We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time stay in Cyprus, will definately be returning to this hotel.”
Review of Dionysos Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dionysos Central
Ranked #42 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First time stay in Cyprus, will definately be returning to this hotel.”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Myself and my partner had never visited Cyprus before and had heard various different opinions both of the resorts and the accommodation. Thankfully we dropped on fantastically with both. The hotel I will admit did have some little infractions i.e could do with a lick of paint, a bulb out here, a few dinghy tiles there. Overall all this hotel was perfect, it's comfortable and overall very clean.

The cleaners were in everyday changing the bins, making the beds and changing the pillow cases and towels everyday, changing the sheets every couple of days. My partner who is an obsessive hair dye-er had issues with it washing out and staining the bed, headboard, bath and towels, after returning from the days excursions we found no trace of the dye.

The staff were more than helpful on more than several occasions ranging from a lost key too a mysteryious self locking bathroom door. They went out of their way on a daily basis to make you not only comfortable, but welcomed in everyway. The same staff at breakfast were those at the Amore Restaurant in the evening, they again couldn't help enough.The food was great and they always had a variety of both Greek and other cruisines to choose from with the Moussaka always going down a treat.

The one and only occasion we visited the Royale Bistro and we were very dissappointed and didn't return again for the duration of our stay. The sole reason for this was because as nice as the staff were, we felt that we were ignored because we were part of the hotel as opposed to a regular paying customer.

The location at first was a bit sketchy to start with, with the main bar strip just over the back of the hotel, once the door was closed the noise disappeared and allowed you to sleep soundly. Another advantage was it was so close to the harbour front (1 minute walk), a large variety of bars, restaurants, attractions. The bus station was about a 10 minute walk away, but they ran to numerous locations around the area.

In conclusion this was a Great Hotel and added to a FANTASTIC holiday. Will definately return and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A_Brooks-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    169
    63
    34
    26
See reviews for
91
228
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We just returned from a week holiday in Cyprus, Paphos and we stayed at the Dionysos Central Hotel and for sure we will return.

The location near the Harbor area is perfect, the hotel is built in the local style and we really enjoyed staying there.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and we were also pleased with the food.

Thanks and c you soon......

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Duchene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

It was my first stay at the Dionysos hotel and I couldn't have asked for better. The staff were friendly and always ready to help, an example of this is when I left my room key at the hotel where my sister was staying and they set me up with another one at almost 2 in the morning. The area surrounding is lovely and the locals are friendly.
Yeah, it's not a 5* hotel, but it's comfortable. Plus the A/C in my room was the most welcome feeling after walking around in 41 degree heat.
I'd definitely stay here again. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I have just spent another week at the Dionysos Hotel and yet again had a fantastic time. This is my 3rd visit to the hotel in 4 years and I can't fault it. Yes, it could do with a lick of paint and updating, but the hotel is clean, the rooms are great, the cleaners do an excellent job, the receptionists are really helpful and friendly, the waiting on staff for breakfast and the evening meal were outstanding! Nothing is too much trouble for the people who work there. The food was fantastic, with plenty of choice of chicken, pork, fish, beef etc as well as a pasta, pizza and salad bar if you prefer. If you stay half board you also have the option of booking into La Place Royale for a 4 course meal which we did twice this time. Each meal again was beautiful, and the staff again were fantastic. The pool area is great with 2 levels of sunbeds so if the pool itself is a little busier, you can lie more peacefully on the higher level where there is a beautiful breeze!! The location is central to everything with a beach not too far away, a selection of bars, cafe's and restaurants all very close. The harbour is just a few minutes walk away too. There is a path leading from the harbour around the coast and if you take the 5-10 minute walk you can see the sunset on the sea which is beautiful.

If you are planning to book into this hotel for your holiday please don't take into consideration the negative reviews - no matter where you go unfortunately someone can have a less enjoyable experience. No, it isn't a 5* hotel, but it is fantastic value and you will have an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Zoe_Barnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Having stayed many times only to 4 stars Hotels , I have been a little consider when we have decided to book Dionysos ..... The hotel has a perfect location ,close to the harbour and less than 100 yards from the nearest beach.We stayed on Bed and Breakfast basis and the quality of Food and the service was very good.The pool area was nice very comfortable and always many sunbeds available .We have tried two times the evening meals in Dionysos and the quality of food and Drinks were very good and the price very reasonable .We will definately go back to Dionysos very soon .... A very big thank you to all the staff .....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Having seen so many good reviews for this hotel, I wonder if we were staying in the same hotel. The room was filthy, the air conditioning dripped whenever it was switched on until the hotel staff decided to switch it off completely! The hotel pool looked like a health hazard, the ceiling fan in the room was only held on by a wire and luck. The hotel itself had only one bar which was only open from 11am to 4pm, if you wanted anything outside this time you had to go to the cafe next door. Incidentally we booked through Thomas Cook who advertised the hotel as having three bars and two restaurants. During our stay the hotel suffered a power cut and one of the guests got stuck in the lift; the reception staff had no clue what to do and eventually the chef got the person out. This hotel only got 2 out 5 because of it's central location otherwise it would have been one.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We have stayed for first time in this Hotel and we will definately return back soon.... The location of the Hotel is ideal , close to all amenities !!!! The staff of the hotel was always very friendly , efficient and polite !!!!! Julian at the pool bar is the best ...... The quality and variety of the food ( especially at the La Place Royale ) was always very good .The rooms are not luxurius but are always clean and having all you need .

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CHRIS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paphos hotels
0.2 mi away
Basilica Holiday Resort
Basilica Holiday Resort
#26 of 88 in Paphos
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anemi Hotel Apartments
Anemi Hotel Apartments
#29 of 88 in Paphos
844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Paphinia Sea View Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Daphne Hotel Apartments
Daphne Hotel Apartments
#82 of 88 in Paphos
493 reviews
0.8 mi away
Princessa Vera Hotel Apartments
0.1 mi away
Pyramos Hotel
Pyramos Hotel
#44 of 88 in Paphos
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dionysos Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dionysos Central

Property: Dionysos Central
Address: Ave Poseidon 1, Paphos 8042, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Paphos District > Paphos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 88 Hotels in Paphos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dionysos Central 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Bookcyprus.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dionysos Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dionysos Central Hotel Paphos
Dionysos Central Paphos
Dionysos Hotel Paphos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing