We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grossed out and not wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akti Beach Village Resort
Ranked #31 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2007

last week of the season, don't bother.

three days left and they ran out of bacon, butter, bread, milk, all the main meat dishes-not just once but each day and each sitting (usually an hour before the end of each sitting)

"you can put your complaint in writing if you wish" was the mgrs response-why not tellt he truth eg "i've got your money and i dont' give a rats ass".

unless you like to drink and drive you will be a prisoner of the location.

dont listen to the word beach in any of the area of "coral bay"-the hint is in the name.

time to gross out, have a shower, stand on the plug hole till you get an inch of water at your feet, step off and listen for the water in the toilet bowl gurgling as the water tries to flow into the toilet.

now for the fun part, with a bit of water left in the bath, flush the toilet and watch the bath water "top up" with whatever is in the pipe that directly connects it to the sewer waste from your crapper-tasty tasty verry verry tasty.

i originally just thaught the stench of human waste and urine was the site drains collapsing everywhere you went, no you have it fresh from your own sink and bath (fun in the summer i bet)

the we dont really want you may be an end of season feeling and is thus personal, but the location makes this a 2.5 star at best , the repeatedly running out of food (that you have already paid for) was not on and the disgusting plumbing should act as a clear indication of the sites value (1 star).

ex room 216 inmate

Stayed: November 2007
Thank grossed_out_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Guests, please accept my apologies for the delayed response.
Thank you for your constructive comments and for being our guests. Your comments are very highly appreciated and will help us to upgrade our resort's services and facilities. We are very happy that you give us the opportunity to correct things that did not meet your expectations.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of us and we are looking forward to seeing you again at our village resort thus giving us the chance to show our warm hospitality.
Yours sincerely
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

848 - 854 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2007

Booked last minute deal with Olympic Holidays. Cant really fault anything. From the airport to return the staff were excellent and very helpfull. The Akiti was very clean, comfortable, and altho arrived late at night, were booked in quickly. All the staff were very helpfull, and friendly. The facilities very good, and nothing overcrowded.
The restaurant and food were adequate, given a few unusual dishes, but overall for the cost and catering for several hundred people, it was good.
There is a bit of a walk to the busstop, but nothing beyond most peoples capabilities.
Overall, I rate this hotel good value for money, better than many I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tippsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Guests, please accept my apologies for the delayed response.
Thank you for being our guests and for giving us the opportunity to extend our hospitality to you. We are very happy that we have fulfilled your expectations and desires. Your comments are highly appreciated and will definitely have a positive impact to our resort’s facilities and services because they encourage us to try our upmost at all times.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of our personnel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our village resort.
My best personal regards.
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2007

Just back from a week at the Akti and had a very good week! We arrived at 6.30pm just as the sun had gone down, check in was quick and easy and we were told how to get to our room!! This was a challenge as the lights around the complex were yet to come on and it was dark so we couldn't read the signs for the room numbers... we got lost! It's a large complex with lots of paths to different rooms, none of which follow any kind of order (200's next to the 600's etc). As a tip ask for someone to show you to your room or ask for exact directions (or leave your suitcase in reception whilst you go on your expedition!) When we finally found our room it was very near the reception area and we never lost it again.

We were on the half board basis, the food was ok.. typical half board hotel food.. buffet style and got a bit samey towards the end of the week (although they had a different theme night every night). It was lovely to eat outside at night by the pool as they lit it all up and had candles and cloths on the tables. The waiters and waitresses were excellent and cleared your plates whilst you got up for your next course. The drinks prices were reasonable too with a half bottle of wine for 4.75cyp (8.00cyp for a full bottle). Breakfast was ok, lots of choice from cereal and toast to continental hams and cheeses and the 'english' option of bacon, eggs and beans. If you got there later though (it was served from 7.00 - 10.00am) it was a bit dried up and there wasn't much left. Lunch in the pool bar was better, the hawain burger was a favourite of my boyfriends and it was reasonably priced also.

Pools were fab, we only went in the big one by the pool bar (easy access to the strawberry daquiri's at happy hour) but it was clean and never crowded. Always got a sunbed by the pool also. It was a bit cold but very refreshing after sitting in the hot cyprus sun for 3 hours!

We had a hire car for a few days which we recommend so you can go out and about when you fancy it. We drove into Paphos quite a few times which was a 10 minute drive and also up to Coral Bay (fab beach, gorgeous warm sea) and up to Polis and the coastal road. Beautiful views of the mountains and coastline, well worth a look! The harbour in Paphos was lovely where you can sit by the water with a glass of wine and a bowl of nuts. Steve's Bar is great with the owner a real character! Fave restaurant of the holiday was Fat Mama's on the Tombs of the Kings Road into Paphos. Always busy so good to get there early (and from 5.30 - 7.00pm it's 10% off your bill). I had the ribs the first night, a whopping 22 pork ribs in bbq sauce, it was huge!! The starter portion is a lot smaller for those who don't eat much or share the main course portion! All the portions were huge so eat a light lunch or not at all! Very good value also! Best fish restaurant is Theo's by the harbour, fresh fish that you can choose yourself out the cabinet on show.

Entertainment at the Akti was ok, the chap who did the Bingo and quizzes was a tad irritating with his offensive comments ('oi ginger tosser' and 'get your finger out your poonani' or 'lazy bastards') but he meant well and was always up beat and said hello to you. Larah was lovely and always smiling and a pro on the karaoke machine, take your ear plugs though :) The Bingo was good fun and started off with a 'guess the first number' game.. it took a while so make sure you're not in a rush.

The rooms were huge, basic but had everything you needed with a mini kitchen. Watch out for the ants, we thought being on a top floor apartment we'd be ok but we had about 10 crawling around most days! We found some bug spray under the kitchen sink which seemed to get rid of them. Don't leave food out and make sure you sweep up spillages as soon as you make them or you'll have the whole army in your apartment!

All in all a great holiday and for £250 each we coudn't complain!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Tootsephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Guests, please accept my apologies for the delayed response.
Thank you for being our guests and for giving us the opportunity to extend our hospitality to you. We are very happy that we have fulfilled your expectations and desires. Your comments are highly appreciated and will definitely have a positive impact to our resort’s facilities and services because they encourage us to try our upmost at all times.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of our personnel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our village resort.
My best personal regards.
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2007

We holidayed at the Akti last two weeks in August. There was eight of us in the party - Grandparents down to Grandchildren. There was something for everyone. Entertainment on the nights and through the day was brilliant thanks to Adil - "Whats ya naaaaammmmmeeee". Different singers/acts on everynight. Elvis was fantastic. Larna also kept us fit with her aqua aerobics. She also ran the childrens club and childrens disco on a night.

Two pools - both very clean, the one by the mini market being the quietest.

Rooms quite basic but extremely clean, cleaners in everyday bar Sunday. Rooms contained decent sized fridge, 2 ringed hob and kettle, toaster etc.

Food of a good standard but we got a bit bored of it towards end of second week. Pool side bar excellent for lunch, go for the Pork Chop. All staff at the restaurants and bars were very friendly and helpful

Taxi (about 6 - 8cyp depending on time of day) or bus (80c) into Paphos or Coral Bay (8 - 10cyp) for a wide selection of both local restaurants or the usual Maccy D's etc. Bar street is a must if you are up for the noise, we were once but daughter and her boyfriend went several times

Recommend you try "Wave Dancer 2", an all day boat trip. About 16cyp per person, well worth it. Also the waterpark was an excellent day out. Don't bother booking your tickets at the hotel and expecting to queue jump as it doesn't work. Buy at the park.

We hired an 8 seater truck - great fun, cost 100cyp for 3 days from Horizons and travelled off road up to Polis, by motorway to Mount Olympus and then to a little place on the third day called Yiallis (fantastic meal). As you drive on the left side of the road it was great

Overall an excellent holiday, we will definitely be returning next year

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank billbobfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Guests, please accept my apologies for the delayed response.
Thank you for being our guests and for giving us the opportunity to extend our hospitality to you. We are very happy that we have fulfilled your expectations and desires. Your comments are highly appreciated and will definitely have a positive impact to our resort’s facilities and services because they encourage us to try our upmost at all times.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of our personnel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our village resort.
My best personal regards.
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2007

We stayed at Akti 26/8/07- 9/9/07

Lovely location for a relaxing Holiday, situated approx 5 Kilometres from Paphos Harbour 10 mins by Bus 80 cents
Breakfast excellent, but give the Dinner a miss often over cooked.

Just a short walk to the back of Akti across the waste land upto the main road , turn right then walk past Aliceland cross over to the left side ane you will find an excellent cypriot Taverna Melania Resturnat Famaliy run by Matthew & Ellie who offer Traditional Cypriot food also European food, cooked fresh & they grow their own Vegatables , plus grapes which he gives you free as a dessert. Not to be missed the best Moussaka on Cyprus & we have been visiting the Island for 20 years, also good Kleftiko cooked in the clay oven, and a very warm welcome.
Pete & Paula

Stayed: August 2007
3  Thank pedhoulas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Guests, please accept my apologies for the delayed response.
Thank you for being our guests and for giving us the opportunity to extend our hospitality to you. We are very happy that we have fulfilled your expectations and desires. Your comments are highly appreciated and will definitely have a positive impact to our resort’s facilities and services because they encourage us to try our upmost at all times.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of our personnel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our village resort.
My best personal regards.
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2007

I had read the reviews after booking and am glad I booked first. Yes the hotel is a little out of the way, but there is short walk (though it is up a rocky path) to the bus stop for buses to Coral Bay and to the markets.
The hotel staff were very friendly and very accomodating, with the restaurant staff in particular very willing to serve.
This is the first hotel that I have been to where I can say that I enjoyed the evening entertainment and there is also activities in the day.
The rooms are adequate and relatively clean. All in all, I would say that the hotel was adequate and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Brummie_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Guests, please accept my apologies for the delayed response.
Thank you for your constructive comments and for being our guests. Your comments are very highly appreciated and will help us to upgrade our resort's services and facilities. We are very happy that you give us the opportunity to correct things that did not meet your expectations.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of us and we are looking forward to seeing you again at our village resort thus giving us the chance to show our warm hospitality.
Yours sincerely
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2007

My partner and I stayed at the Akti for the last week of august.

I dont know what pool the last reviewer was on about because the ones at the Akti were very warm and so was the sea.

The only downsides to this hotel are, it is about 5 miles from Paphos and 6 miles from Coral bay. We knew it was a long way before we went but didn't realise there is nothing within walking distance, not a bar or a shop, (apart from shop in hotel but I will come to that in a minute). The bus stop was a fair walk away, manageable but seems 10 times longer in the heat. A taxi to town is £6 each way, the bus is 80c
The shop in the hotel is small and very very expensive, a jar of jam was £3, very small bottle of water 60c bread £1.50.
In big super market in town, just opposite debenhams, same bottle of water 13c and jam 80c. So it would pay to get a taxi there at the beginning of the holiday and stock up.
In the brochure it advertises a beach. There is NO beach but a very rocky entrance into the sea. If you have some shoes for the sea take them with you, it is quite a good spot for snorkelling too.
Drinks in the bar were fairly expensive around £3 english money per drink. Beer and wine a little cheaper.
Rooms are of great size. Even though we were half board we still had a self catering studio. This was handy because breakfast is not realy worth getting up for so were able to make tea and toast in the room.

From what I have written above, you may think we hated it but we had a fantastic time. Entertainment was great, especially the elvis show. Pools and atmosphere were also great.
Adel, the tunisian entertainer, was hillarious.
The hotel is of perfect size, not too big to have no atmosphere but not too small so that everyone is on top of each other.

This hotel is great if you want a holiday that is based on time in the hotel sunbathing and playing in the pool. It is no good,unless you have a car, as a base for exploring Cyprus.

I am sure anyone who has booked this will have a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kazzalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Guests, please accept my apologies for the delayed response.
Thank you for being our guests and for giving us the opportunity to extend our hospitality to you. We are very happy that we have fulfilled your expectations and desires. Your comments are highly appreciated and will definitely have a positive impact to our resort’s facilities and services because they encourage us to try our upmost at all times.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of our personnel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our village resort.
My best personal regards.
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
2.7 mi away
Theo Sunset Bay Holiday Village
4.1 mi away
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Venus Beach Hotel
Venus Beach Hotel
#71 of 85 in Paphos
892 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kefalos Beach Tourist Village
1.5 mi away
Kissos Hotel
Kissos Hotel
#48 of 85 in Paphos
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Beach Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Beach Village Resort

Address: Hadjiefstathiou Street, Paphos 8060, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#18 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#23 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#24 Family Hotel in Paphos
#34 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £66 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Akti Beach Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Akti Beach Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel Paphos
Akti Beach Tourist Village Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing