We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pool & location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SunConnect Sofianna Resort
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Stayed here for three nights on holiday in Paphos.
The absolute gem of this place is the pool which is huge and right in the centre of the complex.
Rooms were functional and fairly comfortable, but a bit worn - and the beds were pretty hard!

Found the staff generally okay, but a bit variable in their helpfulness.
Location is right near bar street, but the noise didn't bother us. Only five minutes walk to the harbour and supermarket etc.

Great restaurant just down the street (Grazie).
Would recommend for family break, and pretty comfortable holiday on a budget

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jemnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012

This is our 4th visit to Sofianna yes it does need refurbishing but we still had a great time the location is perfect all with walking distance to the bars, tavernas and harbour. Rooms were kept clean and the staff very friendly, and as always we met some lovely people staying there. If you want a good night out food and drink very reasonable priced go across the road and meet Chris at the Moonlight Taverna

Room Tip: We payed extra for a one bedroomed apartment as these overlook the pool, the studios overlook the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sheank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We visited Sofianna in September 2011 and came back for a two weeks holiday in beginning of May. The staff remebered us well and was as friendly as last time. Our room (317) was spacious with a view to the garden. Everything functioned well, despite that the rooms are a little worn out. The pool area is nice and the location is perfect as earlier mentioned. We visited Cris bar (Moonlight) opposite the hotel everyday for a nightcap and I assure you have funny evenings if you do the same. We plan to go back in September and that I think, tells a lot of Paphos and Sofianna.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TimFredrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Our first time here. We thought the apartment was very good,very comfy beds and clean. Friendly, easy going staff,good parking a well appointed kitchen, and lots of hot water.

We didn't try the pool area but it looked clean and plenty of sun beds.

We would recommend the Sofianna,it is just a shame the Paphos is becoming run down in the recession.

Room Tip: Email ahead and let the Sofianna your preferences or needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shearwater2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We've just returned from a week at the Sofianna, as a family of 4. Our apartment (room 134) was massive - 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms (one with a full bath & shower, the other just a loo & sink), with a big kitchen, lounge & dining area. Initially we were a bit dubious as the apartment is over a cocktail bar, but there wasn't really any noise from the bar below, but we did hear music late at night from the bars over the road and I think in high season this could be a problem (unless of course you're in one of the bars...!)
The Sofianna is a bit tired in places, but the apartment was spotlessly clean (even the mattresses), and the maid came most days to clean, change the towels & make the beds. She even came in Easter Sunday & brought us some pastries & coloured eggs -a nice touch.
The apartments are very well located - a stones throw from the infamous Bar Street (hence the music at night), walking distance to the shops,supermarket, harbour, restaurants & beach.There is a convenience store right over the road but it was very expensive so would recommend PapaAntonios which is a supermarket 5 mins walk away.
The Receptionist wasn't over helpful, but the staff on the pool bar more than made up for it, remembering what we had for breakfast each day & our daughter's name (the Cypriots love kids and are so friendly).
The only negative about the apartment was the cooker - it was like a 2 ring camping stove, despite there being plenty of space in the kitchen for a proper cooker. I know most people don't want to cook on holiday, but you couldn't even cook a pizza in it!
The food on site was OK - we only had breakfast there as there were so many restaurants nearby to try.
Great play area for the kids on site - completely enclosed & safe, equipment was all in really good condition, and grassed, plus a volleyball and football area. The outdoor pool was still a bit cold at this time of year, but there was a great kids pool plus a much bigger one with fountains & jets for the adults. Plus an indoor pool for the cooler days.
Taxi to and from the airport was 35 euros.
Would definitely recommend the Sofianna :)

Room Tip: Room 134 - definitely the biggest apartment we've ever stayed in. Sun on the balcony for most of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicnocNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed at the sofianna for the second time this easter. It is an ideal location for visiting Paphos. It is far better than staying at Coral Bay in my opinion. Although Coral Bay has a great beach but that can be reached by catching the 615 bus from the stop two minutes walk away for 2 euro each day.
The rooms themselves are clean with a the facilities that you need they are basic but all you need. The cooking facilities are a microwave and a small oven/grill and two rings. The tv has two english channels sky news and bbc world service plus they show films every early evening.The first time we stayed in room 401 which was slightly better than room 424 which we stayed in this time due to it backing onto the delivery area.
There is a decent supermarket five minutes walk away but the prices are about a third- double what you would pay at home.
The hotel has two pools, a small heated indoor with jacuzzi and a large outdoor that would keep a kid of any age happy.
We ate out everynight which cost between 40-60 euro's for two people depending where we went but we was on holiday.
The best places we ate were chloes chinese on the front and oceans basket at the avanti centre.
The bar we visited the most was the penguino which was nice, relaxed and comfortable, and like most bars had free wi-fi.
We intend going back again in three years but could be sooner.
If you are a diver then use Cydive as they are a very good centre which caters form learners to experienced.
Although ideally suited for adults in my opinion there is enough to keep kids happy and is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank appyhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We've stayed at the Sofianna countless times over the years, and always found them clean, well equipped and in a great position; handy for the harbour, restaurants and near to all the main archaeological sites. Big pool with plenty to keep the kids entertained, and very quiet at night despite the central location.
Efficient airconditioning and friendly, helpful staff.
Areas for improvement are the reception area, which is a bit devoid of atmosphere, and the decor in some of the rooms is looking a bit dated.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms overlooking the pool are very quiet at night. Room 201 has a HUGE balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Basilica Holiday Resort
Basilica Holiday Resort
#33 of 84 in Paphos
630 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dionysos Central Hotel
Dionysos Central Hotel
#40 of 84 in Paphos
549 reviews
0.3 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apollonia Holiday Apartments
0.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Paphinia Sea View Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunConnect Sofianna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunConnect Sofianna Resort

Address: 9 Agamemnos Street, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#31 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £83 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SunConnect Sofianna Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the ultimate family break away, stay at the new SunConnect Sofianna. Expect a jam-packed holiday filled with adventure as the kids will enjoy the Lollo and Bernie Kids' Clubs, digital treasure hunt and games room. While you can unwind in the spa and lounge by the Adult Only pool. With the fantastic dining options and a superb location in the heart of Paphos, everything is within easy reach on your All Inclusive holiday. Location 300m from the beach with a selection of shops, bars and restaurants right on the doorstep. Close to the main nightlife of Paphos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SunConnect Sofianna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofianna Hotel Apts
Sofianna Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing