We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an OK hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Louis Imperial Beach
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This is an OK hotel”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I assume you are reading this review as you have booked to go there or are thinking of doing so. So let me put your mind at rest - it is perfectly OK. This does of course depend a little on the amount you have to pay - I booked two rooms for our family of four in August and paid about £3900 all inclusive. Within five days the price had risen to over £5000. Exactly the same holiday but Thomson were manipulating the online discount available. So be careful what you pay.
It is a traditional style hotel, refurbished. So this means a relatively small pool and less modern amenities than in newer hotels. Nice, but not amazing. There are many hotel rules but all are made to be broken, it seems. So, the dressing for dinner policy is meaningless and so is the rule about not reserving sunbeds.
The food is fine, certainly edible, hot and a reasonable choice.
Wi-fi is hilarious and even paying for it made no difference to the slow speed and access generally. It is not a good place for teenagers as there is very little for them to do, so they spend their days huddled around the lobby trying to connect to the outside world. Like I said, a traditional hotel, not really recognising the needs of the modern traveller.
It is reasonably clean and the weather when we stayed was fabulous. The main entertainment was the hotel cat who had recently had 3 kittens and was much photographed and fed.
We stayed for one week and that was pleasant; two weeks would have been monotonous.
All the staff were very pleasant and we did not get charged any deposit for our pool towels. Just wish we could have got a sunbed without the need for early alarm calls.

Room Tip: We paid for a sea view room. Nice, but also overlooked the waste area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Imperial Beach, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear guest,

Let us thank you for sharing your experience about the Louis Imperial Beach with the online community.

It is pleasing to know that you enjoyed the variety of our buffet as well as the friendliness of our service team. Nevertheless, we are disappointed to hear that we didn't rise to your expectations. Regarding our suggested "dress code", we hope for your understanding that not everyone can handle heavy clothing in this heat. In regards to your remark about the sun beds, there are enough for everybody on the hotel grounds; indeed some guests prefer to "reserve" their favourite ones despite our suggestions to the contrary. As for the Wi-fi, we would like to apologize for the inconvenience; we duly note it for future improvements.

We hope that you would give Louis Hotels another chance to impress you with the high quality service we are known for; perhaps a more 'active' hotel like Louis Phaethon would be better suited to your family in the future.

Sincerely yours,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,159
    700
    174
    33
    17
See reviews for
1,013
1,512
58
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,351)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My partner and I have just come back from 10 days at the Louis Imperial Beach Hotel and what a fantastic holiday we had! Paphos town is simply amazing, the location of the hotel could not be anymore perfect, such a safe, friendly, exciting and beautiful town.

The hotel upon arrival is everything we hoped it would be! Modern room, clean and spacious. The hotel staff could not have been more welcoming, nothing was too much trouble and were very polite. Alongside the hotel staff, the bar and pool staff were fantastic! Always attentive with topping up drinks, extremely well mannered and had a good sense of humour.
We were all inclusive and wow we definitely got our moneys worth! Superb food every night, with each night having a different food theme! So fresh and yummy every single day! Breakfast, lunch and dinner all had so much choice! (I also have a nut allergy and the restaurant staff and chef George catered to my allergy so well!)
Another plus to the hotel is it has English plugs! So no need to bring adapters! However, our television plug in our room was European and the plug socket on the wall was English, we rang down to reception and someone came upstairs to 'sort it'.. They put a key in the top part of the socket and shoved the two prongs from the plug of the television into the socket, we were not convinced this was safe and with this switched the television off everything at the plug! A slight negative to the rooms is you have to pay for the safe, where most hotels only want a deposit, Imperial Beach charge 3 euros a day to use the safe, not a great deal of money but a slight inconvenience. Also to use their beach towels you have to put a 10 euro deposit down a day to have one, we took our own beach towels and washed them to save this hassle.
A few things that let the hotel down was the size of the pool, extremely small!! So small in fact we didn't get a sunbed round the pool once for the whole ten days (even going down at 6.30 AM to get sunbeds!!(however we did prefer to have a sunbed on the grassy area as you had more room then the beds around the pool) and once your in the pool, because it is so small, along with the other guests all you can do in it is bob around! Not much swimming or playing! Whilst we were there a guest (child/adult it still remains a mystery) used the pool as a toilet (twice in one day) and therefore the pool was closed for a day, obviously this is not the hotels fault but it did put me off wanting to go back into the pool. The pools water (regardless of the toilet incident) didn't feel overly clean, a lot of dirt and grime on the walls of the pool and the water very murky and just an unclean feel too. A positive to the pool is there a life guard on the side of the pool all day which I think is a big plus when so many children are in the pool all day long.
A few other minor things that let the hotel down were the pool toilets and the lifts. The ladies pool toilets could only be described as unclean. I dreaded having to use them and often went back to my room to use the toilet. Despite seeing them being cleaned often, there was always a lot of water on the floor, hairs on the floor and general an unclean feeling, with one toilet door not having a working lock (when there are only 3 toilets this is a hassle when there is a big queue). The lifts worked fantastic! I hate using lifts and unfortunately the only available stairs to use were the fire escape ones and those stairs were not nice to use, so I was happy that the lifts were fast and stable. However, on most of the lifts doors on the inside is graffiti etched on, something so small lets the hotel down. Also the doors shut very aggressively so make sure your not in the way of them as we saw many people get clipped and closed on by the doors and trapping a few people.
The reps: the only way I can describe Steven and Faith is USELESS! They couldn't show less interest or professionalism if they tried! They not once approached us in the ten days and asked how we were, only spoke to them to sort out a boat trip (would recommend anyone to go on the wavedancer boat trip, fantastic day for families or couples!!) and they were less then helpful or enthusiastic, too busy spending time on facebook and sat in the corner of the reception looking bored and moody! We have never stayed at a hotel with such useless reps, if you need help or comfort from the reps don't expect it! RUBBISH!
Entertainment Team: The bingo in the evenings is hilarious! The Robbie Williams and Olly Murs tribute act is fantastic!!! The entertainment team themselves were OK. If you did not have sunbeds around the pool you were often ignored for the day entertainment. David had his moments of fantastic entertainment however he could be slightly unapproachable and moody at times, but working as long and hard as they all do I suppose you can understand these moments.

On the whole we had a fantastic holiday and the negatives mentioned are fairly minor, they certainly didn't hinder our holiday! We fell in love with paphos (visit the harbour it is lovely!) The hotel has a fantastic atmosphere with fabulous staff, if the hotel made a few areas cleaner and employed better reps, had better entertainment some nights and a bigger pool the hotel would be perfect! Thank you Louis Imperial beach for an overall lovely holiday.

Room Tip: High floor with sea view worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Imperial Beach, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude that you took the time to write this valuable comment about the Louis Imperial Beach.

Firstly, we would like to show our contentment towards the fact that you valued the fantastic atmosphere maintained by our cheerful and courteous staff along with the rich variety of our tasty buffet. In addition, we are glad you acknowledged our great value for money and the beauty of our lovely town.

We are sorry you have encountered some inconveniences during your stay. In regards to the safe, we took the decision of excluding this fee from the room rate as no to charge all our guests for something they might not want to use. Regarding the pool, rest assured that we are currently examining the possibility of adding a second one for next year. As for the pool toilets and lifts, thank you for bringing these to our attention; we will look into both matters promptly in our efforts to find an appropriate solution. All in all, despite these negatives, we are glad you had a fantastic holiday with us.

Thank you again for an honest review that will help us in our work for continuous improvement; we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back to the Louis Imperial Beach in the imminent future.

Yours faithfully,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This place is quality, spotlessly clean, fantastic setting, food brilliant and loads of choices three times a day. The room we were in, 311, had a great sea view over looking the tennis courts probably the better side of the building as the other has a view of yes the sea but a huge area of waste land which was a bit unsightly but I'm sure someone will be developing very soon. The service in the bars and restaurant was very good, they were always wanting to help and serve, which was great, especially while lying about the pool or garden area, the guys kept coming round asking if drinks were required or even could towels fresh from the freezer.
The downside to me was the pool, always cloudy, which tells me the filters need cleaning or changing and it was very busy, loads of kids throwing balls or floating about on lilo's. But considering how hot the days were, parking yourself at the side of the pool was a massive mistake as there was no breeze and it didn't take long to over heat so getting that dirty pool was a must. But on the plus side the adults only pool was brilliant, nice and cold on a hot day and no noisy people. Best place to relax all day was nearer the beach amongst the trees, a nice sea breeze coming in and watching the boats pull the Para sails around, very nice.
Entertainment's very varied, some good some awful but we had the option of moving away as do all to the air con bar upstairs. A special mention to David the animation team manager, a lovely guy and had me howling with laughter when doing his bingo before the acts came on, very funny, he's very camp but a true professional and dances very well when it was his turn to entertain. A pleasure to meet him.
Generally this place is a family friendly place and situated in what really is a quiet part of town but to be honest Pafos is quiet anyway. nice walking distance from the town centre or even jump on a bus 1:50 euro a trip, but if there's four of you 6 euros for a taxi to the same place. worth thinking about and there's no rip offs.
we hired a car for three days and travelled round exploring, but one town is pretty much the same as the other.
Overall I would recommend this hotel very highly as I know everyone will enjoy it. Have fun.

Room Tip: 311 to 300, third floor and great sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ge0ff_with_a_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Imperial Beach, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear guest,

On behalf of the Louis Imperial Beach we would like to thank you for holidaying at our flawless property and for sharing your impression online.

Your satisfaction is our goal, so we are happy to know that we succeeded to please you with our impeccable premises, brilliant cuisine and the peaceful adults only pool. We thank you for bringing your observation in regards to the main pool to our attention; we will take a closer look at the matter to try and find an appropriate solution.

We dearly thank you for recommending us and it would be a pleasure to have you as a guest at the Louis Imperial Beach once more.

With best regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Reading some of the reviews about this hotel it is hard to believe that we stayed at the same hotel. We booked this holiday on the strength of reviews on this site and the fact that it is included in Thomsom's platinum collection. Our experience was of a fairly average hotel with lovely staff but would not stay again nor recommend, more importantly it was not worth the money. Here are our thoughts on the Louis Imperial:

Rooms

Pleasant room, all of which, apparently had been recently updated. We paid extra for a sea view, our rom overlooked the tennis courts and was a quiet room.

Food / Restaurant

Food was of good/fair quality although more variety would have been nice. There was a dress code in the restaurant which was not adhered to by a lot of people - some men wore vests, shorts and flip flops during their evening meal and on a couple of occasions, topless!! (men) - if you have a dress code then enforce it.

Swimming pool

This was far too small for the size of the hotel. Sun beds are crammed around it and if you are not prepared to get up at 7.30 in the morning to 'reserve your beds' have little or no chance of getting anywhere near it. A nightmare for families with small children. The temperature of the water is too warm - it is not refreshing at all to swim / take a dip in.

Grounds

Most of the grounds are grassed and beside the indoor pool / tennis courts the grass is very patchy and littered in places with cigarette ends and sweet wrappers - this area needs tidying up. This is the only place that we could find sunbeds unless we were prepared to set our alarm every morning. This we eventually did - if you can't beat them join them - we then managed to get beds on the grass by the beach which was lovely.

Sunbeds

As above we adopted a 'if you can't beat them join them attitude' towards putting towels on sunbeds to reserve. This is the worst place we have ever stayed for this - at 7.30 in the morning nearly every bed around the pool was ' reserved'. - again the hotel has a policy against this - so, enforce it!

Entertainment

Acts were ok and David v funny but bingo every night!! - how about some music from this century to dance to.

Teenagers

There was nothing for teenagers to do hence hoards of surly teenagers in the foyer using the limited wifi.

Lifts

We got stuck in one of the lifts, and apparently other people had been stuck in the same lift. Why didn't they just leave it out of order until the end of the season. There are lots of children using these lifts on their own, it is only a matter of time before one of them gets stuck.


Staff

The staff are lovely and attentive and we never had to wait long for a drink .

This hotel could be really nice, but it needs a lot of attention to the outside areas, entertainment and their dress and sunbed codes need enforcing. If the tennis courts were taken out they could have an additional pool put in making the hotel more appealing.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank V2777MEKarenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Imperial Beach, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Louis Imperial Beach and for sharing your feedback online.

We are glad you valued our pleasant rooms, the quality of our cuisine and the attentiveness of our dedicated personnel. However, we regret to hear that our property hasn't complied with all your expectations. As we respect your opinion, we will discuss internally about your suggestions and remarks, for our future improvement. Especially regarding the issue of an additional pool, we are indeed looking into the possibility as we speak.

We are extremely sad that our hotel did not meet your needs; still, we hope that you would give Louis Hotels another chance to impress you with the high quality service we are known for. Let us suggest the King Jason for future holidays because it is a property with 5 different pools.

Yours truly,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

All the stress of England washed out of me staying here in this clean friendly welcoming hotel , 1st time here and loved every second . The food and staff are top notch and location is fantastic , didnt want to leave!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lamby1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Imperial Beach, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Louis Imperial Beach and for writing a few lines about your holiday.

Thank you also for expressing your appreciation towards our delicious cuisine, attentive personnel and fantastic location. Your beautiful words are our most important reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Louis Imperial Beach soon.

Best regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Imperial Beach is your typical resort-style hotel with swimming pools, sauna, gift shop, bars and restaurant. However, everything they do is that little bit better than your average resort hotel, which made for an excellent stay.

The reception area is large, airy and open. On arrival you are welcomed with sparkling wine and light snacks. All the staff were incredibly friendly and efficient. The rooms are not special but are immaculately clean and well-maintained. The outdoor swimming pool area was very pleasant and partially shaded by glorious palm trees. The hotel's grounds go right up to the beach, which offers an excellent and calming view of the sea.

The food, especially since it is an all-inclusive resort, was excellent during the week we stayed. Each day brought a different kind of cuisine and all were very good. You could choose to sit either in the air-conditioned dining hall or on the shaded terrace near the pool. Both were lovely, but the terrace was an especially great place to enjoy a meal.

The upstairs bar was also air-conditioned and had a lovely decked terrace overlooking the sea. Amazingly, this was usually near-empty during our stay, so a great seat was always secured.

The waiters and waitresses were very efficient and almost eager to give you more and more drinks! The chambermaids were all a delight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the sea: the others overlook a supermarket, unfortunately!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenandAlexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Imperial Beach, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for visiting the Louis Imperial Beach and for sharing your comments with the online community.

As your appreciation and satisfaction are our best reward, we are thrilled to see that you fully enjoyed our swimming facilities, efficient personnel, spotless rooms and especially the wide variety of our delicious cuisine. Thank you also for expressing your admiration towards our delightful employees.

It would be a true pleasure to have you back at the Louis Imperial Beach in the imminent future.

Yours truly,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

With 4 children aged from 13 to 20 we had to chose something for everyone, and the Louis was perfect. The quality and vararity of food was excellent, the bedrooms and the overall hotel areas very clean. The staff were very attentive, with waiter service around the pool all day and also waiter service in the hotel seating areas, they could not do enough for you, always having a smile on their faces and with time to chat with you.
The beach is only a minute walk across the hotel grounds with great water sports to keep the kids occupied, and very clear sea for snorkeling.
One point to make, gentlemen do not need to wear long trousers in the dining room in the evening, I bought new trousers for our boys but didn't need them!
We read previous reviews that stated the Japenses restaurant was not very goog, I must say that we found it to be excellent in every way.
Overall this hotel provided everything we wanted and hoped, thank you to all at the Louis Imperial and Thomson, we have been using Thomson hotels for over 10 years and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOUIS_HOTELS, Manager at Louis Imperial Beach, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing the Louis Imperial Beach as your holiday venue and for sharing some thoughts with the online community.

We are glad that you enjoyed our excellent Mura restaurant, the prompt service of our dedicated personnel as well as our flawless rooms. We are truly delighted to see that the rich variety and high quality of our tasty buffet has impressed you. We truly value you admiration and your beautiful words are our best reward.

It would be an honor to welcome you at the Louis Imperial Beach again on your next holiday.

Yours faithfully,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
1.3 mi away
The King Jason Paphos
0.2 mi away
Olympic Lagoon Resort Paphos
0.6 mi away
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Constantinou Bros Athena Beach Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Annabelle
The Annabelle
#10 of 88 in Paphos
2,563 reviews
0.6 mi away
Constantinou Bros Asimina Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louis Imperial Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louis Imperial Beach

Property: Louis Imperial Beach
Address: Poseidon Ave, PO Box 60284, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
#10 Family Hotel in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Louis Imperial Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by exotic gardens and only a few steps from the azure blue Mediterranean waters this 4 Star Paphos hotel invites you and your family or friends to experience a truly relaxing Cyprus holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Louis Imperial Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Louis Imperial Beach Paphos
Louis Imperial Beach Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing