We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok but had better”

The Famagusta Tavern
Ranked #150 of 539 Restaurants in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Ok but had better”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Nice restaurant with friendly owner/staff. Food was very nice but have had better for less outlay. It is someway out of Pafos at Clhorakas, near where I was staying

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bernie-1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    16
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
“Rip off”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

7 euros for a tia maria and coke !!!!!!! Enough said. The owner seem shocked we complained. We pay at our local taverna 3.50 and that's not a measured amount, usually a double. Won,t be revisiting this place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank ian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely traditional Cypriot Tavern”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Lovely traditional tavern. Friendly and efficient. The best stifado. Fabulous sized T'bone steaks. Plenty of parking. Going back for suckling pig on Tuesday. (Yum!).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treharris
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic, definitely worth a visit.”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We visited here last Friday night. They had a BBQ night which was a set price of 10 euros each. We were served initially with a lovely Greek salad with bread and dips, then followed 11 separate dishes of different meats with some roast potatoes as an addition. The quality was faultless and the amount was plenty. I failed on dish 9 but my husband finished them all, despite being extremely full. We had a caraf of wine and water and the price was 30 euros. The BBQ is served on Friday and Saturday night and we would strongly recommend it. The service and setting was lovely.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really good cypriot tavern!”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Went along on a thursday evening, there were 4 other tables all sitting outside. A lovely friendly cypriot man served us. They serve your typical cypriot food with european options also. We had the garlic mussels for starters which came with rice and halloumi which came with salad. We alo had garlic chicken and t-bone steak for main which came with lots of green beans, carrots, potatoes and rice. Food was delicious! After we were served 2 fresh plums. We were so full we didnt have space for dessert so got the bill and were served with 2 shots of brandy which was lovely. The prices are really good. We were told to come back on tuesday when they do a suckling pig which we are looking forward to. definitely worth a visit if your in the area and looking for somewhere chilled. Only bad point was the complimentary bread we were served had some mould on it and was a bit stale.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeepersCreepers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Famagusta Tavern also viewed

Chlorakas, Paphos District
 
Paphos, Paphos District
Paphos, Paphos District
 
Paphos District, Cyprus
Chlorakas, Paphos District
 

Been to The Famagusta Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing