We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would stay there again”
Review of Axiothea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Axiothea Hotel
Ranked #21 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Crete
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We would stay there again”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

For a two star hotel this place was more than we expected. Andreas the owner went way beyond the call of duty to make our stay memorable. He had a knack of anticipating everyone of our needs, for example one night he noticed that we had brought a couple or rolls and a bottle of wine into the hotel with us. He immediately realised that we were going to eat on our balcony and provided us with a tray with plates, knives and forks, wine glasses and a bottle opener; he also offered us free coffees to take to our room if we wanted them.
Most of the proper shops are situated in the old (high) town within a hundred metres or so of the hotel. there is also a large indoor market, and plenty of cafes and restaurants very near by. The views from the hotel over the sea are very good; it was worth paying the extra to be on the seaward side of the hotel as there is no view from the less expensive rooms. There are 65 steps down from the hotel to the bus stop but we never climbed up them, it was easier to walk up the road and approach the hotel from the other side, it only takes five minutes at most. The breakfasts were comprehensive, although not a cooked breakfast as such, they did cook us a couple of fried eggs each morning. There was however a large choice of cold meats, cereals, fruit, breads, jam, toast, boiled eggs etc.
Buses to the harbour and tourist area run approx every 10 - 15 minutes and are modern, clean and inexpensive. Tickets cost one Euro each, or for three Euros you can buy a day ticket for unlimited journeys around the town and out as far as Coral Bay. Buses are the way to travel to and from the hotel, including from the airport (hourly) as taxis are expensive, typically 26 euros from the airport or 8 Euros plus tip around town. When we next visit Paphos we will try to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the superior room to get the sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livingincrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    84
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
122
33
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We spent a week here and the only thing i could fault would be the resport itself (but there are very many worse than Paphos anyway - it will recover it's character in time). Although we had booked economy on Booking.com, as it was quiet, we were put in an excellent top floor room with sea view and balcony. The size may not have been palatial but it was plenty large enough and with en-suite shower room, desk and chair, armchair, decent sized bed, and table with two chairs on the balcony. The range of jams and marmalades (many homemade) at breakfast was very good and the rest of the breakfast was great too. We never went past reception without exchanging greetings and getting good local tips for our days out (we might even have been able to feed back some information too, I hope). In all a very welcoming and comfortable place within easy reach of Ktima and close enough to Kato Paphos to give you the choice of walking or taking the bus. DId I mention the view from the breakfast room? Breathtaking...

Room Tip: Go out of season when the weather is not so fierce and you might get an upgrade too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brizzle, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed at the Axiothea for a couple of nights at the beginning of a trip round Cyprus, and again at the end of the trip, during the 1st two weeks in October. We were greeted by Andreas on arrival, who was very helpful.

The hotel is perfectly located: It's a short walk to the central part of the north part of Paphos, where there are shops and restaurants serving traditional food (Meze etc), but also a 10 minute bus ride (no. 610, from right outside the hotel, costing 1 euro) to the harbour (where you find the archeological site and also the main tourist strip with western restaurants, karaoke bars, etc)

The rooms that we stayed in were quiet, clean, simply decorated (though just a little dated), and both had effective air-conditioning. Both had en-suite showers which were fine.

The bed in the first room we got had two singles in a double frame, which is a bug-bear of mine. However the second room had a proper double mattress and I think this could be requested.

Breakfast is included in the price and is a traditional cypriot buffet - toast, various cheeses, cold meats, pickles, olives, fruit, and eggs - which didn't run out before the end of the breakfast period as in some other places we stayed! The hotel is set up a hill, and the breakfast hall has floor-to-ceiling windows which provide a great view over most of Paphos and the mediterranean.

Would definitely return, and for the price this was about the best of 5 hotels we stayed in.

Room Tip: If staying in a couple, request a double mattress as opposed two singles pushed side-by-side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed in the hotel for four nights for a very very affordable price. The hotel is not very close to the city center, but there's always a beautiful weather in Paphos so you can walk or take a bus (the bus stop is outside the hotel). Andreas, the owner was really kind, he gave us lots of information, and find couple who was leaving the same day, so we shared the taxi to the airport. We left at 5:00 am, and Andreas was so kind to prepare us a packet lunch for the journey!

The room was clean, frames and forniture a little bit old, but in any case for us that doesn't matter!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilar89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The hotel is located in the upper Paphos. The bus stop is just down the stairs from the small hill. Breakfast is very basic but nice. Some rooms have only a french balcony but we were offered one with nice, big balcony with amazing view of the city and sunset. The owner is amazing and very very helpful. We stayed almost 2 weeks and were very happy with it. If You remember it's a ** and don't expect a resort that I am sure You'll like it. Also there is a great restaurant next door - Muse - that offers great atmosphere and food.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
203 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The Axiothea Hotel is a real gem and a great choice for travelers on a budget who still would like some luxury. This hotel was one of the best budget hotels I have seen in Europe. The price was right and the room was nice and comfortable. The bathroom was modest in size but more than adequate and not tiny as in some other hotels. There was plenty of closet space in the room I had and I was lucky to get one of the rooms that had a mini fridge. The view of the sea from a distance was lovely. The owner Andreas is friendly and helpful and eager to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable. The breakfast was nicely done and the dining area has a nice view of the Paphos. I could not have been more pleased and extended my stay by two nights because of enjoyed the hotel and Paphos so much.
The hotel is up on a hill in the older part of town. It's close to the intercity bus station, the Byzantine Museum and covered markets with plenty of restaurants nearby. It can be a little hard to find at first so be sure to get directions from their website.
The one minor drawback is location. It is on top of a hill that overlooks the main tourist area of Pafos. It's a bit of a walk to the harbor, Tomb of the Kings and the Archealogical Park. If you don't mind a walk or have a car, the location is fine. There are also city buses to take. The location is only a drawback if you feel the need to be right in the center of the tourist action and very close to the beach. For me, the Axiothea Hotel had it all and is one of my favorite hotels. There is TV in the room but there is an extra charge for use of the air conditioner. Everything else is included.

Room Tip: I paid a few euros extra to have the sea view and I felt it was well worth it to have the extra trea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The three of us (a couple with teenage son) spent five very relaxing days in this hotel. The room was very clean, spacious and had a lovely view of the sunset over Paphos and the sea. We all enjoyed the excellent breakfast, which had fresh bread, fresh juices,toast, lots of delicious jams (some of them homemade from the owner's friends), eggs, cheeses, fresh fruit, oranges and a variety of coffee, teas etc. I would definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone spending time in Paphos. There was also a private parking area which was very useful. The owner was very hospitable and did everything to make us feel welcome.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.8 mi away
Roman Boutique Hotel
Roman Boutique Hotel
#48 of 88 in Paphos
453 reviews
1.3 mi away
Paphinia Sea View Apartments
3.0 mi away
Helios Bay Hotel
Helios Bay Hotel
#13 of 88 in Paphos
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#29 of 88 in Paphos
847 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiniras Hotel
Kiniras Hotel
#65 of 88 in Paphos
180 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kissonerga
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Axiothea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axiothea Hotel

Property: Axiothea Hotel
Address: Ivis Malliotou 2 | P.O. Box 60070, Paphos 8047, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Paphos
#29 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#33 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Axiothea Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axiothea is a traditional 2 Star hotel with a family atmosphere located in the older part of Paphos within walking distance of the local marketplace, Government Services such as Land & Survey department, the Police HQ, public theater, Post Office, the Colonial Administration buildings, the museums, the neoclassic schools, town hall and public library and scores of colorful tavernas and coffee shops.The hotel is set into the hillside which has many advantages. Its elevated position boasts magnificent views across the whole of Kato Paphos to the sea and harbour approximately 3km away.Sunsets during both summer and winter months can be spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Axiothea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axiothea Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing