We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds, very clean but a little to far out.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akti Beach Village Resort
Ranked #31 of 85 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2009

After reading many negative reviews about the Akti, we did have some concerns before we visited. On arriving, the staff at reception were very friendly. We stayed in a studio room which was very clean and tidy. There is a charge for air conditioning but we found that if we kept the curtains closed through the day when we were out, we didn't need it as it kept the room at a nice temperature. The maid visited every day, apart from the sunday and changed our towels etc.
The food wasn't very exciting but was ok and with a different theme each evening.
The pool areas were immaculate with plenty of sun loungers and parasols. We stayed by the small pool which was quiet and relaxing, the large pool attracted the families and is also were the snack bar is.
The hotel is a little out of the way but we knew this before we booked and hired a scooter for 3 days for 50 euros and less than 4 euros in petrol. The dirt track is a 5 - 10 minute walk to the main road where you can get a bus to anywhere for 1.5 euro. We walked this road a couple of times which leads to the Tomb of the kings road where there are bars and restaurants. You can get a taxi for 10 euros. If you go out for a meal, an absolute must is fat mamas. It is mainly young brits working there and the food is gorgeous. They even put on a little cabaret show which is very entertaining. We enjoyed it so much, we went twice in our one week stay!
The hotel shop sells a wide variety of things but is quite expensive. The entertainmet is very poor. On two ocassions whilst laying by the pool, the tanker truck came and emptied the waste sewer tank. I have never smelled anything like it in my life and had to go inside as the smell was so disgusting....
For what we paid for the holiday, about £700 for both me and my husband, 1 week half board, we can't really complain. Another positive - the temperature was still hitting 30!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveholidays2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Guests, please accept my apologies for the delayed response.
Thank you for your constructive comments and for being our guests. Your comments are very highly appreciated and will help us to upgrade our resort's services and facilities. We are very happy that you give us the opportunity to correct things that did not meet your expectations.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of us and we are looking forward to seeing you again at our village resort thus giving us the chance to show our warm hospitality.
Yours sincerely
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

783 - 789 of 1,264 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2009

This was the third time we stayed at the Akti. We have stayed previously at the 4* Avanti in town and the 3* Mayfair in town.
The 4* rating of the Akti is deserved because of the size of the rooms...they are huge!. The cleanliness. The food. The service. The pool area. The friendliness of the staff.
The location of the Akti is the ONLY minor problem. it IS out of Paphos a little way but its QUIET at night when you are asleep. Think about it...no noisy traffic!!!! what a Godsend! The only noise comes from occasional noisy drunken Brits. Car hire is a must so can visit all the tourist spots like the beautiful Troodos Mountains, Pissouri, Nicosia etc etc.
Change your £'s to Euro's in Paphos as it is free and there are many shops who change money as a service. They offer FAR better rates than in Britain. Manchester Airport exchanges were offering between 94p and £1.00 per Euro. In Paphos the best price (4th of October, 2009) was 1.10 Euro to the £......and that was almost all of the shops!...it is now 1.19 to the Pound and Manchester Airport is still offering 1 Euro to the £!!.
The Akti Beach has ants like ALL the hotels in Paphos and if you don't leave food lying around ....you don't see ants!. It has a little beach cove just yards from the main pool and lots of pretty fish swim around in that cove. Sunloungers are free and there are three pools to choose from. The beer price are better than in town and although the entertainment is'nt brilliant it is adequate. The one thing that surprised us was the value for money on the whole holiday deal with Olympic Holidays. T
The air conditioning was expensive but is expensive everywhere except the Mayfair which is free.
Unless you are an out and out anorak or lager lout, you will greatly enjoy a holiday at the Akti Beach.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnh2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Guests, please accept my apologies for the delayed response.
Thank you for being our guests and for giving us the opportunity to extend our hospitality to you. We are very happy that we have fulfilled your expectations and desires. Your comments are highly appreciated and will definitely have a positive impact to our resort’s facilities and services because they encourage us to try our upmost at all times.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of our personnel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our village resort.
My best personal regards.
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

This hotel is quite a way out of paphos so you do need a car, which we had, the place has a wonderful setting overlooking the sea, the restaurant was fine the staff brilliant, as were nearly all the staff on this complex, which is what made your stay better, the apartments are very very basic, clean but could be improved, there is nowhere to sit in comfort, we had a 1 bedroom apartment for the 2 of us, I would not have liked to try sleeping on those 2 settees in the lounge they were so uncomfortable after 10 minutes your back ached, they were awful, we had to pay £240 under occupancy but it was not worth the extra money, we also had to pay almost 120 euro's for the air conditioning, this is a rip off, it is all the little bits here and the little bits there that add up and make your holiday very expensive. also the cost of everything in Cyprus is ridicules, the little shop on the complex is so dear, but even in the town things are very expensive, it is not a cheap holiday so be prepared,
A visit to Fat Mamma's is a must, it was the most wonderful food, the staff mainly young Brits, were an absoulute credit it made you proud to be british, they were polite, efficient and never stopped working to make sure your evening was wonderful,
Other places were ok but not many we would say is a must, it seems cyprus is not really looking after the tourist any more, and that is there bread & butter so they are making a mistake, the entertainment was rubbish, the taverna closed while we were there which was a shame as it was very nice. 10/10 for the staff but 4/10 for the accommodation.

Chris the rep was very good and very helpful, he is not the same Chris that was the rep previously, so please dont judge him until you meet him.

Needless to say we would not go back to this hotel, a bit of money and thought spent and this could be such a brilliant hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2daisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Guests, please accept my apologies for the delayed response.
Thank you for your constructive comments and for being our guests. Your comments are very highly appreciated and will help us to upgrade our resort's services and facilities. We are very happy that you give us the opportunity to correct things that did not meet your expectations.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of us and we are looking forward to seeing you again at our village resort thus giving us the chance to show our warm hospitality.
Yours sincerely
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Use the supermarket in Paphos opposite Debenhams
Walk the coast path towards Coral bay
Barter with taxi drivers we got them down to 8 Euros
Take a tourch
Eat at the Chineese in Coral bay
Eat at the Indian opposite the Annabele hotel

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roodykaroody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Guests, please accept my apologies for the delayed response.
Thank you for your constructive comments and for being our guests. Your comments are very highly appreciated and will help us to upgrade our resort's services and facilities. We are very happy that you give us the opportunity to correct things that did not meet your expectations.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of us and we are looking forward to seeing you again at our village resort thus giving us the chance to show our warm hospitality.
Yours sincerely
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

After reading a very bad review on this page before we left for the Akti, We were pleasantly suprised at how lovely this resort is! The apartments are spacious and clean and are layed out like a mini village with lots of plants and flowers everywhere. The staff are freindly and helpful and do their utmost to make it a home away from home for you. We went half board and found the food to be very good, especially the evening meals which I think are prepared by a cypriot chef and George the resturant manager goes out of his way to make sure you are well looked after. Our apartment had good basic self catering equipment, includind a mini oven.
The pools are lovely, and if the main pool gets too noisy with all the activities going on in the day, there is a quieter pool on the other side of the hotel where you can relax undisturbed! (They have aqua gym, water polo, french bowls and anything else that the two Becki's can think up for everyone to join in!) .
You can get a bus after a bit of a walk up a track to the main road, that will take you to Pathos harbour or Coral Bay and it doesnt matter where you get on and off the bus as the cost is 1.50 euro.The only downside is changing travelers cheques at the hotel, as they charge a lot of commision, its best to go to the harbour as there are plenty of money exchanges there and they dont charge a lot.(there is nowhere to change cheques between the hotel and the harbour) We had a truly brilliant holiday and will be going back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Guests, please accept my apologies for the delayed response.
Thank you for being our guests and for giving us the opportunity to extend our hospitality to you. We are very happy that we have fulfilled your expectations and desires. Your comments are highly appreciated and will definitely have a positive impact to our resort’s facilities and services because they encourage us to try our upmost at all times.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of our personnel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our village resort.
My best personal regards.
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

The hotel isn't quite as nice as it looks in the brochure and on the website. The hotel was ok but I wouldn't say it was 4* star accomodation. The rooms are fairly small and clean but they do have a problem with ants! The outside pool area ia really good and is probably the main selling point of Akti.

The most disappointing thing for me about Akti is there are no shops or restaurants in walking distance so you have to use the shop based on the Akti complex which is very very overpriced. There is a bus stop about a 10 minute walk away, from here you can catch a bus to the Harbour which I would recommend as the food isn't great.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shimmer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Guests, please accept my apologies for the delayed response.
Thank you for being our guests and for giving us the opportunity to extend our hospitality to you. We are very happy that we have fulfilled your expectations and desires. Your comments are highly appreciated and will definitely have a positive impact to our resort’s facilities and services because they encourage us to try our upmost at all times.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of our personnel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our village resort.
My best personal regards.
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Went to this hotel for a friends wedding - we had read some of the reviews but the good outweighed the bad and so we took the chance - I have to say what a GOOD decision we made. Yes it was a way from Paphos but the taxis averaged 10/12 euros between 4 of us so not too bad. But the hotel itself was brilliant - the rooms were very spacious and cleaned everyday with towel changes twice a week the staff were very very friendly and couldnt do enough for you and the food was spot on none of us could understand what some of the people who had previously been were complaining about. Yes I have to agree the supermarket within was expensive, but you go in there in an emergency and then get what you need when you go into Paphos..... I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone who asked - and people that we spoke to were all of the same opinion so my motto is dont always not give somewhere a chance because of what someone previously had written negatively.
PS I would defo recommend going on the Ocean Flyer - sunset cruise unlimited drinks and food it was absolutely great. A really really good entertaining evening and again all the staff were spot on.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wallie97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTONIS A, General Manager at Akti Beach Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Guests, please accept my apologies for the delayed response.
Thank you for being our guests and for giving us the opportunity to extend our hospitality to you. We are very happy that we have fulfilled your expectations and desires. Your comments are highly appreciated and will definitely have a positive impact to our resort’s facilities and services because they encourage us to try our upmost at all times.
We would like to extend our warm wishes and regards from all of our personnel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our village resort.
My best personal regards.
ANTONIS ARISTODEMOU

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.1 mi away
King Evelthon Beach Hotel & Resort
2.7 mi away
Theo Sunset Bay Holiday Village
4.1 mi away
Aquamare Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Venus Beach Hotel
Venus Beach Hotel
#71 of 85 in Paphos
892 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kefalos Beach Tourist Village
1.5 mi away
Kissos Hotel
Kissos Hotel
#47 of 85 in Paphos
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akti Beach Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Beach Village Resort

Address: Hadjiefstathiou Street, Paphos 8060, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Paphos
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Paphos
#18 Spa Hotel in Paphos
#23 Luxury Hotel in Paphos
#24 Family Hotel in Paphos
#34 Romantic Hotel in Paphos
Price Range: £66 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Akti Beach Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Akti Beach Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel Paphos
Akti Beach Tourist Village Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing