We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and the hotel soon will become excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amphora Hotel & Suites
Ranked #23 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
LIMASSOL CYPRUS
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent service and the hotel soon will become excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We went there for three nights and our children with our grandchildren came only for one night later. Although the hotel was not finished, the whole stay was grade. Excellent location. All the rooms are comfortable with front sea view. Very good breakfast. Service and staff was excellent. Very polite and helpful in everything we asked for. In windy days they must have some shelters instead of pool umbrellas so the strong wind don't get them down.. We hope that very soon the hotel will finish as well as the spa. We think that some green surroundings near the swimming pool will improve the whole place.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great front sea view. Sun rising from the opposite side so you can sleap a little m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lemessionarii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    327
    84
    21
    15
See reviews for
236
590
31
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed for one night - Russian receptionists rather surely & not very geared to uk clients (tv wise) - yes it's a lovely pool which was the reason for our stay but no depth markings & a funny layout so I scraped my legs on an invisible shelf - steps in also impossible to see - its newly open & needs to get some character at the pool bar it was just a breeze block building, but surely money could be made from drinks so glam it up - pool bar food was nice but rather limited and took a very very long time for a cheese sandwich - no bins round pool area and wifi throughout hotel was awful . Nice cooked breakfast and I have to say the Cypriot staff were all extremely friendly and helpful - rooms are very modern and shower was fab - good position and nice to be able to walk along the seafront into harbour - tried to extend my room by an hour but the Russians were having none of it which was a shame as I don't think the hotel was full. It has only just opened if you want a modern room - pool- sea view & close to town it's good but I wouldn't stay again unless they fixed wifi

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susiecy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milan
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Great location, hotel has been open just over a month, very modern architecture. All reception staff were both friendly and professional. Buggy ride to room. Our room was very spacious with a nice balcony overlooking the pool. Modern furniture, a mini fridge and coffee/tea facilities but no coffee or tea was suplied, you had to buy your own. Loved the bathroom, the shower had both overhead shower and a hand held 'wand' which was fantastic. The complimentary toiletries were really good quality products. Add to that free air conditioning and complimentary in room safe and lovely big beach towels. Oh, and by the way, hospitals should be kept as clean as the rooms and resort.
Big pool and a small kiddies pool. Lots of good quality sunbeds, nice and high so I didn't have my usual problem of trying to get up from a low sunbed, (bad knees). The gardens aren't finished so it is a bit barren but as it is being planted every day with trees and bushes by the time you go it might be nice to look at. The beach right in front is practically not worth the bother but turn right and there is a nice little beach with lovely clean water or turn to your left and walk ten minutes to a bigger beach.
Lots of outdoor furniture all around the resort so you have a big choice of where and how to relax. The pool bar was good for snacks and prices were very competitive.
We were half board - the breakfast buffet was very good, a good selection of breakfast food. The evening buffet had antipasto, soup or pasta, two meat dishes and at least one fish dish, cooked potatoes and three or four cooked vegetable dishes plus a salad selection and then three or four dessert choices. We were very happy with the food and probably would do half board again as outside the hotel it is either cheap pubfood or expensive restaurant meals.
Bus stop 30 metres away and goes to the harbour bus station. Fares are 1.50 euro one way so unless you are just going to the harbour and back, it is better to get the 5 euro day ticket that you are free to use as many times as you like up to 11 pm, (after that you are obliged to get a 2.50 euro night ticket). The buses are frequent and air conditioned, very good value. We went by bus to Coral Bay, the beach was nice and it was only 6 euro for two sunbeds and an umbrella, (free showers and toilets at the beach).
Yes, building work was going on while we were there but there was only one block to finish and, at the rate they were going, would probably be finished by the middle of July.
To sum up, we loved our holiday there and would be very happy to return next year. It looks like they want to position the resort in the luxury class so let's hope it will still be within our budget.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaitalyMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night only for my wedding anniversary.
we had room 432 which was a suite that room was fab.....
very large with amazing views and very clean.
my only negitive point is that in the room they provide kettle, mugs etc but know tea/coffee???
I didnt use the resturant so cant comment.
the pools are lovely too.

overall I was pleased with my stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scouser05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Booked this and was expecting some lack of "finish". I wasn't expecting lorries unloading soil, hammer drills and a complete lack of style. Got there and refused to register - so they put me up at the Capital Coast. Not what we wanted - but a lovely hotel that we have stayed at before.
I am sure it will get there but don't book this in 2013 then look at this site for reviews next year.
Its a long walk into Paphos but does have some good local restaurants.
You will get a deal - third night free etc. but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike187051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We stayed at the Amphora between the 1st & 8th June 2013 on a B&B basis having booked independently (not through an agent). Here's a rundown:

€30 taxi from airport, approx 20 mins. Taxi 'stall' directly outside departures.
Free transfer back to airport arranged by the hotel but not on arrival. This may change as the hotel becomes more well known & used.
All staff friendly & approachable with very good spoken English by most of the staff.
Rooms are in blocks opposite reception building. Golf buggy ride to room from reception. They're only a 1-2 min walk but still a nice touch, especially as My Fiancée has mobility problems.
Lower & upper level rooms & the pools are accessed via stairs. Lifts will be available but not while we were there.
All rooms have a balcony & air con. Spacious enough but no tea/coffee facilities. Comfy king size beds & rain forest shower heads over medium sized bath. Walk in showers / wet rooms available in some rooms / suites.
All rooms have a sea view & overlook both kids & adult pools.
All rooms have built in mini fridge but no mini bar (as yet anyway).
Some suites available that have 'lounge area'.
TV is mainly local / national stations with 1 English Channel that seems to play dodgy straight to DVD films. 1 or 2 English speaking news channels.
Breakfast is the usual buffet affair with a good selection of continental & cooked options. All good quality with nothing re-heated. We saw a manager tell a chef to throw away some food that had been out for no more than 1 hr.
Free WiFi throughout the hotel. Ask reception for the password (1 password per device with apparently no limit of devices per room). Reaches to around the pool as well as in the rooms.
There were plenty of sun loungers available during our stay & no-one laying claim to them at the break of dawn. Pool bar serves an ok selection of snack food & drinks.
Cars are right hand drive & driving is on the left as in the UK. We will hire a car next time. If not, get the all day bus pass. Hop on & off as many times as you like for €3. Bus stop 2 min walk from hotel & buses to all the main areas. The Harbour is the main bus terminal & all buses generally go through there
Water sports vendors dotted along the coastal promenade (path) that appears to go all the way along the coastline.
Selection of bars & restaurants across the street. An off license that sells bottled water, soft drinks, snack food (crisps, chocolate etc), souvenirs & a supermarkets that sells cheap(ish) clothing, souvenirs etc.
Turn down service.

So now for the negatives -

There is still a fair bit of building work going on that is right next to the pool area. It doesn't interfere that much but there is still some noise & a bit of dust.
The beach at the bottom of the hotel is more a (think Brazilian wax) strip accessed by steep concrete stairs only without a bannister / rail. On the plus side its quiet.
There is some noise from the bars & restaurants across the street but nothing like some areas of Aiya Napa etc.
Eating out in the area can be expensive. A 2 course meal for 2 averages around €60. You can get 'snack' options for less that are ok value.
Most places take credit & debit cards but ask first as some don't & it can be embarrassing to ask if you can do the washing up to pay for the meal or leave the other half as security while you desperately try to find a bank.
No room service available during our stay.
There is an obvious lack of things to do at the hotel other than make like a lizard around the pools.

In general, this hotel will be fantastic when completely finished & regrettably, most likely, out of our budget in future. All in all a brilliant find.

Room Tip: There's building work on both sides of the hotel so of the 3 'blocks' available during o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dodgerous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We (family inc 2 kids 9 & 11) are just coming to the end of a weeks holiday at Amphora. We've been to Paphos many times before so know the area well. Our room, one bed suite is excellent as a family room, a really good size fitted out to a high standard inc a fridge, with very comfy beds for all, and very good bathroom (great shower). Nice balcony overlooking the pool and fantastic sunsets. We knew before we booked that some work was still taking place here but it's being really well controlled and is very nearly finished. The pools are excellent, with fantastic views of the sea and Paphos harbour, also the pool bar charges decent prices unlike most hotels in Paphos. Finally the staff are really friendly and helpful with a smile on their faces. We'll happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.4 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Almyra Hotel
Almyra Hotel
#20 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,831 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#28 of 90 in Paphos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Paphinia Sea View Apartments
1.0 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.4 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amphora Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amphora Hotel & Suites

Property: Amphora Hotel & Suites
Address: Poseidonos Avenue 48, Paphos 8042, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 90 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amphora Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive new hotel offers unobstructed views of the tranquil waters of the Mediterranean and the picturesque fishing harbour and Medieval Castle. Set on the idyllic beachfront location of the former SODAP Winery, Amphora Hotel is a rejuvenating, inspiring and serene haven of contemporary elegance that will awaken your senses. One of the highlights of this perfectly situated hotel is the exquisite accommodation offered, comprising of 95 Luxury Suites, spacious Superior Rooms and a 3 Bedroom Villa; the majority of which offer magnificent and unobstructed views of the azure Mediterranean waters and the Paphos castle. The upgraded and inviting rooms offer breathtaking views of the enchanting sunset or the landscaped gardens, while underlining comfort and a “home away from home” sensation. Thoughtful amenities combined with elegant furniture and lighting create the ideal ambiance to feel completely at home. Amphora Hotel houses a restaurant, lounge bar and seasonal pool bar. Recreational facilities include a gymnasium while the landscaped gardens surround the kidney-shaped swimming pool and the children’s pool. The hotel enjoys a prime location, just 10’ drive from Paphos International Airport, 7’ walk from the historical castle and harbour, and 20’ drive from the local golf courses. The lively atmosphere of the area offers a wide range of facilities, shops, bars, restaurants, nightlife and attractions.Amphora hotel offers free round-trip transportation from Paphos International Airport and transport to/from Larnaca Airport for an additional fee upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Bookcyprus.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amphora Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing