We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cats”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paphiessa Hotel Apartments
Ranked #65 of 86 Hotels in Paphos
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cats”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

if you are a cat lover you will love this hotel,the place is full of them ,the standard joke is about the germans pinching all the sunbeds ,in this hotel it was the cats !! to be fair the people were friendly ,it was just the cats .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Kelvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    210
    146
    67
    87
See reviews for
131
316
102
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenterden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We have been to the Paphiessa many times mainly in March and it is brill ! This is our banker holiday as we tend to visit different country's and places through the year which are not always as friendly as the Cypriot people and the Paphiessa staff in particular.
This March my very special young lady collapsed at the bar Nikos ( the main man ) was on hand with in a flash to help and before i could say call a doctor he had sorted it and one was on the way a special thanks to Nikos from us.
Also Jamie and Mikaela always make you feel welcome, and as in the other reviews the rooms are always clean and tidy and the hotel food is great if you want to eat in.
I can only guess that any bad reviews for this hotel are from people that are properly not well travelled.
See you next March guys

Room Tip: Self catering apartments are massive
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Due to all of EUCyprus struggling with the economic straits the country finds itself in, I can see why Nikos and family try hard and struggle to keep their hotel in business.

I would love to be part of a team to help give this hotel some TLC.

The Paphiessa tries hard.

It has a welcoming atmosphere and the staff are friendly, especially Michaela (waitress/barstaff/excellent Karaoke singer!) and Jamie (Entertainment/Bar Manager). Great effort by the team, and we had fun with the Karaoke and quiz nights.
The well eqipped gym has seen better days, and the indoor pool is NOT heated, which was a real disappointment, as that was one of my top priorities for booking this hotel.
Be aware the bar area allows smoking - the ban, which Cyprus implemented on January 1, 2010 - the smokefree law for enclosed public places, seems not to be enforced here. There is a large non-smoking area away from the bar, but the smoke seems not to recognise it.
The lovely light fittings in the foyer and restaraunt, which would brighten the place up, use 3 bulbs each so would cost an arm and leg to run.


FOOD:
The Chef tries hard. The meals were plain and simple yet adequate, but another couple of Euros on ingredients would see the quality double. The Ice-creams, jelly (nice), creme caramel, cake, and fruit salad were the choices, but having that offering every day for a fortnight got tedious. The carpet in front of the hot buffet was sticky underfoot, so when they can afford it, would do better with tiles all along the food area.
ACCOMODATION:
Our room and bathroom felt grubby (steam cleaning would power away this feeling), and we had a resident cockroach which scuttled off down the hole in the door frame when the bathroom light went on, so we weren't bothered by it.
On the first night I could see many well worn brown marks on the pillows, so had to put a towel over the slips as they didn't fit, also we could feel the springs in the mattresses, which I cured by putting the lovely soft fleece blanket, folded double, under the bottom sheet.
The aircon blew only warm (in July/August the guests will be roasted!).
All my reports were dealt with swiftly.

The outdoor pool is cold but is cleaned everyday. The pool area was a CLEAN space and was having a makeover during our stay, so maybe they will get around to giving the place a spring clean and also wash that lovely mirrored ceiling in the restaraunt - a good feature which needs to be utilised!

There is a well stocked library of used books which can be freely borrowed, a donation is welcome for this which goes to animal rescue.
There is a games room for young people, but with todays swiftly changing entertainment, they will get quickly bored with what's on offer.

We went to the Paphiessa with a tour operator, so will write directly to them regarding their pricing, but full marks and thank you to The Paphiessa for weathering the Cyprus economic storm, and staying open during the winter season.

OVERALL VIEW:
Young Families may enjoy if only staying for a week.
Long stays seem to be the norm for over 50's.
Good base for a couple of nights, and would consider a short stay here again.

Room Tip: North facing rooms would be quieter and cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dunlopdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I have been coming to this hotel for 8 years. Agreed it is a little jaded and maybe in need of an update, but on the other hand this could spoil its character. It is family owned and run by a wonderful Cypriot family who cannot do enough for you. Buffet evening meals are excellent and plentiful. The pool area is to die for south facing plenty of space and beds for everyone and a shady area for anyone who needs this. I would not be returning year after year if I didn't enjoy my time here. I travel solo and am made to feel one of the family and greeted on arrival with open arms . Can't wait for my 5 week visit in Oct/Nov. I stay in many hotels throughout the year nothing compares with THE PAPHIESSA in Cyprus. Look forward to seeing everyone again

Room Tip: I like the south facing rooms overlooking pool. Check on google streetview and you can see you are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel last year and found it to be a reasonable hotel, so reasonable that I'm going again next week!

Our room was clean and the maid visited daily.....some days however she didn't get around to doing our room until later in the day. We always had clean bedding and towels.

We only ate in the hotel restaurant once and I didn't think it was the best of food and value as there are so many more restaurants a few minutes walk away. We had bar snacks a few times and these were okay.

The staff and owner were very friendly and all I can say to those people who have made negative comments about the hotel and staff is that have to make the most of your holiday.......if you don't say hello and participate.....then how can you expect a good reception back!! We had great fun and joined in the karaoke and quiz etc and were made welcome.

It's a good cheap hotel ( don't forget...you get what you pay for!) I didn't really care if the bed was a bit springy.....only had to sleep on it for 7 nights!! The room we had was clean and the toilet bins were emptied daily. At the end of the day it was a place to soak up the sun by the pool and lay my head for the night!!

We wanted to visit Paphos and all that it has to offer ( not spend all of our time at the hotel....what kind of holiday is that??) the position of this hotel is great for easy access to the shops, restaurants etc.

Everyone says go down to the traffic lights and turn left....however there is a short cut through some of the apartments on the other side of the road....I suggest that people take a look at Google earth to see how close it all is.

All in all we enjoyed our visit here last year and we are going again next week. We see the hotel as our base and considering that we got the room for about £130 for TWO of US! you can't complain at that!! you wouldn't get that in England!!

So to all those who put negative comments you need to think about why you paid so little and expected so much!!

See you all on 19th March Nikos and staff.........

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cheshiremedium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Being the last drop off from the airport and having seen all the other lovely hotels, my heart sank when we pulled up at this hotel. It was dark and miserable looking, a pleasant enough young man checked us in at 10pm but no food was available. We had booked a studio but was told we had a double room. After been shown a studio we accepted the double room!! Everything in this hotel is dark and miserable looking but on the positive side the staff and manager are really nice people and very friendly and the young man in the bar does his best to provide some entertainment on a evening however, again on the negative side the food is dire and only just acceptable. Breakfast is only just reasonable but the evening meal is not appetising at all. Outside is a pleasant pool area but everything out there is very old and tatty the supposed heated indoor pool is a joke, it is over the road in a dingy downstairs room and is not heated. It wouldn't take a lot to make this hotel much nicer than it is. I found the rooms reasonably clean and the beds are changed twice a week and they were clean but the mattress was really noisy - alas I will not be visiting this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor facing the pool have a sea view, most of the self catering or studio's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paphos hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2014

nikos & his staff are wonderful hosts in a lovely family run hotel made to feel so welcome they really cant do enough for you accomodation is of a good standard & cleaned with fresh bedding & linen daily food is very good & well priced , there are two swimming pools 1 large & 1 toddler pool also cleaned daily , excellent hotel & highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdcroft31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.9 mi away
Agapinor Hotel
Agapinor Hotel
#62 of 86 in Paphos
882 reviews
0.5 mi away
Daphne Hotel Apartments
Daphne Hotel Apartments
#80 of 86 in Paphos
510 reviews
0.7 mi away
New York Plaza Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#59 of 86 in Paphos
271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Avlida Hotel
Avlida Hotel
#40 of 86 in Paphos
1,164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roman Boutique Hotel
Roman Boutique Hotel
#50 of 86 in Paphos
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paphiessa Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paphiessa Hotel Apartments

Property: Paphiessa Hotel Apartments
Address: 2 Agios Filon Street, Paphos 8049, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 86 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Paphiessa Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paphiessa Hotel is a well established 3-star, family hotel located in the beautiful ancient town of Paphos, Cyprus. Within walking distance to the harbour and the many restaurants, bars, cafe's, shops, watersports, and historic attractions our hotel is a great base for your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookcyprus.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Paphiessa Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paphiessa Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing