We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel experience i have had.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paphiessa Hotel Apartments
Ranked #68 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best hotel experience i have had.”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Before my stay i read the reviews,some of which were negative about the paphiessa hotel.however,when i arrived i noticed the following.the rooms were outdated but clean and spacious.the breakfast was reasonable,with the evening meal giving variety and good quality food.i never wanted to eat out,as the food was delicious.the entertainment was excellent and the staff throughout my stay were helpful.the hotel was a short walk from the beach.overall a hotel providing great value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moments74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    207
    144
    67
    85
See reviews for
125
311
101
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

paphiessa hotel is dated dark and disappointing. our room had wardrobe doors that swung open and drawers that slid out due to its slope the bath was narrow and somewhat grubby, paint on the door was flaking the floor sill was plastic covered but this was ripped and virtually non existant. a cleaned towel arrived with a hole in it. the balcolny was flaking its chairs were grey with age and cracked. the incredibly noisy karioke went on sometimes till 4am in the morning it filled the room making sleep near impossible, and the four lanes of high speed road immediately alongside the hotel made a constant very loud traffic roar filling the pool area and all road facing rooms. .meals were pretty awful breakfast especially so, lack of choice with few cooked vegetables. the staff were mostly pleasant and helpful. advice is dont go there. brian and b.

Room Tip: keep away from road or karioke facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paphos hotels

Carlisle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Mucj better than expected from some of the Tripadvisor reports. A little dated in places but full of character. The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. In the end you get what you pay for. We had the same sun; heat; shops etc. as those staying in the Hedonistic luxury hotels on the beach. Breakfast was basic but that was all that was promised and there was a good choice of options. Evening meals were much better in the first week when al a carte rather than buffet style in the second week. Though buffet style was all good food. As for those who complain about being on a dual carriage way, get a life! We crossed it at least 4 times a day and very rarely had to press the button at the pelican crossing. Even at peak times there wasn't much traffic passing.

A good enjoyable holiday. Thank you to Nico his wife and the staff of Paphiessa

Room Tip: My daughter and I were half-board but in the appartments across the road from the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stellalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Where to start about this hotel? My husband and I stayed for a week in September, and were very disappointed in the place. On arrival we were dismayed by the dark dated reception area, and on entering the room we were ready to ask immediately for a room change. It was shabby, extremely dark, with heavy dark wood furniture, thick dark curtains covering the whole window area, two huge armchairs (dark again), and worst of all a dingy carpet with stains. Why have a carpet in a Meditterranean climate anyway? The bathroom was equally dingy and none too clean, with a brown stained shower curtain, yuk. Breakfast was a sorry affair, we didnt bother after the first day, choosing instead to take breakfast out each morning. Dinner the first two nights was okay, though by no means good. The third night we were told it was a buffet as it was changeover day. We didnt bother, it was bland and boring., and to be honest, horrible, The next night we went down, exactly the same thing, and so it went on, so that after 3 nights we gave up completely and ate out. After paying for half board then paying to eat out I was pretty mad. I know from reading these reviews that a lot of people have returned here year after year, and enjoy the food, but I really don't get it. We have stayed in plenty of 3 star hotels and been perfectly happy, but how this hotel gets 3 stars amazes me. There were silk flower arrangements randomly placed that were covered in dust. Why bother? Thick dust on an unused ashtray standing by the lift on the 1st floor, for god's sake give the place a good clean and get rid of all the old tat all over the place. Brighten the rooms up and make them look like a nice sunny and bright holiday home for a week. This hotel is depressing. Never again.
Looking forward to reading the curt reply from management that they seem to give to negative reviews, I really don't think they give a damn at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fritz K, Guest Relations Manager at Paphiessa Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
If you get an answer let me also know
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Arrived 8th September 2012 for 14 nights and although the rooms and furniture were a bit dated it was adequate for our needs clean and comfortable. We had two rooms next to each other 75 & 76, wife and i in one and two sons in the other and both were clean and cleaned every other day with towel and bin change. We did not eat at the hotel but the food did look good and always a lot of people eating.
Nice big pool with plenty of beds, meals and drinks reasonably priced, as a 3* base its ok for the price. The staff in the hotel were ok the motto is if you dont ask you dont get, but if you wanted help they were always there. Did not involve ourselves in the entertainment as it was aimed at typical british (quiz night, british singer etc) and we like local culture, cant see the point in going to a greek, cypriot country and sit through a pub quiz!. It's about 15-20mins walk to the harbour area and about the same to the small beaches which is a bit of a walk. Plenty of nice places to eat and only had one poor meal (at the Windmill) had to wait aprox 50 minutes for our meal and 3 meals were ok but the lamb kleftico was poor. Nice places to eat down the harbour and prices all compare to each other. Plenty of bars within 15min walking. Coral Bay is the best beach by far and is reachable in 25 mins on the bus though a car is a must if you want to get about, though the busses are only 1 euro and you can get to Coral Bay 15 miles away for 2 euro return, best value is to pay on the bus for a day or weekly pass. Paphos is nice and would go back but would stay closer to the harbour. A nice bar was the George & Dragon and a nice restaurants, Captains View, The Harbour and the moorings on the harbour front all good food and reasonable price, if you like a burger try Tea for Two - excellent and huge!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisJR58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I have stayed all over the world, mud huts in Africa, beach huts on lonely Asian beaches, yet this hotel is an embarrassment to the hotel industry. This is not for families. My partner and I used this as a hub to keep our clothes in as we motorcycled around the island. To a family or couple staying for 2 weeks this would not be for them. Generally the hotel caters for individuals above 40yrs. The websites suggest the beach is 150m away, THIS IS A LIE, the harbour is the nearest sea front at around 1-2 mile walk, the nearest beach is generally the tourist ‘Coral Bay' 10 miles away. Without transport you cannot enjoy Cyprus. The staff apart form Nicolas 'The Owner' and Jamie (the very light entertainment) are very rude. The Olympus rep has no contact with customers and will go out of his way to avoid helping people that don’t understand why the brochure doesn’t reflect the actual. One old couple asked the reception where the beach was and they got sent 15 miles away on foot and didn’t get to see the beach and had to rest up for 2 days.

I will sleep anywhere yet this place is just depressing due to the location. some people that come from the UK to sit around a pool and not move will be the only ones who enjoy this.

Paphos is such a nice area/region, the hotel should not be the face for Cyprus. We went north to Turkey, over to Israel and Egypt to make the most of our time here, Polis north of Kato Paphos is only described as lush. Do not book a package deal as you will be squashed into a van and driven for miles, DO IT YOURSELF!

The food - Breakfast of bread, butter, tomato, ham / evening meal is actually okay, but any food bought from the bar i.e. crisps etc is bought from Lidle and a can of coke will cost 2 euros.

Please venture out, by a good guide book and enjoy Cyprus.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrottersForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Ive just come back after staying here for 10 days. Food was great, rooms had everything that we needed, entertainment was good and all the staff were really friendly and helpful. I will definetly be back. Hi to Nikos, Michaela and Jamie :)

Room Tip: Go for a 1 bedroomed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.9 mi away
Agapinor Hotel
Agapinor Hotel
#59 of 88 in Paphos
867 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daphne Hotel Apartments
Daphne Hotel Apartments
#82 of 88 in Paphos
494 reviews
0.9 mi away
Veronica Hotel
Veronica Hotel
#58 of 88 in Paphos
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#60 of 88 in Paphos
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystallo Apartments
Crystallo Apartments
#43 of 88 in Paphos
284 reviews
0.7 mi away
New York Plaza Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paphiessa Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paphiessa Hotel Apartments

Property: Paphiessa Hotel Apartments
Address: 2 Agios Filon Street, Paphos 8049, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Paphiessa Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paphiessa Hotel is a well established 3-star, family hotel located in the beautiful ancient town of Paphos, Cyprus. Within walking distance to the harbour and the many restaurants, bars, cafe's, shops, watersports, and historic attractions our hotel is a great base for your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Paphiessa Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paphiessa Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing