.

Please venture out, by a good guide book and enjoy Cyprus.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrottersForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paphos hotels

Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Ive just come back after staying here for 10 days. Food was great, rooms had everything that we needed, entertainment was good and all the staff were really friendly and helpful. I will definetly be back. Hi to Nikos, Michaela and Jamie :)

Room Tip: Go for a 1 bedroomed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We arrived August 28th 2012 told we were put in the new building, bless them I would have hated to be in the old building.
Although towels and bedding were changed every three days and bed made and place tided up everyday, the place was not up to scratch. The people before us had wrote on bathroom mirror clean me and it was still on when we left. I did not want to look too close as it would have spoiled my holiday and we were there for two weeks. Chipped tiles on bathroom floor, shower curtain dirty attention to detail poor. The management were so stern faced you didn't like to approach them. We left some money and stuff for the cleaner in our room and when waiting in reception for the coach to the airport we saw the managers going and taking it out of of all the rooms before the cleaners were allowed in. So don't tip the waiters either (anywhere in Cyprus) unless you sly it to them as it is taken off them as part of their wages.
The pool area was nice lots of beds and umbrellas. We were only bed and breakfast and pleased as the breakfast consisted of bread cheese ham beans hot dogs and cornflakes all very poor quality. Continental would be fine with proper fruit juice and fruit. The whole hotel was very dated but still we had a great time. We went down town and hired a car for the whole time we were there it was fab. I suppose all in all you get what you pay for so next time I go 4star. One more thing the old woman in the corner shop next to the hotel is a right off merchant.
She keeps giving you free fruit but put it straight in bin when you get out of shop as its always rotten. She thinks we,re all daft

Room Tip: Do not get room 074 its is above fitness center and there's a constant buzzing all night must be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 84Christina84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed at the paphiessa from the 18th of August til the 25th. I shared a room with my husband and daughter, and my parents had the room next to us. We were on different flights and my parents arrived first, when we arrived my mam wasnt happy with her room, she was convinced it hadnt been cleaned even though we could see nothing wrong and ours was spotless, i dont think it helped that she had read negative reviews on this website. Any way my husband went down to reception and they sent up a cleaner straight away. ( our rooms were cleaned every day we were there i might add.)

About the decor: yes its a bit dated but its clean and for the price you pay what can you expect? The furniture wasnt the most modern but it did the job.

Air con: Its 7 euros a day and you need it and it clearly stated in our booking that it was payable locally.

Hotel food: We went self catering, but we did have a few meals there, and the portions are far from small! the food was fresh and tasty and reasonably priced. The first night we arrived we went down to the bar it was 9.30 and the kitchen had closed, yet after the owner realised we had just arrived, managed to arrange us some ham toasties!

Cats: Yes there are cats, but there are cats everywhere! i hate cats, i literally cannot stand them yet i coped so get it over it already.


Staff: the staff were friendly and the entertainment was good ( family orientated) members of my family came to the hotel from their own complexes and sat in the bar for hours with us and thoroughly enjoyed it .

I dont get all these negative reviews, we paid £480 for two rooms for a week thats £30 a night , so what do you expect a butler? the the rooms are clean and tidy. I might add my daughter is only 11 months old had they of been dirty i would of been the first one out of there! but the staff were lovely and extremely helpful, im sure people only write some of these reviews so they can try and a refund or something! if i was to ever go back to paphos i would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Old hotel needing a refurbish. Some rooms refurbished with old fashioned style furniture which made the rooms very dark. Balcony furniture badly needs replaced. Pool area nice with some new sunbeds. Meals in dining room tasty but small portions. Improved slightly after complaining. Some staff friendly and helpful. Our air conditioning unit leaked in to wardrobe soaking old blankets that were in there making them very smelly. This was repaired after complaining a second time but blankets not removed. Had to throw them out in the corridor to get them removed. Don t think I will be paying a second visit.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms get most sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.9 mi away
Agapinor Hotel
Agapinor Hotel
#59 of 88 in Paphos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daphne Hotel Apartments
Daphne Hotel Apartments
#82 of 88 in Paphos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystallo Apartments
Crystallo Apartments
#41 of 88 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Veronica Hotel
Veronica Hotel
#58 of 88 in Paphos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pyramos Hotel
Pyramos Hotel
#44 of 88 in Paphos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.7 mi away
New York Plaza Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paphiessa Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paphiessa Hotel Apartments

Property: Paphiessa Hotel Apartments
Address: 2 Agios Filon Street, Paphos 8049, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Paphiessa Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paphiessa Hotel is a well established 3-star, family hotel located in the beautiful ancient town of Paphos, Cyprus. Within walking distance to the harbour and the many restaurants, bars, cafe's, shops, watersports, and historic attractions our hotel is a great base for your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Bookcyprus.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paphiessa Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paphiessa Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing